Ikrimah

Jeff Morse's page

872 posts. Alias of jjaamm.


RSS

1 to 50 of 872 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
The Exchange

Thanks, GREAT work

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

druids and beast shape and elemental shape

The Exchange 4/5

Adam Yakaboski wrote:


Why am I doing this? Well it's a combination of slowly working up the nerve to talk about my harassment and to make sure people are aware of this. There at least you know half of the disaster involving Totalcon.

Take your time and your pace. If I understand, it has taken awhile for you to find a place that you feel safe talking. I know that it can take time to work up to it.

I ask others to give you this time and place at your pace

The Exchange

Elfteiroh wrote:
Jeff Morse wrote:
Cori Marie wrote:
Question about Adventure Paths: If I buy an Adventure Path but not the Bestiaries, will I get tokens for the monsters in the AP?
follow up to this. if AP is bought. do the tokens have the stats of the encounters linked to there token? like in roll20 you get the npc written out so just need to hit initiate and it gets added to the tracker.

From my experience, when you buy an AP from FG, you almost never have to open the AP books, as everything is there, from maps, NPCs/monsters stats and speech blurb, all the event, room descriptions, etc are also available and usually pinned on the maps or with a link in the “story” roadmap.

Almost everything have either small automation, or instructions to apply. They even have “treasure bundles” that if PCs search in room X, you can drag and drop that bundle for the party.

Thanks, that helps a lot. think will run FG for future APs

The Exchange

Cori Marie wrote:
Question about Adventure Paths: If I buy an Adventure Path but not the Bestiaries, will I get tokens for the monsters in the AP?

follow up to this. if AP is bought. do the tokens have the stats of the encounters linked to there token? like in roll20 you get the npc written out so just need to hit initiate and it gets added to the tracker.

The Exchange

ironskin being a race spell would be hard to find on most class spell lists

The Exchange

I like these--The Cure Wounds spells / Heal / Raise Dead

The Exchange

ckdragons wrote:
Jeff Morse wrote:
Jeff Morse wrote:
Megatron777 wrote:

The Wizard does not fall unconscious. The poison happened first, so the Fatigue penalty is applied to his current stat score which is 2. Since Fatigue is a penalty, it can not lower his stat to less than 1.

The answer is in the rules you linked, "While in effect, these penalties function just like ability damage, but they cannot cause you to fall unconscious or die. In essence, penalties cannot decrease your ability score to less than 1."

He now has a Strength of 1. He is most likely Heavily Encumbered now, so he can have fun dealing with that too. Depending on what he is wearing, he might not be able to move more than 5 feet a round. If he has a backpack I'm guessing it's over 10 pounds, which is now his max load. You can lift double your max load off the ground, but can only move 5 feet a round as a full round action.

strength damage does not effect encumbrance, where penalty does. Crazy ruling but I think they did it so people didn't have to refugee all the time cause damage happens a lot.
WRONG!!!

You might want to elaborate as to why you think he's wrong. And actually, he's not wrong about Strength ability damage affecting weight encumbrance...

I was looking up this subject again and found that I posted wrongly, so I updated my mistake as being wrong. penalty dose not effect carrying weight

The Exchange

Jeff Morse wrote:
Megatron777 wrote:

The Wizard does not fall unconscious. The poison happened first, so the Fatigue penalty is applied to his current stat score which is 2. Since Fatigue is a penalty, it can not lower his stat to less than 1.

The answer is in the rules you linked, "While in effect, these penalties function just like ability damage, but they cannot cause you to fall unconscious or die. In essence, penalties cannot decrease your ability score to less than 1."

He now has a Strength of 1. He is most likely Heavily Encumbered now, so he can have fun dealing with that too. Depending on what he is wearing, he might not be able to move more than 5 feet a round. If he has a backpack I'm guessing it's over 10 pounds, which is now his max load. You can lift double your max load off the ground, but can only move 5 feet a round as a full round action.

strength damage does not effect encumbrance, where penalty does. Crazy ruling but I think they did it so people didn't have to refugee all the time cause damage happens a lot.

WRONG!!!

The Exchange

here you go https://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9vvp

The Exchange

cast blink too view area of dungeon. plane shift to ethereal plane, teleport to area viewed. scout.

The Exchange

Dasrak wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
The manifestation of fireball is both from the caster and where it lands. It's not unreasonable to assume that teleport spells would also have an emanation at both points of the teleport. But without spellcraft, you'd just know that some magic thing happened in a place. You'd need a successful spellcraft check to know which magic thing happened there.
The key point here is invisibility; while the FAQ did establish that there are emanations, it doesn't address how they interact with other effects like invisibility. To this day there is no resolution on whether an invisibility spell makes your spell emanations invisible as well. Expect table variations on that one.

correct. at my table i tell my players that they do get seen when invisible, because it works that way for all and lots of bad guys out there. most cast and move though. best thing is to choose and stick to it.

The Exchange 4/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.
TwilightKnight wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
Huzzah!

Mark, since you stopped by, can you please clarify the intended functionality of the Battle Medicine feat? There are over 400 posts across at least two threads discussing this.

I know you (an the rest of the design team) did not design the game specifically for organized play, but this past weekend, as an example, I played at three consecutive PFS tables at a convention and each GM ruled Battle Medicine to work differently each time. In one case, I was essentially allow to heal an ally by merely standing next to them. No tools, no hands, I didn't even have to touch them. In another case, I had to use two hands and my medicine kit which was so extreme it made the feat virtually useless in combat which is designed purpose. With the addition of the Godless Healing, I expect this to become an even bigger issue.

I know I'm not alone in this. Please provide some insight so we can understand the rules and provide a good play experience. Thanks for your time.

PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEAS E,PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE,PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Exchange

does anyone take battle medicine without owning tools, so you can treat outside of combat also? just seems a moot point.
now i do see RAW being tricky here.can we just have someone make an edit to say needs one or two hands? you already edited once to once an hour, why did you stop there?

The Exchange 4/5

Nefreet wrote:
What he means is that this cobbled-together-spaghetti-code-website is becoming too much of a liability. Paizo is bleeding revenue because of it. Even if today it's fixed, tomorrow it's going to need a 27th layer of duct tape.

that's why i had hoped they had started a whole new board for pf2. i would be ok with have 2 logins.

The Exchange 4/5

PFS CORE - Vie Vsetko wrote:
Mage of the Wyrmkin wrote:
.... A Celestial template does not seem worth the feat ...
I'm really taking the feat for the familiar allowable at 7th level. So I might as well tack celestial int the black cat I already have. I have a different feat planned for 7th level.

i think the first one is free, so at 7 you need to dismiss and spend 1400 gold. just my thought on it

The Exchange

Player chooses to what square grow to and ends in. Why make it to complicated

The Exchange

at 6, treat as 4th/ small medium and 4 hours

The Exchange

think that maybe due to advancing tech, not an expert though.
in system for pathfinder after being there , 1 minute. plane shift, plane shift an than teleport

The Exchange

Wizard uses wish to increase a stat, would it also be a part of the spell if created copy of self?

The Exchange 4/5

googled this for you. have heard there lodge did a GREAT job in putting this together. quick count, I think a dozen at least. I think they could get there first star with just these.
https://pittsburghpfs.com/resources/evergreens-list/

The Exchange

outshyn wrote:

So I had a very late night over the weekend, because of a surprising bit of text that I found at the end of module #4. I knew that Mokmurian was supposed to retreat after the PCs' first attack, and I thought I read that he gathers maybe a dozen stone giants (generic stone giant stat block) and then re-assaults the PCs.

But that's wrong.

From the module:

Quote:
Mokmurian fights until reduced to 40 hit points or fewer, at which point he uses dimension doors to retreat to area B13, hoping to get healing from his lamia minions. If they’re dead, he flees up to the surface and gathers a group of a dozen stone giants and any of the named giants who still live to mount an attack on the library to finish off the PCs.

There is a named leader for each of the 7 tribes, PLUS Conna. PLUS the dozen generic stone giants. It's a HUGE fight. I noticed this a few hours before my game, and spent the entire time creating stat sheets for ALL of the named giants.

So not wanting all that effort to go to waste, here are the giant character sheets, both in PDF and POR (Hero Lab).

...

thanks for the files. still in book 3 but prepping ahead

The Exchange

well since the book came out 2 years after pathfinder was released probably close enough. least you thought it over. i have seen this in rise of runelords game and was just sad

The Exchange

deuxhero wrote:

Oracles are full casters, so the biggest part of your viability is spells chosen, which you haven't really covered too much. Why take Divine Power? You have poor dex and con don't have an animal companion to share it with. Also why odd scores in dex and con? Strength is the only thing odd scores do anything in when not dealing with ability drain.

I'm not sure Evangelist of Erastil is a great idea. Since Evangelist reverts to an underleveled cleric if they can't do their obedience for a day, they need an obedience that's easily done every day without recurring costs. While seeds are negligible cost (they're the material component for Passwall, Repugnant Taste, Waft, Invigorating Poison, and Detect Relations, thus always in a spell component pouch at no cost), his obedience can easily run into situations where it's impossible. Resting in a dungeon can easily result in a situation where there's no soil to plant things and no place to put things where a passerby might see them. Might be able to carry some pots of soil, but that's pretty heavy.

For PFS, it is kind of easier to do since you start fresh every day and most end in a day.

The Exchange 4/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Kate Baker wrote:
Could the same goal be accomplished by simply encouraging new GMs to run the repeatable scenarios? I know much of my road to my first star was We B4 Goblins and the Wounded Wisp run multiple times each. You get a chronicle each time you GM a repeatable scenario, and many players are looking to play repeatable content on as many PCs as possible, so they get scheduled often.

this, i think got overlooked so showing it again. Kate mentions that there are several repeatable solutions for you already. I suggest giving them all a try and than see where you are at.

The Exchange

between, but sometimes people forget. they can level up during game

The Exchange

swarms

The Exchange

i tend to go by this, as player in games and GM

http://legacy.aonprd.com/ultimateCampaign/campaignSystems/magicItemCreation .html

Some GMs might be tempted to reduce the amount or value of the treasure you acquire to offset this and keep your overall wealth in line with the Character Wealth by Level table. Unfortunately, that has the net result of negating the main benefit of crafting magic items—in effect negating your choice of a feat. However, game balance for the default campaign experience expects you and all other PCs to be close to the listed wealth values, so the GM shouldn't just let you craft double the normal amount of gear. As a guideline, allowing a crafting PC to exceed the Character Wealth by Level guidelines by about 25% is fair, or even up to 50% if the PC has multiple crafting feats.

The Exchange

If he wants it to go that way than build a druid barbarian.

The Exchange

yes he can,

The Exchange

if you look at stats for cities and towns they list clerics. clerics in pathfinder get there power from there god. can someone create a shrine or temple, sure.

The Exchange

Further thought. How long does it take to add spell to crafting item? Wand, casting time? Scroll, though seems to imply taking the the spell in head and transfering it to paper for at least 2 hours. I am not sure it works for scrolls, but maybe other items.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

"as if it were a wizard spell he knew and had prepared"
I guess it would work by this sentence, BUT whom can use said scroll would be the bigger question.

The Exchange 4/5

www.yzzerdd.com wrote:
Jeff Morse wrote:
you titled it shenanigans, because you are in what needs to be home campaign stuff. 10 GMs would give 10 build answers because it is not crystal clear on how to do it.

Yeah, but my question wasn't really about what is legal for a simulacrum build, that IS up to MY gm, and these people are taking this discussion off the rails...

What I REALLY want to know, is if my spell combinations via the Simulacrum are valid or not.

The spell combination I'm curious about could be done via scrolls and a high UMD, so if they want someone valid to Simulacrum, anyone with a high UMD will do just fine...

that is just it, we cant give you the answer, that only your GM can. if he says it works than enjoy your game. i for one dont know how it should work

The Exchange 4/5

you titled it shenanigans, because you are in what needs to be home campaign stuff. 10 GMs would give 10 build answers because it is not crystal clear on how to do it.

The Exchange

LordKailas wrote:
Jeff Morse wrote:
And give up dreaming, desna forbid

plus the food is fantastic.

LOVE that spell

The Exchange

And give up dreaming, desna forbid

The Exchange

it is from size bonus to hit

The Exchange

Lalochezic wrote:
Jeff Morse wrote:

The 6,3,1 is the spells known in your head. You get to cast 4 firsts and 2 second for the day. It is in the first chart

https://www.aonprd.com/ClassDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Arcanist
This makes sense now, thank you!

You're welcome

The Exchange

The 6,3,1 is the spells known in your head. You get to cast 4 firsts and 2 second for the day. It is in the first chart
https://www.aonprd.com/ClassDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Arcanist

The Exchange

WabbitHuntr wrote:

I understand this is a pfs question so this will not apply.

is it? in that case you would choose one of the balls to apply the daze too.

The Exchange

sorry it was taking the feat to get more spells, using paragon surge that the faq addresses

The Exchange

they are both ruled that once chosen must stay the same for the day. seeing as these are just as the hex could do, show your GM similar abilities rulings. may still want to do it his way though. course have to find the other one

The Exchange

The FAQ is for large or bigger, so medium still uses grid intersections. BUT, can see using it for all sizes.

The Exchange

There is 2 similar abilities in FAQ. One is extra arcane and other paragon surge for half elf's. Both rule that once chosen for that day, it is set for that day. Maybe if you showed him those. But he is the GM for his game and can rule it as he wants. It is pretty powerful as written.

The Exchange

i stand corrected. the feat does allow the standard action. never played an evil one so missed that.

The Exchange

im not sure how much XP you get from crypt, but mask does have travel time to add encounters to get them to 3rd.

The Exchange

would say yes. it is a masterwork item, that yu always want on you

The Exchange

one spell oing damage so one daze rolland one again for persist. just like magic missile would be

The Exchange

yes to all but standard action it is not an outsider with NE subtype.

1 to 50 of 872 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>