Stealth vs Perception is a contest of skills. So lets assume that the stealthy person ambushing gets a 25 for the skill contest, and the Ambushee gets a 25 on his perception attack to see the ambush. Who wins?
Same thing with Perception vs Sleight of Hand. Does a sleight of hand roll of 25 set the target at 25 for the perception so a 25 wins? or does a perception roll of 25 set the target for sleight of hand to hit so a 25 succeeds on slight of hand?
I am sorry I may not have been clear.
I realize the DC for the +5 sword when lower level is 25, what I am asking is for purposes of identifying the sword (spellcraft check of DC 15 + Caster level) or Dispelling Magic on the sword to temporarily suppress it, is the caster level of the sword 15 or the level of the mage who enchanted it.
For purposes of enchanting a staff can you if you make the roll (DC 30) and spend the extra time and gold enchant fireball or any other spell at level 20.
A level 5 wizard can create a +5 sword by beating the DC by 5 to bypass the caster level requirement. If someone wants to Identify this sword later is the target based on his level of 5 or the caster level for a +5 sword (15).
If you can enchant at a higher level caster could a 11th level caster by adding 5 to the dc craft a staff with fireball at level 20 caster level (dc 20 +5 +5 (not having that level) for 30 DC)?
The cost of scribing scrolls are for materials though, correct? Summon monster I calls for a small bag and a candle, both of which are inexpensive. If I want to scribe that why is the cost still 250gp and 2hrs or 1,000gp and an entire day?
Look at the price of scrolls.
The Market value of a scroll of "Summon Monster 1" is 25 gold.
You can make it for 12.5 gold.
Response: "As a servant of Serenrae it is inappropriate for me to allow any other god to test me. I can not in good conscience submit to another god as it would be abandoning my faith and loyalty to her."
If I am wearing +1 leather armor of spell resistance (armor bonus +3) and I drink a potion of Mage Armor, my armor bonus changes from +3 to +4, and I still have spell resistance.
No you loose the spell resistance.
Debateable, that is how we play but I suspect by RAW you would not get the +4 armor against incorporeal creature.
Judgement light is a 4th level spell with the light classifier.
Deeper Darkness is a 3rd level spell (unless heightened).
Everybody can see the hidden creatures, they are outlined in blue AND the Deeper Darkness is suppressed.
If Deeper Darkness was heightened to level 4, they would suppress each other, no outline but only normal darkness.
If Deeper Darkness was heightened to level 5 or higher, Judgement Light would fail.
8th level druid, 12th level unchained monk shape-shifted into Huge Elemental and using strong jaw.
Assume the person has the feats to boost monk damage and monk robe, as well as the feats to boost shape shifting level so he can go Huge Elemental.
2d10->4d8->8d6-> 12d6 -> 16d6 (size and strong jaw)
Greater vital strike x3 for 48d6.
The Faq cleared up that going Brotherhood of the Seal did not stack with strong jaw.
Replace 2 levels of monk with 2 of barbarian for furious finish and a 288 hp attack.
Then there is also cavern crystal craziness...
IEH does not stack with Tome, both are inherent (if memory serves and I am away from book).
James Risner wrote:
IMHO that was a cop out.
The examples I gave in the thread on the FAQ were "James Jacobs who is not a developer saying that for a level 2 paladin who had side step secret he added his charisma twice to the save.
And every undead anti-paladin they produced even those in the most recent Monster Codex using charisma twice on fortitude save.
They have said it was always that way however the evidence does not support it.
With that said, while I disagree with the FAQ, I play by the NEW rules.
To tell me they are the old rules is "pissing on my leg and telling me it is raining".
Well from the Kingdom building rules, which are I BELIEVE a copy of Kingmaker.
Which means you can't use the lyre for infinite BP.
By my understanding there is no such thing as secret casting. I am guessing magical energies that form as you cast a spell are visible to everyone and anyone with spellcraft has a chance to identify what you are casting. Otherwise there would be no roll to identify a eschewed, silent, stilled spell.
This means everyone recognizes when someone tries to charm you and if you have spellcraft YOU can recognize that they are casting charm person on you if you make the spellcraft roll, even though the sorcerer made no gestures and spoke no words in the casting of the spell.
I don't LIKE it, but it appears to be raw :(
Charon's Little Helper wrote:
I did not consider stealth to be that unusal, it is just an "Easter bunny" to me (if we want to use your words). However I did go back and update with some more "unusual" situations.
I answered, you simply do not agree with my answer.
Though Etherealness MIGHT apply.
Blindsight (Ex) This ability is similar to blindsense, but is far more discerning. Using nonvisual senses, such as sensitivity to vibrations, keen smell, acute hearing, or echolocation, a creature with blindsight maneuvers and fights as well as a sighted creature. Invisibility, darkness, and most kinds of concealment are irrelevant, though the creature must have line of effect to a creature or object to discern that creature or object.
Now if a creature had blindsight due to keen smell, the no odor spell might be an UNUSUAL reason why it did not pick up on something.
I fit used Echolocation it might not pick up on an ETHEREAL person.
Those would be unusual situations, stealth would not.
My question is regarding the Special purpose and dedicated power section of the intelligent magic item creation rules. On the SRD the price for a seventh level at will dedicated power is listed as 182000 gp. Does that price include costly material components or is there an additional price if you choose a spell that has one? If there is an additional cost, how do you calculate it?
The cost for enchanting items with costly material components is 100x the material component. This would apply regardless of the method of enchanting so if you created ring of infinite XXX it would cost an additional 100x the expensive material component regardless of whether it was able to cast it via intelligence or design.
Charon's Little Helper wrote:
My unusually is when the creature has total cover relative to the blind-sight person or has the feat dampen presence.
Not when a creature is merely stealthed.
DM, do you have a quote on that?
If you are using a spell trigger or a spell completion item then you must expend one charge a day, but I don't think that you have to cast the spell each day. If you did when say making a wand of stoneskin you would be paying the material cost for casting the spell each day as well as the cost of 50 components.
If you are a sorcerer trying to make a staff of spells you do not know, I would recommend being half elven, using paragon surge and a ring of continuance. This would let you KNOW the spell for the day and thus you could enchant your staff.
Force punch and the Reach metamagic?
Snake style uses an immediate action to use that skill for AC. So you can use it for one attack and only one attack.
Frosty Ace wrote:
Well just as a counter example, Quai Chang Kane in the movie... mentions several animal styles and then is asked which one he mastered.. he says "All of them".
Yes, there are movie trops though "Southern Shaolin vs Nothern Shaolin", but if you look at other examples (Jademan comics) you see people who mastered multiple styles so they would know how to defeat their enemies. Sure they have their special style, but they learn others to use against other foes.
Or in one of Jet Li's movies he had the "Kick with no Shadow" he always used his foot techniques. Then the bad guy tricked him into damaging his feet and he finally showed his Drunken boxing style.
He said do it properly, that means first edition :)
So you HAD to be a fighter/thief before you could add bard... guess that makes bard the first edition prestige class :)
Could swear the rule was a move action to search a 5' square. Though that may be going back to 3.5. So if a person wants to search a square thoroughly it takes 1 min (2 move actions x10) = 20 times as long.
In 3.5 they had this
3.5 PHB wrote:
Action: It takes a full-round action to search a 5-foot-by-5-foot area or a volume of goods 5 feet on a side.
So that would make it 2 min to take 20 in 3.5.
Now the Core rule book says
Core Rule Book wrote:
Action: Most Perception checks are reactive, made in response to observable stimulus. Intentionally searching for stimulus is a move action.
Combining the two (since I don't think pathfinder specifies an area) would bring us to 1 minute as I had originaly thought.
So unless someone finds something specific for the area we have to combine 3.5 rule with pathifnder rules.
MoMS 1/Brawler 19 could use Pummeling style and Dragon Style at the same time. Same can be done with Sacred fist/MoMS. So they can work together.
Purple Dragon Knight wrote:
that's the beauty of gold, or land: their value never change... it's the money's value that changes. One ounce of gold in the 70's is exactly one ounce of gold now.
Incorrect, their value does change unless measured against itself which is circular reeasoning.
1 ounce of gold has a value of what you can get for it.
The value of land also varies based on what it is worth at that time.
1 ounce of gold = 1 ounce of gold, but the value of that ounce varies.
1 ounce of lead = 1 ounce of lead, but the value of that ounce varies.
100 shares of Microsoft stock is worth 100 shares of Microsoft stock but I don't think anyone would argue that the value never changes (I am ignoring differnt classes of stock).
Purple Dragon Knight wrote:
That is one proice point, but if you did it with silver you would get a diffrent price point. After all the Gold to Silver ratio in the real world is not 10 to 1.
Also that is for coins, pathfinder does not go into the purity of coins. So 25,000 gp is 500 lbs, but not necesarrily or evel likely 500 pound of gold.
Finally considering the huge fluctuations in the price of gold over the last 20 years... the price would be a lot more variable then anyone would want.
Appendix 1 Core Rules wrote:
If the amount of ability damage you have taken equals or exceeds your ability score, you immediately fall unconscious until the damage is less than your ability score. The only exception to this is your Constitution score. If the damage to your Constitution is equal to or greater than your Constitution score, you die.
The only exception to unconciousness is Con which results in death.
James Risner wrote:
James I am curious your thoughts on something very similar.
Now assume his strength is reduced to 0 instead of his dex so he would normally be too weak to move.
1) make actions normally, and the ability damage is vanished
Just reread the rules on stat damage, reducing dex or any stat other than con to 0 does NOT just leave you incapable of movement, it also makes you unconcious. I don't think anyone will argue that FoM lets you move and fight normally when unconcious.