
![]() |

Discussed with my table, and they said they want to put the scenario on hold for our table until we begin the next segment. I should be back by then, so I will not be needing a backup GM during the 29th-31st.
Thanks for the help though, backup GMs!

![]() |

In case I get the rule wrong, thought I should quickly check with others. Would the yellow musk creeper's pollen attack provoke AoO? It is listed as an extraordinary ability which would not. However, it does require a ranged attack to hit, and ranged attacks provoke. So my conclusion is that it would provoke, not from using the ability, but because it is making a ranged attack. Is that right?
It would be similar to how a kineticist's kinetic blast would provoke twice, once as a spell-like ability, and once for making a ranged attack?

![]() |

Thanks Auke. Turns out my table didn't need to use the aid token after all. No one bothered to roll for the burst of healing while continuing to attack. Through some good dice roll, they managed to take down almost everything, so things are good now. Have passed the token along.

![]() |

My table could use a token! One character turned unconscious and all enemies in relatively good health.

![]() |

Thanks!
On another note, quick question about ruling on burning hands and flaming sphere. This spell has affected a character who has a familiar. Now the familiar is hidden in his bag (regular bag, not holding or magical). I would think by RAW the familiar would be affected by both those spells. Am I right or is there no line of effect?

GM Blake |

You are right. A familar is a creature and not a tended object, so an AOE will affect the familiar.
The only exception that I might make is if they have a different 'active' combat pet in PFS terms and so the familiar is 'non-active' through the scenario because that would be like double punishing them, but I assume it's not a wizard/druid multiclass.

![]() |

If it's concealed in its bag rather than running around delivering touch spells or something, then I think you could say it has total cover and that line-of-effect is broken for the spell.

GM Bret |

Technically you should find out if any familiars or animal companions are combat animals. There is no requirement that a familiar ever be a combat animal. If all they want is the passive bonus, then it can be a non-combat animal which means it never makes skill checks, ability checks, saving throws, etc.
Assuming they have been using it to make skill checks and other things, if you do consider the familiar to still be in line of effect then you should at least give it Improved cover from the spells.
Improved Cover: In some cases, such as attacking a target hiding behind an arrowslit, cover may provide a greater bonus to AC and Reflex saves. In such situations, the normal cover bonuses to AC and Reflex saves can be doubled (to +8 and +4, respectively). A creature with this improved cover effectively gains improved evasion against any attack to which the Reflex save bonus applies. Furthermore, improved cover provides a +10 bonus on Stealth checks.
If the familiar was peeking out of the sack, that is what I would give it.
The bag is not a solid barrier so I wouldn’t have it to break line of effect. That is what familiar satchels are for. On the other hand, I have seen other GMs say it breaks line of effect so I would call this an area of table variation.

GM Blake |

The following only applies if the familiar is that character's active/combat pet.
I agree with Bret: Line of Effect is not broken, but if they're completely hidden in the bag, Line of Sight is broken.
Otherwise, the logical argument continues to a halfling could walk around in a sack with eye slits or a human draped in a tent and claim no Line of Effect.
I'm not certain that I would give the cover bonus (for the same reason I feel LOE isn't broken), but that's a table GM call. Just make sure you use whatever call you make uniformly through the scenario.

![]() |

I'll be on radio silence most of tomorrow, attending a retreat. I'll post tomorrow evening.
No need for a Backup GM.

![]() |

I posted a long transition post (or in the case of the Discord tables, three successive posts) in your threads, moving us from the end of part 5 to the beginning of part 6. Please let me know if I somehow missed your table.

GM Blazej |

On Aid Tokens, I noticed that Token #5 may have gotten lost after it used by Batpony. While it was reported in the thread it wasn't passed to anyone.
Our Mysterious Benefactor's table might have also forgotten they had one in the aftermath of the last battle as they didn't use if after one of the PCs there went down.
-
I also had a question on Provide Knowledge. My assumption when handling aid tokens has always been that the type of Knowledge provided mattered. So if you boosted it with a Knowledge (arcana) check you had to use that boost on a Knowledge (arcana) check. Reading it now I'm wondering if I was wrong because the token is worded differently for Provide Spellcasting (which asks for the spell, caster level) and Provide Knowledge (which only asks for what DC your check hit).
If an aid token is boosted with Knowledge (nobility), can that be used to any check to identify a magic item or for any other check or can that only by used in place of Knowledge (nobility) checks?

GM Numbat |

I too have lost track of Token #5 and note that Token #1 has not moved much.
I also note there are three tables that have only had an aid token once. Those are Bret, Greenclaw, and Eddv. Well, technically four but Our Mysterious Benefactor currently has #1.
As for the rest, we are about half-way through tables receiving their third token. My table currently has the most mobile Token #2 and I have reminded them. Once they decide which path through or around the undead they wish to attempt I will encourage them to use or boost and pass it on.

GM Bret |

I also had a question on Provide Knowledge. My assumption when handling aid tokens has always been that the type of Knowledge provided mattered. So if you boosted it with a Knowledge (arcana) check you had to use that boost on a Knowledge (arcana) check. Reading it now I'm wondering if I was wrong because the token is worded differently for Provide Spellcasting (which asks for the spell, caster level) and Provide Knowledge (which only asks for what DC your check hit).If an aid token is boosted with Knowledge (nobility), can that be used to any check to identify a magic item or for any other check or can that only by used in place of Knowledge (nobility) checks?
I have always played it as they get the result for that knowledge. No converting someone’s knowledge of one subject into another. I do this because it is supposed to represent another Pathfinder group coming near your group and giving a little help. If they have no knowledge of Religion, they aren’t going to be able to help you by telling you something about an undead creature you just encountered.

![]() |

My Dad died today.
Could use a Backup GM for a day or two, if someone's available.
Thanks.

Our Mysterious Benefactor |

I have a question for the hive mind.
My 10-11 table has two necromancers, one of which animated the colossal spiders. Would the overall band allow him to keep them into the next part? My thoughts are that this is a a group of warriors on a holy mission and would object to massive undead zombies going with them. What do you think?

GM Blazej |

I have a question for the hive mind.
My 10-11 table has two necromancers, one of which animated the colossal spiders. Would the overall band allow him to keep them into the next part? My thoughts are that this is a a group of warriors on a holy mission and would object to massive undead zombies going with them. What do you think?
I'm not sure myself. I don't like either the answers I have. I would considering allowing them in part because the Twinhorn are not an homogeneous group when we saw the council in parts A through C. Some don't want to see their people not destroyed by Eshmika.

![]() |

If they spent the 25gp per HD for an animate dead on the spiders, I'd be temped to let them keep them. Small change at that level, but a reminder that the spell does have a costly material component that they shouldn't just forget.
Of course the spiders might be hard to get onto a boat.

GM Blake |

I have a question for the hive mind.
My 10-11 table has two necromancers, one of which animated the colossal spiders. Would the overall band allow him to keep them into the next part? My thoughts are that this is a a group of warriors on a holy mission and would object to massive undead zombies going with them. What do you think?
You've got leeway here, but:
Staggered (Ex): Zombies have poor reflexes and can only perform a single move action or standard action each round. A zombie can move up to its speed and attack in the same round as a charge action.
I don't know that they'd be cool with effectively going half speed on their way north.

![]() |

On Aid Tokens, I noticed that Token #5 may have gotten lost after it used by Batpony. While it was reported in the thread it wasn't passed to anyone.
Sorry bout that, seems like I forgot the "passing to", but I went ahead and checked my post. Aid token 5 went to GM Auke. But on the note, I think the wrong campaign thread was linked as when I went back to the thread it is "Inactive". Aid token 4 is also in the inactive thread.
What suggestions should we do with these 2 tokens?

GM Auke |

GM Blazej wrote:On Aid Tokens, I noticed that Token #5 may have gotten lost after it used by Batpony. While it was reported in the thread it wasn't passed to anyone.
Sorry bout that, seems like I forgot the "passing to", but I went ahead and checked my post. Aid token 5 went to GM Auke. But on the note, I think the wrong campaign thread was linked as when I went back to the thread it is "Inactive". Aid token 4 is also in the inactive thread.
What suggestions should we do with these 2 tokens?
Because token 4 was passed in thiscthread as well I noticed it, but I wasn’t aware of token 5. I suggest you pass token 5 to another table and post it in the correct threads.

GM Blake |

Confirming: in the Negative Energy Plane, if a PC goes down (0 hp or less), they die a no-body death.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Yeah, that's correct. The fortress and bridge are in the minor negative-dominant condition, as described in the sidebar. At 0hp a PC crumbles into dust. I would recommend making it clear to them that they are going somewhere very dangerous (and there's a knowledge (planes) check in the scenario for them to know about the properties of the plane before going, I think).

GM Blake |

There is, I gave it to them, I bolded that sentence, it didn't quite instill the level of worry I expected...

![]() |

For what it's worth, when I oversaw this F2F, every table in an appropriate tier went to the negative energy plane and no one turned to ash.

GM Blake |

They just realized that turning to ash negates the chance to use Breath of Life, so now they're getting squirrelly.

GM Numbat |

If anyone is interested, I have been keeping track of the aid tokens on
this spreadsheet.
P = passed
C = current
black - once
blue - twice
purple - thrice

![]() |
4 people marked this as a favorite. |

That's fantastic. Another thread right now has a player possessing the canoe to help navigate down the river. I love creative solutions!

![]() |

I would like to pass the Aid Token (#6) to GM Greenclaw, seeing how they've only gotten it once. But seeing they're on another forum, how do I let them know, other than in the recruitment thread?

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Since Numbat1 already posted in Greenclaw's thread, I'll post #6 to Eddv in Discord.

![]() |

I'm going to be away for a couple of days. I'm currently looking after Lorenzo's table, but if someone could take over in about 12h from this post, that would be very much appreciated. If Lorenzo is not back after the weekend, I can pick it back up again at that stage.

GM Ietsuna |

That is fine with me. I just PMed Silbeg with a snapshot of where we are at. I will send the same PM to EM±GM and you can sort it out.

![]() |

Actually, we have pulled the camp due to worsening weather. So I can stick on the table if folk don't want to change. Sorry for the chaos.

![]() |

Ok, totally confused.
Who's running what right now. I just got Ietsuna's PM about where they are, and was about to introduce myself, but I don't want to confuse anyone.
EM you should continue on Ietsuna, I think.
Aerondor, just let me know what you need me to do in regards to Lorenzo's table.
Thanks.