
Azothath |
It's common practice to wear a wondrous item and mundane items in the same slot.
Examples are;
* an Aegis of Recovery and a holy symbol and a signal whistle.
* a Cloak of Protection and a backpack and a bandolier.
* magical rings and a platinum ring(focus for Shield Other) and a signet ring and jewellery rings.
Can you wear multiple wondrous magic items in the same wondrous item slot?
What happens if you wear it(wondrous item) in the wrong slot?
If you wear multiples in the same slot which is active and how do you determine that?
If the items do not have an initial activation time, how do you switch between items? What action does it take?
A specific example is wearing an Aegis of Recovery(neck) and then a lesser or greater Talisman of Healing Power(neck). Once you fall below 0 HPs (I'm going with the first item activates and the second does not when initially put on) the Ageis activates, then crumbles(std action assumed), then (if the wearer is below half maximum HPs) the Talisman should activate and heal immediately.

Melkiador |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Of course, a character may carry or possess as many items of the same type as he wishes. However, additional items beyond those in the slots listed above have no effect.
This implies that the first magic item equipped to a given slot is active and the rest have no effect. It’s unclear what happens when you take off this first item though.

Vizzamir |

You can pay double the price for a wondrous item to make it "non-slotted" so you could have two wondrous items in same slot as long as you paid double price for one.
My DM also lets some items be crafted to take other slots. Like Rings of Natural Armor and the like instead of an Amulet of Natural Armor. Those cost the same, but it has to be a slot that "makes sense". He wouldn't let us have something like Boots of Intelligence for example.

Melkiador |

My general rule is that whichever one is put last is active. I allow people to switch with a move action. That makes wearing two items slightly better than keeping one in a backpack.
As I quoted above, the official rule is that the first item is active, but changing it to be the last one shouldn’t break much.

blahpers |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Philo Pharynx wrote:My general rule is that whichever one is put last is active. I allow people to switch with a move action. That makes wearing two items slightly better than keeping one in a backpack.As I quoted above, the official rule is that the first item is active, but changing it to be the last one shouldn’t break much.
If my GM did that, I'd start carrying crappy amulets and the like to Sleight-of-Hand onto well-kitted enemies to temporarily short out their abilities.

BretI |

As Melkiador points out above, there is reason to think you can wear more than one item in the same slot.
Of course, a character may carry or possess as many items of the same type as he wishes. However, additional items beyond those in the slots listed above have no effect.
It isn't just the Aegis of Recover and Talisman of Life's Breath either. The Swarmbane Clasp is also a neck slot wondrous item. I have a couple of different characters that carry one. I usually remember to ask the GM before starting what the most efficient way is to swap between my current neck slot item (often two Talismans -- Life's Breath and Freedom) and the swarmbane clasp is.
In this case, it isn't about trying to sequence how they operate. I just want to swap what is in the slot when a certain type of monster appears.

blahpers |

Put the one you usually want active on first, then put on the second one. If you run into a situation where the second one is more useful, take the first one off, which should leave the second one as the only worn item in the slot, activating it.
This gets hairy with three or more items, though. And in some cases, the GM might rule that multiple items physically interfere with each other, either when worn simultaneously or when attempting to take off the first-donned item (such as wearing robe A, putting robe B on, then removing robe A).

Vinous |
Given the wording in the CRB I would rule it as one magical item per slot, if you want to swap them its going to be:) Standard action remove item, move action to stow, move action draw, standard action equip. Especially since it has been ruled that activating an ioun stone is a standard action, anything other than that is trying to skirt around the rules.

Azothath |
clearly a variety of opinion in only two days.
unfortunately the thread isn't about crafting, that's a separate rule area. Crafting does achieve the same powers in a single slot at an increased cost. This is really about wearing multiple items and activation.
As Melkiador and BretI stated
Of course, a character may carry or possess as many items of the same type as he wishes. However, additional items beyond those in the slots listed above have no effect.
covers multiple wondrous items in the same slot and which one is active. This covers questions 1 & 3.
I did expect a few GMs to simply not allow two items to be worn. That is a GM decision outside of standard RAW and an effort to keep the game simple. That's not a bad goal.Questions 2 & 4 are not specifically covered in the CRB and thus fall into the GMs gray area. Many items require a standard action to activate (as that's the general rule) but not all.
Q2: I'd assume many GMs would simply have items in the wrong slot have no effect. This conclusion is based on slotted items having to be worn in a specific slot to have an effect at a given price. Items with bonuses not themed for the slot carry a higher price. see Altering Existing Magic Items above Estimating Magic Item Gold Piece Values in the Magic Items section.
Q4: this will have variance depending on the item descriptions and GM taste if items must be switched. GMs will reference Actions in Combat. I'd expect a move action for Retrieve a stored item which excludes activation time.
my pointed example was interesting.
I avoided posting my opinion until later in the thread as I'd rather hear what others are doing and open it to discussion.

Gallant Armor |
clearly a variety of opinion in only two days.
unfortunately the thread isn't about crafting, that's a separate rule area. Crafting does achieve the same powers in a single slot at an increased cost. This is really about wearing multiple items and activation.
As Melkiador and BretI stated
CRB, pg. 459 wrote wrote:Of course, a character may carry or possess as many items of the same type as he wishes. However, additional items beyond those in the slots listed above have no effect.covers multiple wondrous items in the same slot and which one is active. This covers questions 1 & 3.
I did expect a few GMs to simply not allow two items to be worn. That is a GM decision outside of standard RAW and an effort to keep the game simple. That's not a bad goal.Questions 2 & 4 are not specifically covered in the CRB and thus fall into the GMs gray area. Many items require a standard action to activate (as that's the general rule) but not all.
Q2: I'd assume many GMs would simply have items in the wrong slot have no effect. This conclusion is based on slotted items having to be worn in a specific slot to have an effect at a given price. Items with bonuses not themed for the slot carry a higher price. see Altering Existing Magic Items above Estimating Magic Item Gold Piece Values in the Magic Items section.
Q4: this will have variance depending on the item descriptions and GM taste if items must be switched. GMs will reference Actions in Combat. I'd expect a move action for Retrieve a stored item which excludes activation time.
my pointed example was interesting.
I avoided posting my opinion until later in the thread as I'd rather hear what others are doing and open it to discussion.
If you have an item in a slot and then don another item in that slot, you have not equipped the second item so you couldn't swap between them (aside from rings with the Meridian Belt). To swap between slotted items would be 4 move actions (take off item 1, put away item 1, take out item 2, put on item 2). You could get this down to three move actions by dropping item 1, but there could be a risk of losing it. The "take out item 2" action could be done out of combat taking it down to 2 moves in combat, but you would have to hold the item until you wanted to swap.

Azothath |
Azothath wrote:If you have an item in a slot and then don another item in that slot, you have not equipped the second item so you couldn't swap between them (aside from rings with the Meridian Belt). To swap between slotted items would be 4 move actions (take off item 1, put away item 1, take out item 2, put on item 2). You could get this down to three move actions by dropping item 1, but there could be a risk of losing it. The "take out item 2" action could be done out of combat taking it down to 2 moves in combat, but you would have to hold the item until you wanted to swap....
Q4: this will have variance depending on the item descriptions and GM taste if items must be switched. GMs will reference Actions in Combat. I'd expect a move action for Retrieve a stored item which excludes activation time. ...
I think you are making it over complicated.
When you wear A then B. To switch you need only pull off A to now be wearing only B. That's Retrieve a stored item. What the creature does with A is up to him.To stir the pot a bit I'll use 4 magic rings. Say you don Ring A on R Hand, B on L hand, then C on R Hand and D on the L Hand (you all get that R is right and L is left). Only A and B are active, C and D have no effect. Pulling off C and putting it back on has no effect other than making the wear order A-B-D-C. Pulling off A means D now becomes active and putting A back on the same finger means it now has no effect and is the 4th item worn (B-D-C-A). It's like a pea in one of three walnut shells...
Clever readers will notice I ignored the handedness of the rings. The text states that you have 2 ring slots("Ring (up to two): rings." and later "A character can only effectively wear two magic rings. A third magic ring doesn’t work if the wearer is already wearing two magic rings."), not one ring slot per hand. There's a pretty picture but my (curmudgeonly) math teachers in college taught me that pictures prove nothing. lol... so I consider that a GM call. If you use handedness then modify the notation to (A-C)(B-D) to start, then it stays the same after redonning C, and removing A and redonnig it results in (C-A)(B-D). Just be consistent in whatever method you use.

Gallant Armor |
Gallant Armor wrote:Azothath wrote:If you have an item in a slot and then don another item in that slot, you have not equipped the second item so you couldn't swap between them (aside from rings with the Meridian Belt). To swap between slotted items would be 4 move actions (take off item 1, put away item 1, take out item 2, put on item 2). You could get this down to three move actions by dropping item 1, but there could be a risk of losing it. The "take out item 2" action could be done out of combat taking it down to 2 moves in combat, but you would have to hold the item until you wanted to swap....
Q4: this will have variance depending on the item descriptions and GM taste if items must be switched. GMs will reference Actions in Combat. I'd expect a move action for Retrieve a stored item which excludes activation time. ...I think you are making it over complicated.
When you wear A then B. To switch you need only pull off A to now be wearing only B. That's Retrieve a stored item. What the creature does with A is up to him.To stir the pot a bit I'll use 4 magic rings. Say you don Ring A on R Hand, B on L hand, then C on R Hand and D on the L Hand (you all get that R is right and L is left). Only A and B are active, C and D have no effect. Pulling off C and putting it back on has no effect other than making the wear order A-B-D-C. Pulling off A means D now becomes active and putting A back on the same finger means it now has no effect and is the 4th item worn (B-D-C-A). It's like a pea in one of three walnut shells...
Clever readers will notice I ignored the handedness of the rings. The text states that you have 2 ring slots("Ring (up to two): rings." and later "A character can only effectively wear two magic rings. A third magic ring doesn’t work if the wearer is already wearing two magic rings."), not one ring slot per hand. There's a pretty picture but my (curmudgeonly) math teachers in college taught me that pictures prove nothing. lol... so I consider that a GM call....
Rereading the rules I think you are right. It says you can wear additional slotted items, they just don't work. Removing the existing slotted item should cause the new item to be equipped.

Cevah |

Magical tattoos can take up the same slot as a regular item.
Magic tattoos must be placed on a part of the body normally able to hold a magic item slot, but they do not count against or interfere with magic items worn on those slots.
You can have a magic neck tattoo and a magic neck item at the same time and both active.
/cevah