Channel Ray


Rules Questions

101 to 121 of 121 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

Cavall wrote:
No one is saying fire isn't a damage type.

Really?:

Diego Rossi wrote:
Damage type is consistently used in the rules as meaning bludgeoning or piercing or slashing damage.
Kazaan wrote:
Weapons have a damage type, either slashing, piercing, or bludgeoning.
Kazaan wrote:
[The battle poi] still deals damage, but has no damage type.
Diego Rossi wrote:
It throw splash weapons, that do their kind of damage, but don't have a damage type.
Diego Rossi wrote:
damage type, a definition used in the game for B/P/S damage

Well, that's the assertion I've been disputing, so if nobody's making it then it looks like I'm not needed.

The feat itself says nothing about something needing to have a "weapon damage type," which is not a term that really shows up very much in the rules. It just refers to "the damage type normally dealt by that weapon." And the damage type normally dealt by a battle poi is fire damage, full stop.


The poi clearly states it does no damage as a weapon in its description however, as a weapon. Just the fact it's lit on fire helps it. You can say it's weapon damage type is fire but it would be more accurate to say it doesn't have one and adds fire. Which I think is a little long for the heading under weapons, likely why they just stuck with fire.

And your quotes of Kazaan are what I'm talking about. He would have been more accurateto state it doesn't have a weapon damage type, which the description does back up.

But the idea that fire or acid or whatever isn't damaging or a type of damage isn't the case. It's just not a type of weapon damage. We can all agree I think that being burned is damaging. Just turning fire into a slashing attack is the major point of contention. I haven't been yet convinced you can hold fire to bludgeon someone.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Are you saying it is a "gripped" weapon only feat?


"When wielding a weapon with which you have Weapon Focus, you can shift your grip as a swift action"

I'd say by the "non fluff" straight up text yes, grip and wield say it has to be in your hands, wielded and gripped.

A ray is not.

What is your take on that phrasing, if not that it must be gripped?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

So, no unarmed strike, Blade Boot, Barbazu Bear, Armor Spikes, Tekko Naki, Sea Knife, or Dwarven Boulder Helmet?


Guess not! Feel bad you took a lot of time to find all the ways this feat simply disqualifies because they aren't gripped.

Rules say grip. Gotta be gripped. Pretty clear, can't RAI the word away. Grip seems very intentional. After all of grip wasn't intended what are you using a swift action to change?

Though there are ropes for your punches to change their damage anyways.

Sorry you wasted your time. If you want to, you can take your helmet off and hit with that. Don't know how that would work, but it would be the only way to grip it, seems like.

Thanks for a list of things you can't use this on, though.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Oh, and any Natural Weapon.

Then there is the Ratfolk Tailblade, Kobold Tail Attachments, Claw Blades, and Siege Weapons, like the Ballista.


A weapon with two types is both types if the entry specifies "and," and is either type (wielder's choice) if the entry specifies "or." Damage types are abbreviated as follows: B (bludgeoning), C (cold), E (electricity), F (fire), P (piercing), and S (slashing).

Thought I might just leave this here again.


Blakmane wrote:

A weapon with two types is both types if the entry specifies "and," and is either type (wielder's choice) if the entry specifies "or." Damage types are abbreviated as follows: B (bludgeoning), C (cold), E (electricity), F (fire), P (piercing), and S (slashing).

Thought I might just leave this here again.

Where is this from, and why the racism towards Acid?


Entryhazard wrote:
Blakmane wrote:

A weapon with two types is both types if the entry specifies "and," and is either type (wielder's choice) if the entry specifies "or." Damage types are abbreviated as follows: B (bludgeoning), C (cold), E (electricity), F (fire), P (piercing), and S (slashing).

Thought I might just leave this here again.

Where is this from, and why the racism towards Acid?

Comes from the technology guide, and Acid is left out because no weapons in the guide do acid damage IIRC. The list is not meant to be exhaustive, similar to how the list in the CRB (B/P/S) is not exhaustive.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

I think the B/P/S list not being exhaustive is being lost on a number of people.

@Blakmane: Can you provide the source of that quote?

Scarab Sages

blackbloodtroll wrote:

I think the B/P/S list not being exhaustive is being lost on a number of people.

@Blakmane: Can you provide the source of that quote?

I already did further upthread. It's from the technology guide weapon table.

Community Manager

Removed some baiting posts and their responses. Please be civil, thank you!

101 to 121 of 121 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Channel Ray All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.