
Matthew Downie |

By RAW there's no test required to use the wand.
Activation: Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast has a longer casting time than 1 action, however, it takes that long to cast the spell from a wand.) To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for nonhumanoid creatures) and point it in the general direction of the target or area. A wand may be used while grappling or while swallowed whole.
(I assume that means when you've been swallowed whole, not when you've swallowed the wand.)
Though the GM might rule that you can't get to the rogue.
I hope the tiger is on your side.

Anguish |

Well. There's the Rule of Cool. But... if the PC was the purple worm and a GM declared a bad guy was going to just fly into the PC's mouth without their permission, I expect the player would be upset.
Even if you're talking to someone and a fly flies into your mouth, you're not going to swallow it unless you want to. In your case, you may need another PC to get swallowed, and have the familiar ready its movement to stow away.
Still. Rule of Cool, which means it's all up to the DM.

KainPen |
I say the rouge just cut his way out, sure he has a dagger, cure light not going to be enough to mitigate the damage. is't it automatic sneak attack since the inside has no dex. not to mention if their is a dire tiger in there why has it not cut it self out yet, slashing around in there with all it's natural attacks. tiger could be out with a single bite attack, not to mention it out in 1 full round of attacks for sure then the worm can't eat nothing for a while.

vorpaljesus |
I say the rouge just cut his way out, sure he has a dagger, cure light not going to be enough to mitigate the damage. is't it automatic sneak attack since the inside has no dex. not to mention if their is a dire tiger in there why has it not cut it self out yet, slashing around in there with all it's natural attacks. tiger could be out with a single bite attack, not to mention it out in 1 full round of attacks for sure then the worm can't eat nothing for a while.
We all laughed at (and had sympathy for) the rogue because he neglected to purchase a dagger haha. He has no light weapon on his person. I'm counting on the tiger (my summon) to cut an opening. But I'm worried the rogue will die before he can get out. So even if the weak cure spell hits in time to stabilize him or keep him from being at -CON for one extra round it would help enormously.
And it's what the Azata would try anyway since she considers herself just as much a hero as the rest of the group

KainPen |
let him die lesson learned,the player actual gains xp points lol, I think you are risking much send your familiar in there. your basically voluntarily choosing to fail the cmd check to get your self swallowed, while you could get out of the situation easy by reactivating freedom of movement it going to take you two or more rounds to get out per the shallow hole rules. "If the swallowed creature escapes the grapple, success puts it back in the attacker’s mouth, where it may be bitten or swallowed again." going to take meaning you going to take damage 2 times once while entering taking crushing damaging, this would be DC on concentration check so best option is a wand so 1d8+1. ending round 1 then in round 2 you will have use freedom movement to break the grapple. this put you in the mouth, that is your standard action you are still considered grappled for the time being. you have move action left but really can't do anything with that while grappled. where the creature turn will automatically fail grapple check to maintain vs you, thus free you from it's mouth but it can just bite you and BAM almost dead familiar if not dead.
this is based on if the GM lets you get away with failing the grapple check for being swallowed. if not that means you have to deactivate freedom of movement that i think is standard action, another standers action to reactivate it. that means 2 rounds of auto damage on you.
He is dead anyway unless your tigers full attack can get you them out before worms next turn. you already did your party in trying to save him, by using the tiger. no point in putting anyone else at risk, best bet it to focus on killing it as fast as possible. Also remember your tiger is considered grappled inside the gullet of the worm. So it can use it rake attacks also so you have 5 attacks all that do slashing damage, good chance of getting out and doing a lot of damage. your tiger could end up killing the creature inside out, it choose the wrong creature to try and eat. lol much like that picture of giant snake that ate a porcupine.

Gwen Smith |

My lyrakien azata familiar has freedom of movement.I need her to fly into a purple worm's stomach and heal our rogue who has been swallowed whole. What kind of check is she going to have to make to use her cure light wounds SLA or use a wand?
PS there's also a dire tiger in there with the rogue :P
1) There is no concentration check for using a wand (or other spell trigger item).
2) For the SLA, it would normally be the purple worm's CMB+10+spell level (i.e., level of the equivalent spell). Since you have Freedom of Movement, your GM might be nice and waive the concentration check.
3) Why doesn't the dire tiger claw his way out? One full attack + rake should solve the whole problem.

vorpaljesus |
vorpaljesus wrote:My lyrakien azata familiar has freedom of movement.I need her to fly into a purple worm's stomach and heal our rogue who has been swallowed whole. What kind of check is she going to have to make to use her cure light wounds SLA or use a wand?
PS there's also a dire tiger in there with the rogue :P
1) There is no concentration check for using a wand (or other spell trigger item).
2) For the SLA, it would normally be the purple worm's CMB+10+spell level (i.e., level of the equivalent spell). Since you have Freedom of Movement, your GM might be nice and waive the concentration check.
3) Why doesn't the dire tiger claw his way out? One full attack + rake should solve the whole problem.
The tiger will claw them out next round but the rogue will be close to death by then. Guess I'll just shout at the Oracle to ready an action to heal when the rogue falls out.