I have seen a number of posts about how awesome the Monstrous Physique line of spells are and how they work - this isn't a post about how Polymorph works or the like, as I understand the mechanics of the rules.
No my problem within PFS is this:
Components V, S, M (a piece of the creature whose form you plan to assume)
How is a Level 7 ish caster get his hands on part of a CR 12 monster in the case of a Calikang (apart of course from defeating one) as an example?
Is there some kind of handwave within PFS that removes this requirement?
Thoughts and Clarifications anyone?
Actually in my opinion I always thought the Alchemist was the closest thing to a Warlock with the Bombs being the equivalent of the Arcane blast , and their discoveries being all the other weirdness that the warlock got.
[Archives of Nethys] September Update - Horror Realms, Inner Sea Temples, Planes of Power, and more!
As mentioned before the Fire oracle has the Tongues curse and uses Greater command which means only Abyssal or Celestial speaking foes will get affected. BUT I saw another issue which doesnt seem to have been addressed here,
Can I make one more question regarding this?
Blood of Shadows said: wrote:
Does this also apply also to the "Bomb Admixture" line of extracts? ie can glooms be modified by these or not?
For the record a quick synopsis of this line:
* these duplicate discovery effects of Glooms so probably redundant, but lend to the idea that Glooms can be adjusted by this spell line.
+ these effects go against the shadowy vague effects of the glooms so lend themselves against the idea that Glooms can be altered. Also Gloom Chymist loses poison use so venomous snakes are a bit counter concept.
So as you can see the argument can go either way and I'm just curious as to the intent of the writer.
(to be honest the admixture line of extracts don't add much to the Glooms but they are pretty much the only line of Alchemist only 'spells' so I would like to see them retained or a line of Gloom Admixtures ...)
In Blood of Shadows the Alchemist archetype replaces its Bombs with Glooms.
This would imply that the fast bomb or precise bomb discoveries are unable to be used with glooms.
Im pretty sure this is the case but Im just asking because my searches haven't found much reference to glooms anywhere and I just wanted to make sure.
just putting some ideas together and I was wondering if taking Scalykind as the domain for Natures Bond on a Nagaji Aspirant (Druid archetype)be allowed.
The domain is PFS legal but it is not one under the Animal/Terrain Druids list.
So at the time you took the feat you had the requirements, but once you took Gunslinger you invalidated it?
I don't agree with the thoughts here. Each class I would have thought would get treated separately.
The Gunslinger becomes the Mysterious Stranger Archetype and THAT causes the Gunslinger CLASS to lose its Quick Clear class ability.
Your Divine hunter still HAS Quick Clear which he can use even though the Mysterious Stranger doesn't get that deed.
While the Amateur Gunslinger Feat gives you the option of trading it out for extra grit, you don't have to. Nothing in the wording of the feat states that you lose the abilities granted by the feat once you become a Gunslinger.
If losing an class ability was absolute across all your classes then you could not build any character that loses an ability to an archetype and then dips into a class to regain it
All of these I have seen in play in PFS, indeed the Paladin build I mention above has been OKed by our Venture Captain.
Hi all, I have a question regarding the HD or Level of the Necromatic Servant.
Hi all, I recently came across the opportunity to gain a follower and was looking at the description of the Lookout as per the Society primer page 28.
Lookout (4 PP)::
A Pathfinder is at her most vulnerable
when asleep, and having a designated guard allows
everyone to rest safely. While you rest, a lookout keeps
watch . A lookout's bonus on Perception checks is equal
to your character level. The lookout immediately wakes
you up (as if he had spent a standard action to do so)
upon spotting danger.
Now I remember that somewhere along the line it was stated, that a vanity follower is assumed to be of your own race.
The armor spikes as "Weapons in their own right" are seperate from the armor. You can either have a bonded item armor or bonded item weapons, not both
But I could then later purchase armor spikes to modify the armor correct? Even during character creation? I know that they wont be MW and unbreakable like the armor is.
Hi all. title says it all basically.
Special material or enchanted armors can't which is fine, but I was wondering if Armor spikes could be part of the armor when starting the character either for free or paid on character creation.
The point of difference here is as follows:
Let me be clear here - I am not saying that I can cast Gloombolt, (even though I feel that I should). What I am saying is that the Shadow Conjuration spell should allow me to duplicate it regardless of the fact that it is racial. The PFS designers may come along and say no, and I would respect that, but currently there is nothing that says that I cannot, which is what I wish to have clarified.
I can provide a similar case which doesn't require racial spells - the Thassalonian 'Pride' Wizard Archtype who casts Illusion spells but cannot cast any Conjuration or Transmutation spells at all, not just double cost but prohibited.
See why I am interested in this?
(edited for clarity *I hope*)
Michael Hallet wrote:
My Kensai magus used an Aldori dueling sword with Slashing Grace, so was already nerfed. I haven't felt like it made the character unplayable at all so far.
Sorry for the Thread necromancy but HINT: At 6th level take a level in Aldori Swordlord prestige class - trust me you will thank me for it ...
This is why some clarification in regards to these kind of spells (Shadow line) is needed.
Seriously IMBO Gloombolt *should* be on the Shadowcaster list. Its a spell developed by a race of beings who have the greatest interaction and presence in the PFS world at the very same place that the Archtype originates from. If nothing else my Shadowcaster would have seen and know of the existence of such a spell (and indeed most shadow/fetchling spells).
Even looking at Shadow Conjuration's description it clearly states:
Now to be honest I haven't thought through all the implications here. This MAY open up some abusive can of worms which may have been considered by minds far superior to mine.
But more on topic - Personally I think that it may have made more sense (and may still make more sense) to allow only ONE of each type of now invalid races to be attached to a PFS Id. This would allow those who were 'late to the party' to be able to build a single tiefling and aasimar character for play without flooding the table. Eventually they will level themselves out of play. For the record I have 2 'vanilla' Tielflings (even though I had Blood of Fiends) and no Aasimar (because at the time I couldn't think of an Aasimar concept I liked).
Oh and without a shadow of a doubt the Unchained Summoner was horribly broken - due mainly to the spell list NOT Eidelon - and should never be allowed again in PFS, IMO.
Ok Here is a variation to this issue.
Could a caster using Shadow Conjuration or Shadow Evocation (of the appropriate level)be able to duplicate a racial spell?
Specifically - A Human Shadowcaster uses Lesser Shadow Conjuration to cast a quasi-real Gloomblind Bolt (normally a Fetchling only spell)
How legal would this be?
(And as an aside does anyone know if there is a boon to allow anyone play a fetchling?)
I would chime in here to agree that in general while the spell would fail to be 100% real, it would still be 20% real. But it has to be looked on a case to case basis.
So shadow gorilla standing in the door way would get to attack (and with 20% real hp probably 1 punched back to the shadow plane).
The pit however I'm not sure about because it isn't really a pit it's a dimensional space.
A shadow wall of Stone or Iron would have 20% of the hit points but would probably have the full hardness as the material is STILL stone or Iron, just not as much of it (the rest is buttressed by shadowstuff)
Ranged Tactics Tool box wrote:
I'm not 100% clear in how this works:A 5th level Magus has a +1 sword. They spend 1 point to enhance it by +2 to potentially a +3 or a +2 Flaming or a +1 Flaming Keen etc.
If they have the Arcana above do they then:
For the record Im leaning towards B, but A would be nice.
Given that UMD allows you to totally ignore class, race, proficiency and alignment restrictions then it is an immensely powerful skill - hence it is never a casual use of time.
Also if you want ranged touch with special effects tacked on - play an alchemist - its what they DO.
Add to that the ability to buff others in THEIR actions not your own (with the infusion discovery) you have a pretty good if not better substitute.
Thanks for all the input people, but unfortunately once again what I am seeing here is more table variation. You realise that under the description of the ability it doesn't even specify a range?
Thanks once again all
The Morphling wrote:
Because isn't that what it states under advancing a monster with racial hit dice?
Step 1: Plan the Monster
When advancing a monster by adding racial HD, you should start by deciding what you want the monster to become. In most cases, this means merely a tougher, stronger version of an existing monster. Note the desired CR of the new monster. This is also the point at which you should decide whether the creature is going to increase in size. As a general rule, creatures whose Hit Dice increase by 50% or more should also increase in size, but GMs should feel free to ignore this rule if warranted by the individual creature or situation.
Now the general rule is that the creature should increase size. Individual GMs can ignore this rule. So the default easy rule is that they increase in size. The exceptional case is that the GM can ignore it which by definition it is opening this ability to table variation, which I thought was the whole point that PFS was trying to stop.
Also nowhere in the description of the ability does it state human skeleton or zombie or even that it is the same race as the Oracle.
Please everyone understand - I am not trying to stretch rules to gain amazing overpowering advantages - but I am not going to short change myself from a class ability either.
The Morphling wrote:
You always get the generic version of the creature. The human skeleton whose stats exist in the Bestiary is the one you get, no questions asked, do not pass go, do not collect a 200 gp chunk of onyx. You don't get to pick a skeleton and apply a template.
I can accept that , but the HD of the skeleton or zombie increases with my level as well.
So given that, all I can suppose is as I progress in levels I start adding 'Racial' HD as per the advancing a monster rules.
Only problem is eventually as per those rules the Skeleton or Zombie will become large at around I think 5th level and eventually huge at 9th if my understanding of the advancement rules due to HD is correct.
Trust me Im not looking to make awesome engines of destruction - I am quite happy to get a vanilla generic skeleton or zombie with appropriate advancement due to increased HD, BUT is it PFS legal?
Thanks for your reply on this but this shows the problem I'm stating. YOU as a GM would tell me 'No I can only do Human skeletons/zombies'.This would mean I would have to develop a line of non official xHD skeletons/zombies, which while I think is a fine solution, may be considered illegal by another GM. This is about PFS not home grown.
Im not insisting that a PFS head honcho or a developer answers me immediately but can people maybe flag this for FAQ.
(otherwise Im going to have to create a series of Bestiarys with every allowable monster having the skeleton, the zombie, the bloody skeleton and the fast zombie templates applied AND also a series of Generic advanced Human Skeletons and Zombies with increasing HD until 20th ... which actually doesn't sound like that bad an idea. Anyone know where I can grab the entire beastiaries as a spreadsheet or xml form ...)
I have a question as per the heading regarding the Bones Oracle's Raid the Dead Mystery.
Raise the Dead (Su): As a standard action, you can summon a single skeleton or zombie to serve you. The undead creature has a number of Hit Dice equal to your oracle level. It remains for a number of rounds equal to your Charisma modifier. At 7th level, you can summon a bloody skeleton or fast zombie. At 15th level, you can summon an advanced skeleton or zombie. You can use this ability once per day plus one additional time per day at 10th level.
Now my question is this. At home games the summoned monster could be anything that a player can have his GM approve of I suppose, but what about for PFS? This is an issue so as to minimize table variation.
Does the skeleton have to be human? Can I go through the Bestiaries looking up various 1 HD creatures to get the best bang for buck?
As an example compare the attribute arrays for a
Str 15, Dex 14, Con —, Int —, Wis 10, Cha 10
Str 17, Dex 13, Con -, Int -, Wis 10, Cha 10
Str 17, Dex 10, Con —, Int —, Wis 10, Cha 10
Str 19, Dex 9, Con -, Int -, Wis 10, Cha 10
What happens when I get to level 2? Do I start summoning Gnolls or some other superior 2 HD monster or do I summon a 'generic' 2HD creature.
3rd level Bug bear or bear or whatever ...
Unfortunately this isn't all. At 7th level I start summoning Fast Zombies or Bloody Skeletons.
has anyone considered this?:
Fast Zombie Barghest. Young Bloody White Dragon Skeleton which are both 7 HD ...
Ultimately my question here is: there an official PFS Ruling regarding the types of creatures that can be Raised by the Oracle. Or is it considered that given it is a relatively short duration limited use ability, anything that is a legal animated target is ok?
Just wanting to know what should happen if the Party's caster has told them before hand that a particular illusion will happen: for example an illusionary thick fog produced by say Major Image (so sight is very limited, sound becomes deadened and a feeling of damp will fill the air), cast during a combat to blind their opponents.
Does the party automatically disbelieve?, do they have to make a will save at +4? or do they have to save as normal?
Note that the caster can be having the 'fog' swirl and react while concentrating, so it wont automatically disappear when the enemy touches it.
So if the Gunslinger is so bad for PFS play BUT it seems that to be this 'bad' it is dependent on being a Pistollero why not take a page from the Summoners PFS restrictions (no Master Summoners or Symbiots) and say - sorry no Pistollero in PFS.
Look the main reason that people see Gunslingers as abusive or unliked is due to the hyper optimised double pistol/rapid fire/2 weapon firing munchkins that ruined it for everyone (and thats before we took into account weapon chords and gloves of holding, prehensile tails, familiars of reloading etc etc)- limit it to one gun firing per turn if you have to in PFS.
The other thing that seems prevalent in Gunslinger/Western lore is whats sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander - ie there is always some other gunslinger trying to prove (s)he is the best. Make yourself too well known as a buzzsaw of bullets and some other guy or gal will one day shoot you in the back just because they want the rep of being the guy that killed ...
This build explains itself, I think; you're here mainly for that third Evangelist boon. With your Zen Archer abilities, you get twice your wisdom bonus on attack rolls within 30 feet, and your wisdom bonus to damage.
Sorry Ruby2 unless I am mistaken PF prohibits the use of a stat to modify an ability twice - so yes you can add wisdom to hit and damage but you cant add it to hit again.
apologies if this has already been discussed