Augmented Gearsman

Droideka's page

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber. 37 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist.


RSS


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

We play the Base is just to hold Supporters and does not impact the game in any other way. So you can just go there and gain some Supporters, all other instructions, powers or effect etc. are ignored (unless explicitly directed otherwise). For example, with CotCT Scenario 4D, Trial of the Totem, we only put Totem Piles on the normal locations and not the Base location and the scenario end of turn power does not apply to it.

Well, I hope that's right ;)

Bonus question: You can explore multiple times at the Base with explore cards, just like any other location, can't you?
So if one player starts at the Base, they can free explore and gain a Supporter, then say draw a card (one of the options at Base), then discard an explore card to explore, gain a Supporter, then heal that card (another option at the Base), repeat for as many explore cards as you may have.

We have Kess in our team with 9 Allies and she can go through that deck as much as she wants at the start.......is this right?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Thank you :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Only just realised that we have probably messed up on a couple of things and I don't think there is any FAQ for it so if I may just check with all you gurus please?

1) It is selected as a role card just like any other and like it has been done in previous sets with other "special" roles from adventures. You do not select a "normal" role for your character and then in addition add on the Blackjack powers as well.

The Title side of Blackjack "adds to...rather than replacing" and the +1, +2 Hand size boxes tricked us (normally hand size is just another box on the role cards). Thought this was something new and different to make it stand out from previous sets. But it makes sense now after re-reading it several times.

2) If you do select the Blackjack Role, if you add any Blackjack cards (the 3 Loot cards), they are just added to your deck as extra cards and do not count to your type limits. So if you add the 2 Loot Weapons and you already had say 2 weapons max, you would now have 4 weapons (any 2 from normal game play plus the 2 Blackjack ones).

This is correct isn't it?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

We only really thought about it after we had finished, so we didn't look up any rules during play, like we would normally do.

I knew I read that somewhere. Thank you both :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I assume the powers for this ally are ignored in this particular scenario?
You just need to find and acquire it (which is a Proxy A in this case) and then have it displayed at the location you found it.

You don't get the Combat and Fortitude 1d6 bonus and you don't recharge it at the end of turn? That is how we played it as it makes the most sense in order to allow guarding as per the other Scenario rules.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Add one word to the "To Close or Guard" requirement for that location and that should clear it up :)
"Successfully acquire the top blessing of the hourglass."


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Where would be the challenge to close/guard if it was just to simply gain the card?
There would only be indirect "costs":
-A player would lose a turn later in the Scenario because there is one less card in the hourglass.
-If you were on the last turn and there are no cards left in the hourglass (which is still something you need to be aware of in general anyway).

So yeah, if they want you to gain it, it will say Draw :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

As I suspected but I had to check as it sparked a discussion within my group. Sometimes people read into things that just aren't there ;)
Thank you again :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I asked a similar question as I was unsure too but Items will not be looked at as a whole:

Item Query

It counts as playing an Item to use unless directed differently on the card, then nothing has changed.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Does the Red Mantis go back on top as it is not one of the "any other examined cards"?

Example, you examine the top 3 cards, Barrier, Boon & Red Mantis.
As you examined a Red Mantis, you encounter the danger. Then banish the Boon and return any other examined cards to the bottom , so just the Barrier (as you have already performed the required action from examining the Red Mantis)?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

As it doesn't say for each die rolled, I would say b) also.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Looks like it has been already planned out (of course it has :) and I missed the bit where they decrease per scenario, so we will add the extra wildcards.

Thank you both for clarifying :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

This adventures uses the same 4 wildcards for each Scenario.

I assume this replaces the requirement of the wildcards if you are playing with characters from Dragon's Demand? (i.e. 3 if you completed all of it).
You don't need the 3 plus the 4 from the AD? That will make it insane with 7 wildcards.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

You are using knowledge instead of, not in addition to.
So when you use that power your "selected" skill is Knowledge which in Quinn's case is based of Intelligence. So you could use Intelligence based cards to buff that check or Knowledge ones of course.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Yes that is how we used to play it and playing it now - just checking.
Thank you very much for clarifying :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Ok, that makes him sneaky/nasty. Need to remember when he is your deck then, which means you will forget and it will happen ;)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

The Transition Guide in the rulebook states:

On weapons and spells from previous sets, any power that adds to or subtracts from a check, or that rerolls dice, may be played freely.

No problem, but what about Items?

For example, Item 1 - Bloodbound Hat (Class Deck - Pathfinder Tales)

Power 1: Reveal this card to add 2 to your Diplomacy non-combat check.

Power2: When you would fail a check, discard this card to reroll 1 die; take the new result.

We are currently playing as it is written, so if we reveal it on a check for the 2 bonus but still fail the check we can not then discard it for the reroll as we used an item already on that check.

So just wondering if that 2nd power should be converted to, "you may freely discard this card to reroll 1 die"?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Examine applies to a Stack. The Stack is identified at the time by the power but I believe the default Stack is Location, to work easily with the Trigger mechanic.
Your character cards are in a deck.
So you only examine your deck if told to, like the 2nd power of the "Magnifying Glass".


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Thanks for the report :) We are about to start with this method and I was not sure how it would go. I guess the 3 wildcard effects will balance out the "easier" banes as well. I think we will randomly pick one from each Wildcard card and on the next scenario it has to be a different one from the previous one to keep things interesting :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Yeah I was referring to only the Curse rule as the DD reward will make it too boring, i.e. playing 3 Adventures before you can increase any feats.

So the "easy" monsters will be even easier using the Curse rule then as the characters are leveled up so much from DD.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Just a further clarification example question please.

Normal game for these monsters:
Goblin Troublemaker; Level 0; Check to defeat: 9
Skeleton; Level 0; Check to defeat: 10 +##

Using the Curse rule (completed DD):
Let DD = the # of the last scenario completed, so 3 in this case.
Playing Curse Adventure 1, # = 1 + DD, so 4 in this case.

So are these monsters now:
Goblin Troublemaker; Level 0+DD, so 0+3=3; Check to defeat: 9+DD, so 9+3=12?
Skeleton; Level 0+DD, so 0+3=3; Check to defeat: 10+DD +##, so 10+3+4+4=21?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

*:
Fascinating!


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

To answer the original question and to keep it simple :)
Echoing Longshot, play a healing card pretty much anytime BETWEEN steps.

Explore is a step, which will have generally have an Encounter in it, so as an example, you could heal before your Explore step or after you finish your Explore step (so you can't heal during the Encounter). You could also heal after the give a card step and before the Move step etc.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I think I have been playing this wrong and I think Skizzerz is most likely correct.
I hope this is addressed in the FAQ, just to be sure :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Yeah, that reduces the "value" somewhat of those Weapons/Spells/Items that have the ignore effect. However, I guess you can think of it that the ignore effect Weapons/Spells/Items you are using creates a small "protection bubble" around you only, so other local characters still get hit by any "fallout" from the encounter.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

So is it for all players unless stated otherwise (which makes sense)?

Blessings like "The Midwife", "At the start of your turn, summon and encounter a monster." That would be too "grindy" for all players (thinking about a 6 player game, like we play) and it clearly states "At the start of your turn", so it is an exception?
Similarly, "The Marriage", "At the start of your turn, summon and encounter an ally."

"The Carnival", "All damage is Mental damage that cannot be reduced."
So this one impacts all players?

"The Juggler", "On your check, you may discard a card to reroll a die showing 1." So that is for any player performing a check this turn? (without going into the massive "what means you" debate ;)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Thank you very much for the Core Set and CotCT sheets :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Yewstance wrote:
Nope, Respect Point. Respect Points are a mechanic that turn up in a later adventure of Curse of the Crimson Throne (as does that Scourge).

Cool thanks, just got the game and "fixing" all the low level cards with errors first before we get too far into it.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

The last paragraph says, "At the end of the scenario, gain 1 respect point."

I assume this should actually be Hero Point instead?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

@Mr Jacket Potato & wife, thank you very much for putting these together and sharing them with every one. Great work! :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Thank you for the link. I will do the old "purchase now and ship in the next subscription delivery" trick :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

International customer question: Will this come with any subscription, like the upcoming Magus Class Deck? Or do we just buy it here?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

As I suspected but just checking. Thank you very much :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

This has the text, "Display this card. While displayed, you may evade your encounter with a monster; if you do, you may recharge a card to explore your location."

Does this then allow you to explore outside of your turn and your explore step?. Say for example, each player has to summon a monster on a different player's turn due to a barrier or before you act instruction. After you evade that encounter, could you then explore?

I am assume the intent of this card is just for your encounter on your turn and therefore the above can not happen.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Thank you very much for fixing the Character Roles relating to the FAQ :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I would just like to check to make sure I have the most recent character sheets. I think the following FAQ fixes are currently missing from the WotR character download sheets:

Alain:
FAQ

Imrijka:
FAQ

Shardra:
FAQ