Enlarge Person Ends: Which Square Do You Take?


Rules Questions


Pretty much title. When a medium humanoid is hit with an enlarge person spell, they take up a 2x2 square. When the spell ends, how do you decide which of the four squares they shrink into? This mattered in one of our games as it decided whether or not one of the players was in reach of an enemy afterwards.


I would go with player choice. I've never seen an official ruling.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Any one of the squares previously occupied.

I would say as a general rule players should have as much control over what happens to their characters as possible (unless that control is explicitly taken away)


In every campaign I’ve been a part of, we’ve always defaulted to the square closest to the target the enlarged character interacted with last... however it is very rare that enlarge person expires in combat...


Whichever of the four squares they started in before enlarging? If it’s pre showing up,on the map, declare a square upon casting.


Enlarged player choice.


Players choice.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Arssanguinus wrote:
Whichever of the four squares they started in before enlarging? If it’s pre showing up,on the map, declare a square upon casting.

That assumes that you haven't moved since you were enlarged.

I do recall one time when my enlarged PC was knocked prone at the very edge of a large opponent's reach. I dismissed the spell specifically so I could stand up without provoking an opportunity attack from that foe. If I had not been allowed to choose which square I ended up in, that tactic would have had a 50% chance of working.


David knott 242 wrote:
Arssanguinus wrote:
Whichever of the four squares they started in before enlarging? If it’s pre showing up,on the map, declare a square upon casting.

That assumes that you haven't moved since you were enlarged.

I do recall one time when my enlarged PC was knocked prone at the very edge of a large opponent's reach. I dismissed the spell specifically so I could stand up without provoking an opportunity attack from that foe. If I had not been allowed to choose which square I ended up in, that tactic would have had a 50% chance of working.

No. You can do it independently of actual map location. If where you are standing pre enlargement Is in the lower left square of post enlargement the the lower left square of your space is the ‘declared’ square, wherever you happen to be on the map.


Arssanguinus wrote:
David knott 242 wrote:
Arssanguinus wrote:
Whichever of the four squares they started in before enlarging? If it’s pre showing up,on the map, declare a square upon casting.

That assumes that you haven't moved since you were enlarged.

I do recall one time when my enlarged PC was knocked prone at the very edge of a large opponent's reach. I dismissed the spell specifically so I could stand up without provoking an opportunity attack from that foe. If I had not been allowed to choose which square I ended up in, that tactic would have had a 50% chance of working.

No. You can do it independently of actual map location. If where you are standing pre enlargement Is in the lower left square of post enlargement the the lower left square of your space is the ‘declared’ square, wherever you happen to be on the map.

That’s a neat house rule but enlarge doesn’t specify you must end up in the same square so it’s players choice


Arssanguinus wrote:
No. You can do it independently of actual map location. If where you are standing pre enlargement Is in the lower left square of post enlargement the the lower left square of your space is the ‘declared’ square, wherever you happen to be on the map.

Well, luckly since there's no facing in PF you could always spin around as needed to end up in whichever of the four squares you want....

I agree with others that its the player's choice which square they want to end up in. The same way it's the player's choice which four squares they wish to occupy when they initially enlarge.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm not sure we've ruled it at our table yet. I'd be inclined towards "player's choice" myself. The squares are abstractions, and minis skew our perception by typically depicting creatures that occupy their full square, while in reality if you draw a 5'x5' square on the ground you'll see there's more buffer around you than the minis on the grid would suggest.


If there’s no ruling saying “specifically this,” then all of you being arbitrarily dogmatic on your opinion should spend some time in reflection. When someone comes to the rules forum they’re looking for an official ruling, not your opinion or best guess. If official word is silent, please for the love of the inner sea gods, say that before you make up your own ruling on it.

There’s no official word on this as far as I’m aware. Bring it up with your group and see where the decision falls. Understand that your decision could have precedent-making impact on other cases for your group, like what happens when a creature is reduced in size against its will... does that follow “caster’s choice”, “effected creature’s choice,” or random? Again, there’s no ruling on this that I’m aware of, but as a general rule when given the choice between “you get to choose” and “you are compelled to x”, the developers almost exclusively lean towards “you get to choose,” meaning the most likely/reasonable answer is ‘the creature undergoing size change chooses the square they inhabit”


Conversely, assuming the eight squares around a creature are free when it undergoes enlarge, which four squares at to be occupied by it?

As far as I know, there is no rule. What ruling do you use at your table?

The Exchange

Player chooses to what square grow to and ends in. Why make it to complicated


Player choice.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Player choice seems to the only reasonable and consistent answer. It comes up especially often with the Plant(Growth) subdomain. Player choice here essentially leads to a pair of virtual 5' steps each time one uses the Enlarge ability. It's a plus of the Domain power.


The only time I'd say that it wouldn't be the player's choice is if there were some reason that maliciously ended the Enlarge Person spell that had nothing to do with the player's choice or the duration ending naturally. The only example I can think of is if the Enlarge Person spell gets harmfully dispelled by an enemy caster, and that the enemy caster dispelled it with the forethought of placing them in an exact square (for w/e reason). Then and only then, could it be appropriate to remove player agency in a decision of which square you'd occupy when the effect ends, imo.


An enlarged human enters one square of an anti magic field. Do they shrink into the square of the field or out of the field where they continue to be large size?


Melkiador wrote:
An enlarged human enters one square of an anti magic field. Do they shrink into the square of the field or out of the field where they continue to be large size?

I'm pretty sure I had a stroke reading that.

The only thing that makes sense is that the Enlarged Person would be shrunk to normal size inside of the Anti-magic field.

Scarab Sages

Ryze Kuja wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
An enlarged human enters one square of an anti magic field. Do they shrink into the square of the field or out of the field where they continue to be large size?

I'm pretty sure I had a stroke reading that.

The only thing that makes sense is that the Enlarged Person would be shrunk to normal size inside of the Anti-magic field.

So one normal limb and the rest large size?


Senko wrote:
Ryze Kuja wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
An enlarged human enters one square of an anti magic field. Do they shrink into the square of the field or out of the field where they continue to be large size?

I'm pretty sure I had a stroke reading that.

The only thing that makes sense is that the Enlarged Person would be shrunk to normal size inside of the Anti-magic field.

So one normal limb and the rest large size?

Aaaand there's stroke number 2.

No, I mean as soon as any part of the enlarged person entered a square with an anti-magic field, the entire person would be shrunk to normal size and occupy the square with the anti-magic field.

Scarab Sages

Ryze Kuja wrote:
Senko wrote:
Ryze Kuja wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
An enlarged human enters one square of an anti magic field. Do they shrink into the square of the field or out of the field where they continue to be large size?

I'm pretty sure I had a stroke reading that.

The only thing that makes sense is that the Enlarged Person would be shrunk to normal size inside of the Anti-magic field.

So one normal limb and the rest large size?

Aaaand there's stroke number 2.

No, I mean as soon as any part of the enlarged person entered a square with an anti-magic field, the entire person would be shrunk to normal size and occupy the square with the anti-magic field.

Well that is the question isnt it. Is the antimagic zone negating the spell or the magic? The distinction is important as it has implications for a whole range of other things in the game. We have here . . .

Person Person
Person Anti Magic.

3/4 of them are not in the antimagic field thus 3/4 of the magical energy keeping them enlarged is also presumably out of the field. Now if the spell only negates the magic inside it then 3/4 of the person should remain unaffected. On the other hand if it negates the spell then the person shrinks and the spell resumes if they move outside the field.

Now regardless of which square they end up in you're starting to have implications beyond just this scenario because if an antimagic field here can negate an enlarge person because part of them entered it you've effectively extended the fields range to impact the area outside it. Sure in this case the subject is effectively sucked inside the field by the shrinking but what about something like dimensional lock? If a foot or arm is inside dimensional lock and the rest of the creature is outside are teleports/summons stopped?


It may be easier to just say the creature squeezes into whichever squares it can occupy. If it can fit either squeezed in or out of the field, it gets to choose which one.


It really seems simple to me - nobody actually takes up all that much space, it's just how much space they need to fight in. Where are their feet, actually? That square, thus player choice.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Enlarge Person Ends: Which Square Do You Take? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.