dimensional slide to escape bondage


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Say my arcanist is being held prisoner in a dungeons cell, and is chained to the wall. The chains aren't too short, allowing some mobility around the sparse cell.

Could I open up a rift within the chain's reach, step through it, then have the rift close, severing the chains? How this work in the RAW?

Regardless of RAW, how might you run that in your games if a player posed it to you?

Scarab Sages

Dunno about RAW. But offhand probably something like the way overcoming spell resistance works. Caster level check versus the hitpoints of the thing being sliced? Maybe modified by the item's hardness?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Why would you want to escape... oh that kind of thing.

Since it counts as 5 feet of movement I think you'd need that much movement to use the slide.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'd probably say no. This is the perfect opportunity for the party Rogue to be useful, and I'd hate for it to be beaten by an arcanist power. Not even a spell, but a limited use/day ability!

Now, if you're alone without the rogue, at high enough level play, that sounds reasonable.


My best guess at a strict reading of the ability:
You are capable of moving through the rift, but the chain is not. This means that when you attempt to put your arms/legs/whatever part of you is chained up through the rift, the chain is incapable of moving with it and holds it back, preventing you from passing fully through the rift.

Some might argue that the discussion of stepping through a rift in space is more flavor text than anything else, but it seems clear that some physical movement is required. And since the chain is incapable of moving with you, it restricts you from completing the movement.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

So can an arcanist not use dimensional slide and keep their clothes on, Avoron since they are also "not you?"


I might allow Dimensional Slide to grant a bonus on the Escape Artist Check, but I'd be surprised to find there is a RAW-based requirement for a GM to do so. Whether you are using magical movement or lockpicks, I think the game mechanic here is Escape Artist.

Once you are free of the chains. Using Dimensional Hop to get passed the prison bars should work just fine. Before that, I recommend your hapless Arcanist use Grease to slip out of the shackles, or use Acid Splash to dissolve the chains.


Ravingdork wrote:
So can an arcanist not use dimensional slide and keep their clothes on, Avoron since they are also "not you?"

Clothing is subsumed as part of the character just like equipment is so if course it comes with you.

Sounds a lot like the 'chained to a cell wall, can you teleport out of the chains question posted a few years back.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Yeah, there are some similarities.

I'm a pretty big proponent in that the caster gets to choose what he takes and doesn't take, similar to how he gets to choose who his enemies and allies are, and what the target of his spells are going to be.

Nothing else is terribly consistent or sensible in my opinion.


Ravingdork wrote:
So can an arcanist not use dimensional slide and keep their clothes on, Avoron since they are also "not you?"

I had that very same thought upon considering this thread's question.

It's an oversight in the ability, as the vast majority of teleportation effects explicitly allow you to bring along some quantity of worn or carried objects. You asked for RAW, and it seems clear that the rift is only for you - other objects cannot move through it, whether falling, sliding, or being pushed or pulled.

As a GM, yes, I would obviously allow them to keep their clothes, as well as carried objects up to their maximum load (which seems the norm for teleportation magic). But it would still be limited to objects they are capable of actually carrying, and I don't think a chain firmly attached to the wall behind them qualifies. Letting any object that happened to be in the vicinity pass through would be a pretty clear violation of how the ability works.


Ravingdork wrote:

Yeah, there are some similarities.

I'm a pretty big proponent in that the caster gets to choose what he takes and doesn't take, similar to how he gets to choose who his enemies and allies are, and what the target of his spells are going to be.

Nothing else is terribly consistent or sensible in my opinion.

Here is the old thread. You even have responses in there too.


I would say anything basically on your person (clothes, items, handcuffs, etc.) must come with you. For instance, you could not slip manacles off by using this ability. Using the same reasoning, if you wanted to slide while chained to the wall, you would have to take the manacles with you. Along with the chain that's attached to them. Along with the building that is attached to the chain. Since that certainly exceeds the limits of the ability, it simply wouldn't work.

My take on it anyways.


Ravingdork wrote:
So can an arcanist not use dimensional slide and keep their clothes on, Avoron since they are also "not you?"

No. No one has implied this.

Pathfinder has a blanket your stuff counts as you rule. Your stuff goes with you. Your stuff gets your saving throws. Your stuff is you.

Chains on the wall that you're shackled too, not so much.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:
So can an arcanist not use dimensional slide and keep their clothes on, Avoron since they are also "not you?"

No. No one has implied this.

Pathfinder has a blanket your stuff counts as you rule. Your stuff goes with you. Your stuff gets your saving throws. Your stuff is you.

Chains on the wall that you're shackled too, not so much.

Care to cite the rule that you're so certain of?


At what point does the stuff attached to you go though the 'dimension slide'? By using that logic, you would have to take the ground with you unless you do a small hop. Would that mean you couldn't use it in water, since you would have to take all the surrounding water?
You could make an argument that the person can choose which items that he is touching that he wants to bring.
I've known players that use the dimension jumps/teleports to get out of grappled checks, but since they are attached(to the other creature), that would mean they couldn't do that, if you go based on whatever is touching them.


Nerioth wrote:

At what point does the stuff attached to you go though the 'dimension slide'? By using that logic, you would have to take the ground with you unless you do a small hop. Would that mean you couldn't use it in water, since you would have to take all the surrounding water?

You could make an argument that the person can choose which items that he is touching that he wants to bring.
I've known players that use the dimension jumps/teleports to get out of grappled checks, but since they are attached(to the other creature), that would mean they couldn't do that, if you go based on whatever is touching them.

Give loki his neck back please


Ravingdork wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:
So can an arcanist not use dimensional slide and keep their clothes on, Avoron since they are also "not you?"

No. No one has implied this.

Pathfinder has a blanket your stuff counts as you rule. Your stuff goes with you. Your stuff gets your saving throws. Your stuff is you.

Chains on the wall that you're shackled too, not so much.

Care to cite the rule that you're so certain of?

(object): The spell can be cast on objects, which receive saving throws only if they are magical or if they are attended (held, worn, grasped, or the like) by a creature resisting the spell, in which case the object uses the creature's saving throw bonus unless its own bonus is greater. This notation does not mean that a spell can be cast only on objects. Some spells of this sort can be cast on creatures or objects. A magic item's saving throw bonuses are each equal to 2 + 1/2 the item's caster level.

if they change you into a form that is unlike your original form (subject to GM discretion). If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size.

I know you don't like to take implications or anything less than a full direct statement, but the game is not a law book, it runs on implication and understanding (so do laws really...). You do not show up naked when you teleport.


BigNorseWolf wrote:
Give loki his neck back please

Only after I sew his mouth shut.


No, you're not touching the ground when you go through it. You step, not shuffle.


CampinCarl9127 wrote:
No, you're not touching the ground when you go through it. You step, not shuffle.

Unless you're saying that the spell doesn't effect the whole body at once, even when you are stepping, one foot tends to be touching the ground. Unless you're doing a skip, or a hop.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

And then you lift up the other foot.

Only in the rules forums do we need to explain the details of walking.


Seriously, you can't just take a little dust from your shoe with you, you need to port all of golarion or none of it?


You see that goo you just stepped into? Nope, you can't use dimension slide because you have to get it all off first. Also make sure your shoes are tied, those laces will prevent it too.
It'd also prevent any race that doesn't have legs/feet to use it, can't be used while raining or when there's more then a foot of snow.


Such flippant arguments don't even deserve a response. Good day.


CampinCarl9127 wrote:
Such flippant arguments don't even deserve a response. Good day.

That's the problem with almost every thread. The original post asks for an opinion; 10% of the respondents provide a reasoned opinion. The rest spend an inordinate amount of time explaining why the responses won't work instead of developing opinions and input of their own.


Yup, such is the rules forums. That's why I just step away from most of these pointless arguments instead of perpetuating them.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

So a grasped object is considered attended per RAW? Then I will grasp my chains in my hand and take them with me, as they are attended just like my clothes (what rags they left me with). Only the links I'm grasping /carrying will come along, the rest of the links will stay behind, essentially severing the chain as I step through the portal in the same manner that a magician separates or combines metal hoops.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ravingdork wrote:
So a grasped object is considered attended per RAW?

There is no raw on this. No rule, faq, or citation is going to tell you where you and your stuff end and the building and the chains begin.

Some things in the game require a subjective determination. Thats what the DM is for. Solving the conundrum of loki's neck for is one of those things.


Ravingdork wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:
So can an arcanist not use dimensional slide and keep their clothes on, Avoron since they are also "not you?"

No. No one has implied this.

Pathfinder has a blanket your stuff counts as you rule. Your stuff goes with you. Your stuff gets your saving throws. Your stuff is you.

Chains on the wall that you're shackled too, not so much.

Care to cite the rule that you're so certain of?

There is no damage caused by the movement, therefore it is incapable of severing the chain. That is the best rule to cite for your original question.


@Ravingdork - I would never let a caster slip bonds with dimensional slide. If the have the ability to actually step and use it, you simply take it with you. Or if you're chained to a wall, you can't use it. My interpretation of RAW anyways, I agree that it's ambiguous enough to have some table variance.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / dimensional slide to escape bondage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.