Heightening Spells: Explain it to me like I'm 5.


Rules Discussion


Alright, so, I have admittedly never played Pathfinder, but I decided to pick up the 2e books out of a sense of curiosity (and because I'm just starting to feel a little disenchanted with other systems). So far I really like what I've read, but I'm having some serious trouble understanding how heightening spells works, particularly for spontaneous casters. I've read and reread the various sections describing this many times, and I feel like an idiot because I can't seem to wrap my brain around how/why it works.

If I had to pick one thing I'm having trouble with, I guess it would be this: if you have to have the higher level spell to heighten a lower level spell to its level anyway, what is the point of having the lower level spell at all? Because if I can put a level 1 spell into a level 3 slot to heighten it to level three (but I have to have access to the level 3 spell anyway to even be able to do this) why wouldn't I just use the level 3 spell in the first place?

Any help/clarification would be appreciated. I'm looking forward to having a go at Pathfinder, just want to make sure I have everything down right before I do.

Thanks!


One thing to keep in mind, is that spontaneous casters can relearn one spell per level. So if you took Alarm as a first level spell, but get to 3rd level spells and decide you will only ever want to cast the 3rd level version from now on, you can swap out the first level version of alarm for something like featherfall that's always good but doesn't have any kind of heighten.


As far as I understand it:

Prepared caster (Wizard):
You have a spell in your book, and it is heightened to the level of the slot you prepare it in.

Spontaneous caster:
You know a spell at a particular level and use a spell slot of that level to cast it (The rules don't say you can use a higher slot to cast a spell).
If you want to cast the heightened version of a spell, you must learn it at the higher level, unless it's a signature spell, which you can cast using any spell slot to get it at the level of the slot.

Cantrips are always cast at a level equal to half your character level (i.e. the same as the highest level of spell you can cast)


Thanks a ton for the info guys. Between your help and rereading the spell section again, every has clicked. I really appreciate it!


Someone should make a chart showing when hightened spells can move up based on their hightened +


Sometimes spells don't heighten (e.g. Faerie Fire) so you wouldn't want to prepare it in a higher level slot or learn it as a higher level spell or have it as a signature spell, but you'd still want to use it sometimes.

For any spell the level you cast it at does affect the counteract check, but that isn't always worth worrying about.


So heightened spells are best thought about from prepared and spontaneous casters differently.

For prepared casters, you learn a spell at a particular level. Ignoring the cost of scribing spells this isn't a problem. You prepare the spell at whatever level you intend to use it later.

For spontaneous casters, you know a spell at a particular level.

Remember, unlike PF1 you can't cast a lower level spell out of a higher level spell. So you have to know the spell as the spell level you intend to cast it as.

However, some spells you might really like and they might have variable effects with heighten. So you decide you want them to be signature spells. These spells you can cast at any level of spell you are able to cast.

Personally, I find this a bit restrictive and would allow people to cast a spell out of a higher level spell slot for no benefit (not even for counter act check) as it's a bit punishing for sorcerers (though not unplayable).


glasswalker22 wrote:
Someone should make a chart showing when hightened spells can move up based on their hightened +

That would be hard, because there are so many spells that have different increases depending on how they're affected. I'm not sure you could produce a visual that would be meaningful and useful without being very complicated (therefore being less useful).


Oh, nevermind. This is some serious thread necromancy. Responding to the title and original post is not going to be needed or effective.


Eoran wrote:
Oh, nevermind. This is some serious thread necromancy. Responding to the title and original post is not going to be needed or effective.

Shit, I missed my spot check on that. Good call.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Heightening Spells: Explain it to me like I'm 5. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.