Throwing Magus Arcana. Can I get a Cost break down please?


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Ranged Tactics Tool box wrote:


Whenever the magus enhances his weapon using his arcane pool, he can spend 1 additional point from his arcane pool to add the returning and throwing abilities to the list of available weapon special abilities.

I'm not 100% clear in how this works:

A 5th level Magus has a +1 sword. They spend 1 point to enhance it by +2 to potentially a +3 or a +2 Flaming or a +1 Flaming Keen etc.

If they have the Arcana above do they then:
A) Spend a further 1 point and it becomes a +2 flaming returning thrown sword?
Total pool cost = 2, enhancement cost = +2
or
B) Spend 1 point to allow them to be able to add thrown and returning for an additional enhancement plus each on top of the +1 Flaming, which would only be possible at level 5 if they did not make the sword Flaming (Base +1 sword, 2 enhancement bonuses due to level 5, cost of 1 each for thrown and return.)
Total pool cost = 2, enhancement cost = +4

For the record Im leaning towards B, but A would be nice.
I'm hoping I've made my confusion clear.

cheers


Nikolaus Athas wrote:
Ranged Tactics Tool box wrote:


Whenever the magus enhances his weapon using his arcane pool, he can spend 1 additional point from his arcane pool to add the returning and throwing abilities to the list of available weapon special abilities.

I'm not 100% clear in how this works:

A 5th level Magus has a +1 sword. They spend 1 point to enhance it by +2 to potentially a +3 or a +2 Flaming or a +1 Flaming Keen etc.

If they have the Arcana above do they then:
A) Spend a further 1 point and it becomes a +2 flaming returning thrown sword?
Total pool cost = 2, enhancement cost = +2
or
B) Spend 1 point to allow them to be able to add thrown and returning for an additional enhancement plus each on top of the +1 Flaming, which would only be possible at level 5 if they did not make the sword Flaming (Base +1 sword, 2 enhancement bonuses due to level 5, cost of 1 each for thrown and return.)
Total pool cost = 2, enhancement cost = +4

For the record Im leaning towards B, but A would be nice.
I'm hoping I've made my confusion clear.

cheers

I think I might understand what you are saying with B, but just in case:

The throwing and returning abilities are added to the list of available options for adding abilities to your weapon when you enhance it.

Thus, if you are level 5, and can add +2 to your +1 sword, you could have:

+3 Sword
+2 Flaming Sword
+1 Flaming Throwing Sword
+1 Throwing Returning Sword
+2 Returning Sword
etc.

Hope this helps!

Liberty's Edge

Ok but instead of costing 1 Arcane point it costs 2 correct?


Yeah, looks like it.

Liberty's Edge

Thanks. That clears it up.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Throwing Magus Arcana. Can I get a Cost break down please? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions