Channeling questions


Rules Questions


So, first off, the necromancers channel... can I use smite channel, or conductive, or consecrated weapon, with it? what about that mask you channel into that heals you for half the channel if you are hit?

Also, If I get Adept Channel and then go into a class that says it stacks with cleric levels would that give me the new classes number of channels per day or would it be forced to stay as adept channel... or would I get a combined pool of both numbers?... or would I get two seperate pools with one been 2 channels a day at char level - 2 and the other been the classes channel pool at class level + char level -2 (adept channeler cleric level stackin)?


necromancers channel which is a wizard class can't use it's channel for anything but to Command Undead or Turn Undead,

Adept channel can only be taken by an adept. And channeling pools are completely separate. So if you are adept 4 and cleric 1 you can channel twice per day as a lv1 cleric from your adept levels and as a lv1 cleric 3+charisma times a day from your cleric level.


I am pretty sure the requirements for Adept channeler says
"Ability to cast divine spells, summon familiar class ability, caster level 4th, Charisma 13." And not that you must be an adept channeler to have this feat.

As for the Channeling... do you know what channel foci are? Sunderer mask is one of them... if you can channel then you can charge the mask, and sense you can channel at undead then why wouldnt you be able to channel at the mask?

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Shinoskay wrote:

I am pretty sure the requirements for Adept channeler says

"Ability to cast divine spells, summon familiar class ability, caster level 4th, Charisma 13." And not that you must be an adept channeler to have this feat.

As for the Channeling... do you know what channel foci are? Sunderer mask is one of them... if you can channel then you can charge the mask, and sense you can channel at undead then why wouldnt you be able to channel at the mask?

Summon Familiar is a class ability gained only by Adepts.

A Necromancer's channel energy has no dice of damage. So the mask would have no effect.

Sundered Mask wrote:
healing a number of hit points equal to the number of dice of the activating cleric’s channel energy ability


Doesnt Channel Energy default to that of the cleric class ability? just altered in the way stated individually? it doesnt say it, I get that most everything else says it... but valid point because if it doesnt have a dice value then how can Sunder mask cut the dice value in half and use it.....

as for the Adept Channel feat.... that is the same argument used against improved familiar, and guess what... anyone who can have a familiar can improve it...

Ok, that came off as a little rude, I am just making a point though so dont read to much in the delivery.

Digress, it seems RAI is that Familiar pre requisites are semi universal in nature with only fluff and flavor been the only real variance... otherwise RAW shamans, and even wizards, would not be able to qualify for the feat 'improved familiar'. if someone wants to spend 2 feats and a trait to qualify for another feat, why tell them they cant just because the wording doesnt look like it matches quite right when the RAI is there?

Hell, RAI evidence that its not just for adepts is also in the description too... ((effective cleric level is equal to your divine spellcasting class level –3)) Why do they keep going through all the trouble to say divine caster if it is specifically for Adepts? they make fighter requirements for certain feats? so logic follows that this is NOT just for Adepts and its familiar req is a universal term for familiar.

for the sake of getting back to the main topic, Again:

"If I get Adept Channel and then go into a class that says it stacks with cleric levels would that give me the new classes number of channels per day or would it be forced to stay as adept channel... or would I get a combined pool of both numbers?... or would I get two seperate pools with one been 2 channels a day at char level - 2 and the other been the classes channel pool at class level + char level -2 (adept channeler cleric level stackin)?"


bump


Necromancer wrote:
You receive Command Undead or Turn Undead as a bonus feat. You can channel energy a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Intelligence modifier, but only to use the selected feat. You can take other feats to add to this ability, such as Extra Channel and Improved Channel, but not feats that alter this ability, such as Elemental Channel and Alignment Channel.

You can't channel into a channel focus (like the mask) because it says you can't. You can't use necromancer channels for anything other than Command Undead or Turn Undead.


channel foci's say you can though...


Bump necromacy to see if fresh opinions or perspectives can help this question/thread.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

dude, just because you dont like the rules, doesnt mean keep bumping the thread to try to get your version of them verified. I concur again with everyone else. specific trumps general here, and your specific version of command undead can only be used for what it says, period.


Agreed. Does what it says it does. No more no less.


Pretty sure I said 'fresh perspective' and not 'maybe someone has figured out a way to break the game by now'

Why you so angry anyways?


Probably because you bumped a three year old thread that already had the answer given, asking for a new opinion that matches yours. Just because you don't like the answer, doesn't mean it is the correct answer. There's no need to go necroing a bunch a threads.


You asked a rules question and got a by the book rules answer. There IS no fresh perspective. The answer you have will be the only one you'll ever get.

If someone seems angry it's because you're making it seem like previous responses dont matter because they dont match your desires which comes off poorly. I'm afraid nothing has changed in the rules to allow it.


Three years? It's time to let go.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Channeling questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.