What happens when I put an Ioun stone in my Wayfinder?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

What happens when I put an Ioun stone in my Wayfinder? Is there a Resonant Power? If so how is it determined? Sorry if this is obvious.

The Exchange

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Per the Additional Resources page.

Additional Resources wrote:

Pathfinder Campaign Setting: Seekers of Secrets

Everything in this book is legal for play with the following notes. Equipment: ioun stones use method 1 for resonance and never use method 2. Additionally, only normal ioun stones have resonance—inferior ioun stones never do. Prestige Class: Pathfinder Savants replace the item creation feat prerequisite with Spell Focus

Therefore only normal ioun stones (not cracked or flawed) have resonance, and you use Method 1, as described on page 52 and 53 of Seeker of Secrets.

Grand Lodge

*headdesk*
OK, I knew that it just went fuzzy for a minute.

Liberty's Edge

Don't forget that it also loses the Light spell portion, although the compass part (+2 to Survival to not get lost) continues to function.

The Exchange

Callarek wrote:
Don't forget that it also loses the Light spell portion, although the compass part (+2 to Survival to not get lost) continues to function.

what? I have not seen this. where is it noted?

Liberty's Edge

nosig wrote:
Callarek wrote:
Don't forget that it also loses the Light spell portion, although the compass part (+2 to Survival to not get lost) continues to function.
what? I have not seen this. where is it noted?

Seekers of Secrets, page 51, right column:

Quote:

Within each wayfinder is a fine lattice of wires that serve

to channel the power of ioun stones, allowing the owner
of a wayfinder to benefit from a stone’s power without the
attendant risk of having a valuable item orbiting around
her head. In addition, the magic worked into the wayfinder
amplifies the power of the ioun stone, usually (about 75%
of the time) unlocking new abilities in addition to the
stone’s normal power. Unfortunately, the energy required
is such that the magical properties of the wayfinder itself
are diverted to power the ioun stone, temporarily negating
the wayfinder’s normal abilities.
The mechanism of using
a wayfinder to boost the power of an ioun stone is usually
called augmenting, channeling, enhancing, or resonating.
The resonant aura of a wayfinder interacting with an ioun
stone can be detected and identif ied with detect magic (or
similar spells) and the Spellcraft skill, just like any other
magic item.

Bolded by me to make it stand out. And the Light ability of the standard Wayfinder is magical, ergo...

Grand Lodge

It's funny, they moved my post to "rules questions" when this thread was in regards to PFS. Not that it really matters to me where the move it as long as my question was answered.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Callarek wrote:
Don't forget that it also loses the Light spell portion, although the compass part (+2 to Survival to not get lost) continues to function.

I am not sure that that still applies.

If you look in the Inner Sea World Guide, page 299, it states:

Quote:

A small magical device patterned off ancient Azlanti relics, a wayfinder is a compact compass typically made from silver and bearing gold accents. A badge of office for agents of the Pathfinder Society, a wayfinder is as much a handy tool as a status symbol. With a command

word, you can cause a wayfinder to shine (as the light spell). A wayfinder also acts as a nonmagical (magnetic) compass, granting you a +2 circumstance bonus on Survival checks to avoid becoming lost. All wayfinders include a small indentation designed to hold a single ioun stone. An ioun stone slotted in this manner grants you its normal benefits as if it were orbiting your head; some ioun stones can grant additional powers once they are fitted into a wayfinder, at the GM’s discretion.

Your bolded reference does not appear in the new description of the wayfinder.

Does that mean that they changed their minds, or was it cut due to space or another reason? Or does your bolded section refer only to the augmented powers when resonnance is used?

The Exchange

Does the bolded section apply if you place a damaged (cracked or flawed) stone in the wayfinder? or a burned out one?

Grand Lodge

nosig wrote:
Does the bolded section apply if you place a damaged (cracked or flawed) stone in the wayfinder? or a burned out one?

In the Pathfinder rules clarification (whats legal whats not) thingy, only full Ioun stones (not cracked/flawed) can be used in wayfinders.

Grand Lodge

By core assumptions for PFS, Seeker of Secrets was replaced by Pathfinder Society Field Guide. Unfortunaly in addtional resources we see that in PFS you can only use normal ioun stones for resonance.

Grand Lodge

Provos wrote:
By core assumptions for PFS, Seeker of Secrets was replaced by Pathfinder Society Field Guide. Unfortunaly in addtional resources we see that in PFS you can only use normal ioun stones for resonance.

The Field Guide replaces Seeker of Secrets as Core Assumption for PFS, it does not invalidate all the information in the earlier publication.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What happens when I put an Ioun stone in my Wayfinder? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions