Attacks of Opportunity, Reach, and Approaching.


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

If you move through two threatened squares while approaching a single figure, can that single figure take two swipes at you? It has combat reflexes.

Silver Crusade

No. One attack of opportunity per provoking action.

If they do something else that also provokes, then you get another attack of opportunity.


Direct quote here:

Quote:

Combat Reflexes and Additional Attacks of Opportunity

If you have the Combat Reflexes feat, you can add your Dexterity modifier to the number of attacks of opportunity you can make in a round. This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a given opportunity, but if the same opponent provokes two attacks of opportunity from you, you could make two separate attacks of opportunity (since each one represents a different opportunity). Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. All these attacks are at your full normal attack bonus.

Emphasis mine.

Found here: SRD Attacks of Opportunity


Burn56 has the meat of it, here. It's not necessarily one AoO per action. It's that movement specifically only provokes once per opponent per round.

Grand Lodge

Thank you all for your prompt reply. That's kinda what I had figured, but it came up last night.

Liberty's Edge

The Fox wrote:

No. One attack of opportunity per provoking action.

If they do something else that also provokes, then you get another attack of opportunity.

Fox got the right answer, but for the wrong reason. There is no limit of one AoO per action. There is a limit of one AoO per opportunity. Some action can generate more than one opportunity. Movement, as mentioned above, has a special limit of one AoO per round.


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Society Subscriber

...That really lowers the value of combat reflexes.

My reach weapon fighter is suddenly much less effective. And the huge fire elemental no longer controls nearly as much area. :(
Good to know now I guess.


RedEric, I have a battle cleric with a reach weapon (longspear), Combat Reflexes and Bodyguard. He regularly uses up all of his Attacks of Opportunity. I use the reach weapon to trip people when they move (AoO) and then when they get up I hit them via another AoO.

A reach weapon Fighter would do even better. If I were using a reach weapon build I would aim for tripping people and then use AoO's to dish out the damage. Great for battlefield control.

- Gauss

Silver Crusade

Howie23 wrote:
The Fox wrote:

No. One attack of opportunity per provoking action.

If they do something else that also provokes, then you get another attack of opportunity.

Fox got the right answer, but for the wrong reason. There is no limit of one AoO per action. There is a limit of one AoO per opportunity. Some action can generate more than one opportunity. Movement, as mentioned above, has a special limit of one AoO per round.

Yes, you are completely correct. For example, casting a ray spell provokes 2 attacks of opportunity: one for casting the spell and one for making a ranged attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Attacks of Opportunity, Reach, and Approaching. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.