How to read this?
Assume a Inquisitor (Sanctified Slayer) 8.
They just got their first Slayer Talent, from the Talented Slayer class feature of the Sanctified Slayer Archetype. They take Ranger Combat Style from the list of Slayer Talents.
Is he restricted to the first four styles of the feat, or can he select one of the feats available at 6th level (as he is more than 6th level)?
Sanctified slayer's studied target ability uses the inquisitor level as slayer level. I'd count that as an indication that the same was intended for the later ability. Further, the archetype gives up judgment entirely for slayer talents, so in doubt I'd be generous. Both arguments are no hard rules arguments, though.
Talented Slayer does not state that the inquisitor level counts as his slayer level. If that is the case, then you are limited to slayer talents that do not have a level requirement. That would also prevent him from taking the later feats as they require specific levels which he does not have. Since he cannot take advanced talents that would lead me to believe this is the way it works.
|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
This recently came up at my table, and we could find nothing helpful on it. My ruling ended up being that the character is still required to pick on from the first set before using a talent to get anything from the second tier.
Agreed. In particular, this bit of the Ranger Combat Style talent:
At 6th level, he may select this talent again and add the 6th-level ranger combat feats from his chosen style to the list.
"Again" means he has to have already taken one of the first feats before choosing the talent a second time and getting a 6th-level feat.
"The slayer selects a ranger combat style (such as archery or two-weapon combat) and gains a combat feat from the first feat list of that style." You don't select based on your level, you select based on what' list is aviable to you. And for the first time you select the talent, only the first list is accessible. This list only gets expanded if you select the talent more than once, with the 10th level list requiring a third selection.
Talented Slayer does not state that the inquisitor level counts as his slayer level. If that is the case, then you are limited to slayer talents that do not have a level requirement.
It also doesn't say that the Inquisitor counts as a Slayer in any way. By literal reading, that means all the talents which say "the slayer" or similar don't work... which is all of them.
The game is written to work, and thus any rule interpretation that breaks a significant part of the game must be incorrect. If class names used by class features accessed by another class wouldn't be overwritten, most of those wouldn't work.
In short, whenever a class feature uses the class name or archetype name, it's a stand-in of "this character" or "character with this ability". In order to have such class features work at all, the default must be that you count as the class you're taking class features from for the sake of selecting and using those class features.