Storm of Sinners

Game Master BayouSnowman

Deathwatch campaign based on the Calixis Sector from Dark Heresy.


1,401 to 1,450 of 2,165 << first < prev | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | next > last >>

Blood Angels Assault Marine (6), Chaplain (1) [Wounds 23/23, TB 10, Armor 11/9/8, FP 5/5, Movement:7| 14| 21 | 42 (x2), WS:75| BS:35| ST:60+20(14)| TO:60(12)| AG:60| INT:40| PER:40+20| WP:50| FEL:42]

Well you charged (with me) into the mid of the chamber and the demon has appeared 19m away from our poor Librarian soooo I imagine it standing really close


Male Salamander Astartes Tactical marine 4, Dead Station Vigilant 1, 1st Company vet 1

Unless he is the other way! And behind us!! Which would be so much worse! Just trying to see if i am in charge range.


Male Salamander Astartes Tactical marine 4, Dead Station Vigilant 1, 1st Company vet 1

Don't forget we took Oath of the Emperor (+10 to WP), that was fortuitous, I think maybe the Emperor really does protect!

Will get gameplay post up tmrw. Phone posting is rubbish!


Ultramarine Devastator (Rank 7), Deathwatch Keeper

Guys, I owe everyone a massive apology. I got bogged down in another PbP, and then with a 4 month old, an exam and Christmas I entirely forgot to post. I am so sorry, I feel like I've let everyone down. If you guys are happy to have me back, I'd love to come out of the temporal flux and rejoin the story.


Space Wolves Grey Hunter (Tactical Marine 7)

I had a bad feeling that was going to happen. I could not see Hammern doing anything else, though.

Sorry guys.

Cohesion is at 11. None used thus far. Since this is not a fear effect, I assume that I cannot make the test to prevent the damage it describes in the fear section?


Blood Angels Assault Marine (6), Chaplain (1) [Wounds 23/23, TB 10, Armor 11/9/8, FP 5/5, Movement:7| 14| 21 | 42 (x2), WS:75| BS:35| ST:60+20(14)| TO:60(12)| AG:60| INT:40| PER:40+20| WP:50| FEL:42]

Vartas I have no problem with your comeback ^^ we could really need your DakkaDakka now of any times


Welcome back Vartas.

Happy new years to everyone, I'm in China, so it's new years eve today for me

Daemon is about 18 m from everyone, appeared behind the sorcerer on his side, so others engaged are closer, atleast 4m away for charging.

Hammern can't roll to resist for everyone. It's individually.

Daemon in melee, so shots - 20, but you still have some positive bonus from size and what not.

Should be all your questions answered, let me know if not. If you tied initiative with either one, you go before them we'll say.

Lastly, @Varryl FP on killing strike is for an attack, not grapple, so keep your FP and I'll resolve normally. I'll double check rules. It's an opposed test I think so doesn't make sense for killing strike if so, I'll double check rules and update this afternoon.


Thanks for the extra +20 to WS vs Daemons, helps to eliminate Counter-attack -20 penalty.


@Varryl:

You can use FP to grapple as its a Standard Attack (though Killing Strike is for an "All out Attack" I'll allow it as you end up giving your reaction up regardless, but while grappled, neither of you have reactions. Core pg. 246

Seems like you posted a few rounds worth of actions there. I'll allow you to grapple and it can't be avoided, but to ready the torch and fire is next round. No need to roll again, I'll use what you've already done, so just sit tight and see what happens with initiative and others actions.

If its still grappled next round I'll allow you to fire with your plasma torch for roleplay effect. Good idea, maybe others will help you as they get +20 to WS and/or can assist for further actions/ideas.


Space Wolves Grey Hunter (Tactical Marine 7)
BayouSnowman wrote:
Hammern can't roll to resist for everyone. It's individually.

Not suggesting that I can roll to resist for others. I am referring to the roll that the squad leader can make after a squad member suffers the effects of fear and thus cohesion damage. The roll is specifically to prevent the cohesion damage that has already been confirmed. First bullet point on page 277.

But since this is not, technically, fear, I am assuming that I cannot.


Brother Ulrich Hammern wrote:
BayouSnowman wrote:
Hammern can't roll to resist for everyone. It's individually.

Not suggesting that I can roll to resist for others. I am referring to the roll that the squad leader can make after a squad member suffers the effects of fear and thus cohesion damage. The roll is specifically to prevent the cohesion damage that has already been confirmed. First bullet point on page 277.

But since this is not, technically, fear, I am assuming that I cannot.

I'll let you roll if you RolePlay it, why not.


Male Salamander Astartes Tactical marine 4, Dead Station Vigilant 1, 1st Company vet 1

My armour gives this bonus – Squad leader may add +10 when testing to prevent cohesion dmg, because it is Mk 2 crusader armour. Depends on Bayou's view though as it isn't fear.


^^that's if you are squad leader right?

Vartas, do you have suspensor on your Bolter? Full/semi is full action. . If not, I'll let you use your reaction from Hammern attack pattern, assuming he can share that pattern.


Ultramarine Devastator (Rank 7), Deathwatch Keeper

Indeed I do, never leave without it!


Male Salamander Astartes Tactical marine 4, Dead Station Vigilant 1, 1st Company vet 1

I didn't think so, but here is the paragraph from ROB. It is a little ambiguous.

ROB p149 wrote:

Mk2 Rules

:Expanded
I
Wargear

Crusade Armour was not built for stealth. The wearer suffers an additional –10 penalty to Concealment and Silent Move.

The presence of such an ancient suit is a great honour for all Space Marines, who are reminded of the glory of the Great Crusade. Whoever is the Squad Leader may add +10 when testing to prevent Cohesion Damage. The wearer also gains a +20 Fellowship bonus in any dealings with other Space Marines.


You're right, awesome armor.


Male Salamander Astartes Tactical marine 4, Dead Station Vigilant 1, 1st Company vet 1

Yeah although the penalties to silent move, concealment and dexterous tasks go someway to balancing it.


Space Wolves Grey Hunter (Tactical Marine 7)

I thought that since we are all operating as Black Shields, we can all use any squad mode ability that someone starts up.

Regardless, that is a codex attack pattern, so all of us can use it.


Black shields can use any others, but non black shield means the person initiating it must have forging the bond talent... Or if it's codex any may use freely.


On another note, there is a mountain of stuff for me to resolve. Apologies if I miss something or screw it up.


Techmarine/Forgemaster Rank 7

I have 7 or 8 DoS depending on whether the str boost of my power armor and machinator array are applied as part of my base Str or as modifiers to Str tests.


Blood Angels Assault Marine (6), Chaplain (1) [Wounds 23/23, TB 10, Armor 11/9/8, FP 5/5, Movement:7| 14| 21 | 42 (x2), WS:75| BS:35| ST:60+20(14)| TO:60(12)| AG:60| INT:40| PER:40+20| WP:50| FEL:42]

One Question: Was that the actual combat round 1?
If I'm right I should be ready in round 3 (suprise: charge the "sorcerer", 1.: Team-Buffing, 2.:Going Frenzy)
I'm a bit lost on the order right now ^^


Armor and machinator array are modifiers after unnatural strength.

As for order, its a bit confusing to me, but I'll take extra time to sort it out in the next post, heading to bed, so it'll be morning when I get to it hopefully.


Techmarine/Forgemaster Rank 7

Were still on round 1, Temporal Flux let's those lucky few gain an extra action.

My question wasnt about SB, natural x2 + machine assisted.

I wanted to clarify if the increase in strength from our armor and my array acts as a modifier to Str tests or is part of the base value for Str tests.

For example lifting a rock being
Ex 1
(Characteristic+Skill) + (Modifiers)
(50+10athletics)+(30pa+10ma+10hulking-10big rock)

Or

Ex. 2
(Characteristic+Power Armor/Array+Skill) +(Modifiers)

(50+30pa+10ma+10athletics)+(10hulking-10big rock)


Blood Angels Assault Marine (6), Chaplain (1) [Wounds 23/23, TB 10, Armor 11/9/8, FP 5/5, Movement:7| 14| 21 | 42 (x2), WS:75| BS:35| ST:60+20(14)| TO:60(12)| AG:60| INT:40| PER:40+20| WP:50| FEL:42]

Power Armour Bonus would be a Modifier to any Strength check in my understanding, same goes for the Bonus from the Harness, as it is specifically written that it given you an +XX Bonus to Grapple test.

If you would try to do a grapple with your Servo Arm/Harness you would use the Strength value of that thing (75 unnatural x2, or 85 if mastercrafted) but nether your own Strength nor the Bonus from Power Armour.

So in my opinion your grapple would look like:
Characterisitc (your own) + Servo Armor Strength Modifier + XX Grapple Modifier from Servo Arm +- Any other Modifier


Techmarine/Forgemaster Rank 7

Cool. This is the first time I've actually had something potentially exceed the +/-60 threshold so I hadn't really given it much thought.


Blood Angels Assault Marine (6), Chaplain (1) [Wounds 23/23, TB 10, Armor 11/9/8, FP 5/5, Movement:7| 14| 21 | 42 (x2), WS:75| BS:35| ST:60+20(14)| TO:60(12)| AG:60| INT:40| PER:40+20| WP:50| FEL:42]

No I think that is not the case.
As they are "normal" modifiers, I think they are not ment to break that threshold, but more modifiers is always nice to keep that +60 up even against that 80-Tonns-of-Lemann-Russ-Tank Malus =D


Your first example is correct, PA and harness are modifiers.

Unnatural strength makes test one degree easier and adds +2dos on opposed tests.

Currently considering if maximal mode for plasma is allowed for semi/full. Don't think it should but rules aren't clear. That overheat quality, added blast and damage that sucks up 3 rounds of ammo means you just spent half your clip and possibly hitting Xing...

Any thoughts?


Space Wolves Grey Hunter (Tactical Marine 7)

It does not add blast unless it already had blast.

"...increases any blast quality by +2."

It adds overheat and recharge, so I cannot fire again for a round. It gives +2 pen and +1d10 damage, consuming 3 rounds of energy for each round fired.

As far as my reading went that is all it does for a weapon unless it already has blast.

If you don't want to allow it, that is fine. I just didn't see anywhere that limited which weapons or firing modes could use maximal, so I thought I would see how good it was...


Techmarine/Forgemaster Rank 7

Since my character easily weighs over a ton(pg 28 text block), can I just sit on this guy and lay into him? After all he doesn't have the necessary strength (or Emperor save us he has daemon arms) to move my shiny metal ass.

Edit: He can weigh between 900 and 2400 kg unarmored (machinator array multiplied his weight by 3, made swimming impossible and imposed an avoidance of foot bridges). Given his nature as a meat wall I imagine him around 2,000 in his armor.


Oh... ^^Yea, that... Um, yea..
You're heavy so he'll have penalties... Lots of penalties.

I'm gonna rule maximal mode is single shot, no one else had any thoughts so I think because of the enormous power and heat of the mode wasn't intended for semi/full, so I'll resolve the first shot as maximal or all without maximal. If you choose before I update then I'll follow your choice, if I don't hear from you before then I'll roll a dice to decide.

.


Space Wolves Grey Hunter (Tactical Marine 7)

Resolve without maximal please.


Blood Angels Assault Marine (6), Chaplain (1) [Wounds 23/23, TB 10, Armor 11/9/8, FP 5/5, Movement:7| 14| 21 | 42 (x2), WS:75| BS:35| ST:60+20(14)| TO:60(12)| AG:60| INT:40| PER:40+20| WP:50| FEL:42]

We do roll temporal flux every round, aren't we?
Also new Initiative each round?


Temporal Flux each round, not new initiative.


Blood Angels Assault Marine (6), Chaplain (1) [Wounds 23/23, TB 10, Armor 11/9/8, FP 5/5, Movement:7| 14| 21 | 42 (x2), WS:75| BS:35| ST:60+20(14)| TO:60(12)| AG:60| INT:40| PER:40+20| WP:50| FEL:42]

I am a bit confused right now with reactions.
I thought that one has only one reaction which one could use for parry or dodge. With a talent like step aside/wall of steel one can dodge/parry one time more, meaning two dodge/parry or dodge plus one parry.
Or can you use any reaction you have once?
That would mean that a Techmarine for example can use his reaction attack and still dodge and parry?


Xing has step aside and wall of steel, granting him an extra parry and an extra dodge.

Also Xing is in solo-mode, so activating a Ch. pattern wouldn't affect him and actions for round 1 are resolved...I guess I could let that happen though as its a free action to activate the pattern, just need Xing to have joined squad mode first, which is a free action if he makes the cohesion challenge, which I believe is high enough now that its guaranteed...(So I'm just thinking out lout here)...so Yea, if you activate the pattern, I'll say Xing can join squad mode and benefit.

If Xing does that, then he no longer benefits from his solo-mode and needs to spend a half action to retain any warp powers. So good thinking Deleos, you might save Xing from burning a fate point.

If you want it to be undodgeable, then you need to spend a FP and use Killing Strike, which is an all out attack, but I'll allow you to use it with your "Charge" just know that it takes away your reaction, same as an all out attack? Cool?

That goes for everyone. If you want to use an "all out attack" with a charge or something for the purpose of Killing Strike talent, I'll allow it, just know it takes your reaction.

Also, dont know what codex abilities you guys have access to with your Oath, but if you had/have tactical spacing, that'd be good to, as you could give up reactions for others.

The Space WOLF defensive Chapter pattern also takes away an enemies ability to block/dodge. (FYI)

So Deleos, you decide if you want that pattern activated in Round 1, deduct the points and I'll save Xing's little Daemon summoning hide. Though its only round 1, so who knows what else will occur. Good luck fellas.


Blood Angels Assault Marine (6), Chaplain (1) [Wounds 23/23, TB 10, Armor 11/9/8, FP 5/5, Movement:7| 14| 21 | 42 (x2), WS:75| BS:35| ST:60+20(14)| TO:60(12)| AG:60| INT:40| PER:40+20| WP:50| FEL:42]

Well I think it will be Xings Call If he want to join squad mode and profit from it or just trying to stay solo for more actions. I would provide it in round 1, as part of my speech to the group.

On your charge rule: it is cool, but I have quite a problem with my fps after the buffing ... I have none left. But I read that one can use his demeanor as a fate point ... so I'm speculating at triggering the chapter demeanor 'Red Thirst' (that's why I entered frenzy for and playing out that vision from the last battle of Sanguinius). If the rules say that a demeanor could be used as a fp can one use that "virtual" fp also to trigger that kind of abilities (like Killing Strike or say the Chaplains Icon of Duty)?

I know I might sound a bit greedy by now, but just wanting to check all possibilities of this system, as I don't fully understand the demeanor and fp systems, so no problem if you don't want to allow this as it seems like a special rule inside a special rule kind of thing...^^


Space Wolves Grey Hunter (Tactical Marine 7)

Keep in mind that I did activate the Focused Fire attack pattern which allows anyone to use their reaction to make a standard, semi-auto, or full-auto ranged attack.

If you look in my last post you will see it listed there, as well as the fact that cohesion is now at 8/11.

I posted my round 1 reaction, but will wait for round two actions to hear Bayou's ruling on Deleos' charge and Xing's decision on the squad abilities.


Techmarine/Forgemaster Rank 7

Much Obliged Hammern. If he'd cast his illusion again things could have been bad.

Good suggestion Deleos but my minimum defense is 28 so I'm unharmed.

Unrelated, I'm having to introduce a Gm PC in my local game. Which would make a better sniper: a Wolf Scout with his Per based stealth and rerolls or a Raptor with his see-all-the-invisible-people scope?


Raptor


Blood Angels Assault Marine (6), Chaplain (1) [Wounds 23/23, TB 10, Armor 11/9/8, FP 5/5, Movement:7| 14| 21 | 42 (x2), WS:75| BS:35| ST:60+20(14)| TO:60(12)| AG:60| INT:40| PER:40+20| WP:50| FEL:42]

Keep in mind that there is probably another sorcerer nearby as the rubricae are still moving...


Space Wolves Grey Hunter (Tactical Marine 7)

Are the Rubric Marines closest to me at close range or point blank?


Space Wolves Grey Hunter (Tactical Marine 7)

Okay, it seemed like the buffing happened in round one. Or just before it. I dunno. It was confusing.


Blood Angels Assault Marine (6), Chaplain (1) [Wounds 23/23, TB 10, Armor 11/9/8, FP 5/5, Movement:7| 14| 21 | 42 (x2), WS:75| BS:35| ST:60+20(14)| TO:60(12)| AG:60| INT:40| PER:40+20| WP:50| FEL:42]

yeah, all those extra actions and stuff, I was also mistaken, going frenzy was round 2 action ...^^
My actions so far: as much for you guys as for myself xD
- surprise: charging
- round 1: buffing
- round 2: going frenzy
- round 2 temporal flux extra action: charge the demon


Blood Angels Assault Marine (6), Chaplain (1) [Wounds 23/23, TB 10, Armor 11/9/8, FP 5/5, Movement:7| 14| 21 | 42 (x2), WS:75| BS:35| ST:60+20(14)| TO:60(12)| AG:60| INT:40| PER:40+20| WP:50| FEL:42]

I found this ruling for DW (and all the other "old" warhammer p&p):
"The DoS rule mentioned above replaces one dice roll for damage with the amount of DoS's the attacker had when making that same attack. It does not count as rolling a "10" for the purpose of Righteous Fury" in this forum: Link

I searched the core book, but I cannot find it. Any of you know of this? Could mean some more dmg on some really bad dmg-rolls I think, especially in melee, where ones DoS are ... somewhat useless.
Any thoughts?


Yea, I forgot about that rule, but do remember reading it. So your DOS can replace one of the damage dice.


Some are point blank, others not. They're in a circle and you're on one side with a Daemon on the other side of the Rubric marines, outside the circle, opposite most of the team (except those who charged).


Blood Angels Assault Marine (6), Chaplain (1) [Wounds 23/23, TB 10, Armor 11/9/8, FP 5/5, Movement:7| 14| 21 | 42 (x2), WS:75| BS:35| ST:60+20(14)| TO:60(12)| AG:60| INT:40| PER:40+20| WP:50| FEL:42]

Okay good to know (also for my RL campaign^^). Surely they hide that rule in one of those ominous side-boxes again ...
That makes +5 on my charge dmg vs. the demon if it matters. (replacing a rolled 5 with the 10 DoS of the attack)


Warp weapon quality bypasses armor from PA to shield, but not force fields. Penetration doesn't matter, just deduct your toughness bonus. Rest is wounds.


Male Salamander Astartes Tactical marine 4, Dead Station Vigilant 1, 1st Company vet 1

Cool that's what i thought, but couldn't really remember.

1,401 to 1,450 of 2,165 << first < prev | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / Storm of Sinners Chapter One- Pious Immolation Discussion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.