Spiked Bashing Shields deal 1d8 or 2d6?


Rules Questions

101 to 150 of 220 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>

I'm happy to finally have this cleared up.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

OO oo ooo but what about klars! thats totally different right!

*will get the newspawper and thwap themselves in the head for that one...*

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Pathfinder Design Team wrote:
No FAQ Required: As per this FAQ on effective size increases, two effective size increases do not stack. Shield spikes and bashing both grant effective size increases, so they do not stack. The extraneous mention of armor spikes in Ultimate Equipment’s shield spikes entry is in error, and it should be reflected in the next errata.

Woot!


That's nice, but it would have been better if they could have cleared up the klar while they were at it.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Which part? The comment on armor spikes probably applies to Klar also. I guess the question is whether or not it's a bashing target?


James Risner wrote:
Which part? The comment on armor spikes probably applies to Klar also. I guess the question is whether or not it's a bashing target?

A bit of both.

A) Is the klar's damage its current value because it is being modified by virtual shield spikes?
B) Is an attack with a klar a shield bash?

The klar can definitely be enchanted with bashing and it would effect the damage either way. It's just unclear how much the damage increases.

Scarab Sages

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I still don't think shield spikes should be a virtual size increase, but per the raw it is, and this confirms it.


In my games we just made shield spikes allow b/p damage. The rest was so complicated when it got to what stacked with what and turns out they dont


Pathfinder Design Team wrote:
No FAQ Required: As per this FAQ on effective size increases, two effective size increases do not stack. Shield spikes and bashing both grant effective size increases, so they do not stack. The extraneous mention of armor spikes in Ultimate Equipment’s shield spikes entry is in error, and it should be reflected in the next errata.

I want to thank the PDT for finally answering the question.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

They answered it in march 2015.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
BigNorseWolf wrote:
They answered it in march 2015.

Only indirectly, with some doubt of intent remaining, and then unanswered it with the new printing of Ultimare Equipment. But now we have a definitive answer that spiked shield damage is an effective size change. Now no doubt should remain.

Sczarni

Melkiador wrote:
The klar can definitely be enchanted with bashing

Expect table variation on that.


Nefreet wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
The klar can definitely be enchanted with bashing
Expect table variation on that.

Why? The klar counts as a light shield and bashing can be put on a light shield. There shouldn't be any question that the enchant can go on it. I'm just not sure what the enchant does once it's on there.


Nefreet wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
The klar can definitely be enchanted with bashing
Expect table variation on that.

I would expect almost no variation from oh hell no or enjoy your choice of d6 slashing or d6 bashing.

Sczarni

The logic tree goes like this:

Truth #1: Bashing can only be placed on things named "Light Shield" (and things named "Heavy Shield", but that's irrelevant to this logic tree).

Truth #2: Bashing increases the damage of things named "Light Shield" by two steps.

Truth #3: things named "Light Shield" deal 1d3 bludgeoning damage.

Truth #4: 1d3 increased two steps becomes 1d6.

Question: Is the Klar a thing named "Light Shield"?

- No, a Klar is a thing named "Klar".
- - Bashing cannot be placed on things named "Klar".

- No, a Klar counts as a thing named "Light Spiked Shield".
- - Bashing cannot be placed on things named "Light Spiked Shield".

- Yes, a Klar counts as a thing named "Light Shield"
- - Bashing can be placed on things named "Light Shield".
- - - Things named "Light Shield" deal 1d3 bludgeoning damage.
- - - - 1d3 increased two steps becomes 1d6.

Sczarni

So, even if you encounter a GM that allows you to enchant a Klar with Bashing, expect it to deal no more damage than an enchanted Light Shield.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nefreet wrote:

The logic tree goes like this:

Truth #1: Bashing can only be placed on things named "Light Shield" (and things named "Heavy Shield", but that's irrelevant to this logic tree).

Truth #2: Bashing increases the damage of things named "Light Shield" by two steps.

Truth #3: things named "Light Shield" deal 1d3 damage.

Truth #4: 1d3 increased two steps becomes 1d6.

Question: Is the Klar a thing named "Light Shield"?

- No, a Klar is a thing named "Klar".
- - Bashing cannot be placed on things named "Klar".

- No, a Klar counts as a thing named "Light Spiked Shield".
- - Bashing cannot be placed on things named "Light Spiked Shield".

- Yes, a Klar counts as a thing named "Light Shield"
- - Bashing can be placed on things named "Light Shield".
- - - Things named "Light Shield" deal 1d3 damage.
- - - - 1d3 increased two steps becomes 1d6.

That logic tree has poor roots.

Making an attack with a Shield is a Shield Bash. The damage for Shields' Bashes is given on the table. The Klar is a Shield. The damage given for a Klar's Bash is also given on the table: 1d6 Slashing.

That logic tree depends on inventing a whole new way of attacking with a shield that is not a shield bash, and that is just not supported in the rules.

People are ignoring the fact that even if this logic tree were strong, the Bashing Enchantment would still transform the 1d6 Slashing Damge to 2d6, since the Bashing Enchantment enhances all kinds of damage inflicted by the Shield, not just the Bashing Damage, but also the Throwing Damage, and also--if it existed--the non-bashing-Slashing-Blade-Damage. Of course the reason why the Klar's non-bashing-slashing-blade-damage is not excluded from the Bashing Enchantment is that it does not exist.

People have tried to say that the Klar has Shield Spikes, when the latest official description of the weapon says that it doesn't.


"Expect" is a vague term though. You can expect table variation on almost anything. The question is how common will people rule one way over the other. And the dev post in this thread suggests that the klar is probably a spiked light shield, and the "armor spike" language is likely an error and should be shield spikes. It'd be good if we could get an actual response on that.

I'd also be curious what hero labs has to say on this, but I don't have that. What do they think the rules for a bashing klar are?


Maybe it would be better if we just asked what does this text mean and what does it do:
"A traditional klar counts as a light wooden shield with armor spikes; a metal klar counts as a light steel shield with armor spikes."

That text is there for some reason. But some people seem to want to read it as if it's meaningless. And if there are two interpretations of a rule and one has meaning and the other doesn't. Then the one that has meaning seems like the only sensible ruling.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
That logic tree depends on inventing a whole new way of attacking with a shield that is not a shield bash, and that is just not supported in the rules.

The "invented" way of attacking with a klar is to use that giant blade on the end of it to slash people with. It does more damage than a regular shield and a different type of damage than a regular shield because it's got a big honking blade on it. If you are not using that big honking blade, you are not getting more damage. This is a level of obviousness and intuitiveness that the rules assume you read with. Deliberately ignoring that and worse, insisting that anyone using that is making stuff up, has lead to the wrong answer and is going to keep leading to the wrong answer.


Pathfinder Design Team wrote:
No FAQ Required: As per this FAQ on effective size increases, two effective size increases do not stack. Shield spikes and bashing both grant effective size increases, so they do not stack. The extraneous mention of armor spikes in Ultimate Equipment’s shield spikes entry is in error, and it should be reflected in the next errata.

I recognize this change in the rules, but an official response was most certainly required!

At the time the Core Rulebook was published, the concept of virtual size increased that did not stack with other virtual size increases but did stack with actual size increases did not even exist. It could not possibly have been your intent that Shield Spikes counted as an official Virtual Size Increase at the time. The FAQ you linked to deliberately stepped around the question of Shield Spikes. Your NPC Codex has an NPC who uses a Heavy, Spiked Bashing Shield that does 2d6 Base damage.

An official response from you was absolutely necessary!

Big Norse Wolf wrote:
They answered it in march 2015.

They did, and that official rules post got buried in the morass of these message boards, so that very few people have been able to find it.

Pathfinder Design Team, you need to make your FAQs searchable. You need an advanced search feature for searching your message boards that lets us filter out for Official Rules Posts.

As it is, there's nothing to keep this post you made from getting buried in the message boards just like the other one got buried in 2015, allowing this argument will continue.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Melkiador wrote:


Only indirectly

It was very direct. One thing with as if language. Both things had as if language, they don't stack.

Quote:
with some doubt of intent remaining

There was not.

Quote:
. Now no doubt should remain.

And now, despite my efforts to parody it, you are in fact arguing that a klar is something different and this ruling doesn't apply. So yes, doubt remains. "Doubt" will always remain when people want to get a mechanical advantage.

I can not consider the "doubt" genuine when the grounds for questioning it are as flimsy and nonsensical as what I'm seeing here. There is just absolutely no substance to it, at all. I don't know how else to put that.

Please look at how you got the wrong answer and try to consider the possibility that it wasn't an accident, and consider what you can do differently now.


Scott Wilhelm wrote:

They answered it in march 2015.

They did, and that official rules post got buried in the morass of these message boards, so that very few people have been able to find it.

And people that knew about it linked to it.

Again

And again

And again

...and it kept getting ignored. Not because it was hard to find, but because that wasn't the answer people wanted.


I'm saying I don't know what the klar does. I could accept a bashing klar doing anywhere from 1d8 to 2d6 damage. The klar certainly isn't attached to any language that implies it is naturally under the effect of a size change. But that could also easily be the intention.

And brining mechanical advantage into this is just being silly. A magically enhanced weapon that still only does 2d6 base damage with a x2 critical is never going to win the DPR olympics.

Liberty's Edge

I really wish people would stop advocating for the Klar doing anything more than 1d6.

If this keeps up, it'll get nerfed to 1d4, and then nobody will care to argue about it anymore.


Melkiador wrote:
The klar certainly isn't attached to any language that implies it is naturally under the effect of a size change.

This is objectively wrong. The klar is described as a light shield swith a shield spike on it. That links it to a virtual size increase.

You have had this pointed out to you.
You have to stop saying this just because it agrees with your point.

The most common answers on a bashing Klar will be d6 slash or bludgeon or hell no.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
That logic tree depends on inventing a whole new way of attacking with a shield that is not a shield bash, and that is just not supported in the rules.
The "invented" way of attacking with a klar is to use that giant blade on the end of it to slash people with. It does more damage than a regular shield and a different type of damage than a regular shield because it's got a big honking blade on it. If you are not using that big honking blade, you are not getting more damage. This is a level of obviousness and intuitiveness that the rules assume you read with. Deliberately ignoring that and worse, insisting that anyone using that is making stuff up, has lead to the wrong answer and is going to keep leading to the wrong answer.

The fact that the Klar has a blade doesn't make it any more not-Bashing any more than Shield Spikes would make the Spiked Shield not-Bashing. There is more support to suggest that attacking with Shield Spikes is not a Shield Bash: at least Shield Spikes are considered a separate item.

We actually have an example of a weapon that has a blade, gives a Shield bonus to Armor Class, and attacking with it is not a Shield Bash: the Scizore. They way Pathfinder handles that is that they classify it as a not-shield, so slashing with that "big honking blade" is not a shield bash; you can't use Shield Bashing Feats with it, and you can't enchant it as a Shield, even though the bonus to AC is a Shield Bonus.

But the Klar is a Shield. Attacking with the Klar is a Shield Bash, and the Damage is 1d6 Slashing. The latest official description of the Klar says it does not have Shield Spikes.

BigNorseWolf wrote:
This is a level of obviousness and intuitiveness that the rules assume you read with.

What is obvious is that the Klar is a Shield.

What is obvious is that the regular melee attack with a Shield is a Shield Bash.

What it intuitive is that you don't invent new ways of attacking with a shield that exist nowhere else, never existed before, and is not specifically mentioned anywhere in the rules.

Intuitively, that is what leads to wrong answers.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, the Klar is very clearly a spiked shield. Ergo virtual size increase.

There is some ambiguity, but I don't see a way to justify 2d6 damage.

Either the Klar's blade attack is the shield bash, in which case it's being modified by shield spikes and a bashing klar would do 1d8 damage since two size increases don't stack.

Or the Klar's blade is separate and you can also shield bash, in which case the blade isn't eligible for bashing in the first place, so a Bashing Klar would do 1d6 piercing or 1d6 slashing.. as two unique weapons taped together.

Quote:
The latest official description of the Klar says it does not have Shield Spikes.

You keep saying this, but you know it's wrong. The developers have admitted that it was an errata oversight and books published around the same time as UE do properly refer to it as a spiked shield.


Scott willhelm wrote:
Intuitively, that is what leads to wrong answers.

Then why is the sola raw interpretation/ method so consistently wrong?

Quote:
What it intuitive is that you don't invent new ways of attacking with a shield that exist nowhere else, never existed before, and is not specifically mentioned anywhere in the rules.

It is specifically mentioned multiple times in the klars description that there is a big honking blade on it. It does slashing damage. The authors assumed that we could figure out the rest. Most of us can.


If you think that a klar should be treated as a scizore in respects of how it should function with the bashing enchant then I would expect them to follow the same rules in any other capacity.

That stance is ridiculous, Scott.

The klar acts as a shield with spikes. We know this because it literally says that.

Benefit: A traditional klar counts as a light wooden shield with armor spikes. A metal klar counts as a light steel shield with armor spikes.

A scizore isn't even found under shields. You could very well state that a cape should have bashing or a turtle style monk should.

Liberty's Edge

4 people marked this as a favorite.

*pats his little Klar on the head*

Don't you worry about all this talk. Your daddy's a Warpriest with Weapon Focus (Klar). Nothing they say about you will matter a thing.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
The klar certainly isn't attached to any language that implies it is naturally under the effect of a size change.

This is objectively wrong. The klar is described as a light shield swith a shield spike on it. That links it to a virtual size increase.

You have had this pointed out to you.
You have to stop saying this just because it agrees with your point.

The most common answers on a bashing Klar will be d6 slash or bludgeon or hell no.

First, it says armor spikes instead of shield spikes, which needs a dev clarification right there by itself. Second, assuming it's clarified to be shield spikes, the klar's damage is listed as 1d6, and if that damage is being modified by shield spikes it would give it a "base" of 1d4, because shield spikes only increase damage by one size increment, so after increasing that base twice for bashing, you'd be at 1d8.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Melkiador wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
The klar certainly isn't attached to any language that implies it is naturally under the effect of a size change.

This is objectively wrong. The klar is described as a light shield swith a shield spike on it. That links it to a virtual size increase.

You have had this pointed out to you.
You have to stop saying this just because it agrees with your point.

The most common answers on a bashing Klar will be d6 slash or bludgeon or hell no.

First, it says armor spikes instead of shield spikes, which needs a dev clarification tight there by itself. Second, assuming it's clarified to be shield spikes, the klar's damage is listed as 1d6, and if that damage is being modified by shield spikes it would give it a "base" of 1d4, because shield spikes only increase damage by one size increment, so after increasing that base twice for bashing, you'd be at 1d8.

Maybe they trust us to make the logic leap of

The extraneous mention of armor spikes in Ultimate Equipment’s shield spikes entry is in error, and it should be reflected in the next errata.


Melkiador wrote:


First, it says armor spikes instead of shield spikes, which needs a dev clarification tight there by itself.

Obvious mistake. And it already got it.

Quote:
Second, assuming it's clarified to be shield spikes, the klar's damage is listed as 1d6, and if that damage is being modified by shield spikes it would give it a base of d4, since shield spikes only increase damage by one size increment, so after increasing that base twice for bashing, you'd be at 1d8.

A klar is a light shield. Light shields start at d3. The slashy spike is simply more effective than the regular one.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Cavall wrote:

Maybe they trust us to make the logic leap of

The extraneous mention of armor spikes in Ultimate Equipment’s shield spikes entry is in error, and it should be reflected in the next errata.

Maybe I expect them to address and clarify their mistakes that were recently reprinted despite the fact that they were obviously looking right at these items and these issues with those items have been long known.


Melkiador wrote:


Maybe I expect them to address and clarify their mistakes that were recently reprinted despite the fact that they were obviously looking right at these items and these issues with those items have been long known.

The response to an obvious mistake that bothers you is "hey, you mean x why don't you change this to mean it" not "i'm going to pretend that you absolutely meant x, and insist that everyone plays as if it was x "


Maybe they just did when they said exactly what I quoted.

Armour spikes go on armour shield spikes go on shields. A klar has a massive spike.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Melkiador wrote:


Maybe I expect them to address and clarify their mistakes that were recently reprinted despite the fact that they were obviously looking right at these items and these issues with those items have been long known.
The response to an obvious mistake that bothers you is "hey, you mean x why don't you change this to mean it" not "i'm going to pretend that you absolutely meant x, and insist that everyone plays as if it was x "

Actually at what point did I say any of those things? Quote me. You seem to think I have an agenda here other than getting this straightened out. You are mistaken.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Squiggit wrote:
Yeah, the Klar is very clearly a spiked shield. Ergo virtual size increase.

The Klar is very clearly not a Spiked Shield.

Spiked Shields have Shield Spikes.

Ultimate Equipment wrote:
Shield spikes turn a shield into a martial piercing weapon and increase the damage dealt by a shield bash as if the shield were designed for a creature one size category larger (see "spiked light shield" and "spiked heavy shield" in the Martial Weapons table).

Klars do not have Shield Spikes. They have Armor Spikes.

Ultimate Equipment wrote:
A traditional klar counts as a light wooden shield with armor spikes; a metal klar counts as a light steel shield with armor spikes.
Squiggit wrote:
There is some ambiguity,

No, there isn't. This is specific language using specific game terms. It is Shield Spikes that make that virtual size increase. These aren't shield spikes. The Klar has Armor Spikes. Armor Spikes are different. It may be that the Design Team didn't mean it. But they did it. They may change it

Big Norse Wolf wrote:
Obvious mistake. And it already got it.

Show me! I don't ignore evidence. I like evidence. Bring forth the evidence. I will examine your evidence. If you really have good evidence, I will acknowledge the rules change, ending my argument. I strongly doubt you have this evidence. If you did, you should have led with that instead of going ad hominem on me like you normally do.

Squiggit wrote:
but I don't see a way to justify 2d6 damage.

Well, the most current, official description of the Klar is that it doesn't have Shield Spikes. It's Shield Bash does Slashing Damage rather than Shield Spikes' Piercing Damage. No Virtual Size Increase is present. So,

Ultimate Equipment wrote:
bashing shield deals damage as if it were a weapon of two size categories larger

The size increases go 1d6-> 1d8-> 2d6. Now, you see the way.

Squiggit wrote:
Or the Klar's blade is separate and you can also shield bash, in which case the blade isn't eligible for bashing in the first place, so a Bashing Klar would do 1d6 piercing or 1d6 slashing.. as two unique weapons taped together.

Even if the non-bashing-slashing-blade attack were not a Shield Bash, there is not language that says that blade is a separate weapon, that attacking with the blade is not attacking with the Klar. And that means that even if the 1d6 Slashing Klar blade were not a Shield Bash, it would still be enhanced to 2d6 via the Bashing Enchantment. The Bashing Enchantment enhances all the damage the shield does, not just the Bashing Damage.

I wrote:
The latest official description of the Klar says it does not have Shield Spikes.
Squiggit wrote:
You keep saying this, but you know it's wrong. The developers have admitted that it was an errata oversight and books published around the same time as UE do properly refer to it as a spiked shield.

I know no such thing. I want to know how you know this. Show me an Official Rules Post, an erratum, an FAQ, or any official ruling that puts Shield Spikes on the Klar, and I will acknowledge this.

Squiggit wrote:
books published around the same time as UE do properly refer to it as a spiked shield.

Ultimate Equipment has only just been errata'd a few weeks ago. The developers have been long well-aware that UE's Klar is different from the others, and they chose to leave it. The description of the Klar in Ultimate Equipment is the most current official description of the Klar as far as I know.

But show me an official ruling that corrects the Ultimate Equipment's description of the Klar. I do not ignore evidence. I like evidence. Bring forth the evidence.


BigNorseWolf wrote:
Melkiador wrote:


Maybe I expect them to address and clarify their mistakes that were recently reprinted despite the fact that they were obviously looking right at these items and these issues with those items have been long known.
The response to an obvious mistake that bothers you is "hey, you mean x why don't you change this to mean it" not "i'm going to pretend that you absolutely meant x, and insist that everyone plays as if it was x "

No, sir. The response to the rules is that you follow them.

101 to 150 of 220 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spiked Bashing Shields deal 1d8 or 2d6? All Messageboards