Can you reload a sling while you have a light shield equipped?


Rules Questions


The entry for slings say that you can fire a sling with one hand, but that reloading requires two.

Light shield hand IIRC can't use weapons but can hold items.


If you can't, I've been playing this game wrong for quite some time now.


Ninja in the Rye wrote:

The entry for slings say that you can fire a sling with one hand, but that reloading requires two.

Light shield hand IIRC can't use weapons but can hold items.

I can't seem to be able to find the statement that you can hold an item while using a light shield but this seems to be the general consensus. In cases where you need a free hand to do something like lay on hands or cast a spell. You can have the shield hand hold your weapon, freeing up your other hand to cast the spell, lay on hands etc. This seems to suggest that while the hand can hold things it's not "free" in the sense of being able to perform other actions. If it were then you could just use said hand to perform the lay on hands or somatic components instead of having it hold something to free up your other hand. So, it seems that you wouldn't be able to use it to perform an action that requires 2 hands.

If you're using a buckler instead of a light shield, you can absolutely reload a sling, but you lose your bonus to AC during the round you do it.

This is based on what I was able to find.

edit: on a side note, if you use quick draw shield shenanigans you could put away the shield, reload the sling and then draw the shield again. Effectively allowing you to reload the sling without losing the benefits of the shield.


I don't think you would lose you ac bonus from a buckler. The buckler entry have very specific conditions in which you loos your bonus:

Bucker, emphasis mine wrote:
...In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you lose the buckler’s Armor Class bonus until your next turn. You can cast a spell with somatic components using your shield arm, but you lose the buckler’s Armor Class bonus until your next turn....

You aren't using a weapon in your off had. Slings are a one handed weapon that you reload with two hands. It's a sublte distinction, but it makes a difference in this case.

As far as the light shield goes, I can't find it now, but I know I've seen the hand being able to hold items is a part of the light shield rules. I would allow reloading a sling as you are basically just holding the bullet, but you may see other opinions. RAW reloading =/= holding so you might have to convince a gm.


I remember having to quote this once and looked through my old posts. Only reference I could find was Archives of Nethys, Light Steel. It references Ultimate Equipment pg. 9 and PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 151.

Archives of Nethys, Light steel wrote:
You strap a light steel shield to your forearm and grip it with your hand. A light steel shield’s weight lets you carry other items in that hand, although you cannot use weapons with it. Whether wooden or steel, a light shield offers the same basic protection and attack benefits, though the two varieties respond differently to some spells and effects (such as rusting grasp). A druid can use a light wooden shield, but not a light steel shield.


The bolded part is copied from UE pg. 12, with almost the same text (without the "steel") on CRB pg. 152.
Since it's a free action to let go of or grip a two-handed weapon, and a light shield's handle does not ristrict your hand so much that you can't hold items with that hand, you should be fine with using a free action to release the grip, reload the sling, and use another free action to regrip the shield.


Sounds good, thanks for chiming in everyone


Given the historical use and need for slings to actually have a reason to exist, I'd say yes.

Silver Crusade

Historical Greco-Roman slingers used shields. Modern sling re-enactors use shields. Pathfinder seems to also allow a slinger to use a Light Shield, although one can make a RAW argument against this.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you reload a sling while you have a light shield equipped? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.