Enlarging in tight space?


Rules Discussion


What happens when I cast enlarge, or use the giant instinct power to enlarge myself when I’m in a tight space, or even when I’m surrounded by allies or enemies?


The spells dinosaur form, dragon form etc specify if you don't have space the spell is lost. I would guess the spell Enlarge is the same. Although they're Battle Forms, and Enlarge maybe be less restrictive. I'd go with giant instinct enlarge not working, but not being lost


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I think surrounding creatures would be pushed out of the way


diana ratcliffe wrote:
I think surrounding creatures would be pushed out of the way

This could be the opposite too.

Since there is no room, either from structures ( walls, ceilings, rock, etc... ) or creatures, the spell will be lost.

I prefer to let the spell fail, since the caster will definitely know if there's room for it.


The other spells calling out that they don’t work if there isn’t room only makes things more confusing. It implies that that isn’t the case for other effects, but leaves us wondering how it actually does work.


Perhaps it's supposed to be the same but that line got left out. Mistakes happen. It may be in the errata that should be available today.


It wasn’t in the errata this time around, but you are right, the line simply being left out is probably the most likely answer.


Just a +1 on wanting to know the answer to this.


I don’t suppose anyone has heard any official rulings about this? Its a problem that every giant instinct barbarian is going to run into at some point.


Curious too. Cast enlarge on the barb that was engulfed by a gibbering mouther. No line of sight but curious if the mechanics allow for this.


I'm not aware of any errata or changes to the wording of the spell.

Yes, most of the battle form spells such as Animal Form or Elemental Form have wording in the heightening rules for the larger sizes saying that the spell is lost the caster doesn't have enough room.

Enlarge does not have that rules text.

That could be ruled to be an error and the enlarge spell should also fail if the target doesn't have enough room.

That could be ruled that the spell succeeds though. At which point the GM has to decide how to handle what happens. Perhaps the target has to start using the confined spaces combat or squeezing rules.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mirko Rainer wrote:
Curious too. Cast enlarge on the barb that was engulfed by a gibbering mouther. No line of sight but curious if the mechanics allow for this.

That would fail because of line of sight, and also fail because of the space rules.


Mathota wrote:
I don’t suppose anyone has heard any official rulings about this? Its a problem that every giant instinct barbarian is going to run into at some point.

Nope there are none. Just be aware of the normal space rules. It is possible to share space at some point.

As far as I can tell space is an important limitation on a Giant Barbarian. Maybe Titan's Stature is actually a net negative as you don't get any choice in it. Its just hard to resist from a role playing point of view.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Gortle wrote:
Maybe Titan's Stature is actually a net negative as you don't get any choice in it.

"Can instead" doesn't sound like you're forced to. It's druid battleforms that leave you stuck.


You re right sorry, its the Giants Stature you can't not use the size increase.


Gortle wrote:
You re right sorry, its the Giants Stature you can't not use the size increase.

I mean, without the size increase the ability does nothing (since the increased reach comes from the size), so I'm not really sure what you mean by that


Yeah, a Giant Instinct Barbarian can still use Rage even in smaller spaces. They might not be able to use Giant's Stature if they can't fit into the space (depending on GM ruling). And if they have Titan's Stature they can still opt to only use the Large size from Giant's Stature if they want (space constraints or just because).

Druid's Wild shape is just up a creek though.


Aw3som3-117 wrote:
Gortle wrote:
You re right sorry, its the Giants Stature you can't not use the size increase.
I mean, without the size increase the ability does nothing (since the increased reach comes from the size), so I'm not really sure what you mean by that

You can't choose to be your normal size (Tiny, Small, or Medium). How many houses have room for a 10ft tall monster? Not many.


You can't use the ability and stay your normal size, but you don't get anything out of the ability if you don't grow, so saying you "have to" doesn't make much sense. Just... don't use that action. It's not like you need to grow to 10ft to rage or something like that. It's a separate action.

Liberty's Edge

Indeed. It is an action you take while Raging.


Pathfinder Pawns, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I wonder if shrinking magic has similar limitations? For example, can I get swallowed whole, then cast shrink baleful polymorph (mouse) on the attacker in order for me to burst out of it?

Edit: Shrink is willing targets only.


When using enlarge in tight spaces, we have a house rule:

If the space allows medium, and it enlarges to large, then the creature is immobilized and flat-footed. If the space allows medium and it is enlarged to giant or larger, then the creature is immobilized and takes 1d6 damage per round per size over large (so 2d6 for gargantuan) until it is shrunk.

Any creature that may be stuck between the creature and the wall takes 1d6 bludgeoning damage (first round only), is in difficult terrain, and is flat-footed. This can present a strategy at times to use it and take the condition/damage to give more to the enemy.

This doesn't come up often but can make for some interesting combat.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Enlarging in tight space? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.