
Mucronis |
writing a last post (most likely) in this thread, and yes it is mostly out of stubborn attempts at making Nephril see the fault in ONE of his rules.
He says that an Amulet of mighty fists (regardless of actual enchantment and effect) counts as a Greater magic Fang spell, therefore a user of an AoMF can never be affected by a normally cast GMF/W spell.
While i agree that an AoMF with any sort of +1 to +5 enhancement bonus to attack and damage will not stack with the spell GMF/W (as it is a case of same typed stacking bonus, and the rules are clear there.)
An AoMF enchanted not with an enhancement bonus but with a simple Flaming Weapon special ability will stack with a GMF/W spell, as the item does not give the user any form of enhancement bonus to his attack or damage. Whereas Nephril "know" that the simple fact that GMF was used in the creation of that amulet, it must therefor be a constant effect, and it therefore will not stack.
End point, Crafting Requirements for magical items does not equate to constant effect.
Bonuses and effects granted by magical items (permanent or temporary) abides by the same rules as all things does in regards to same typed bonuses, they do not stack, the most powerful is in effect. (with the exception of untyped and dodge)
If for some reason my attempt at explaining this is unclear, or in some way false, please let me know what and where (with the propper citations and/or link), so I can learn, and then avoid making the same mistake in the future.

PSY850 |

as a dm I would allow the double stacking and whatever for an amulet and "other" item to grant the effects of a +10 weapon for uber monkness flurry of blows. but for balance purposes I'd round your cost up to an even 400k for the pair total, otherwise your getting a discount on it over what any other character doing 2wf would have to pay. this is just assuming uber strict rules lawyering and power gaming going on all around the table assuming that everyone is getting perfectly equal shares of everything and being stuck adhering to the wealth by level chart.
Asta
PSY

![]() |

pathfinder being based off dnd is a game left up to interpretation. my understanding is that a player cannot benefit from the same spell twice at once. and that an item that acts continuosly and buffs u with teh addition of magic into an item is enhancing u with said magic. i guess it just makes so much sense to me that people not able to understand it irritate me. i guess ill finish up with a final wording then
i like your idea for the amulet of mighty fists that doesnt take up a slot. IN FACT i like it so much i am going to make tons of them and give my characters hand strikes every buff in the game. since you cannot increase a weapon to pass 10 but you can use spells or abilities to further raise it past 10 this is by your understanding perfectly lefgal. HELLO my +5 aomf, hello speed keen holy, hello vampiric guided agile, hello every possible buff and since it is not slotted i have a virtual halo of things floating above my head.
i understand playing nice. i have even faq marked several things throughout trying to get monks erratad so we can find out this stuff. but asking for a specific ruling stating you cannot do a specific thing is asking a bit much. but eventually (after 6 or so months ) the developers will word in on this and if they add errata saying that this is possible and you are limited to magic and ability effects to be applied to weapons that do not exceed 10 then there is no real problem with it. i speak as a player for years. and it has always been a general understanding that magic items with continuous effects act as the spell. if people disagree then dont attack the person saying things. that makes you the originator of hostility. and my reciprocating that was pointless. from now on i will see posts by this user asking for rulings require an actual website link and not anything based off general understanding of teh game. your welcome for the faqing and it would be nice if anyone appreciated an educated players take on a complicated ruling on magic slot useage and overlay of abilities. but in the end do whatever you like and attack who you like. and to those who appreciate and root on everyone else please read up and post your own thoughts instead of just applauding the generalized posts of someone else.

Bobson |

I know the thread went in a different direction from answering the question in the original post, but I'm going to answer that anyway:
as the Subject say, this is purely Rules As Written, not if you as a DM would approve, nor Rules As Intended.
Link to the guidelines for creating magical items.
Link to the Amulet of mighty fists
By RAW, is it possible to get two Amulets of mighty fists, assuming you make one "unslotted" ?
No. By RAW there is no way to get an unslotted amulet of mighty fists. The magic item pricing list is specifically a set of guidelines, and is mostly intended for GMs who wish to create their own custom items. Even if a player is allowed to use it to create their own items, those items are subject to GM approval.
Once you have a GM involved, permitting something that isn't otherwise allowed, then this becomes a question of "Will your GM allow it?"

Ughbash |
You only have one problem with something like this. A slotless item has to be held in your hand in order for it to function, unless it has some special ability built into it like the way ioun stones work.
Do you have a refernce for this? I've never seen that written down in a rule book and would tend to make luckstones much less useful.
You pay double for slotless so that it does not use a slot, not so that you can hold it in your hand (more inconvenient) than wearing it as a headband.

Gilfalas |

as the Subject say, this is purely Rules As Written, not if you as a DM would approve, nor Rules As Intended.
I am not aware of any rule in the Core book saying you cannot alter an existing magic item into a slotless version of itself. If there is one and I have missed it then please let me know.
That said, there should be nothing at all stopping you from doing what your saying besides GM ruling. It appears 100% legal as rules as written, while remembering that the magic item creation rules are possibly the single most heavily (non rule) set of rules in the game and the most subject to GM decision (which for them is also RAW).

![]() |

Slot: Most magic items can only be utilized if worn or wielded in their proper slots. If the item is stowed or placed elsewhere, it does not function. If the slot lists “none,” the item must be held or otherwise carried to function.
Emphasis mine.
Indeed, the Luckstone does take one to the groin with this little kicker.

![]() |

the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Reference Document wrote:Slot: Most magic items can only be utilized if worn or wielded in their proper slots. If the item is stowed or placed elsewhere, it does not function. If the slot lists “none,” the item must be held or otherwise carried to function.Emphasis mine.
Indeed, the Luckstone does take one to the groin with this little kicker.
In this case I think that the important wording is "held or otherwise carried". This gives you the option of either holding it (in hand assumed) or carrying it in some other way, and a luckstone in my pocket is still being carried by me, just not held.
I just cannot leave it at home or store it in an extra-dimensional space and get the bonus (even if I am still considered the "possessor") .

![]() |

I agree with your interpretation Happler, especially as the Stone of Good Luck itself uses the vague term "possessor" when it describes its ability to function.
So in general, an item with slot -none- functions if carried or held by the user, not stowed at home or in an extradimensional space. "Carried" implies the item is on your person, either balanced or secured.

Tels |

Hmm..
Construction Requirements
Craft Wondrous Item, greater magic fang, creator's caster level must be at least three times the amulet's bonus, plus any requirements of the melee weapon special abilities; Cost 2,500 gp (+1), 10,000 gp (+2), 22,500 gp (+3), 40,000 gp (+4), 62,500 gp (+5)
So to make a flaming fist enchantment, the creator needs to have Greater Magic Fang and either Flame Blade, Flame Strike, or Fireball, not just Greater Magic Fang.
Nephril, I'm afraid you are wrong about Amulets of Mighty Fists making you ineligible for Greater Magic Fang. A Holy, Flaming, Cold, Shock Amulet of Mighty Fist gives an enhancement bonus of +0, but if one were to cast Greater Magic Fang or Greater Magic Weapon on the wearer's fist, then the spell would grant a higher enhancement bonus than the +0. Since the higher of two bonuses of the same type is used, the wearer of the spell would gain the enhancement bonus granted by the spell.
Also, if one were to buy a Holy, Flaming, Cold, Shock Amulet of Might Fist, and then custom order an Ioun Stone of +5 Mighty Fist, they would stack per RAW. However, you have now roughly spent the wealth of a 17th level character, 410,000 and you've spent 375,000, on two items, with no defensive abilities other than what you naturally gain. You are the very definition of 'glass cannon' except easy to hit too.