
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I was worried about the Nosoi. I purchased Ashes at Dawn before Bestiary 4 was released just so I could use the Nosoi as an Improved Familiar for my Witch. Oh well. It's mostly the same. I'll still use the picture from Ashes at Dawn, though. Way cooler, and creepier.
Having Bestiary 4 available for my other characters makes up for it.
EDIT: I noticed the text "not a legal option after December 18th". The watermark on my PDF is from months ago. I don't suppose that means I can continue to use the Ashes version?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Wardens of the Reborn Forge does not contain any mythic content, and the plan is to sanction it early in 2014. With holidays approaching, it's unlikely to be sanctioned before then. Carrion Crown is also on its way.
Thanks John.
As always I really appreciate it when you help keep us in the loop.

![]() ![]() ![]() |

Wardens of the Reborn Forge does not contain any mythic content, and the plan is to sanction it early in 2014. With holidays approaching, it's unlikely to be sanctioned before then. Carrion Crown is also on its way.
Thanks for the update. While you're answering questions, any plans to sanction the old Osirion modules, Entombed with the Pharaohs and The Pact Stone Pyramid?
I'm thinking of running them along with the forthcoming Osirion PFS scenarios to set the mood for The Mummy's Mask.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Thanks for the update. While you're answering questions, any plans to sanction the old Osirion modules, Entombed with the Pharaohs and The Pact Stone Pyramid?
I'm thinking of running them along with the forthcoming Osirion PFS scenarios to set the mood for The Mummy's Mask.
Although this is a sanctioning project that's been tossed about with some interest, there are enough other things that are higher priorities that I do not anticipate these being sanctioned in early 2014.

![]() ![]() ![]() |

Joe M. wrote:Although this is a sanctioning project that's been tossed about with some interest, there are enough other things that are higher priorities that I do not anticipate these being sanctioned in early 2014.Thanks for the update. While you're answering questions, any plans to sanction the old Osirion modules, Entombed with the Pharaohs and The Pact Stone Pyramid?
I'm thinking of running them along with the forthcoming Osirion PFS scenarios to set the mood for The Mummy's Mask.
Ok. Thanks for the answer!

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I want to use one of the race traits from blood of the night. Specifically:
Requirement(s) Dhampir - Ru-Shi
Since birth you have had an intimate connection with a certain number. When you select this trait, roll 3d6. The resulting number becomes your numerological totem and can never be changed. Once per day, when you roll your totem number on a d20 (such as an attack roll, save, or skill check), you may treat that roll as if you had rolled a natural 20 on the die.
But I don't want to play a Dhampir, I want to get it through the Adopted trait. Would having the Dhampir boon attached allow me to do this?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I want to use one of the race traits from blood of the night. Specifically:
** spoiler omitted **
But I don't want to play a Dhampir, I want to get it through the Adopted trait. Would having the Dhampir boon attached allow me to do this?
As written, no.
To create a dhampir, you must have a Chronicle sheet that opens the race as a legal option at character creation.
Note: Racial feats, racial traits, and racial spells are only available for characters of the dhampir race.
I have no problem with it conceptually, but as written, it is against the rules. It has been suggested in the past, but there has not (to my knowledge) been an explicit blessing from the campaign staff that would make it legal.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Plus, the boon only says you may create a Dhampir, not that you gain access to the Race's goodies if you're not a Dhampir.
Of course, or as of right now, at least, a Human Wizard (for example) could take Racial Heritage (Dhampir) and choose the Dhampir's Favored Class Bonus of +1/4 CL to Necromancy spells...

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

The additional resources page is still out but my subscription order still doesn't allow me to download Magical Marketplace.
Boo ;-)
There is no one in the office the next two Wednesdays. We decided to get it up early so people would have access to all of their shiny new books over the holidays.

![]() |

Pathfinder Campaign Setting: Princes of Darkness
Prestige Class: Diabolist; to qualify for the diabolist prestige class, lesser planar ally or lesser planar binding (or a similar spell) must be on your class spell list; Spells: vision of hell
Is this considered a reversal of the previous ruling that you must cast the spell, thus allowing level 5 clerics, oracles, wizards, sorcerers, shamans, and arcanists to take levels in this class before they can cast the spell since it is on their spell list, or is it a reinforcement of that ruling.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Mahtobedis wrote:Was the omission of the Pipefox from the list of improved familiars accidental or intentional. I thought it was odd it did not make the list.It was intentional. There may or may not be future plans for the pipefox.
Thanks Mike,
Are there any plans to extend the use of wands to the Nycar and Pooka?
The Pooka wields a dagger in the Bestiary entry which suggests to me that it probably has the dexterity required. It also does not appear to have any advantage over the imp other than not needing to be lawful.

![]() ![]() ![]() |

Additional Resources wrote:Is this considered a reversal of the previous ruling that you must cast the spell, thus allowing level 5 clerics, oracles, wizards, sorcerers, shamans, and arcanists to take levels in this class before they can cast the spell since it is on their spell list, or is it a reinforcement of that ruling.Pathfinder Campaign Setting: Princes of Darkness
Prestige Class: Diabolist; to qualify for the diabolist prestige class, lesser planar ally or lesser planar binding (or a similar spell) must be on your class spell list; Spells: vision of hell
I am curious on this as well, as I had to go back and forth on if I was able to obtain this prestige class during and after a convention earlier this year, as said in the diabolist thread. Because it was assumed that I had to cast the spell from what people had said in that thread, I already increased my level to 8 to create a path the the class. If this is the case this will cost me a bunch of prestige, just to get back to what I originally had intended.
If this is the case, does that mean that I have to spend 21 prestige to get back what people said was "not valid" at the time?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Additional Resources wrote:Is this considered a reversal of the previous ruling that you must cast the spell, thus allowing level 5 clerics, oracles, wizards, sorcerers, shamans, and arcanists to take levels in this class before they can cast the spell since it is on their spell list, or is it a reinforcement of that ruling.Pathfinder Campaign Setting: Princes of Darkness
Prestige Class: Diabolist; to qualify for the diabolist prestige class, lesser planar ally or lesser planar binding (or a similar spell) must be on your class spell list; Spells: vision of hell
It is a reinforcement of that ruling. This shouldn't be confusing. You have to have the spell on your class spell list. You also have to be able to cast the spell from memory, received prayers, etc... and not just buy the scroll and use UMD to cast it to qualify for the PrC when the spell is not normally on your class spell last.There are no work arounds or back ways to sneak into obtaining the diabolists PrC.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Dylos wrote:It is a reinforcement of that ruling. This shouldn't be confusing. You have to have the spell on your class spell list. You also have to be able to cast the spell from memory, received prayers, etc... and not just buy the scroll and use UMD to cast it to qualify for the PrC when the spell is not normally on your class spell last.There are no work arounds or back ways to sneak into obtaining the diabolists PrC.Additional Resources wrote:Is this considered a reversal of the previous ruling that you must cast the spell, thus allowing level 5 clerics, oracles, wizards, sorcerers, shamans, and arcanists to take levels in this class before they can cast the spell since it is on their spell list, or is it a reinforcement of that ruling.Pathfinder Campaign Setting: Princes of Darkness
Prestige Class: Diabolist; to qualify for the diabolist prestige class, lesser planar ally or lesser planar binding (or a similar spell) must be on your class spell list; Spells: vision of hell
No offense, but that's not what "on your class spell list" means according to the rules. If that were the case, Rangers/Paladins couldn't use cure wands until 4th (they can), wizards/clerics/etc. couldn't use wands of higher level spells (they can). Additional Resources as written now allows early entry at 5th with just one level of a casting class and a scroll. If that's not your intent, it needs to be re-written.

![]() ![]() ![]() |

You also have to be able to cast the spell from memory, received prayers, etc... and not just buy the scroll and use UMD to cast it to qualify for the PrC when the spell is not normally on your class spell last.
This is the part that I think confuses me the most. So using my sorcerer for an example, there are two situations:
- Level 5 - When the character has enough skill points to get the prestige class.
- Level 10 - When the character has enough levels to actually cast the Lesser Planar Binding spell.
So in a simple question, would it be the first one or second that the character can get the Diabolist next level?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Michael Brock wrote:No offense, but that's not what "on your class spell list" means according to the rules. If that were the case, Rangers/Paladins couldn't use cure wands until 4th (they can), wizards/clerics/etc. couldn't use wands of higher level spells (they can). Additional Resources as written now allows early entry at 5th with just one level of a casting class and a scroll. If that's not your intent, it needs to be re-written.Dylos wrote:It is a reinforcement of that ruling. This shouldn't be confusing. You have to have the spell on your class spell list. You also have to be able to cast the spell from memory, received prayers, etc... and not just buy the scroll and use UMD to cast it to qualify for the PrC when the spell is not normally on your class spell last.There are no work arounds or back ways to sneak into obtaining the diabolists PrC.Additional Resources wrote:Is this considered a reversal of the previous ruling that you must cast the spell, thus allowing level 5 clerics, oracles, wizards, sorcerers, shamans, and arcanists to take levels in this class before they can cast the spell since it is on their spell list, or is it a reinforcement of that ruling.Pathfinder Campaign Setting: Princes of Darkness
Prestige Class: Diabolist; to qualify for the diabolist prestige class, lesser planar ally or lesser planar binding (or a similar spell) must be on your class spell list; Spells: vision of hell
You are correct. Being at home with a sick, 6 year old leads to a a quick response instead of researching it fully. Feel free to offer up language that you think should be included that clears it up then.
Also, since it appears that it continues to be a confusing issue, we can also consider just removing the option of playing a diabolist from organized play.
I'm open to either suggestion at the moment.
And for clarification since I'm pretty sure it is going to come up, I'm not angry, frustrated, mad, etc.. I'm trying to make sure that we get a final clear version or do away with an option that continues to just be too confusing for use in OP.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I could take a stab:
Prestige Class: Diabolist; to qualify for the diabolist prestige class, you must be able to cast lesser planar ally or lesser planar binding (or a similar spell) using one of your own prepared spells or a daily spell slot, and the spell must be on your class spell list;
You can remove the part after the last comma, left it in for mnemonic vestments shenanigans.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I could take a stab:
Prestige Class: Diabolist; to qualify for the diabolist prestige class, you must be able to cast lesser planar ally or lesser planar binding (or a similar spell) using one of your own prepared spells or a daily spell slot, and the spell must be on your class spell list;
You can remove the part after the last comma, left it in for mnemonic vestments shenanigans.
Thanks Carlos. Is that clear enough for you mystic lemur and cao phen, or do you think we need to add additional language for clarification sake?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Mystic Lemur wrote:No offense, but that's not what "on your class spell list" means according to the rules. If that were the case, Rangers/Paladins couldn't use cure wands until 4th (they can), wizards/clerics/etc. couldn't use wands of higher level spells (they can). Additional Resources as written now allows early entry at 5th with just one level of a casting class and a scroll. If that's not your intent, it needs to be re-written.You are correct. Being at home with a sick, 6 year old leads to a a quick response instead of researching it fully. Feel free to offer up language that you think should be included that clears it up then.
I think the wording posted by Carlos would work well, with the addition that the gold paid should be notated on the chronicle sheet. It might help to specify that the gold must be for the 1 day/level rate of 1,000gp/HD of the conjured devil. I think that's a minimum of 2,000gp for a Lemure, unless there's a 1 HD devil out there I don't know about. The gold was part of your original ruling, but if you want to remove that I won't argue. It just helps to have it documented. Maybe something like:
"Prestige Class: Diabolist; to qualify for the diabolist prestige class, you must conjure a devil using lesser planar ally, lesser planar binding or a similar Conjuration (calling) spell, and coax the fiend into performing a task lasting longer than one day. The spell must be cast by you, must be on your class spell list, and you must be of sufficient level to cast the spell. The cost of 1,000gp per Hit Dice of the devil bound must be paid by you and noted on your chronicle sheet;"
Also, since it appears that it continues to be a confusing issue, we can also consider just removing the option of playing a diabolist from organized play.
That is certainly a simple way to resolve the situation. Another simple way to resolve the situation would be to waive the calling as a roleplaying requirement. I don't think either is a good option at this point, but they are certainly the most simple.
And for clarification since I'm pretty sure it is going to come up, I'm not angry, frustrated, mad, etc.. I'm trying to make sure that we get a final clear version or do away with an option that continues to just be too confusing for use in OP.
I wouldn't have thought so until you mentioned it. ;) Thank you for working when you shouldn't be. Sometimes I forget just how much time you put into this whole shebang. It is appreciated, even if it sometimes seems otherwise.

![]() |
Michael Brock wrote:Mystic Lemur wrote:No offense, but that's not what "on your class spell list" means according to the rules. If that were the case, Rangers/Paladins couldn't use cure wands until 4th (they can), wizards/clerics/etc. couldn't use wands of higher level spells (they can). Additional Resources as written now allows early entry at 5th with just one level of a casting class and a scroll. If that's not your intent, it needs to be re-written.You are correct. Being at home with a sick, 6 year old leads to a a quick response instead of researching it fully. Feel free to offer up language that you think should be included that clears it up then.I think the wording posted by Carlos would work well, with the addition that the gold paid should be notated on the chronicle sheet. It might help to specify that the gold must be for the 1 day/level rate of 1,000gp/HD of the conjured devil. I think that's a minimum of 2,000gp for a Lemure, unless there's a 1 HD devil out there I don't know about. The gold was part of your original ruling, but if you want to remove that I won't argue. It just helps to have it documented. Maybe something like:
"Prestige Class: Diabolist; to qualify for the diabolist prestige class, you must conjure a devil using lesser planar ally, lesser planar binding or a similar Conjuration (calling) spell, and coax the fiend into performing a task lasting longer than one day. The spell must be cast by you, must be on your class spell list, and you must be of sufficient level to cast the spell. The cost of 1,000gp per Hit Dice of the devil bound must be paid by you and noted on your chronicle sheet;"
Michael Brock wrote:Also, since it appears that it continues to be a confusing issue, we can also consider just removing the option of playing a diabolist from organized play.That is certainly a simple way to resolve the situation. Another simple way to resolve the situation would be to waive the calling as a roleplaying requirement. I...
I think the version Belafon suggested is good. Short and simple is best, adding 2 lines about gold costs doesn't really add much value to the statement.
I don't think the issues around Diabolist are actually that confusing. I think some people just want to find and excuse not to have to abide by Mike's ruling, so they complain about it.
Also, please don't ban Diabolist. I've been playing my sorceror for a year and a half, and I'm just one game short of getting my first level in it (level 11).

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Except that Mikes ruling specified that the gold cost isn't waived as a roleplaying requirement, so it needs to be documented in the additional resources as well as the rest of the ruling. If there's going to be any effort to fix it, might as well fix it completely, no?
And obviously there was confusion, or this wouldn't be an issue in the first place. The only problem with Mike's rulung was it was hard to find. Impossible, really, unless you knew to look for it. There was no mention in a stickied post or in the Additional Resources. This could have been resolved the Wednesday after he originally made the ruling, but it wasn't. Now its finally going to be, and that makes me happy, even though I won't be able to take it as soon as I had originally expected when I made the character over a year ago.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

The Additional Resources listing for Magical Marketplace lists what equipment is not legal instead of what is. Should we assume then that any other equipment in the book is legal? I ask specifically because pages 16-17 are not mentioned, and they include intelligent items, which are usually not legal unless they are listed on a chronicle sheet come from a class ability, or something similar. Nothing on those pages seems particularly game breaking. I just want to make sure I'm interpreting things right.
Also, my Nagaji Monk totally wants a Serpentine Tattoo, so I hope that shows up on a chronicle sometime.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

To quote additional resources in its entirety on this book:
Arcana: the new magus acanas are legal for play; Discoveries: all discoveries on pages 18 and 20 are legal for play except infectious charms; Equipment: anything found on pages 28-29 and clockwork bug, clockwork prosthesis, mind buttressing, poisoning, saline purge, and serpentine tattoo are not legal for play; Feats: all feats on page 6 are legal for play; Inquisitons: all inquisitions on page 10 are legel for play; Masterpieces: all masterpieces on page 30 are legal for play; Other: the use of Arinna's Wagon, Berdred's Armory, Coltan's Floating Emporium, Dawnflower Goods, The Dirty Trap, Earth and Ore Smithy, Magick Esoterica, Oulur's Alchemical Wares, The Rusty Glove, The Secret Hearth, Strongswill Trciks & Tools, Warius Opera House, any of the "other ways to pay" sections, and intelligent weapons (pages 16-17) are not available in Pathfinder Society Organized Play unless they appear on a Chronicle sheet; Spells: all spells on pages 8 and 24 are legal for play; Talents: all talents on page 26 are legal for play; Traps: all traps on page 12 are legal for play; Tricks: all tricks on page 14 are legal for play.
So no, the intelligent items are not available.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
4 people marked this as a favorite. |

speaking of magical marketplace, might I inquire as to why clockwork prosthetics are not allowed? understand, I'm in no way complaining, just more curious than anything else.
It is one of those things we want to reserve for chronicle sheets in the event a PC loses a limb during the course of an adventure. When, and if, they will show up in an adventure is still up in the air. But, we didn't want every third pathfinder running around Golarion with a clockwork prosthetic.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
10 people marked this as a favorite. |

Vrog Skyreaver wrote:speaking of magical marketplace, might I inquire as to why clockwork prosthetics are not allowed? understand, I'm in no way complaining, just more curious than anything else.It is one of those things we want to reserve for chronicle sheets in the event a PC loses a limb during the course of an adventure. When, and if, they will show up in an adventure is still up in the air. But, we didn't want every third pathfinder running around Golarion with a clockwork prosthetic.
The scary part about this post is that right now John is assigning a scenario to an author with the following directive: "OK, people want clockwork prosthetics. Make sure there's a better than even chance that at least one character loses a limb so I have justification for putting them on the chronicle."