Full attacks, Grab, Constrict and free action ending grapple interaction


Rules Questions


Let's assume Bob has 4 claw attacks and all have grab. Bob also has the following item, granting him constrict.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/wondrous-items/wondrous-items/a-b/anaco nda-s-coils

Is the following legal/the correct interpretation:

Bob starts combat next to his opponent and declares a full attack.
Bob attacks opponent with claw 1 and hits.
He deals damage with claw 1.
He makes a grapple check (from grab) and succeeds.
He deals constrict damage due to suceeding at a grapple check.
He then releases the grapple as a free action.

I believe above is all correct. Here is where I am not sure on the rules:

Can he continue his full attack? Meaning, attack with claw 2, 3 and 4 and use the exact same routine?

Dark Archive

I think it works, unfortunately?


If u grapple with the first attack without using the "hold" option of grab then I THINK your full attack ends...not at home so I will look that up to be sure

IF you do use the "hold" option you do not gain the grappled condition and depending on how many free actions your GM allows I believe you can do what you are trying...however the -20 to hold is a helluva penalty

Silver Crusade

Yes, it is legal.

If you choose to do such a chain of actions, a GM may choose to restrict the number of free action grab/releases in a turn. ("Free actions don't take any time at all, though there may be limits to the number of free actions you can perform in a turn.")

Also realize what is good for the goose is good for the gander and this could also be used on your party by monsters with painful results.


Ah there's Bruno...thought he would show up soon...he's normally dead on when it comes to grappling


Bestiary wrote:

Constrict (Ex) A creature with this special attack can crush an opponent, dealing bludgeoning damage, when it makes a successful grapple check (in addition to any other effects caused by a successful check, including additional damage). The amount of damage is given in the creature’s entry and is typically equal to the amount of damage caused by the creature’s melee attack.

Format: constrict (1d8+6); Location: Special Attacks.

CRB wrote:
Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM.

By RAW, it depends on what your GM considers reasonable.


The eidolon does this better with claws, rake, grape and constrict each successful grapple roll does 3 extra hits (2 rake+1 constrict), so at 8th level you could quite possibly get 12 attacks.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Doesn't rake only work if you start the ground grappling and succeed in keeping it?

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Bruno Breakbone wrote:

Yes, it is legal.

If you choose to do such a chain of actions, a GM may choose to restrict the number of free action grab/releases in a turn. ("Free actions don't take any time at all, though there may be limits to the number of free actions you can perform in a turn.")

Also realize what is good for the goose is good for the gander and this could also be used on your party by monsters with painful results.

Drakkiel wrote:
Ah there's Bruno...thought he would show up soon...he's normally dead on when it comes to grappling

With this endorsement, could you comment this thread question?

I am really uncertain about using two weapons/claws while grappled.

Silver Crusade

Done.


Nuku wrote:
Doesn't rake only work if you start the ground grappling and succeed in keeping it?

Not Eidolon Rake it is different it doesn't work off a pounce but the start of the turn cluase was removed.


Nuku wrote:
Doesn't rake only work if you start the ground grappling and succeed in keeping it?

Not Eidolon Rake it is different it doesn't work off a pounce but the start of the turn clause was removed.


I thought this was the correct interpretation. Thanks guys.

This actually did come up because of the summoner, I used a simpler example to get the point across. You can give a eidelon/syth summoner 8 heads, all at 1.5x str, full attack mod etc....


Wind Chime wrote:
Nuku wrote:
Doesn't rake only work if you start the ground grappling and succeed in keeping it?
Not Eidolon Rake it is different it doesn't work off a pounce but the start of the turn clause was removed.

Rake isn't as effective as bite. While you are correct they changed the way rake works for the eidelon, it counts against the maximum number of natural attacks.

Sczarni

Bruno Breakbone wrote:
Done.

Then how about this thread as you got good working knowledge of the grapple rules.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Full attacks, Grab, Constrict and free action ending grapple interaction All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.