
Tepin |

"Your banner can be affixed to a weapon or shield you are wielding, or held in one hand and attached to a simple pole."
"To use an ability that has the banner trait, you must be holding your banner in one hand or wielding a weapon it is attached to."
So you have 3 options.
Option 1: Flag on a pole. You must hold it in one hand.
Option 2: Attached to a shield. You must hold the shield in one hand, which makes shields that are not held in hand (such as a buckler) ineligible.
Option 3: Attached to a weapon. There is no restriction on the size or type of weapon mentioned in the rules. There are a few options then.
3a Free-hand weapon. You can have the banner wielded while occupying zero hands.
3b Attached weapon. You are wielding the weapon if you are wielding the item the weapon is attached to.
3c One-hand weapon. Simple enough. You must wield in one hand.
3d Two-handed weapon. Wielded in two hands but can be held in one hand and still use banner trait tactics.
That's how it would work according to RAW, but is that last part actually intended? What about the free-hand weapon case. Why free-hand weapons, but not bucklers?

Tepin |

"To use an ability that has the banner trait, you must be holding your banner in one hand or wielding a weapon it is attached to."
By a strict RAW reading, wielding a shield is not sufficient. It only mentions wielding a weapon.

Tepin |

You are using a shield boss, which has the attached trait. If you attach the banner to the shield boss, then you have attached it to a weapon. The same goes for a spike. But without those you just have a shield bash.
A shield bash is not actually a weapon, but a maneuver in which you thrust or swing your shield to hit your foe with an impromptu attack.

Locke Aldori |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I think the held in one hand "attached to a simple pole" overregulates it. It just needs to be held in one hand and can be attached to a weapon or shield.
I understand this isn't what it currently says, but I think they should simplify the feature. I can't see where waving your banner around in your hand or on a pole is going to make a functional difference--your hand is occupied either way--nor whether your banner is affixed to a greatsword vs. a shield (or is your heraldry on your shield).

![]() |

Recognizing that it's Memorial Day weekend in the US and also PaizoCon, I'll wait for Mannak to post when they get to it.

Tepin |

FYI, apparently I've been playing the character incorrectly. For some reason I thought animal companion mounts circumvented the shared multiple attack penalty. Rereading the rules, this is not the case. So the goat's attack last turn would have had a -5 to hit and thus probably missed.

![]() |

Oh! I've been playing that wrong with my animal companion also. Though he rarely actually attacks and usually just does his Support action, it's important to know.
Where is that written?

Tepin |

![]() |

Ah, okay. So I haven't been doing it wrong, as mine is not a mount. Thanks!

![]() |

So how would Taunted work in regards to the last post?
Manual taunted Dura who then stepped up and dropped him. Does the Taunted condition end?

Locke Aldori |

I'd probably err on the side of letting it last at least 1 round. It's similar to Antagonize, which also doesn't addressing knocking the source out, but does say the effect lasts until the target can't see the source for 1 whole round.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Scenario complete. Please handle your own Downtime.
Session is reported.
Thanks for joining me on this and for being a fun and interesting table. Please don't forget to give feedback on the classes via the Playtest Survey or on the Open Response Form.