
Ly'ualdre |

Psychopomps are the servitor Monitors of the goddess Pharasma and her realm of the Boneyard. As they watch over the sanctity of life and death, and likely adhere to the rulings of their Goddess, I don't think a Psychopomp Eidolon would care much for your creation of undead.
But, Summon Undead isn't a thing atm, and technically summoning isn't creating. But any disruption of the cycle of life and death or association with undead probably not gonna roll over well

aobst128 |
I guess that makes sense. How does summoning undead really work then? There's "animate dead" which is essentially a summon undead spell. Is it not a "real" undead? Or is it an already existing undead that you have summoned from one of the outer planes? I think it would be interesting of it were lost souls that you're temporarily taking under your control leaning into the psychopomp purposes. But because it's inherently temporary, it's ok. After the spell ends, your eidolon shepherds the soul to it's proper path.

Ly'ualdre |

I mean, Animate Undead certainly functions like a Summon spell. But, it isn't actually Summoning in the same sense. I wouldn't say that it's like pulling a creature from its environment or Plane temporarily. If you were, then it would be called Summon Undead; bringing an existing Undead creature from somewhere before returning it. Here, you're effectively temporarily creating an Undead creature. Maybe the body itself is summoned before animation. But, I'd rule this would definitely violate Pharasmas anathema and likely would not be okay with a Psychopomp Eidolon. Further, it would create conflict. Psychopomps actively go out of their way to destroy the Undead. Since Eidolon are treated more like the creatures they are meant to represent, rather than more or less a separate kind of being, I'd say it would do the same.

aobst128 |
I mean, Animate Undead certainly functions like a Summon spell. But, it isn't actually Summoning in the same sense. I wouldn't say that it's like pulling a creature from its environment or Plane temporarily. If you were, then it would be called Summon Undead; bringing an existing Undead creature from somewhere before returning it. Here, you're effectively temporarily creating an Undead creature. Maybe the body itself is summoned before animation. But, I'd rule this would definitely violate Pharasmas anathema and likely would not be okay with a Psychopomp Eidolon. Further, it would create conflict. Psychopomps actively go out of their way to destroy the Undead. Since Eidolon are treated more like the creatures they are meant to represent, rather than more or less a separate kind of being, I'd say it would do the same.
Well, there isn't an anathema associated with summoners. I guess what I'm asking is how would you justify this? It's all in the flavor. I guess the most appropriate thing to do would be to just not cast it but that's no fun.

Ly'ualdre |

You are correct in that you aren't beholden to anathema. Heck, you're not even technically required to get along with your Eidolon, since you can form a bond with a being who is diametrically opposed to your own alignment. So I suppose you wouldn't have to do anything really special in this case; other than maybe argue with your Eidolon on the matter. But depending on your GM, they may uphold consequences regardless of having no hard rules against it. As I said, a Psychopomp Eidolon is probably more likely to attempt to destroy your Undead minion than to not. At least, that's how I'd handle it as a GM, unless given compelling reason not to.
On the chance that a GM does handle it in that manner, or some variation of that, you could always simply animate Undead while your Eidolon isn't present. If you do, you can easily dismiss it before or after the fact as well. Or, simply deny the Eidolon any actions, since your economy is shared.

Tender Tendrils |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Okay, so there are three different types of "summoning" at play here.
When you cast a spell that says "Summon X" you are calling up energies from the relevant plane that spontaneously forms into a brand new creature that then ceases to exist after the spell ends. You aren't actually yanking a creature away from it's home and putting it into mortal danger. (I think this has been confirmed many times by James Jacobs, and I think the intent is to avoid having to worry about whether you are yanking a sentient being out of its home into a battle).
Then you have Eidolons (and I think some Incarnate effects work this way too). Eidolons are actually an already existing extraplanar creature that you form a connection with and draw into the material plane in a process that also alters them somewhat. In the case of some types of Eidolon (like the Dragon Eidolon) the source creature is actually a disembodied spirit that you are then giving a body.
The third thing, Animate Dead, even though it has the summoned trait on the resulting creature, isn't actually "summoning" - the description is telling - you just dredge up a corpse from under the ground and give it temporary "life". It is a physical manipulation of something that is already there.
So, the answer to the main question is - yes, the Psychopomp is an actual Psychopomp and probably doesn't like you messing around with undead. It isn't necessarily able to do anything about it however, as Eidolons are under the Summoner's control whether they are willing or not.

QuidEst |

How would summoning undead be treated with a psychopomp eidolon? Is it a crime Everytime or are you "sanctioned" for it?
By default, I'd say they'd probably hate it, to the same degree that an angel eidolon would be appalled by you killing innocents. It'd take a pretty good explanation for how the two of you ended up together and continue working together- that life-link gives them a very easy way to stop you, which is their job. (And by PF1 lore, they serve as an expert witness when you are judged in the afterlife. Normally, that'd be a good thing.)
But, as people have mentioned, you can come up with exceptions or explanations or just hand-wave it in your game if that's going to be more fun.

Dubious Scholar |
Mechanically there's no impact to it. But in character, there should probably be some justification.
Yeah, the PF2 entry for them took out the whole testifying before the courts of the Boneyard part, but I can't see a reason they wouldn't still do it. It was always an interesting bit to it.
Now granted, celestial or infernal eidolons would probably also make a case there (especially infernal, even if it's not entirely true!).

Sibelius Eos Owm |

When you cast a spell that says "Summon X" you are calling up energies from the relevant plane that spontaneously forms into a brand new creature that then ceases to exist after the spell ends. You aren't actually yanking a creature away from it's home and putting it into mortal danger. (I think this has been confirmed many times by James Jacobs, and I think the intent is to avoid having to worry about whether you are yanking a sentient being out of its home into a battle).
Oh, interesting. I was under a similar but different perception (or perhaps I'd merely come up with my own headcanon) that the Summon X spells, formerly Conjuration (summoning), involved pulling the spirit of a creature into a temporarily created body of magic, then send it back to whence it came when the spell ended, regardless whether by violence or completion.
The spells which are now ritual summons and formerly Conjuration (calling) then were actually bringing a physical entity's whole being onto your plane.
Or from some other part of your plane, as may be the case for conjuring giants, plants, animals, and some fey... though I suppose in these latter examples, particularly the giants and fey who are pretty much mortals or the next best thing, conjuring a figment copy of one is a bit cleaner. It's not hard to headcanon that there is some process in Heaven or the Plane of Fire that directs summon spells to those fiends/celestials/elementals who are ready to drop into some mortal priest or magician's fight, but where does one pick up a willing giant's spirit?
Wait, can we even summon giants anymore? Is this a non-issue that evaporated in the edition change?
...
But back to the main topic at hand, I suppose. As strained as it might be in some places where there's not really the plausibility of an easy-access corpse nearby, it seems clear that Animate Dead is intended to create a new undead creature out of conveniently located bodies which you call to you, and which would more or less undoubtedly not be cool with a psychopomp. Whether they actually do anything about it depends entirely on non-mechanical questions, namely, "To what extent is the eidolon bound to your will by your pact" and whatever the equivalent recourse of a celestial bound to a killer would take.

Squiggit |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

The third thing, Animate Dead, even though it has the summoned trait on the resulting creature, isn't actually "summoning" - the description is telling - you just dredge up a corpse from under the ground and give it temporary "life". It is a physical manipulation of something that is already there.
The description does say you summon a creature though. Not create. It doesn't even require an existing corpse like the Create Undead spell does.
So I disagree with this premise. It's very clearly a summoning spell.

Tender Tendrils |

Tender Tendrils wrote:The third thing, Animate Dead, even though it has the summoned trait on the resulting creature, isn't actually "summoning" - the description is telling - you just dredge up a corpse from under the ground and give it temporary "life". It is a physical manipulation of something that is already there.The description does say you summon a creature though. Not create. It doesn't even require an existing corpse like the Create Undead spell does.
So I disagree with this premise. It's very clearly a summoning spell.
The rules text says that, not the description. The description says "Your magic dredges up a corpse or skeleton and fills it with necromantic life"

Ly'ualdre |

Agreed with Tender Tendrils. I think the premise isn't that your summoning an already existent Undead creature, but rather you're summoning the remains of a creature and infusing it with negative energy to create a haphazard Undead on the fly. Without going through the proper ritual proceedings and preparing an actual body and infusing it properly, the form is unable to be sustained and likely either collapses into the earth or is destroyed by the negative energy, thereby "returning it" from whence it came. I'd say the creature in question is "summoned" for the sake of how the rules function.