When this is the hour question


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


For example, Calistria's Sting says 'You may avenge by discarding a card.' Does that go for the entire party? Because the active player would never need to avenge.

I'm just thrown for a loop on the word You.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Yep, the Hour power applies to the whole game, just like scenrio or location powers for example, it's not limited to the player whose turn it is.


Ok thanks, Frencois. Just wanted to make sure I wasn't making a mistake.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Ithaqua47 wrote:
Does that go for the entire party? Because the active player would never need to avenge.

It can happen. With Villain powers like "Before acting, a local character summons and encounters X. If X is undefeated, Villain s undefeated" - you may want to sling that summon to another local buddy, but if they fail - you'll probably want to avenge them.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

So is it for all players unless stated otherwise (which makes sense)?

Blessings like "The Midwife", "At the start of your turn, summon and encounter a monster." That would be too "grindy" for all players (thinking about a 6 player game, like we play) and it clearly states "At the start of your turn", so it is an exception?
Similarly, "The Marriage", "At the start of your turn, summon and encounter an ally."

"The Carnival", "All damage is Mental damage that cannot be reduced."
So this one impacts all players?

"The Juggler", "On your check, you may discard a card to reroll a die showing 1." So that is for any player performing a check this turn? (without going into the massive "what means you" debate ;)


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

That is my understanding on all of your examples.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

"You" applies universally, but other parts of the phrase do not. "At the start of your turn" only affects the player taking their turn because the other players aren't taking their turn. The one about rerolling falls under "no one can take your turn for you," I think (don't have the rulebook in front of me for the exact wording). Basically, if the "you" that's discarding a card to reroll a die hasn't rolled any dice (because it's not *their* "your check"), then it's an impossible condition and can't be done.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / When this is the hour question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion