Summoning creature into a space occupied by invisible creature you didn't know was there?


Rules Questions


Situation -
A enemy fighter with invisibility on them had moved up to some of the party.
The party Druid summoned a large dinosaur to act as a shield for those PCs without realising that the invisible fighter was in that space.

There was no adjacent space the Monster could be in - it was a crowded battle space and there was one clear 10 x 10 space surrounded by a mix of people and door ways that made the near unused space a lot of 5 x 5 and 5 x 10 areas.

What happens?

Does the spell fail and both action and spell lost?

The caster realise the spell can't land and keeps the spell but loses the action?

The Caster gets to choose a different location to summon the creature?

Or something else?

Thanks


I believe both of the creatures should be squeezing at that point. Thus the spell completes, applying penalties to invisible target and fighter. We had a similar incident recently with an enlarge person, and an invisible enemy in his way, and nowhere to shunt that was a free space, so thats what we decided on. I have no actual rules quote for this, but it seems to be the most reasonable solution.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Technically the summon spells don't say the creature needs to arrive in an unoccupied space, so in this case I think the arrival would just happen. The summoned creature "can't" end its turn in an occupied square though, so that needs to get adjudicated at that time. During it's turn I think Evilserran is reasonable to apply the squeezing penalties.


Since it’s not covered by the rules, you’re in house rules territory. My assumption would be for the summoner creature to be shunted to the nearest open space, as happens with most teleports.


I agree with Melkiador, I don't think it's covered by the rules.

As a GM I would rule that it appears in the nearest available open space that can support the creatures size that isn't occupied.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Personally I would move the invisible fighter to the nearest free space.

No rules justification for it, but it makes sense to me, and would keep the PCs unaware of the invisibility.


I’d probably require a reflex save for the invisible creature to get out of the way. Again, that’s just house rules since there are no real rules.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Melkiador wrote:
Since it’s not covered by the rules, you’re in house rules territory. My assumption would be for the summoner creature to be shunted to the nearest open space, as happens with most teleports.

from the magic chapter, on the conjeratin school spells:

"A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it."

my english isn't the best( it's a 2nd language) but doesn't 'open location' mean that it doesn't have anything (significat) in it? what does it matter if it was an invisible or not. the space is NOT open. and your trying to summon it where it can't apear.
the way i see it, trying to summon into an area with some1 else in (that he can't be with. remmber if its 3 size categories larger and such rules let it go into such space) you can't summon there. idk what happen to the spell then, i guess it ether fails - like if you would try and summon it into a surface that can't hold it. or you get an 'error' fealing when you try and need to change where your having it pop (and fail if no where in range is ok).

Liberty's Edge

Honestly, I'd just make the spell fail and tell the caster that there was something unseen in the square that prevented the spell from working and prompt a Perception and Spellcraft Check.

They lose the spell, **Sad Trombone** oh well, things are ALWAYS supposed to turn out the way the party wants.


Dave Justus wrote:

Personally I would move the invisible fighter to the nearest free space.

No rules justification for it, but it makes sense to me, and would keep the PCs unaware of the invisibility.

This is a good ruling. It may not be rules legal and is open to abuse as the GM is essentially revising the location of the enemy based on the players actions. But the GM is not looking to gain an advantage and unless the PCs are metagaming (and there is no indication that they are) they will be unaware of the change. If the players are metagaming and cast the spell in an attempt to reveal the fighter then the GM has dealt with the situation well by both allowing the spell and keeping the fighter hidden.


Themetricsystem wrote:

Honestly, I'd just make the spell fail and tell the caster that there was something unseen in the square that prevented the spell from working and prompt a Perception and Spellcraft Check.

They lose the spell, **Sad Trombone** oh well, things are ALWAYS supposed to turn out the way the party wants.

I think this is a fair way to handle it. Since, unless you give the invisible creature free movement the characters will know something is up anyway. I don't think the creature should get free movement since you don't get free movement even when you're doing something like dodging a fireball.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
zza ni wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
Since it’s not covered by the rules, you’re in house rules territory. My assumption would be for the summoner creature to be shunted to the nearest open space, as happens with most teleports.

from the magic chapter, on the conjeratin school spells:

"A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it."

my english isn't the best( it's a 2nd language) but doesn't 'open location' mean that it doesn't have anything (significat) in it? what does it matter if it was an invisible or not. the space is NOT open. and your trying to summon it where it can't apear.
the way i see it, trying to summon into an area with some1 else in (that he can't be with. remmber if its 3 size categories larger and such rules let it go into such space) you can't summon there. idk what happen to the spell then, i guess it ether fails - like if you would try and summon it into a surface that can't hold it. or you get an 'error' fealing when you try and need to change where your having it pop (and fail if no where in range is ok).

This is the correct answer. The spell would fail.


Personally, I think I fall in to the 'Move the invisible creature' camp ... but for an additional differing reason.

MOST (standard) summon spells are a Full Round Action, ie, more than long enough for the invisible creature to GTFO. Perhaps even to attack the Caster, and interupt the spell.


Roonfizzle Garnackle wrote:

Personally, I think I fall in to the 'Move the invisible creature' camp ... but for an additional differing reason.

MOST (standard) summon spells are a Full Round Action, ie, more than long enough for the invisible creature to GTFO. Perhaps even to attack the Caster, and interupt the spell.

Magic wrote:
You make all pertinent decisions about a spell (range, target, area, effect, version, and so forth) when the spell comes into effect.

The caster doesn't select a position until the full round action is over, so there really isn't time to get out of the way.


Why not just have the invisible person fall prone? Because the enemy is invisible he would not fall target to attacks of opportunity, and because of how prone works their is no penalty for squeezing or difficult terrain.

Otherwise, I would give a reflex save. On a pass move to the a nearby square (roll 1d8 like aiming a splash weapon), on a fail drop prone.

****************
This question reminded me that there are few if any rules for what happens when you drop something bigger than the character. The only rule I found was for the Collapsed Ceiling trap, that asks for a Reflex save based on where you are, a fail save is guaranteed to bury you.


Having the spell fail may be a strict RAW interpretation - which might be the right answer for a rules forum but seems like a bad interpretation in that the consequences are bad. So now invisible creatures prevent summoning? So I can fill my lair with invisible skeletons and no summoning can happen? And more likely, that'll be the last time my group of pc's ever goes anywhere without at least one of the pc's having See Invisibility. Or I'll have them trying to figure out how to use Invisibility to prevent NPC's from summoning. Seems simpler and less consequential to shunt the summoned creature to the nearest open space or failing having one available squeeze in a smaller space if needed. Shunting to nearby space also prevents player squawk which is sure to happen if a I negate a spellcaster's action for a round, especially one he spent a full round action on.

Though "secretly" moving the invisible fighter is also an elegant answer.


Latrecis wrote:
And more likely, that'll be the last time my group of pc's ever goes anywhere without at least one of the pc's having See Invisibility.

I could see the group having at least one player investing in an ioun wyrd familiar if this became a common ruling.

That's a huge bucket of worms if they use one of those to overcompensate.


Latrecis wrote:

Having the spell fail may be a strict RAW interpretation - which might be the right answer for a rules forum but seems like a bad interpretation in that the consequences are bad. So now invisible creatures prevent summoning? So I can fill my lair with invisible skeletons and no summoning can happen? And more likely, that'll be the last time my group of pc's ever goes anywhere without at least one of the pc's having See Invisibility. Or I'll have them trying to figure out how to use Invisibility to prevent NPC's from summoning. Seems simpler and less consequential to shunt the summoned creature to the nearest open space or failing having one available squeeze in a smaller space if needed. Shunting to nearby space also prevents player squawk which is sure to happen if a I negate a spellcaster's action for a round, especially one he spent a full round action on.

Though "secretly" moving the invisible fighter is also an elegant answer.

creatures can share space if they are 3 size categories difrent from each other. unless thay specificly call out to take the whole area they are in (like j-cubes). so very small summons or big enough can still be used, even if you fill the place up with skellies. (which most probebly won't be controlled as there is a hd limit.)

also since the last details of the spell happen when it is done. id let you summon a difrent thing that would be able to get in there. as in when you end casting you get a list of things you can summon. and the ones that can't be used where you want them are unavilable, without tellin you why.
if the caster insist on tryin to brin one of the unavialbe then ill fail his spell. but again that is my rulling. raw as i mantioned should just fail the spell.


Latrecis wrote:
So now invisible creatures prevent summoning?

Just as much as trying to summon something into a non-invisible creature's space would, and always has.

Latrecis wrote:
And more likely, that'll be the last time my group of pc's ever goes anywhere without at least one of the pc's having See Invisibility.

Possibly. Or faerie fire, glitterdust, invisibility purge, a bag of flour, or any one of numerous methods for not necessarily revealing the creature specifically, but at least knowing the general area it's in. Even a good Perception check or detect magic could get you a rough idea of where not to place your spells.

It's the most consistently fair ruling, both RAW and intent, for spells trying to appear in illegal locations. It would be the same if you tried to summon a creature over an illusory floor or one that couldn't support its weight. It doesn't appear and then fall, nor do you tell the caster to pick a lighter weight or flying creature instead. They don't know why it happened. It could have been placed in an area covered by globe of invulnerability and might appear if it expires. Maybe they make the wrong conclusion and rush to attack that space, thinking there's an invisible target, and fall through the floor.


Pizza Lord wrote:
Latrecis wrote:
So now invisible creatures prevent summoning?

Just as much as trying to summon something into a non-invisible creature's space would, and always has.

I'd say that part is questionable though.

Quote:
It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it.

That could be interpreted to mean the creature must appear in the nearest suitable location rather than the spell automatically fails if the targeted space isn't actually open.


Melkiador wrote:
Pizza Lord wrote:
Latrecis wrote:
So now invisible creatures prevent summoning?

Just as much as trying to summon something into a non-invisible creature's space would, and always has.

I'd say that part is questionable though.

The 'and always has' part was in response to Latrecis' statement of 'So now' which was implying that suddenly something was changed or is different than it has been for 8 years.

What part is questionable? Are you implying that when you are invisible you do not occupy a space and those can stack any number of invisible and one non-invisible creature into them (as long as none of them can see each other) like some inviso-swarm ability? I think that's making a bit of an assumptive leap.

If you are questioning that invisible creatures affect summoned creatures just as much as non-invisible ones do (whether preventing, shunting, or becoming fused into a Fly-like abomination), what is your case for saying they don't?

Melkiador wrote:
That could be interpreted to mean the creature must appear in the nearest suitable location ...

It could be interpreted that way, but there's no indication that that is the usual method of placement for these spells. There's a very good track record of spells actually saying they do this in certain circumstances. Take other conjuration spells, like dimension door or teleport. They specifically 'shunt' you to an open space (taking damage) or specifically say you arrive in a 'safe location' if otherwise off target (even after taking mishap damage for being scrambled, once you make a roll other than scrambled again).

Take summon swarm for instance, it states '(You may summon the swarm so that it shares the area of other creatures.)' Strongly implying you cannot summon a creature into such spaces normally, not that you do summon them and then they get moved. It doesn't state 'and the summoned swarm does not get shunted to a free space' or anything indicating that's how summoning normally works.

Just like summon specifically states the creature must appear in an environment that can support it (in this case it's meant to refer to air-breathing creatures appearing in water or vice-versa, not the 'surface capable of supporting it' term for support found in the Summoning subsection). Trying to summon a porpoise on the top of a castle doesn't make it appear in the moat (being the closest legal location, if within spell range). It fails.

You can certainly make allowances or a judgement call in some cases, like a very huge creature only needing one square (at the edge of its space), like an immense snake or something which, while sizable is rather morphic in its actual shape (rather than always being in some tight coiled state rather than stretched out or sinuous), but Rules-wise, the spell should fail without such judgement calls.


Raw answer would be the gm saying the area is obstructed select another tile to summon on, since the spell could not be cast on the occupied space it would not fizzle and thus the caster must have the summon appear elsewhere.

If you want a bit of randomness roll 1d8 and the summon appears a square next to the invisible creature associated with the number as long as that square was also not occupied.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
doomman47 wrote:
Raw answer would be the gm saying the area is obstructed select another tile to summon on, since the spell could not be cast on the occupied space it would not fizzle and thus the caster must have the summon appear elsewhere.

Unfortunately, while that is a fair suggestion or advice, that is most definitely not RAW, nor even Rules As Intended, looking objectively at how they are written.

The rules say that spells that do not fulfill their conditions (targets, range, location affected, etc.) fail and are lost.

Spell Failure wrote:
If you ever try to cast a spell in conditions where the characteristics of the spell cannot be made to conform, the casting fails and the spell is wasted.

That is RAW (this being the Rules forum). Just like trying to cast charm person on an outsider disguised as an elf will just fail (with no indication to the caster why). He knows if the target saved or not, but otherwise he doesn't know why the spell failed (or at least thinks it landed but doesn't seem to have any effect); could be protection from evil, inside a globe of invulnerability, could have been Spell Resistance, etc.

The GM most definitely is not instructed (or implied, intended, or stated) to give the caster (NPC or not) information they do not know. You don't say, "Well, the target isn't really a humanoid or elf. You wanna redirect that spell to another target (or give them a free casting of charm monster instead in its place)"

If you cannot get your summoned creature to conform to the spell requirements (environment that can support it, open space, space that can support its weight, etc.) then by RAW it 'fails and is wasted'. Having said that, if other effects would still apply, such as summoning multiple creatures and only one is in an illegal space, then the others should still appear.

It is the caster's responsibility to know how their spells work and how to use them. It is not unfair that sometimes they make assumptions that aren't correct. If they see a white dragon and cast protection from cold on themselves, once combat begins and it turns out it was an albino red dragon, you don't let them change the spell over because "That's what I would have done instead if I had known!".


Look, if you cast a fireball on a group of monsters you see and it turns out to be a wasted action and spell slot because they're illusory (and you didn't know it), there's not much difference from this case. You picked an invalid target because you lacked some knowledge of the facts of the situation. Move on.


Pizza Lord wrote:


Melkiador wrote:
That could be interpreted to mean the creature must appear in the nearest suitable location ...
It could be interpreted that way, but there's no indication that that is the usual method of placement for these spells. There's a very good track record of spells actually saying they do this in certain circumstances.

Those spells mostly have the same language as they did in 3.0. But the text about open spaces was tacked on to 3.5, because people were summoning whales on top of people’s heads.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Latrecis wrote:
So I can fill my lair with invisible skeletons and no summoning can happen?

Sure, why not? You can do that with regular, visible skeletons as well.

Quote:
And more likely, that'll be the last time my group of pc's ever goes anywhere without at least one of the pc's having See Invisibility.

Then your PCs are learning. : D

Quote:
Or I'll have them trying to figure out how to use Invisibility to prevent NPC's from summoning.

See above.


Additionally, invisible undetected characters can also give flanking bonus, so I don't see the reason why they shouln't block summons as well.


What's been the answer or ruling in the past if a creature tries to move or even Charge into or through a square occupied by an invisible creature?

Most of the time I think I'd allow the invisible creature to allow the summons to appear or not. If they allow the summons to appear then next round they must use a 5ft step or move to leave the now illegal space. If not then the spell fizzles and the spell and action are used but the party doesn't know why things didn't work.

Exceptions might apply, the one commonly used being something that physically fills the space such as a Gelatinous Cube. Note that in the case of the Cube it might be already effectively 'invisible' if the party has not become aware of the Cube (and drop the summons and have it be immediately engulfed).


Kayerloth wrote:
What's been the answer or ruling in the past if a creature tries to move or even Charge into or through a square occupied by an invisible creature?

I believe the move or charge is stopped in the last open square on their path. With a charge, I think they are allowed to attack what they hit, but I don't know if they keep their charging bonus.

/cevah

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summoning creature into a space occupied by invisible creature you didn't know was there? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.