Rogue

Ghenos's page

18 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


I know that we are not supposed to consider any doubt a dummy doubt... but, REALLY??? What kind of master is that?

Reffer to here. It does not says that o need an attack to hit the spell, just see your target.

Also, on "Aiming a Spell" it says about conditions to aim a spell. Some spells are Targeted and some spells has an Effect.

It seens logical to me by the above sentence that, if an spells is Targeted it is not an Effect and vice-verse.

The same applys to the types of spell's Effect. If it is a Ray spell (that normally need a ranged touch attack), it is not a Cone spell, neihter a Burst spell, that does not need a ranged touch attack.

If it is not enought, you can check rules for (for instance) Ray of Enfeeblement. It explicitly says

Quote:


You must succeed on a ranged touch attack to strike a target.

As it does any spell that requires a ranged touch attack to strike the target.


Not fully related with the original thread, but, as VoodistMonk mentioned,

Quote:
No jump can allow you to exceed your maximum movement for the round.

However, with some set of bonuses to jump, it would be hard, but possible, you exceed this limit. If it happens, what do you guys think that is better:

a) The character lands on its maximum jump distance
b) The character spend a full round jumping, and use part of the next round actions (move, standard or both) to finish the jump?

A 20th level character with max Acrobatics ranks (20 ranks), Skill Focus (Acrobatics) and Acrobatic feat (+10 bônus), using a Improved Ring of Jumping (+10 competence bonus) under the effect of jump spell (+30 enhancement bônus) and Dex 24 (considering level increments and magic itens) will have +80 to its jump check (considering Acrobatics as a class skill).

In this scenario, it would be possible to move 110 feets (10 feets for runing start plus 100 feets on a 20 on d20).


Well, Opuk0 there is a lot of suggestions here, but I will give you another one, if you are allowed to use Path of War content. The best tank I have ever played is the Zealot. It has a decent hit dice (d10), can use heavy armor and can use aid another on itself (as a move action) allowing him to increase its own AC, or of an ally.

But, as Curghann and ekibus said (I'm not sure if someone else alse said this, so, sorry if I did not mention you), the biggest problem of a tanker is making others attacking him instead of his allies.

The Zealot has a cool ability for this, it can receive the damage, instead of allies (maximum of 5 HD damage per level per turn) and can also negate some of that damage using Power Points.

As a Path of War class, it has maneouvers, so, you may also consider having some 'counters' that helps avoiding your allies tack damage. Also, as it recover maneouvers activation its Zeal feature (by making a aid another as a move action) you possible may recover maneouvers every turn, always having avaiable counters to use.


Let's compare it with another 2nd level damage-dealing spell: Scorching Ray.

At. 3rd level, Scorching Ray deal 4d6 damage to a target and Flaming Sphere deal 3d6 damage for 3 turn (9d6 damage). Scorching Ray requires a ranged touch attack, so, even if you are 100% precise, and your targets fail only 50% of time against your Flame Sphere, it worth (4d6 vs. 4,5d6 damage)

At. 11th level, you fire 3 ray with Scorching Ray, dealing, at best, 12d6 damage. Flame Sphere will stay for 11 rounds, dealing, at best, 33d6 damage, but you targets possible will pass the Reflex save more often, since Reflex goes up faster than spell CD. But I guess it still worth.

At higher level, Flaming Sphere will deal at best +3d6 damage per level (one more turn), while Scorching Ray will be capped.


Hi Mathieu Provencher

Since the maneouver says that you can (1) teleport and attack or (2) attack then teleport, I would say that he would be able to use the maneouver if he was able to make an attack (against the creature grappling him, or another adjacent one).

Most maneouvers requires and attack, so, you can't use that maneouver if you can't do this attack.


Augmented Weapon

Quote:


The astral suit coats the aegis’s weapon. The weapon is treated as if ...

Ranged Attack

Quote:


The aegis gains the ability to propel a non-psionic crystal, formed from the astral suit, at a target as a ranged attack that deals 1d8 points of piercing damage and has a range increment of 30 ft.

The Ranged Attack customization is not a weapon, so, you can't use in combination with Augmented Weapon or with feats that specify a weapon (such as Weapon Focus)


It would be usefull if you want to climb a montain without having ranks on climbing skill. Otherwise, it is pointless, since usualy you move faster making two moves rather making one jump. And you can also run, moving 4 times your land speed.

So, if you have a move of 30 ft., you can run 120 ft. in one full round. The CD to jump 120 ft (with running start) is 120 (110 if you consider your +10 bonus).


I'm not sure if I agree with YogoZuno, physically speaking, looking through a telescope is the same as looking at an image reflected by mirrors, that is formed on the telescope lens (usually closer than 30').

If you can't see that image because your curse prevents you to see anything beyoung 30', what will happen if you look through a cristal ball, or cast the scrying spell to see someone beyond 30' of you? (all magical stuff)

I believe that using physical or magical means to suppress curse effects (with GM approval) is not a problem, since your curse is always active, and your equipment may be lost, broken, and so on (and spells ends).


No, they do not. When a class (or prestige class) is allowed to switch maneouvers known on certain levels, it is specified undes 'maneouvers' entry info of the class


I agree with blahpers, it makes sense to be the "caster's HD", not the target's.


Indeed there is not such a thing. However, Black Seraph and Silver Crane are clearly opposed to each other, same as Cursed Razor and Eternal Guardian.

You can also considerer some basic concepts of disciplines to make then "thematically opposed" (as suggested by KahnyaGnorc), such as:

* Scarlet Throne focus on one hand combat, while Thrashing Dragon focus on two-weapon fighting
* Iron Tortoise is defense, allowing it to be opposed by any "damage dealing" discipline (Primal Fury, Elemental Flux, Piercing Thunder), however, Piercing Thunder switches well between attack and defence, while Iron Tortoise has almost defense-like maneouvers, making then a good choise for opposed disciplines.
* Veiled Moon is "dirty fighting", while Mithral Current is "honored fighting"

Another suggestion is draw a wheel over two axes: (x) Attack <--> Defense and (b) Solo <--> Team. Distribute the disciplines arround this wheel according it proximity to each axe (a discipline is more close to defense if it has many maneouvers that avoid damage or increase AC, and more close to attack if it has many maneouvers that deal damage; or maneouvers affects the player or the allies, for solo <--> team axe). Opposed disciplines are those opposed by themself into the wheel.


Yes, however, increase the damage dice of a light weapon in one category is almost the same as +1 damage bonus.


Sorry, my mistake. The druid indeed gain domain spells, so, it makes sense.


Recently I was re-visiting some interesting feats and I got confused with this one: Shadow Priest.

The text says:

Quote:
You gain the sneak attack class feature as if you were a rogue of equal to your current level.

.

And I was wounder: "OK, if I was a Cleric 1, I got +1d6 sneak attack, and if I was a Cleric 3, I got +2d6 sneak attack. But, how about if I was a multiclass Cleric 1/Fighter 2. Or worst, how about if I was a multiclass Cleric 1/Rogue 1/Ninja 1???"

Should I understand the "equal to your current level" as "equal to your current cleric level" or "equal to your current chracter level"?

Just to clarify, I'm supposing that the feat is meant to Clerics, since it has a "Domain class feature" as requirement. So, it makes sense to count only your cleric levels.

And, another question about the same feat, it allow you to gain sneak attack in exchange for losing your domain spell. What if a Druid took this feat? Druids can take a domain as its Nature Bound, but does not gain any domain spell. So, can a Druid trade a feat for the sneak attack class feature?


Hi guys. I found myself with the same question. Is there any update about this domain?


Hi guys!

A quick question: Broken Blade Stance says that: "If the initiator is two weapon fighting, he gains this extra attack for both hands".

Considering that natural weapons are discipline weapons, a creature with two claws attacks would be considered "two weapon fighting" for the purpouse of this stance?


wraithstrike wrote:

1. You get a check to initiate the grapple on each attack. You don't automatically get a grapple check every time no matter what. So if you grapple them with the bite on the first attack then you don't get a grapple check on the claw attack because they are already grappled. That is because the grab ability is to "start" the grapple, not get a grapple every time an attack lands.

2. When someone is grappled you can either make one grapple check as a standard action to keep them grappled. Otherwise they are free.

3. See 1.

4. In the case of a tiger yes, since the grab ability says that any grapple check made against a grappled opponent deals damage, and the Kraken feat applies anytime you that you do damage.

Thanks for explanations. However, on the third question, I didn't understand the relation to the first question.

If she is already grappling the foe, she may, if she wishes, harm the foe, making a CMD check. If she success, she deals damage as one of its natural weapons (grapple harm option) plus her Wisdom bonus (Kraken Style feat), and, also, due its "rake" monster hability, she can make two free claws attacks. Is there any interpretation error here?


Hi everyone!

I know that are a lot of questions related to this theme, but, I get another one.

Let's check the Kraken Style feat:

Quote:


Benefit: When you succeed at a grapple check while using this style, your opponent takes an amount of bludgeoning damage equal to your Wisdom modifier in addition to any damage your grapple deals, such as when you choose to harm your opponent as part of a successful check to maintain a grapple. In addition, you gain a +2 bonus on combat maneuver checks to maintain a grapple.

Now, suppose a Druid with this feat using wild shape to shape into a Tiger

Quote:


Speed 40 ft.
Melee 2 claws +10 (1d8+6 plus grab), bite +9 (2d6+6 plus grab)
Space 10 ft.; Reach 5 ft.
Special Attacks pounce, rake (2 claws +10, 1d8+6)

Question 1: In a full-round action, may this Druid get three attack (claw/claw/bite), make a CMB check for each on (due the grab monster special attack) and add her Wisdom bonus as damage in any sucessfull CMD check?

Question 2: Assuming that she success in more than one grapple check and her target does not break the grapple on its turn. Can she make just one CMD check to mantain the grapple, or should she do one for each successful grab attack?

Question 3: If she mantain the grapple, and decide to harm her target, the damage dealt would be 2d6+6 (harm with any natural weapon, using bit in this case) plus its Wisdom bonus (due Kraken Style feat), and she gets two claw attack with +10, dealing 1d8+6 damage on each sucessfull one. Is that right?

Question 4: If she mantain the grapple, and decide to pin her target, would she deal damage equals her Wisdom bonus?