Questions I feel I should know the answers to


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

51 to 97 of 97 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Rule #2 of the Hawkmooncultistadept : Always agree with Hawk unless your name is Chuck Norris.


Like I said, she won me over to her side pretty quickly, we just played it normal because we try to err on the side of "too hard."

Another feather in the Vulture's cap, though (or or crest? :D ...neck plumage?)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Frencois wrote:

Persistent ally that really want to join your party?

The ally 'girlfriend' keeps popping in my mind....

And "Recharge Girlfriend to search your library for Girlfriend. If you find more than one Girlfriend, banish them."


Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Only the person who defeated a mythic bane gets the free mythic charge, correct?

Grand Lodge

Mogloth wrote:

Only the person who defeated a mythic bane gets the free mythic charge, correct?

Can you give the example of what you're confused about? The general question is a bit vague without what the bane is and the text that you're asking about.


Mogloth is asking if each character in the party gains a mythic charge, or just the person who actually defeats the bane. It's the later.

Grand Lodge

I was going to state that but wasn't sure if there was an actual bane that would allow everyone to gain one (as unlikely as that is). Which is why I was asking for specifics.


Merisiel The Acrobat has an ability that lets her recharge, instead of discard, a blessing adding to her Dexterity check.

Does the blessing specifically have to say 'Dexterity check' on it, or does any blessing that just happens to add to a Dex check work?

For example, Merisiel The Acrobat is about to try to defeat a barrier that requires Dexterity, and she plays the Blessing that specifically adds to checks to defeat barriers (Abadar?). Does she get to recharge it?


The latter. She gets to recharge any blessing that adds to her Dexterity check. A barrier that requires Dexterity to her is a Dexterity check, no matter what type of blessing is played on it (even a Blessing of Shelyn or something like that).


Ok, this may be a stretch, but here we go. In RotR, BRIGANDOOM!, DURING THIS SENARIO: If a monster's power causes you to recharge one or more cards, do so, then draw the same number of cards.
Here's what happened, flip over Goblin Commando, POWER: Before the encounter, the Goblin deals 1 Ranged Combat damage to you.
Here's my question/s
1. Can I use BRACERS OF PROTECTION to take that damage?
2. If so,... BRACERS OF PROTECTION, POWERS: Recharge this card to reduce Combat damage dealt to you by 1.
So... this may be a stretch as I have already stated, the goblin's power deals damage, I recharge to reduce damage, so by the transitive property his power caused me to recharge a card, so I get to draw right?


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

1. Yes, you can recharge Bracers of Protection to reduce the damage.
2. No, the monsters power is making you take damage, not recharge cards. The recharge power is on the Item Bracers of Protection. You do not get to draw a card to replace the Bracers.


No. There's no transitive property in something that isn't an equivocation.

The monster's power didn't cause you to recharge a card, using your Bracers of Protection did.


Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Skull & Shackles question:

Fog Bank: After you play a card or use a power that examines cards in this location deck, shuffle it.

Illusory Wall barrier: If defeated, examine the top card of the location deck and return it to either the top or bottom of the deck.

So, as the defeated text from this barrier is neither the result of me playing a card or using a character power, do I still have to shuffle the Fog Bank deck?

Grand Lodge

Mogloth wrote:

Skull & Shackles question:

Fog Bank: After you play a card or use a power that examines cards in this location deck, shuffle it.

Illusory Wall barrier: If defeated, examine the top card of the location deck and return it to either the top or bottom of the deck.

So, as the defeated text from this barrier is neither the result of me playing a card or using a character power, do I still have to shuffle the Fog Bank deck?

Yes, it doesn't say a character's power, it says a power that examines cards in the location deck. The power comes from the Illusory Wall. Basically, any form of examination used on the Fog Bank causes it to be shuffled.


Question: balthazar power allows him to aquire monsters he defeats, does this apply to henchmen? If so is it only drawn henchmen from a location or summoned henchmen like corrupt solider?


cajunsinjin wrote:
Question: balthazar power allows him to aquire monsters he defeats, does this apply to henchmen? If so is it only drawn henchmen from a location or summoned henchmen like corrupt solider?

Summoned cards go back to the box. That's the general rule.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Summoned cards (emphasis mine):

WotR rulebook p15 wrote:
After evading a summoned card or resolving the encounter with it, never put it anywhere other than back in the box unless the card that caused you to summon it instructs you otherwise.

I bolded the most important word in that sentence, which is "never." This means that the rule cannot be overridden by card text for any reason (see: first two sentences of the Golden Rule). Balazar never gets to add summoned cards to his hand unless the card that caused the card to be summoned somehow lets him do so.

As for henchmen you encounter inside of decks (instead of summoned ones), then yes you can add them to your hand if you defeat them and they would be banished as a result of you doing so if the henchman is a monster. So you can't add barrier henchmen to your hand (such as armies). If the henchmen/monster does something else rather than being banished after having been defeated, such as going to a different location deck, then you cannot add it to your hand.


Thank you all for the info....one more question

Question: when a henchman is summoned, say on a closing condition, how much of the text applies? For example if it says take one point of damage prior to the encounter do you do that or do you only do the check to defeat?


cajunsinjin wrote:

Thank you all for the info....one more question

Question: when a henchman is summoned, say on a closing condition, how much of the text applies? For example if it says take one point of damage prior to the encounter do you do that or do you only do the check to defeat?

When you summon and encounter, you do all the steps on the henchman's card. You just can't close the location by defeating the henchman because it didn't come from that location.

Grand Lodge

So are you asking if,

When Closing:
Summon and defeat a Corrupted Soldier.

Then on the Corrupted Soldier, "Before you act, take 1 Combat Damage"

Yes, you take the damage. Also, if there is an After You Act, you could take more damage.


Two more dumb questions ...

When you encounter a monster like the Siren or Satyr, which don't have combat checks to defeat, are you still considered to be in a combat? It came up last night, wondering if a Blessing that gave two dice to a 'noncombat Wisdom check' would give both dice.

Two, I want to make sure I'm using Radillo's spell-cycling ability correctly. Here's how I think it works ...

1. Encounter starts.
2. I play a spell (say, Force Missile.)
2a. STOP - check the bottom of my deck to see if the card there is a spell. If yes, put it on top of my deck.
3. Resolve the Force Missile (roll the dice, etc.)
4. Attempt to recharge the Force Missile, discarding or recharging it as appropriate.

Is this accurate?

Sovereign Court

It is not a combat check unless it says Combat. Siren and Satyr say Wisdom (I think that's the skill on both), so they are non-combat Wisdom checks.

Grand Lodge

Zhayne wrote:

Two, I want to make sure I'm using Radillo's spell-cycling ability correctly. Here's how I think it works ...

1. Encounter starts.
2. I play a spell (say, Force Missile.)
2a. STOP - check the bottom of my deck to see if the card there is a spell. If yes, put it on top of my deck.
3. Resolve the Force Missile (roll the dice, etc.)
4. Attempt to recharge the Force Missile, discarding or recharging it as appropriate.

Is this accurate?

The power simply says "When you play a spell with the Arcane trait during an encounter" so the power can be resolved during the encounter. You're fine.


Andrew L Klein wrote:
It is not a combat check unless it says Combat. Siren and Satyr say Wisdom (I think that's the skill on both), so they are non-combat Wisdom checks.

Post for reference.


Thanks, guys. And thanks for the link, Hawkmoon, that really clarifies it.


Thank you all for the clarification!

Another one has come up regarding the WotR barriers like crazed cultists. It says to defeat the barrier all of the summoned henchmen must be defeated but at the end it says "after you act, banish the barrier".

So if you don't defeat them all do you still banish the barrier and not shuffle it back I to the location deck? It seems contrary to itself.


The "defeated/undefeated" text is there in case you are in a location or playing a scenario that cares about such things. For example, you could have a location that says "if you fail to defeat a bane, bury a card." Most of the time, it won't matter if the barrier is defeated or not.


Ashram316 wrote:
The "defeated/undefeated" text is there in case you are in a location or playing a scenario that cares about such things. For example, you could have a location that says "if you fail to defeat a bane, bury a card." Most of the time, it won't matter if the barrier is defeated or not.

So are you saying that we just treat the barrier has defeated regardless of how we did on the check and don't shuffle it back into the location deck? Sorry, still very confused on this mechanic :(


You don't treat the barrier as defeated. You follow the instructions on the card and banish the barrier. There have been other barriers which are banished even if you fail to defeat them (for example, Ambush).


It is not technically defeated, but it is still banished the same way a barrier that is defeated is banished. As Ashram316 said, there may come a time where another card, like a location, might care that the barrier is not technically defeated. But most of the time, you won't care that the barrier is not technically defeated because you are putting the card back in the box one way or another.


Quick Q on Class Decks: Do you shuffle all their cards in with the main box, or do you keep them separate just for those characters to use?

Well, all the cards appropriate to the adventure deck number you're on, at least.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Zhayne wrote:
Quick Q on Class Decks: Do you shuffle all their cards in with the main box, or do you keep them separate just for those characters to use?

Depends.

If using the Class Decks along with your home game, shuffle them into the box just like you'd shuffle in the Character Add-on deck or Adventure Decks.

If using the Class Decks for sanctioned Organized Play, consult the guide to Organized Play for how to use the Class Deck. It is not shuffled into the box, and your character has to be built exclusively from its cards.


Thanks.


Besmara's Tricorne:

My brother (Lini) and I (Merisiel) just finished "The Toll of the Bell". About halfway through the scenario, it suddenly dawned on me that he was under-utilizing Besmara's Tricorne. (He had it as Jirelle in our first campaign, and I think we were just tunnel-visioned into seeing it as a Fortitude and Survival item.)

He can reveal the Tricorne while on a ship to 1d8 to his Divine combat checks, right, since it's Wisdom-based? And then reveal it to add 1d8 on the recharge, since it's a different step?

Immortal Dreamstone:

I had this as Damiel in our first campaign and never figured out how it worked with allies that use more than one card. For example, the Capuchin has "Reveal this and discard another card to add 1d6..." and a lot of the captains have similar language. The Dreamstone lets you banish a displayed ally "for its power as though you had played it as an ally."

I see two possiblities:

A. The Dreamstone's banish effect replaces everything before "to". The Capuchin then becomes "Banish this ally while displayed to add 1d6..."

B. The Dreamstone's banish effect replaces what you would do with the ally itself. The Capuchin then becomes "Banish this ally while displayed and discard another card to add 1d6..."

I went with the second reading, but I'm really not sure.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Tricorne: Yes, that works in both instances (assuming Tricorne works on Wisdom checks, don't have the card in front of me atm).

Dreamstone: At first blush I went with Option B as well, but now believe that is incorrect. The rulebook says "Playing a card means using a power on that card by revealing, displaying, discarding, recharging, burying, or banishing that card or by performing another action specified by that card." In this case, the "another action specified by that card" is "Reveal this card and discard another card" so the Dreamstone short-circuits that instruction by letting you banish it instead. As such, I believe it is actually Option A since you are using the power "as though you had played it" -- you aren't actually playing it which means you aren't actually following any of the normal instructions required to play it (e.g. discarding another card).

You may have stumbled upon the only possible use for that bumbling pink monstrosity, although I'd still rather have gotten an ally that lets me explore instead ;)

Sovereign Court

Option A is definitely it. The cost becomes banishing it, and only banishing it. Of course, you have to find a way to display it.


skizzerz wrote:

Tricorne: Yes, that works in both instances (assuming Tricorne works on Wisdom checks, don't have the card in front of me atm).

The first power adds 1 to "your Constitution, Fortitude, Wisdom, or Survival" check or 1d8 if on a ship.

skizzerz wrote:

You may have stumbled upon the only possible use for that bumbling pink monstrosity, although I'd still rather have gotten an ally that lets me explore instead ;)

In two player, extra explores are nice but not necessary. I used allies for their non-explore powers probably about half the time. The one I dreaded was the Albatross, which never seemed worth using.

Andrew L Klein wrote:

Of course, you have to find a way to display it.

The Immortal Dreamstone does the displaying itself via one of its powers. It doesn't let you use any displayed ally, only ones that it displayed. It's basically an Emerald Codex for allies.

Thanks both!

Sovereign Court

Ah ok. I only had the partial text from your initial post. Forgot what the card did.

Pathfinder ACG Developer

That Tricorne is amazing for Lini.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Keith Richmond wrote:
That Tricorne is amazing for Lini.

Oddly enough, that Navigator's Musket isn't too shabby for her, either.

Pathfinder ACG Developer

I picture Lini as balancing on top of it so she can look over the battlefield from a lofty vantage point of like 6-7 ft tall.

Sovereign Court

The Tricorne is the best loot we've gotten so far! I always grab it if I can, though normally Agna gets to it first.

I wish I had better items, or at least wasn't forced to carry four of them. That's more than anyone else in the party, and I'm the littlest! Why not make Valeros carry some of this stuff?

I hear there's a couple good items here in the naga islands, but we haven't found any of them yet. :(

Grand Lodge

Mythic Charges and Organized Play ...

I thought (and I can't find the post) that you can mark when you get Mythic Charges on your chronicle sheet. (You can discard Blessing of Ascension to gain a Mythic Charge.)

But according to the rules in the WotR-base Rulebook, you start with Mythic Charges equal to the Adv Deck number. (At this point, 2.) Also, if you end up with more Mythic Charges than the Adv Deck # at the end of your turn, you have to use/discard down.

So the only way to get to 5 (or more) is during your turn ... or once you get to Adv Deck 5 or higher. You cannot carry over more Mythic Charges from turn to turn or scenario to scenario.

So why were we tracking Mythic Charges on our chronicle sheet?

Also, we just started our Mythic Paths this week in our groups. And it came up last night that the wording on Mythic Paths state the base skill checks like Wisdom and Charisma checks for Heirophant. We were going to apply our melee, divine, arcane, etc. checks but it doesn't say Wisdom-based or Charisma-based checks. So it was argued that it could only assist in the base checks of the skills listed on the path. (Since a Wisdom check is not the same as a Divine check.) Where does it state that you can use Mythic Charges to boost any skill based on the ones listed on the Mythic Path?


Theryon Stromrune wrote:
Also, we just started our Mythic Paths this week in our groups. And it came up last night that the wording on Mythic Paths state the base skill checks like Wisdom and Charisma checks for Heirophant. We were going to apply our melee, divine, arcane, etc. checks but it doesn't say Wisdom-based or Charisma-based checks. So it was argued that it could only assist in the base checks of the skills listed on the path. (Since a Wisdom check is not the same as a Divine check.) Where does it state that you can use Mythic Charges to boost any skill based on the ones listed on the Mythic Path?

They aren't the same, but if your Divine skill uses your Wisdom skill, then any Divine check is also a Wisdom check for you. So, in that instance they would be the same. If your Divine skill used, for example, your Dexterity, they would not be the same.

WotR Rulebook, page 12 wrote:
The skill you’re using for the check, and any skill referenced by that skill, are added as traits to the check. For example, if your character has the skill Melee: Strength +2, and you are using your Melee skill, both the Strength and the Melee traits are added to the check.

I don't think you'll see "Wisdom-based check" anywhere in the game as the "-based" suffix would be redundant.

Grand Lodge

Okay, that solves the one issue we argued about. (I lost that one last night but said I'd check because I thought what you're saying is correct. They were a bit more stringent in their view of the checks.)

Now I just need to find out if tracking Mythic Charges on our chronicle sheet is actually needed since the rules really state you can't carry them from scenario to scenario. Also, building up to 5 charges for the secondary powers is not very feasible early on because of the discarding at the end of the turn.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Theryon Stormrune wrote:
Okay, that solves the one issue we argued about. (I lost that one last night but said I'd check because I thought what you're saying is correct. They were a bit more stringent in their view of the checks.)

Theryon, if you want to point some of your players at a similar discussion, we talk about the Knights of Kenebres here.

And I don't recall anything about recording Mythic Charges on the sheet since they're not supposed to persist between scenarios.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

I don't recall ever asking you to track mystic charges on your Chronicle sheet.

Also, you should really put PFSACG questions in the PFSACG forum.

And finally, dumping every question anyone has into a single thread with a generic name is not terribly helpful. If you can't find the answer to your question in an existing thread, please create a new one. I'm locking this one.

51 to 97 of 97 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Questions I feel I should know the answers to All Messageboards
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion