| Flames of Chaos |
Thanks to everyone for the massive help with the last thread regarding my fumbling with understanding the 2e Swashbuckler.
Unfortunately some new questions arise given some of the neat but corner case interactions playing at higher levels have thrown up for my Swash:
I have both Reflexive Riposte and Attack of Opportunity now that my char is lv12. Here's the questions I'm pondering and would love help with:
1. Can I use a Finisher on an Attack of Opportunity?
2. If not, can I use a Finisher on a Riposte?
3. If either 1 or 2 is yes, how does that interact with the other Reaction I can take to make attacks on other folks turns? For example, do I have to make sure I wait to use the Riposte reaction because a finisher would shut down attacks "for that turn"?
4. If yes to 1 or 2, are there any restrictions beyond the regular "Finisher" trait rules?
Thanks in advance!
| breithauptclan |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
1 and 2) no, and no.
Subordinate Actions. Both Attack of Opportunity and Opportune Riposte specifically call for a Strike. You can't substitute in a different action like Flurry of Blows, or Confident Finisher no matter how much they look like a Strike action when you squint.
You could probably use Ready to make a Finisher attack since it is only one action cost. There is some debate on such things, so check with your GM.
3) Somewhat moot of a point, but it is worth mentioning. "The rest of your turn" ends at the end of your turn. And when it is not your turn it ends immediately after any reaction that you make. The 'current turn' may not end, but that isn't what Finisher trait is looking at. When you are making a reaction like Attack of Opportunity, the current turn is someone else's turn - not your turn.
| Flames of Chaos |
1 and 2) no, and no.
Subordinate Actions. Both Attack of Opportunity and Opportune Riposte specifically call for a Strike. You can't substitute in a different action like Flurry of Blows, or Confident Finisher no matter how much they look like a Strike action when you squint.
You could probably use Ready to make a Finisher attack since it is only one action cost. There is some debate on such things, so check with your GM.
3) Somewhat moot of a point, but it is worth mentioning. "The rest of your turn" ends at the end of your turn. And when it is not your turn it ends immediately after any reaction that you make. The 'current turn' may not end, but that isn't what Finisher trait is looking at. When you are making a reaction like Attack of Opportunity, the current turn is someone else's turn - not your turn.
Thanks for clarifying! I'd gotten this mistaken impression from a guide somewhere on the forums, so I'm glad I asked.
| breithauptclan |
Ah. What they were probably mentioning is that having panache will change how much damage you do with a Strike.
So you aren't using a finisher inside of Attack of Opportunity. But you are using a Strike action as normal - but with panache your normal Strike does more damage. And that does still happen even inside of Attack of Opportunity or Opportune Riposte.