Last post by Design Team is more than 2 months old


Website Feedback

251 to 283 of 283 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>

Mark Seifter wrote:


I actually don't have the derro's -6 Wisdom, but I'd still rather use my Intelligence modifier.

(Platonicly) Lovingly speaking, I think that's a good call :)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

As you're collecting items for FAQing,

How long does it take for a Wizard to understand a spell allowing him to scribe it into his book?

Adding Spells to a Wizard's Spellbook wrote:
No matter what the spell's source, the wizard must first decipher the magical writing (see Arcane Magical Writings). Next, he must spend 1 hour studying the spell. At the end of the hour, he must make a Spellcraft check (DC 15 + spell's level).

Or

Spellcraft wrote:
Learning a spell from a spellbook takes 1 hour per level of the spell (0-level spells take 30 minutes).


Mark Seifter wrote:
rknop wrote:

Here are some FAQs I would like to see:

* An FAQ stating that a worn outfit (perhaps under 8lbs, or some such-- I choose 8lbs because it's the weight of an Explorer's Outfit) does not count against encumbrance. I believe this was in 3.5, but it's not in Pathfinder. I've seen some of the devs stating that this was the intention, though. This can make a big difference for STR 10 (or lower) characters trying to bring just a little bit of stuff with them, but won't make much difference for strong fighter types who wear armor anyway. This is a rules change, but still, it's one I'd love to see. (Easily houseruled in a home campaign, but we need something official for it to work in PFS; plus, making it the default will make it more likely that more GMs will use it.)

* A clarification that "bleed damage" happens on the target's turn, and is not a type of damage like "fire damage". Although the terminology is a bit unfortunate and confusing, I think it's clear in the rulebook that you never take bleed damage when the weapon hits, only on your turn, but we had a giant debate in a recent game where one person was convinced that "bleed damage" meant different things in different places. It was a James Jacob post in his gigantic thread that made it clear that that one person was wrong and the rest of us were right. A simple clarifying statement that "whenever you see 'bleed damage', it's not damage that you take with the attack, but it means that you get the bleeding condition with the associated numerical value" would be helpful.

* When a bard gets Versatile Performance, can he reassign the pre-existing skill ranks that become "useless" because of it? I've read some devs using this as a house rule, and James Jacobs has said that he thinks of it as RAI, although it may not be universal. If the intention really is for Versatile Performance to give the Bard more skill utility, this would be a really nice thing to add. It's worth figuring out if amongst the devs this is RAI; if so, please turn it into RAW in the FAQ

Nice! Keep these coming. Some of those were already on my list, and some weren't yet.

I agree we need some more bard love.

Again and again question regarding versatile performance pops up. The two most common are you performing or just using the bonus from the perform skill. The second question is how versatile performance interact with abilities and magic items related to the check. Does the Halflings receive his +2 racial bonus on Acrobatics when using perform dance?

Here is just one of many thread asking about clarification on the subject: " Rules Clarification: Bardic Versatile Performance".

If the bard really is performning, is this how versatile performance works?

Treantmonk wrote:


Evil Guard: "You can't go through the gate!"
Bard: *Rolls in piano*
Evil Guard: "What are you doing!?"
Bard: Tinkles away on piano
Evil Guard: "Hmmmm...alright, I'm convinced - you can go through."

- If yes, does the Bard get a +2 bonus if it is a master work piano?

- If no, do I get the the +5 bonus from boots of elvenkind when using perform dance?

Also if you really are performing then you don’t get armor check penalties when using Perform dance, right?

As you can see it is messy.

Also there is the question if the bard activate multiple performances a round if he ends one before starting the other. This question and the Thundercaller's Thundercall is brought up in Cheapy’s excelent thread Thundercaller's Thundercall and Bardic Performance . The question regarding the Thundercaller's Thundercall is also one that need to be addressed.

I really loved it if these bard questions could be settled once and for all.


Can you clarify perception?

the +1 dc for every ten feet seems crazy to me, if you are at one end of a football field and your friend is on the other, it is a dc 30 perception check to see him?

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

CWheezy wrote:

Can you clarify perception?

the +1 dc for every ten feet seems crazy to me, if you are at one end of a football field and your friend is on the other, it is a dc 30 perception check to see him?

What you seem to be after sounds less like a clarification and more like an eratta.


CWheezy wrote:

Can you clarify perception?

the +1 dc for every ten feet seems crazy to me, if you are at one end of a football field and your friend is on the other, it is a dc 30 perception check to see him?

Yes, if he's trying to hide from you. Otherwise, barring fog or poor lighting, you don't even need a check.

"Check: Perception has a number of uses, the most common of which is an opposed check versus an opponent's Stealth check to notice the opponent and avoid being surprised. If you are successful, you notice the opponent and can react accordingly. If you fail, your opponent can take a variety of actions, including sneaking past you and attacking you.

Perception is also used to notice fine details in the environment. The DC to notice such details varies depending upon distance, the environment, and how noticeable the detail is."

Thus, for example, the old joke that you can't see the Sun due to the distance is just that- a joke since you don;t need to make the check to start with.

Pathfinder does not have a "spot obvious" check. ;-)

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

DrDeth wrote:

Pathfinder does not have a "spot obvious" check. ;-)

Core Rulebook, Perception wrote:
Notice a visible creature: DC 0


Jiggy wrote:
DrDeth wrote:

Pathfinder does not have a "spot obvious" check. ;-)

Core Rulebook, Perception wrote:
Notice a visible creature: DC 0

Yes, but you dont make a Perception check unless it is called for, and "Check: Perception has a number of uses, the most common of which is an opposed check versus an opponent's Stealth check to notice the opponent and avoid being surprised....

Perception is also used to notice fine details in the environment. The DC to notice such details varies depending upon distance, the environment, and how noticeable the detail is."

So, a Visible creature is DC 0 plus his Stealth check if he's trying to hide. Not trying to hide? No check.

You don;t need a DC 1000 check to see the Sun! ;-)


The distance modifier of x/10, where x is the distance in feet to the sun; is offset by the modifier

TEH RULZ SON! wrote:
Perception modifiers: Object is the sun | +1x10^12

Which on earth would offset the distance modifier by about 20x


In before someone uses this to argue that by RAW, as you can't see the sun everywhere is now in perpetual darkness ;)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Matt Thomason wrote:
In before someone uses this to argue that by RAW, as you can't see the sun everywhere is now in perpetual darkness ;)

A source of light can be invisible and still illuminate the area.


Rogue Eidolon wrote:
Distant Scholar wrote:
Did the Sensei Monk archetype ever get updated so that it's actually possible to take it? (It gives up a bonus feat at a level where the monk doesn't get a bonus feat.)
If you meet the Buddha on the road, kill him.

Is this a "no"?


DrDeth wrote:


Yes, if he's trying to hide from you. Otherwise, barring fog or poor lighting, you don't even need a check.
Quote:
Action: Most Perception checks are reactive, made in response to observable stimulus.

Ok, so I am standing at the end of a football field. My friend walks onto the other end. DC 30 check to notice this? Maybe DC 28, -2 because favorable conditions!

Anyway I have another request: The elephant stomp feat as written right now doesn't do anything, but it was supposed to:

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2l0yn?Sargava-The-Lost-Colony-Elephant-Stomp-Fe at#5

Can this be officially faq'd?

Paizo Employee Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Friends!

There have been a couple of new FAQs here and here. I can't really say when the next ones will be, but sometimes, even a trickling stream can one day become a mighty river.


Thank you for the Paragon Surge FAQ! I've been waiting for that one for years now. :)


Mark Seifter wrote:

Friends!

There have been a couple of new FAQs here and here. I can't really say when the next ones will be, but sometimes, even a trickling stream can one day become a mighty river.

Man, your first FAQs are nerfs to spellcasters? Everyone knows that spellcasters need more buffs! Spellcasters finally have Nice Things, and Big Man Mark Seifter has to go to nerf them?!

Spoiler:
Dear god I hope I don't need a sarcasm tag for this.

Paizo Employee Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Kudaku wrote:
Thank you for the Paragon Surge FAQ! I've been waiting for that one for years now. :)

It wouldn't have been possible without the hard work and dedication of the forumites out there stress testing the system and looking for these kinds of things. I know because I've been out there doing it myself that it isn't always easy and can require a good deal of cleverness to spot these, so thanks everyone!


Cheapy wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:

Friends!

There have been a couple of new FAQs here and here. I can't really say when the next ones will be, but sometimes, even a trickling stream can one day become a mighty river.

Man, your first FAQs are nerfs to spellcasters? Everyone knows that spellcasters need more buffs! Spellcasters finally have Nice Things, and Big Man Mark Seifter has to go to nerf them?!

** spoiler omitted **

Why so mean Cheapy? :'(

/joke


Poor, poor Paragon Surge. Actually that spell always seemed like a capstone for a prestige class or a higher level ability for an archetype. Still nice balanced reining in for the spell while not punishing those who invested into arcane bloodline.


Mark Seifter wrote:

Friends!

There have been a couple of new FAQs here and here. I can't really say when the next ones will be, but sometimes, even a trickling stream can one day become a mighty river.

Awww, man, you nerfed Paragon Surge before I could abuse use yeah, abuse it in a game!

I mean err, good job!

Silver Crusade

Mark Seifter wrote:

Friends!

There have been a couple of new FAQs here and here. I can't really say when the next ones will be, but sometimes, even a trickling stream can one day become a mighty river.

Great! Glad to see the FAQ system is back underway!

For future FAQs, could you post an announcement with the PDT account? That was *very* helpful in making it easy to keep track of FAQs going up before Sean left and the account (apparently) fell out of use. (RSS on the PDT account meant never missing an official here's-a-ruling statement—the individual designer accounts can be too active to make for convenient RSS subscription.) :-)

Paizo Employee Designer

Joe M. wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:

Friends!

There have been a couple of new FAQs here and here. I can't really say when the next ones will be, but sometimes, even a trickling stream can one day become a mighty river.

Great! Glad to see the FAQ system is back underway!

For future FAQs, could you post an announcement with the PDT account? That was *very* helpful in making it easy to keep track of FAQs going up before Sean left and the account (apparently) fell out of use. (RSS on the PDT account meant never missing an official here's-a-ruling statement—the individual designer accounts can be too active to make for convenient RSS subscription.) :-)

I need consensus and approval before doing things with that account other than the announcement post in any corresponding FAQ request thread for the moment, so expect to see those posts when there is an obvious FAQ thread in which to post but maybe not otherwise. For instance here, there weren't any highly FAQed threads I could find with any ease in which to announce. Sure, there was the Arcanist preview, but that discussion is a sidetrack there.

Abridged version: Usually, but not this time.


Hi, I have a question:

I am a Maneuver Master monk, and I decide for my flurry of maneuvers to do an overrun!

Uhm, what happens if I succeed?

Also, if I flurry of grapples, does that mean I can go from grappled > pinned in one flurry? do the extra grapple checks count as part of the grapple system?


I recommend using the FAQ system for that, and if the Design team sees that the question is indeed frequently asked, they'll get around to answering it.


CWheezy wrote:
DrDeth wrote:


Yes, if he's trying to hide from you. Otherwise, barring fog or poor lighting, you don't even need a check.
Quote:
Action: Most Perception checks are reactive, made in response to observable stimulus.

Ok, so I am standing at the end of a football field. My friend walks onto the other end. DC 30 check to notice this? Maybe DC 28, -2 because favorable conditions!

No check at all.

Is he trying to hide?

Is he a "fine detail"?
"Check: Perception has a number of uses, the most common of which is an opposed check versus an opponent's Stealth check to notice the opponent and avoid being surprised....

Perception is also used to notice fine details in the environment. The DC to notice such details varies depending upon distance, the environment, and how noticeable the detail is."


Mark Seifter wrote:

Friends!

There have been a couple of new FAQs here and here. I can't really say when the next ones will be, but sometimes, even a trickling stream can one day become a mighty river.

Yay! Thanks Mark, now I don't have to have Paragon Surge on my 'banned spell list' anymore :)


Kudaku wrote:
It's worth noting that the Perception skill DC chart lists "Notice a visible creature" as DC 0.

Yes, because Spotting a creature who is trying to hide but is visible is a DC0 plus his Stealth check.

And, yes, at "dozens of miles away" then a person does become a 'fine detail"

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Was it really necessary to restart that derail?


Jiggy wrote:
Was it really necessary to restart that derail?

That is an excellent point, deleted my post.


Jiggy wrote:
Was it really necessary to restart that derail?

Was it really necessary to hijack the thread to complain about a "derail"?

And, it's my thread, note, so I don't think rules that some erroneously think need a FAQ is a derail.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Well if it's not a derail, then I'll point out that you said that someone standing (not hiding) at the other end of a football field needs no check at all while someone standing (not hiding) miles away *does* need a check; so apparently there's some sort of diving line there where we go from "the listed DC is meaningless until he uses stealth" to "the listed DC really is the base DC". Seeing as the guy who brought up the issue hadn't heard of that dividing line (perhaps because it's not actually in the rules?), maybe his request for clarification is valid.

Paizo Glitterati Robot

Locking this one up now, since this conversation is fizzling a bit. It looks like we're headed in a positive direction, and if you have further feedback on FAQs, it may be good to discuss in one of the Pathfinder forums :)

251 to 283 of 283 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Paizo / Website Feedback / Last post by Design Team is more than 2 months old All Messageboards
Recent threads in Website Feedback