The hybrid class language says shared class features don’t stack unless otherwise specified (which I believe is redundant with a general rule that class features don’t stack unless specified, but that’s neither here nor there). So there is explicit language that sneak attack doesn’t stack (unless specified, which rogue and Slayer don’t).
(Well the rules for Gestalt are clear, take the best BAB per level, but yeah the gm can just say nope).
For each save bonus, choose the better progression from the two classes
not clear to me that the ‘better will save progression’ between a fighter and a Wizard is +15 at level 20 (which is what you get if you take the better increase at each level).
you can't apply Heighten Spell to a spell at no cost: any increase to the effective spell level of the spell must be tracked and paid for by using a higher-level spell slot
by “has no effect” I mean “increases the spell level by zero levels” not “has the massive effect of an 8-level increase”, in case that wasn’t clear.
fencing grace would appear to have the same spell combat incompatibility as slashing grace.
As a bad option that works with Elven Thornblade, Elven Battle Focus! Very little value in the (ton of) prereqs for you, although I suppose being able to Blade Lash adjacents without provoking is nice.
4d8 goes to 6d8 on that chart. I believe 6d8 goes to 8d8, but it’s not shown at that link. There’s a more comprehensive FAQ on the Full dice stepping; standard charts don’t really support optimized vital strike builds (yes, oxymoron) well.
warpriests deal 1d6 with kukri at level 1. But if the point of someone’s build is wakazashi, then so be it.
where are the deity specific codes of ethics? (Non-Paladin)
its a non-ideal source, it was a response to a question about ear piercing scream in the Ultimate Magic errata thread.
its says to select something from the monk weapon group, which is a list of weapon types.
no example of something like that being selectable as an option for a feat or feature that requires you to select something. Yes, weapon training works with Versatile Design.
Again, I believe our disagreement is in that I believe ascetic style requires you to pick a [u]type[/u] of weapon, and you don’t. I don’t think we disagree about what Versatile Design does.
I understand that argument. However, as I read it, it is looking for a weapon type though. Weapon Groups are just lists of weapon types, so picking a weapon from a weapon group implicitly assumes a type. There is no precedent or suggestion that an option like “wakazashi with versatile design: monk” would be legitimate, from any Paizo publication, or FAQ, or forum post, or other official source, not for ascetic style or any other feat or feature in pathfinder. Further, if it’s not specifically looking for a type, it’s not clear what the limitations are on legal options. “Blue quarterstaves”. Sure, why not? It’s a monk weapon. “Wieldable piece of metal with ‘versatile design:monk’”. No? Maybe? Hmmm.
I understand you strongly disagree with all this, and your interpretation makes perfect sense to you.
ascetic style is banned in PFS, so unlikely that we’ll see anything official.
Personally, I would see monk US damage as counting as an effect that ‘augments an unarmed strike’. I don’t believe that versatile design weapons are a legal option for ascetic style tho. Versatile Design is also not PFS legal, so the odds of getting something official on how the two interact is about...zero times zero.
Mithral Chain shirt is 1100 and weighs 10 pounds. I don’t think anyone wants to dump strength on a shaman, but if you are building dex on point buy, not array, it’s probably the optimal choice. Even though you’ll still have to fear getting one shot killed by a shadow at double digit level. Any haul is an easy grab if encumbrance is a major issue.
Best idea I've got at the moment is Sipping Jacket. I'd still need to buy the potion, but I wouldn't waste rounds. That wouldn't be viable until I got enough fame for 5000gp purchase, but that's not too bad!
dont think sipping jacket works with potion of reduce person. Reduce person is minute/level and jacket only accepts instantaneous or rounds/level durations.
It used to annoy me that Pathfinder uses the word “Reach” as a rules keyword with two completely distinct definitions both relating to the same rules area. Thanks to this thread I can now be annoyed that Pathfinder actually uses the word “Reach” as a rules keyword with at least three completely distinct definitions all relating to the same rules area.
I’d go with
This way you get some good sets, some bad sets, your players will consider some strange alternate builds, but end of the day everyone will be able to make something very playable and if they really want something specific, they can probably do it.
With a straight weak rolling system, you probably end up with a bunch of synthesis summoners, which is kind of the opposite of what I imagine the intent is.
no.. Also, witch familiars can keep learning spells after they go into a prc, they just don’t gain them automatically (neither do wizards).
by that argument you can take the attack action or full attack while using a weapon with both hands (optionally a two handed weapon, but for right now assume a one handed weapon wielded with both hands) while grappled because neither of those Actions requires use of two hands.
My interpretation would be that using the attack action to make an attack with a two handed weapon would be an action that requires two hands. And using the Full Attack Action to make an attack with each hand, as in two-weapon fighting, would also be an Action that requires two hands, even though other full attack actions one could opt for instead would not require two hands.
there’s a lot of people that agree with you, but RAW it’s hard to say that a Full Attack Action to attack with a weapon in each hand does not involve an Action that requires two hands. Note that ‘action’ is a technical term, and in this context the ‘Action’ is the Full Attack Action.
That said, to the OP, if you interpret quadrupeds as having hands, then when tigers pounce and successfully grab on the first claw attack, making the second claw attack would be prevented. No one plays that way, for good reason.
no, it doubles the bit of healing you get from the Divine Scion Domain Specialization class feature.
If you are looking for rules to block that specific nonsense with, there are magic item crafting guidelines for campaigns. What they say is that crafting feats can effectively increase your WBL above target with the caveat that (1) its limited to i believe up to +50% WBL for multiple craft feats (+25% for one) and (2) GM shouldn’t allow one craft feat to increase groupmates WBL at the same time; though that +50% could be split between groupmates. As such, he could do what he is trying to, but as soon as he retrains away from the feat, you by rule should sqush his WBL back to default (possibly he was robbed if you want to do it in-narrative). You could include his retraining expenses in his ‘wealth’ if you were in a particularly punitive mood.
Alternatively, consider “no.”