
Avoron |
No one is saying fire isn't a damage type.
Damage type is consistently used in the rules as meaning bludgeoning or piercing or slashing damage.
Weapons have a damage type, either slashing, piercing, or bludgeoning.
[The battle poi] still deals damage, but has no damage type.
It throw splash weapons, that do their kind of damage, but don't have a damage type.
damage type, a definition used in the game for B/P/S damage
The feat itself says nothing about something needing to have a "weapon damage type," which is not a term that really shows up very much in the rules. It just refers to "the damage type normally dealt by that weapon." And the damage type normally dealt by a battle poi is fire damage, full stop.

Cavall |
The poi clearly states it does no damage as a weapon in its description however, as a weapon. Just the fact it's lit on fire helps it. You can say it's weapon damage type is fire but it would be more accurate to say it doesn't have one and adds fire. Which I think is a little long for the heading under weapons, likely why they just stuck with fire.
And your quotes of Kazaan are what I'm talking about. He would have been more accurateto state it doesn't have a weapon damage type, which the description does back up.
But the idea that fire or acid or whatever isn't damaging or a type of damage isn't the case. It's just not a type of weapon damage. We can all agree I think that being burned is damaging. Just turning fire into a slashing attack is the major point of contention. I haven't been yet convinced you can hold fire to bludgeon someone.

Cavall |
Guess not! Feel bad you took a lot of time to find all the ways this feat simply disqualifies because they aren't gripped.
Rules say grip. Gotta be gripped. Pretty clear, can't RAI the word away. Grip seems very intentional. After all of grip wasn't intended what are you using a swift action to change?
Though there are ropes for your punches to change their damage anyways.
Sorry you wasted your time. If you want to, you can take your helmet off and hit with that. Don't know how that would work, but it would be the only way to grip it, seems like.
Thanks for a list of things you can't use this on, though.

Blakmane |

A weapon with two types is both types if the entry specifies "and," and is either type (wielder's choice) if the entry specifies "or." Damage types are abbreviated as follows: B (bludgeoning), C (cold), E (electricity), F (fire), P (piercing), and S (slashing).
Thought I might just leave this here again.

Entryhazard |

A weapon with two types is both types if the entry specifies "and," and is either type (wielder's choice) if the entry specifies "or." Damage types are abbreviated as follows: B (bludgeoning), C (cold), E (electricity), F (fire), P (piercing), and S (slashing).
Thought I might just leave this here again.
Where is this from, and why the racism towards Acid?

Blakmane |

Blakmane wrote:Where is this from, and why the racism towards Acid?A weapon with two types is both types if the entry specifies "and," and is either type (wielder's choice) if the entry specifies "or." Damage types are abbreviated as follows: B (bludgeoning), C (cold), E (electricity), F (fire), P (piercing), and S (slashing).
Thought I might just leave this here again.
Comes from the technology guide, and Acid is left out because no weapons in the guide do acid damage IIRC. The list is not meant to be exhaustive, similar to how the list in the CRB (B/P/S) is not exhaustive.