|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
The former. Your character qualifies for the fear (while shapechanged), and so she can take the feat. When she then reverts to her natural form she no longer qualifies; the feat cannot be used at that time unless you get a Wisdom bonus from another source.
GMs may object to leveling up while shapechanged though, which you'd need to do.
Your aquatic bunny can, per the rules, breathe underwater indefinitely. So it can't choke and no-one has line of sight to it even if they know you have a rabbitfish in the pot you carry.
Or, you know, share the Skinsend spell with it, and have a "dead" bunny in your pocket while a balloon bunny provides familiar services.
So, my question is can I take the symbol with me wherever I go?
Sure. It does need to be "in plain sight and in a prominent location" to function though, so you may have to unpack your 5' placard first.
Or does the long casting time combined with the lack of transportation make it useless for the adventuring PC?
I think it's not that useful, given its cost and various limitations. But I'd never call any spell "useless"; much depends on the specific situation and the ingenuity of the player.
Mathwei ap Niall wrote:
I beg to differ. The ability is poorly worded, and conflicts with itself:
and then cast it from his spellbook, since his interpretation was that it was reusable).
His interpretation is wrong. When you use the house-rule that a spellbook can be used as a scroll, then you have to accept that the spellbook is used as a scroll. The pages he casts from, crumble into dust.Provided you keep that part fixed, allowing spellbooks to be used as scrolls is not an overpowered option.
Clerics can cast Cure Light Wounds. Barbarians can't. They can Rage though, which a Monk cannot do. There are differences between classes. They make no sense, but they exist. So NPCs can do things PCs can't, and vice versa. It's not a simulation game, it's a roleplaying game. And some roles just aren't catered for.
(Ravingdork, between you and me... I think you're "jumping the shark" with this thread.)
My advice: be very, very careful about specialising your Bard with an archetype. While the class can become quite potent that way, the real strength of the Bard class lies in its versatility. And you'd lose that.
Accept that you'll never be the best at anything, and you'll be good at everything. Play the standard Bard, especially if it's your first.
one of my friends who has been a DM for like, 12+ years says it seems quite broken to be able to use the feat to double-slot magical items.
You may want to remind your friend that Pathfinder has done away with "slot affinity" for magical items; a magical tattoo is not really different from a slotless item.
Could someone use it on a creature that has a spell-like ability that is on the caster's class list?
No, the ability is not the spell.Ask your GM nicely though, I doubt it's game-breaking to allow this.
can I scribe a spell into my spellbook even if I can't cast it yet?
I don't actually have an answer, but...
If another spell or ability protected from other abilities with the "fire descriptor" would this include this ability?
...if another spell or ability exists, that grants "protection from an ability with the [fire] descriptor", then it stands to reason abilities have such descriptors. And it then follows that an ability which doesn't explicitly mentions its descriptor, doesn't have one.