Yet another exploration of the edge cases of teleportation


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


1) The wizard can lift 100#. He picks up a hot air balloon that weighs 1000# but has 950# of lift due to the hot air. Can he teleport?

2) The wizard is underwater. He picks up a barrel that weighs 50# but is open and thus full of water. Can he teleport?

3) The wizard is underwater, but this time the barrel is full of wine and corked and thus has a net weight of 45#. Can he teleport?


Nice, you didn't post this in the rules forum so I don't have to give bad answers.

1)No.
2)He can bring the barrel with him, but it only takes the water in the barrel.
3)Yes.


So now the wizard is in zero-G in outer space. He grabs a spaceship that masses 500000 tons but weighs nothing. Can he teleport?

I think one might need to draw a distinction between mass and weight here, basing the teleport on mass, and that would likewise apply to the underwater situation.


1. He can only teleport with gear/objects weighing up to his maximum load. If the Hot Air Balloon weighs 1000lbs, then this is 10x his load and he cannot teleport. Just because a hot air balloon, or an airship for that matter, has lift, that doesn't stop it from weighing what it weighs.

2. Assuming the Wizard is naked and has no other gear on him, yes. He has the option of taking the barrel with him empty or full or half-full, provided that the total amount of the barrel + the water = 100lbs or less. If the wizard has his gear on him, he has the option of teleporting with the barrel half-full of water, up to 100lbs of gear + barrel + water.

3. Yes.

4. Zero-G Spaceship example = no, he cannot teleport. Regardless of how much it weighs in a Zero-G environment, it still weighs 500000 tons and this weight exceeds his max load of 100lbs.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Easy answer to all your questions: In United States (where the book was written) weight and mass are used interchangeably. Yes, we know that is technically incorrect and can lead to ambiguity but differentiation is usually only seen in technical documents where it really, really matters.

So the answer is. . . eh, figure it out when it happens.

Off the cuff:
1. Nope, it's still a 1000 lb balloon
2. I'd probably let him bring the barrel along but empty. I'd consider the surrounding water as environmental, so he wouldn't bring it along. I mean, if he was 10'underwater and carrying a table I wouldn't stop him from bringing the table because of a 10' column of water "weighing down" the table. Or have a 10' column of water go with the table.
3. Yes, depending on what you mean by "net weight." If it weighs 45 lbs on land absolutely.

This isn't the first such discussion, and is one reason Starfinder and Pathfinder 2 went to "bulk" instead of "weight."


2. Are we assuming that the barrel holds 50 gallons? If so, the weight of the water in the barrel would be 417 lbs.


I think the safest way to approach this, is to understand that the book wasn't written for rigorous scientific understanding or approaches, and that when talking about weight they really meant to talk about mass.

So to understand how much mass they intended you to be able to take, assume all bodies are under the effects of 1 Earth mass, giving an acceleration of 9.8 m/s^2 or ~32 ft/s^2.

Bear in mind, that in Imperial units it's confusing because you have pounds force units (lbf) and pounds mass (lbm) units but rarely does anyone specify because we assume a nominal gravitational force from the Earth.

Scarab Sages

I am now pondering a wizard wearing gear equal to 2/3's his max load using interplanetary teleport to a planet with 1.5 times the gravity of his original one meaning he's now wearing gear equal to 1/1/3 times his max load and can't teleport away till he dumps some of it.


Senko wrote:
I am now pondering a wizard wearing gear equal to 2/3's his max load using interplanetary teleport to a planet with 1.5 times the gravity of his original one meaning he's now wearing gear equal to 1/1/3 times his max load and can't teleport away till he dumps some of it.

I would use the 1.0x weight of the items while they're on earth, not the 1.5x weight of the items on the new planet. Just like zero-G, it doesn't matter what the item weighs in Zero-G, it matters what it weighs on earth.

Anything else is going to result in rabbit's hole bickering and arguing.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ryze Kuja wrote:
Senko wrote:
I am now pondering a wizard wearing gear equal to 2/3's his max load using interplanetary teleport to a planet with 1.5 times the gravity of his original one meaning he's now wearing gear equal to 1/1/3 times his max load and can't teleport away till he dumps some of it.

I would use the 1.0x weight of the items while they're on earth, not the 1.5x weight of the items on the new planet. Just like zero-G, it doesn't matter what the item weighs in Zero-G, it matters what it weighs on earth.

Anything else is going to result in rabbit's hole bickering and arguing.

I can't stop myself from bickering over one thing:

(2/3 * max load) * 1.5 = 1

The wizard on the heavier gravity planet in this example would be at his max load, not above it.

But yeah, figure it out as you go. It might be interesting if a heavily laden character knew she was going to a high-gravity planet and had to figure out what to leave behind or risk having to drop it there. Springing it on a player when she tried to leave would likely be a jerk move.

Scarab Sages

Ryze Kuja wrote:
Senko wrote:
I am now pondering a wizard wearing gear equal to 2/3's his max load using interplanetary teleport to a planet with 1.5 times the gravity of his original one meaning he's now wearing gear equal to 1/1/3 times his max load and can't teleport away till he dumps some of it.

I would use the 1.0x weight of the items while they're on earth, not the 1.5x weight of the items on the new planet. Just like zero-G, it doesn't matter what the item weighs in Zero-G, it matters what it weighs on earth.

Anything else is going to result in rabbit's hole bickering and arguing.

So its weight on your home planet then? I just can see a difference between mass of spaceship, weight of spaceship on planet x and weight of spaceship on home planet. Especially in a system like Golarion with multiple habitable planets. Since this is a topic on edge cases then it seems a valid quibble. Especially if you have a player who's the type to argue about what planets "weight" is used to determine max load." Not as bad as starfinder where you can have a character from planets with variable gravity "I am from world Parble Fle which has only 1/8'th the gravity of planet Fibble therefore I am not over my max load because on my homeworld these weigh less."

Personally I think it might be easier to use weight for wherever you are. No rabbit hole argument of different planet weights on Planet Flibble things weigh 1/8 you can carry or teleport 8 times as much, on planet Yarble things weigh twice as much you can carry or teleport half as much. In the case of interplanetary teleport you use the worse of the planets involved on flibble you can carry 8 times as much on Yarble half as much you are teleporting from Flibble to Yarble . . . how much would you weigh . . . nope spell fails because destination is over your limit. Also ensures a player knows they wont need to dump gear at their destination or be stuck.

I suppose you could use mass but that's a bit fiddlier and runs into issues of "I want to teleport in space" . . . divide by zero error. Then again I do like the idea of teleport spells working off universal mass limits and you can make a reasonable guess for space stuff. "You can't carry all this on Yarble but you can teleport it as weight is your carrying ability on a world while mass is how much you can teleport" Carrying capacity being mass on a 1g world rather than weight.

Belafon wrote:
Ryze Kuja wrote:
Senko wrote:
I am now pondering a wizard wearing gear equal to 2/3's his max load using interplanetary teleport to a planet with 1.5 times the gravity of his original one meaning he's now wearing gear equal to 1/1/3 times his max load and can't teleport away till he dumps some of it.

I would use the 1.0x weight of the items while they're on earth, not the 1.5x weight of the items on the new planet. Just like zero-G, it doesn't matter what the item weighs in Zero-G, it matters what it weighs on earth.

Anything else is going to result in rabbit's hole bickering and arguing.

I can't stop myself from bickering over one thing:

(2/3 * max load) * 1.5 = 1

The wizard on the heavier gravity planet in this example would be at his max load, not above it.

But yeah, figure it out as you go. It might be interesting if a heavily laden character knew she was going to a high-gravity planet and had to figure out what to leave behind or risk having to drop it there. Springing it on a player when she tried to leave would likely be a jerk move.

My mistake there I thought I'd changed that to 2 because 1.5 wasn't enough.


I'd say yes to the hot air balloon..
I mean, 'negative' weight is a sort of thing...
Like, technically helium has actual weight, but in reality it would ease your load as far as attempting to carry something... Thus affecting your carrying capacity because now you can carry more.....

I mean, if you don't allow helium/hydrogen/etc to lower your capacity why would you allow a portable hole to lower it? I mean, the weight still exists... That's your argument for not allowing a 'negative' weight situation...


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ryze Kuja wrote:
4. Zero-G Spaceship example = no, he cannot teleport. Regardless of how much it weighs in a Zero-G environment, it still weighs 500000 tons and this weight exceeds his max load of 100lbs.

Is there some FAQ or forum post I'm missing here?

The text for Teleport only says "You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn't exceed your maximum load." It doesn't say "If you're holding onto something that exceeds your maximum load, the spell fails." So it sounds like Wizard will teleport but leave the ship behind.

I'd also argue that a space ship is no more something that a typical Small to Medium sized humanoid could count as a held object anymore than a sailing ship would because they've grasped the railing or a mountain just because they put their hand on its peak or a massive tree would just because they're currently using one hand to hang from its branches.


Wizard casts teleport. Is he holding on to something? If no, he teleports normal. If yes, is it held down? If yes, he leaves it behind. If no, does it weight less than carrying capacity? If no, you leave it behind. If yes, you can take it with you.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Senko wrote:
So its weight on your home planet then?

No, it's mass.

What we colloquially call a weight of 50lbs is actually a mass of 50lbs. Kilograms, tons, all these are measures of mass. Scientists measure weight in Newtons.

A barrel with a mass of 50lbs has the same mass anywhere, irrespective of lift or gravity.

Scarab Sages

Matthew Downie wrote:
Senko wrote:
So its weight on your home planet then?

No, it's mass.

What we colloquially call a weight of 50lbs is actually a mass of 50lbs. Kilograms, tons, all these are measures of mass. Scientists measure weight in Newtons.

A barrel with a mass of 50lbs has the same mass anywhere, irrespective of lift or gravity.

Yes but the issue is the spell say's . . .

You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn't exceed your maximum load.

and your maximum load is dependant on factors e.g. planetary gravity not mass. If you can lift 100 lbs and go to a planet with 1/2 earths gravity you can now lift 200 lbs effectively as what your carrying WEIGHS half as much. So either its mass = maximum load in which case you have situations where your actually carrying more/less than that to teleport as its "mass" that counts or its always your maximum load for where you are in which case the mass you can move changes.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Teleport takes you through the astral plane, which would put you at normal gravity during the transition, it's subjective directional at prime material gravity strength. You can bring objects along "as long as their weight doesn't exceed your maximum load", and the duration of fulfilling that criteria would end the moment the spell was cast.


ErichAD wrote:
Teleport takes you through the astral plane, which would put you at normal gravity during the transition, it's subjective directional at prime material gravity strength. You can bring objects along "as long as their weight doesn't exceed your maximum load", and the duration of fulfilling that criteria would end the moment the spell was cast.

That rules out my two barrel cases (I was looking at weight underwater), but doesn't address the balloon (as the astral still has an atmosphere.)

Scarab Sages

ErichAD wrote:
Teleport takes you through the astral plane, which would put you at normal gravity during the transition, it's subjective directional at prime material gravity strength. You can bring objects along "as long as their weight doesn't exceed your maximum load", and the duration of fulfilling that criteria would end the moment the spell was cast.

That detail actually covers a lot of things and I didn't realize you went via the astral always thought of it as Point A, Point B rather than Point A to Point B via Point B at Plaid speed


Senko wrote:
and your maximum load is dependant on factors e.g. planetary gravity not mass.

I had to do some research to find out if this was part of the rules of the game. It is! Kind of.

Quote:

Heavy Gravity

The gravity on a plane with this trait is much more intense than on the Material Plane. As a result, Acrobatics, Climb, Ride, and Swim checks incur a –2 circumstance penalty, as do all attack rolls. All item weights are effectively doubled, which might affect a character’s speed. Weapon ranges are halved. A character’s Strength and Dexterity scores are not affected. Characters that fall on a heavy gravity plane take 1d10 points of damage for each 10 feet fallen, to a maximum of 20d10 points of damage.

Light Gravity
The gravity on a plane with this trait is less intense than on the Material Plane. As a result, creatures find that they can lift more. Characters on a plane with the light gravity trait take a +2 circumstance bonus on attack rolls and on Acrobatics and Ride checks. All items weigh half as much, and weapon ranges double. Strength and Dexterity don’t change as a result of light gravity, but what you can do with such scores does change. These advantages apply to travelers from other planes as well as natives. Falling characters on a light gravity plane take 1d4 points of damage for each 10 feet fallen (maximum 20d4).

So I guess if you're on a planet with heavy gravity, the barrel weighing 50lbs will have an 'effective weight' of 100lbs, which would be harder to teleport.

Scarab Sages

Matthew Downie wrote:
Senko wrote:
and your maximum load is dependant on factors e.g. planetary gravity not mass.

I had to do some research to find out if this was part of the rules of the game. It is! Kind of.

Quote:

Heavy Gravity

The gravity on a plane with this trait is much more intense than on the Material Plane. As a result, Acrobatics, Climb, Ride, and Swim checks incur a –2 circumstance penalty, as do all attack rolls. All item weights are effectively doubled, which might affect a character’s speed. Weapon ranges are halved. A character’s Strength and Dexterity scores are not affected. Characters that fall on a heavy gravity plane take 1d10 points of damage for each 10 feet fallen, to a maximum of 20d10 points of damage.

Light Gravity
The gravity on a plane with this trait is less intense than on the Material Plane. As a result, creatures find that they can lift more. Characters on a plane with the light gravity trait take a +2 circumstance bonus on attack rolls and on Acrobatics and Ride checks. All items weigh half as much, and weapon ranges double. Strength and Dexterity don’t change as a result of light gravity, but what you can do with such scores does change. These advantages apply to travelers from other planes as well as natives. Falling characters on a light gravity plane take 1d4 points of damage for each 10 feet fallen (maximum 20d4).

So I guess if you're on a planet with heavy gravity, the barrel weighing 50lbs will have an 'effective weight' of 100lbs, which would be harder to teleport.

Yep admitedly it doesn't talk about carrying capacity spefically but gravity does affect item weights (I like planar mechanics and engineering so I've read those rules a lot).


Yes, your maximum load is based upon 1.0x gravity of earth. If you try to say that you can't teleport once you go to a 5.5x gravity planet, then you open the door to being able to teleport double your max load weight in 0.5x gravity environments, and now teleporting 500,000 ton spaceships in a 0.000000000000000000001x gravity environment is a possibility as well.

I'd say go with how ever much the item(s) weighs on earth regardless of the gravity +/- amount, and then there will be zero arguments and 100% not in conflict with the rules as written.


Coidzor wrote:


The text for Teleport only says "You can bring along objects as long as their weight doesn't exceed your maximum load." It doesn't say "If you're holding onto something that exceeds your maximum load, the spell fails." So it sounds like Wizard will teleport but leave the ship behind.

Of course the wizard can teleport by himself, but we're not talking about that. We're talking about the wizard teleporting with a spaceship because in Zero-G the Spaceship technically weighs nothing.

Liberty's Edge

As usual, the rules are written for humanoid people living in a normal environment.
The Gargantuan Gold dragon with a CL of 15 can teleport itself, its whole carrying capacity of 67,200 lbs and ... 5 kobolds.
It will never be able to bring his spouse with it.

This isn't the rule forum, so we don't need to give a reply that takes into consideration every little rule in every book. We can go with a reasonable and workable reply.

So, my suggestions:

a) Your weight allowance is defined under Carrying capacity, so you should be able to carry the items. Being carried by the balloon isn't carrying it.
In an extremely low G environment, you can lift a starship, but then it will continue to move with the momentum you imprinted to it. Stopping it and transporting it in another direction isn't really possible, as it maintains all its mass.
You can push it, but pushing isn't carrying.

b) You should consider weight (not mass) at both the starting and destination point.

c) Shape matter. Even a low weight item, if it can't be carried because it is too large or unwieldy, can't be teleported with you.

d) Your original size matter. If you look the FAQ about Anti magic shell and other emanations, our original size changes the area of effect. It is meant to avoid strange things like a dragon being only partially within its own AM shield spell, but it can be useful when dealing with teleporters that are naturally larger or smaller than a human. But what matters is your original size.
What I mean to say is that a colossal dragon can teleport other colossal dragons. It will require some GM control, but that gives us a more coherent world.

Wile not RAW, all the above should allow us to manage Teleport in a reasonable way.


Diego Rossi wrote:


In an extremely low G environment, you can lift a starship, but then it will continue to move with the momentum you imprinted to it. Stopping it and transporting it in another direction isn't really possible, as it maintains all its mass.
You can push it, but pushing isn't carrying.

If it’s just you and the starship, you would end up moving yourself rather than the ship. Unless your mass is greater than that of the starship.

Liberty's Edge

Waterhammer wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:


In an extremely low G environment, you can lift a starship, but then it will continue to move with the momentum you imprinted to it. Stopping it and transporting it in another direction isn't really possible, as it maintains all its mass.
You can push it, but pushing isn't carrying.

If it’s just you and the starship, you would end up moving yourself rather than the ship. Unless your mass is greater than that of the starship.

Both would move, and whatever surface you are standing on, action and reaction.

But, depending on the ship, the surface on which you are standing, your mass, and how precisely you are capable to apply your force, you can end giving the ship and the surface an acceleration of some micron for second, while being flung away at high speed, or, if applied perfectly, to give ship and surface a minuscule acceleration while standing still.

In a magic world, you can do it if you have some kind of boot that latch you on the ground, in RL you can use magnetic force.

Scarab Sages

Diego Rossi wrote:
Waterhammer wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:


In an extremely low G environment, you can lift a starship, but then it will continue to move with the momentum you imprinted to it. Stopping it and transporting it in another direction isn't really possible, as it maintains all its mass.
You can push it, but pushing isn't carrying.

If it’s just you and the starship, you would end up moving yourself rather than the ship. Unless your mass is greater than that of the starship.

Both would move, and whatever surface you are standing on, action and reaction.

But, depending on the ship, the surface on which you are standing, your mass, and how precisely you are capable to apply your force, you can end giving the ship and the surface an acceleration of some micron for second, while being flung away at high speed, or, if applied perfectly, to give ship and surface a minuscule acceleration while standing still.

In a magic world, you can do it if you have some kind of boot that latch you on the ground, in RL you can use magnetic force.

I'm now picturing an old mage grumpily lecturing a class of students that (tries to do an old man voice) "When you cast teleport you don't actually move. What happens is you stay still but the universe moves around you. This is why, deep breathing, you need to know your destination becuase your magically grabbing it and pulling it to you. If you don't know what your grabbing you could wind up with a pissed off deity landing on your head. Trust me you don't WANT a pissed off diety landing on your head. I'd say ask Tim for what happens next but we only ever found one boot. Well one boot, 2 toes and we think part of his heel."


Ryze Kuja wrote:

Yes, your maximum load is based upon 1.0x gravity of earth. If you try to say that you can't teleport once you go to a 5.5x gravity planet, then you open the door to being able to teleport double your max load weight in 0.5x gravity environments, and now teleporting 500,000 ton spaceships in a 0.000000000000000000001x gravity environment is a possibility as well.

I'd say go with how ever much the item(s) weighs on earth regardless of the gravity +/- amount, and then there will be zero arguments and 100% not in conflict with the rules as written.

I would definitely not allow teleporting the spaceship. It's the difference between max carrying capacity and the maximum you can stagger with. The inertia of the spaceship is going to mean you are effectively staggering with it, not simply carrying it. I'd be ok with treating it as a light gravity world, but no farther than that--strength becomes of little value in a zero-g environment. Perhaps calculate load based on dexterity rather than strength.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Yet another exploration of the edge cases of teleportation All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion