|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
As detailed here, I was having trouble with the first shipment from my order, 2918797
Today, Feb 6, I got home from work to find a package - the USPS has finally delivered the initial order...
Unfortunately, Paizo has sent me a e-mail on 5 Feb, "A package containing 2 items from Paizo Order #2998781 is about to ship from the Paizo warehouse via Standard Postal Delivery". I am unsure if you have actually shipped said second package. If you can, please stop it. If not, I need to know what to do with it when it arrives...
As mentioned in the previous thread, my order, #2918797 shipped as two packages: one on the 2nd of January, containing Pathfinder #7 (non-Mint) and Pathfinder #25, and a second package on the 6th of January. I have received the second package, but not the first. It is now February 3ed... Do you have any visibility into what happened to the first package?
Ok, according to the animal archive, a Combat Trained Bison is 75 gp... Well within the purchase price of a 1st level pc.
This thing is a CR 4! Melee gore +10 (2d6+12) AC 17 HP 42...
Handle animal to get this to attack something is DC 10...
Is this a typo, or did the weapon of choice of low level PCs become the Bison!
Can the prehensile hair hex use a shield? I've seen people use it on these boards as extra hand (sometimes hands plural), holding wands, rods, etc. Can it defend you with a shield? The hex specifically states that is cannot use a weapon.
What is the limit to the amount of things your hair can hold? Encumbrance as defined by your INT? (note that the hex states you use your INT as the STR for the hair, and weight on the hair doesn't effect the Witch.)
Also, can your prehensile hair hold objects (say a wand) while attacking (it has the ability to make natural attacks)? Given the initial question, can it hold a shield and attack?
Has Paizo ever published a updated table for which classes count as "key" for monsters being advanced with class levels?
The current table,
Obviously, this only reflects the core classes. Antipaladins, Cavaliers (and Samurai), Gunslingers all qualify as combat, Ninja's as skill, and Oracles and Witches as Casters. Alchemists and Magi are less clear to me.
So here I am contemplating a redcap with either Alchemist or Magus levels...
Did pathfinder make an error when they created/adopted/converted the Vulpinal Agathion to Pathfinder?
A quick cross-check. The Sacred Summons feat requires the " Aura class feature". I am I correct that this means no one but Clerics (ie Not Oracles) ca use it.
Part II. Would the Sacred Summons feat (and Augment Summoning, etc) work with a staff that casts Summon Monster X? I don't think so, I think that only the save DC's are affected by the user's feats, but I figure I will check...
Does anyone else find this thing incredibly powerful?
It's Twin spell for a Summon Monster spell (any level), once per day...For 4500 GP?!? Twin spell is almost as potent as quicken...
Ok, so they introduced the Ghoran. race in Pathfinder Campaign Setting: Inner Sea Bestiary. Great, cool, all that...Plant guys. They left some stuff out though:
Do Ghoran's have age categories? If so, what are they?
Does the Ghorus Seed ability get rid of things like a) diseases, b) long term poisons c) old age d) crippling injuries/lost limbs ?
Regarding "exposure to sunlight" are there magical lights that could replace sunlight (eg a Sunbeam spell... a Daylight spell ... a Sunburst spell).
OK, I have read several people's opinion on here that the "orb" spells were broken in 3.5. With that in mind, please consider the new spell introduced in "People of the North":
Note that this is better in many ways than the classic orb spells. 1) It's available to more casters (Druids and Witches stick out). 2) Intensify metamagic makes the full 10d6 is available from a 2nd level spell slot...rather than 4th. 3) It still has a secondary effect (staggering), even from the 1st level slot (unlike the lesser orb spells).
OK, using a spiked shield is
Shield Spikes wrote:
and using a shield to bash normally means you forfeit the sheild's ac bonus.
Improved Shield Bash (Combat) wrote:
A Klar is just a fancy version of spiked shield; you still lose your shield benefit when attacking with a Klar
A Madu doesn't have the same language, in fact is says
Which suggests that using a Madu is not like using a spiked shield (assuming proficiency). Does this mean that a proficient user of a Madu, gets both to attack and use the Madu`s shield bonus, with only 1 hand occupied ?
*All quote from D20pfsrd.com
Can you use a Mage's Disjunction inside a time stop?
School transmutation; Level sorcerer/wizard 9
This spell seems to make time cease to flow for everyone but you. In fact, you speed up so greatly that all other creatures seem frozen, though they are actually still moving at their normal speeds. You are free to act for 1d4+1 rounds of apparent time. Normal and magical fire, cold, gas, and the like can still harm you. While the time stop is in effect, other creatures are invulnerable to your attacks and spells; you cannot target such creatures with any attack or spell. A spell that affects an area and has a duration longer than the remaining duration of the time stop have their normal effects on other creatures once the time stop ends. Most spellcasters use the additional time to improve their defenses, summon allies, or flee from combat.
You cannot move or harm items held, carried, or worn by a creature stuck in normal time, but you can affect any item that is not in another creature's possession.
You are undetectable while time stop lasts. You cannot enter an area protected by an antimagic field while under the effect of time stop.
School abjuration; Level sorcerer/wizard 9
All magical effects and magic items within the radius of the spell, except for those that you carry or touch, are disjoined. That is, spells and spell-like effects are unraveled and destroyed completely (ending the effect as a dispel magic spell does), and each permanent magic item must make a successful Will save or be turned into a normal item for the duration of this spell. An item in a creature's possession uses its own Will save bonus or its possessor's Will save bonus, whichever is higher. If an item's saving throw results in a natural 1 on the die, the item is destroyed instead of being suppressed.
You also have a 1% chance per caster level of destroying an antimagic field. If the antimagic field survives the disjunction, no items within it are disjoined.
You can also use this spell to target a single item. The item gets a Will save at a -5 penalty to avoid being permanently destroyed. Even artifacts are subject to mage's disjunction, though there is only a 1% chance per caster level of actually affecting such powerful items. If successful, the artifact's power unravels, and it is destroyed (with no save). If an artifact is destroyed, you must make a DC 25 Will save or permanently lose all spellcasting abilities. These abilities cannot be recovered by mortal magic, not even miracle or wish. Destroying artifacts is a dangerous business, and it is 95% likely to attract the attention of some powerful being who has an interest in or connection with the device.
The RAW says yes. It affects an area and has a duration longer than the time stop. The implications are ugly. You can, for example, Time Stop, Disjunction someone to get rid of all protections, and then surround them with summoned monsters who will act on your turn (you summoned them) at the end of the Time Stop... Opinions and balance suggestions welcome.
This came about because of the discussion in Cheapy's thread:
The core question is can you use UMD with a Page of Spell Knowledge?
Cheapy kindly provided us with the exact wording of the relevant bits:
I have bolded the key statement; if a that spell is already on your class list, you cast the spell as if from your class list (including level). No Dominate Monster in a 6th level slot using the summoner list, unless you are a summoner. Even then, you have to pay for the Page as if it was a ninth level sor/wiz spell...
What if the spell isn't on your list? Can you use UMD to use the page anyways? UMD certainly can achieve putting a spell on your spell list -
Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge.
Use a Scroll: Normally, to cast a spell from a scroll, you must have the scroll's spell on your class spell list. Use Magic Device allows you to use a scroll as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. The DC is equal to 20 + the caster level of the spell you are trying to cast from the scroll. In addition, casting a spell from a scroll requires a minimum score (10 + spell level) in the appropriate ability. If you don't have a sufficient score in that ability, you must emulate the ability score with a separate Use Magic Device check. This use of the skill also applies to other spell completion magic items.
UMD allows you to emulate having a spell on your class list for sepll trigger and spell completion items. For other item types, we have the generic emulate class feature ability. I believe that an emulate class feature check, DC 20, would allow you to treat a spell that is not on your class list, as if it is on your class list, and therefore, using the italicized section in the 1st quote, "She may use herspell slots to cast that spell as if it were one of her spells
known", cast the spell on the Page of Spell knowledge.
An alternative argument has been put forth by FiddlersGreen
That, summarizes the 2 sides of the argument so far.
So, can you use UMD with a Page of Spell Knowledge, to cast a spell that is not on your class list? For example, could a sorcerer cast Resurrection from the Cleric/Oracle list, given an a Page of Spell Knowledge (Resurrection), a 7th level spell slot, and a high UMD check?
Paizo is currently selling an adventure path bundle of Serpent's Skull, but not of any of the other adventure paths; I have bought it. Does anyone know if they will be establishing this type of bundle for other adventure paths?
PS. I am aware of the Rise of the Runelords special edition coming out. This is not what I mean; It's just the adventure, not all the AP material - eg the articles about individual Golarion dietes, etc...
Ok, I've read a chunk of the core rulebook on holding the charge
Jimmy casts a touch spell and misses his attack. He chooses to hold the charge and continues to fight. He is not concentrating - that would be a standard action and therefore he couldn't make touch attacks to discharge the spell. He can't cast another spell and hold the charge. "If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates." Can he use a magic item - say a wand without his spell dissipating?
This starts to get fairly serious when you add a magi who has the wand weilder arcana. Consider Marvin the 9th magus, closes to melee (move action), and uses spellstrike (standard action) to cast Frostbite, and attack once scimitar ( and one of the 9 1d6+9 touch attacks he got from the Frostbite spell). Next round he uses spell combat again, with his wand wielder arcana, to activate his Wand of Shocking Grasp (CL5), using spell combat and spell strike. Does he really get 3 attacks (2 from bab +6 and one from spell combat), all of which carry a) 1d6+9 worth of frostbite, and b)the first will carry 5d6 worth of shocking grasp? (note that if he misses the initial attack, he can carry hold the charge onto his next attack and so forth...)?
I find Skills are rarely thought of in terms of tactical significance. However, there are some skills that have huge influence on combat, and some of these are neglected. I am writing this thread to identify these skills. Discussion is welcome
First Rank( Most Impact, it's hard to justify not investing in these)
Fourth Rank ( Really unlikely to be of significant use)
A couple of points that I didn't see a clear answer for when I searched
1) Do Cantrips count? ie does a bard with this have effectively unlimited rounds of bardic music, provides he uses a cantrip each round...
2) "You can switch from one bardic performance to another as a swift action when you cast a spell while maintaining a bardic performance." Can you re-start a performance, for example, Weird Words ?
All right, I got my copy of Inner Sea Magic. Here I am leafing through and I get to the chapter on Magic Schools. And therein I find
Inner Sea Magic, p. 20 wrote:
Oh me oh me oh my! First, OMG the benefits from these associations are POTENT! You find things like 25% off magic item creation costs, bonus feats, caster level bonuses...Big jump from the faction guide.
Second, as a public question, what are optimized choices for Summoning Specialization?
For reference, this thread gives some idea of appropriate CR's:
D20PFSRD contributes Monsters by CR:
A few guesses - Summon Monster 1 : Stirge (you'll be able to summon 1d4+2 of the CON draining gits with a SM 3 and superior summoning)
Summon Monster V : Cryo and Pyro Hydras - 15d6 worth of breath weapons + a combat capable body...
Summon Monster VI : Efreets are CR8, can grant 3 wishes, and your gm will kill you after realizing what you just pulled... or just for proposing it.
Summon Monster VII : Jyoti might just be worth it for Breath of Life...
Summon Monster VIII : Shining Child - just kicks the s&@* out of most everything else at cr 12. With Augment summoning, it blinds everyone within 60 ft, DC 27 for the save, as soon as it hits the battlefield. It's a sunburst with attached smackdown...
Summon Monster IX : Ankou are nasty, as generate 4 extra copies using shadow doubles as a free action. These act as flanking partners, and Ankou have sneak attack...
What do you want to summon today?
I know that the "owner" of D20PFSRD has posted on this forum before. A question - when is Ultimate Combat going to be on D20PFSRD? I know it will be at least Aug 11 before my FLGS gets it in...
Sneaky McRogue is attacking Vinny Vampire Spawn...
Sneaky surprises Vinny and sticks his short sword in Vinny's back (successful sneak attack)
Sneaky has a normal short sword and does 1d6+1 dmg. He also has 3d6 of sneak attack dmg. Vinny has DR 5/Silver.
Does Sneaky get to roll 4d6+1, subtract 5 for DR do X damage, or does he roll 1d6+1, subtract 5 for DR, and only if he actually does damage (ie if 1d6+1 > 5), get to roll and add his sneak attack damage?
All right, this is a set of questions that have come up with regards to the creation and in-game use of magic items.
1) Can an alchemist learn item creation feats beyond Brew Potion? For example, could he learn Craft Wand (required caster level 5)?
2) Can you put an alchemical extract, that is an alchemist only spell, into a non-potion item? For example, could you create a wand of Amplify Elixir?
3) Can you use UMD to recharge a staff? For example, Sam the Sorceror (lvl 12, UMD +22) is trapped in a pit with a Staff of Life (4 charges), and the dead body of his companion, Cally the Cleric. (If Cally was alive, she could get them out of the pit with a plane shift spell). Can Sam use UMD to fake Heal being on his spells known, and then charge the staff with one of his 6th level spell slots? (Which would give the staff 5 charges, enough to use raise dead on Cally...)
4) Is there a method of recharging wands (other than the ruins of Kho, Lost Cities of Golarion)?
5) What is the definition of a magic item with charges for the purposes of Arcane Apotheosis (the capstone for the arcane bloodline sorceror)? Does this ability extend to one shot items (eg. Javelins of Lightning, Incense of meditation), items of limited usage (eg. Helm of Brilliance, Ring of Delayed Doom), even to potions/scrolls?
Proposal - 6 word spells
4) Required Word - effect
Note that the choice between burst, emmanation, and spread is the casters, and does not cost points.
An effect like fireball - Long (2), Zone (2) Medium Circle (2) Fire Blast (6), a total of 12 points, high for a 3ed level spell, but less than 4th level. This is a better fit than the current system - Medium Burst (5) Meta Distant(4) Fire Blast (6), a total of 15 points, a high fourth or fifth level spell.
Magic Circle Against Evil - Touch (-1) One (0), Small Circle (1) "Magic Circle" word. Generates a shell that travels with the caster with a radius of 10'
An Effect like wall of fire - Medium (1) Multiple Zones (3) Square (0) Fire Barrier (8), a total of 12 points, a 4th level spell that fills up to caster level 5X5 squares with a "wall of fire" effect. By chosing the squares contiguously, a solid wall can be generated. This is a big improvement over the current "barrier" effect, as you are not locked into starting your wall spells at your fingertips...
An effect like Firestorm - Medium (1) Multiple Zones (3) Small Contiguous (2) Inferno (20), a total of 26 points, a strong 7th level spell (about right) that effects up to caster level sub-areas inside medium range, each of which can be up to 4 contiguous 5x5 squares
An effect like Cone of Cold - Touch (-1) Zone (2) Large Cone (4) Ice Blast (9), a total of 14 points (a strong 4th or underpowered 5th), a 40' cone that starts at the caster, and does level d6 (to a max of 10d6) and possible entangle.
A multi-touch attack spell (a la chill touch) - Touch (-1) Up to Caster Level (1) No Area (0) Attack Effect word (...)
A mass effect spell (eg. Bull's Strength, Mass) - Short (0), up to Caster level (1), Medium Circle (2), Enhance Form - boosted (14), a total of 17 points, a strongish 5th or weak 6th level spell; about right. Boosts up to CL creatures in a 20 ' radius within short range...
Something Weird - Elgin's Doom Pie. Conjures gigantic slices of ultra acidic lingonberry pie all over the battlefield, subjecting foes to horrible acidic burns, and sickening them. Medium (1) Multiple Zones (3) Medium Cone (2) Acid Wave (9), Total cost 15, a strong 4th or 5th level spell. It conjures caster level 20' pie wedges, anywhere within a 100+10' per caster level range. Anyone inside one the area of any of the pie wedges take (caster level)d6 acid damage (to a maximum of 10d6),and must save or be sickened.
PS. Adoption of this scheme would require re-thinking of the restrictions on target words associated with various effects....
A witch wants to improve the DC's of her hexes. She proposes taking ability focus.
Does she get Ability Focus (Hexes) for a +2 to DC for all her hexes or does she get Ability Focus (Agony Hex) for a +2 to DC for a particular hex.
I currently lean towards Ability Focus (Hexes), as things like Spell Focus (enchantment) obviously apply to multiple spells... On the other hand, Spell Focus does not apply to every spell a character casts.
All right, I bought the book, and I am looking at the casting method for the Sha'ir - I thought that it would be an arcane variant of the spirit shaman (from complete divine), but instead it confuses me.
To ensure that I am actually reading this right, I will post my understanding here, and then continue with questions below.
1) The Sha'ir has a limited number of spells known (not including divine spells) that are easy for him to access (+2 to Dipl. check, and quick 1d4+lvl rounds).
Areas of confusion -
Thank you for your consideration,