Web + Spell Casting


Rules Questions


WebSez:
School conjuration (creation); Level sorcerer/wizard 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (spider web)
Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Effect webs in a 20-ft.-radius spread
Duration 10 min./level (D)
Saving Throw Reflex negates; see text; Spell Resistance no
Web creates a many-layered mass of strong, sticky strands. These
strands trap those caught in them. The strands are similar to
spiderwebs but far larger and tougher. These masses must be
anchored to two or more solid and diametrically opposed points or
else the web collapses upon itself and disappears. Creatures caught
within a web become grappled by the sticky fibers. Attacking a
creature in a web doesn’t cause you to become grappled.
Anyone in the effect’s area when the spell is cast must make a Reflex
save. If this save succeeds, the creature is inside the web but is otherwise unaffected. If the save fails, the creature gains the grappled condition, but can break free by making a combat maneuver check or Escape Artist check as a standard action against the DC of this spell. The entire area of the web is considered difficult terrain. Anyone moving through the
webs must make a combat maneuver check or Escape Artist check as
part of their move action, with a DC equal to the spell’s DC. Creatures
that fail lose their movement and become grappled in the first square of webbing that they enter.
If you have at least 5 feet of web between you and an opponent,
it provides cover. If you have at least 20 feet of web between you, it
provides total cover.
The strands of a web spell are flammable. A flaming weapon can slash
them away as easily as a hand brushes away cobwebs. Any fire can set
the webs alight and burn away one 5-foot square in 1 round. All creatures
within flaming webs take 2d4 points of fire damage from the flames.
Web can be made permanent with a permanency spell. A permanent
web that is damaged (but not destroyed) regrows in 10 minutes.

Grappled Sez:
Grappled: A grappled creature is restrained by a creature,
trap, or effect. Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4
penalty to Dexterity. A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty
on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except
those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition,
grappled creatures can take no action that requires two
hands to perform. A grappled character who attempts to cast
a spell must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler’s
CMB + spell level, see page 206), or lose the spell.
Grappled
creatures cannot make attacks of opportunity.
A grappled creature cannot use Stealth to hide from
the creature grappling it, even if a special ability, such as
hide in plain sight, would normally allow it to do so. If
a grappled creature becomes invisible, through a spell or
other ability, it gains a +2 circumstance bonus on its CMD
to avoid being grappled, but receives no other benef it.

Does the escape DC of the Web spell count as the grappler's CMD? Thus making the DC check to cast a spell equal to 10 + DC of Web + spell level being cast = concentration check required to cast?


Mynameisjake wrote:
** spoiler omitted **...

IMHO, yes, the escape DC of the Web counts as the grappler's CMD. The concentration check would be then: DC of Web + spell level being cast = concentration check DC (because 10 + CMB is a little less than the CMD most of the time).

Also, it seems consistent with the concentration DCs of most spells (Italics mine):

PRD, Concentration checks when affected by spells wrote:

Spell: If you are affected by a spell while attempting to cast a spell of your own, you must make a concentration check or lose the spell you are casting. If the spell affecting you deals damage, the DC is 10 + the damage taken + the level of the spell you're casting.

If the spell interferes with you or distracts you in some other way, the DC is the spell's saving throw DC + the level of the spell you're casting. For a spell with no saving throw, it's the DC that the spell's saving throw would have if a save were allowed (10 + spell level + caster's ability score).


So, the DC of the spell would replace the "10+CMB" part of the grapple?


Mynameisjake wrote:
So, the DC of the spell would replace the "10+CMB" part of the grapple?

I think so, yes.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Web + Spell Casting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions