Tired of the ridiculessness of rage-lance-pounce, casters let's show them how it's really done!


Advice

301 to 350 of 562 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>

Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:

"Plane closest to my demiplane" would be somewhere unpleasant (or just somewhere to keep him forever occupied) as mentioned previous.

You can't make it a null magic zone unless you A) re-cast the spell from within (which takes 6 hours) and trap yourself also. or B) it has a permanent gate.

Though I suppose in the case of the gate you could just get AM through the gate somehow then destroy the gate. Thus trapping him on a null magic plane. Not sure how spell sunder interacts with what's effectively a giant anti magic zone.

It is a SU effect. So no way.

And gating in and then destroying the portal was the plan.

Shadow Lodge

Alienfreak wrote:
Busted me. But this shows even more that actions you take are TAKEN and can't be reversed. Otherwise this "ultra special ruling" would make no sense at all.

However, nowhere does it say you must declare your entire movement path before taking it.

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16

DeathSpot wrote:
KrispyXIV wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:

So I guess AM isn't going to sunder my plane after all.

EDIT: Heh. Semi-ninja'd.

Absolute worse case, he can supress it for 2 turns.

I'd rule (and yeah, YMMV) that if the plane cannot be dispelled, it cannot be spell sundered at all. What if AM accidentally rolled too high on his sunder check? Would he have no effect, where a lower check would suppress the demiplane?

EDIT: Ninja'd again. Stupid job, keeping me from posting faster.

Um.

A barbarian can sunder both a Prismatic Wall and a wall of force, neither of which can be Dispelled.

Sundering is not a dispel. HE rips the spell apart and keeps right on coming.

==Aelryinth


On second thought instead of luring him to your home made dempilane of death why not just open a gate (travel) to somewhere that AM would want to go? Possible locations would depend on what AM likes, but "the plane of battle" (Val Hallah?), The plane of Blackjack and H**kers, big nasty evil lich demiplane, The plane of Large breasted barbarian women, or whatever.

Just in case you choose wrong I would follow the casting of the gate up with a quickened teleport (possibly interplanetary via greater metamagic rod) just to be on the safe side.


Alienfreak wrote:
Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:

"Plane closest to my demiplane" would be somewhere unpleasant (or just somewhere to keep him forever occupied) as mentioned previous.

You can't make it a null magic zone unless you A) re-cast the spell from within (which takes 6 hours) and trap yourself also. or B) it has a permanent gate.

Though I suppose in the case of the gate you could just get AM through the gate somehow then destroy the gate. Thus trapping him on a null magic plane. Not sure how spell sunder interacts with what's effectively a giant anti magic zone.

It is a SU effect. So no way.

And gating in and then destroying the portal was the plan.

Not gate the spell, but a permanent portal created via Create Greater Demiplane spell.

"devil is in the details" so to speak.


Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:

On second thought instead of luring him to your home made dempilane of death why not just open a gate (travel) to somewhere that AM would want to go? Possible locations would depend on what AM likes, but "the plane of battle" (Val Hallah?), The plane of Blackjack and H**kers, big nasty evil lich demiplane, The plane of Large breasted barbarian women, or whatever.

Just in case you choose wrong I would follow the casting of the gate up with a quickened teleport (possibly interplanetary via greater metamagic rod) just to be on the safe side.

Positive or Negative Energy Planes are 100% deadly unless you can get out of there fast.


TOZ wrote:
Alienfreak wrote:
Busted me. But this shows even more that actions you take are TAKEN and can't be reversed. Otherwise this "ultra special ruling" would make no sense at all.
However, nowhere does it say you must declare your entire movement path before taking it.

If you take a move action from point A to B and you do it (DO IT SO!) you will move from point A to point B.

No rules say that you can interrupt this action. And unless there is a rule that says you can.

And don't go with logic... the whole RAGELANCEPOUNCE thing is baring any logic ;). Its RAW in here after all.

Liberty's Edge

KrispyXIV wrote:
Alienfreak wrote:
And AMs effect is clearly a dispelling effect.

Only if he succeeds by 10 or more is this true.

Otherwise, its supressing the effect, which I'm not aware of anywhere being tied to dispelling, as a weaker version of it or otherwise.

Regardless, its waaaay off topic by this point, and its likely irrelevant and far too much of a corner case to hope for a real ruling on. More damage/DC discussion?

EDIT: Alienfreak, I'm not misreading anything. Your quote even shows, the only thing that 1 round suppression is contingent on is a successful roll. Degree of success is irrelevant. There is no '0-4' range listed or implied in the ability description. Only the 5-9, or 10 or greater. And you're right you can't pick in choose, but this is normally irrelevant, as dispelled is generally better than suppressed... unless the target in question happens to be immune to dispels.

So let's look at AM's sunder check. On a full attack, it's +47/+47/+42/+37/+32, right? And the putative DC to sunder the demiplane is 35, 15 + our caster's 20 levels. So the only way he could sunder it for two rounds is if he took two of his attacks first, and rolled low on one of his last three tries. Keep in mind, you only suppress it for two rounds if you only beat it by 5 to 9, not if you're above or below that.

What you're arguing is that you get less effect if you roll higher? Really?
Create Demiplane wrote:


The plane cannot be dispelled...

'Nuff said.


How about time stop and 2-10 metamagiced delayed blast fireballs? Technically the damage would all happen on the same round, if your time stop was 5 rounds you could do easily 1800 damage.


DeathSpot wrote:
KrispyXIV wrote:
Alienfreak wrote:
And AMs effect is clearly a dispelling effect.

Only if he succeeds by 10 or more is this true.

Otherwise, its supressing the effect, which I'm not aware of anywhere being tied to dispelling, as a weaker version of it or otherwise.

Regardless, its waaaay off topic by this point, and its likely irrelevant and far too much of a corner case to hope for a real ruling on. More damage/DC discussion?

EDIT: Alienfreak, I'm not misreading anything. Your quote even shows, the only thing that 1 round suppression is contingent on is a successful roll. Degree of success is irrelevant. There is no '0-4' range listed or implied in the ability description. Only the 5-9, or 10 or greater. And you're right you can't pick in choose, but this is normally irrelevant, as dispelled is generally better than suppressed... unless the target in question happens to be immune to dispels.

So let's look at AM's sunder check. On a full attack, it's +47/+47/+42/+37/+32, right? And the putative DC to sunder the demiplane is 35, 15 + our caster's 20 levels. So the only way he could sunder it for two rounds is if he took two of his attacks first, and rolled low on one of his last three tries. Keep in mind, you only suppress it for two rounds if you only beat it by 5 to 9, not if you're above or below that.

What you're arguing is that you get less effect if you roll higher? Really?
Create Demiplane wrote:


The plane cannot be dispelled...
'Nuff said.

Sundering is a standard action and you can't lower your attack bonus for it.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
DeathSpot wrote:
What you're arguing is that you get less effect if you roll higher? Really?

I'm not saying its not silly (it is). I'm saying thats how it reads.

If he successfully rolls a Sunder check, its suppressed for 1 round. Then, we proceed, and look into additional effects based on degree of success; if we are in the beat by 5-9 range, its 2 rounds instead. If its 10 or better, its dispelled (note, this is not a replacement or 'instead' effect... it just generally makes the 1 round suppression irrelevant).

That is all I'm saying.

EDIT: Sundering is not a standard action, any attack can be replaced with a Sunder attempt. Relevant rules are the first line of Sunder, "You can attempt to sunder an item held or worn by your opponent as part of an attack action in place of a melee attack."

Shadow Lodge

Alienfreak wrote:


If you take a move action from point A to B and you do it (DO IT SO!) you will move from point A to point B.
No rules say that you can interrupt this action. And unless there is a rule that says you can.

When do you declare this? Before making the move? During the move? What if you encounter a pit trap halfway to point B and make the Reflex save to avoid? Are you required to stop at the edge and cannot use the rest of your movement? Or can you change direction and continue to move until you have moved equal to your movement speed?

Liberty's Edge

Aelryinth wrote:

A barbarian can sunder both a Prismatic Wall and a wall of force, neither of which can be Dispelled.

Sundering is not a dispel. HE rips the spell apart and keeps right on coming.

==Aelryinth

Neither of those spells are immune to dispelling. Both have specific protections against dispel magic, but that's not the same as 'cannot be dispelled.' In fact, wall of force states that it can be dispelled, just not by dispel magic.

Liberty's Edge

KrispyXIV wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
What you're arguing is that you get less effect if you roll higher? Really?

I'm not saying its not silly (it is). I'm saying thats how it reads.

If he successfully rolls a Sunder check, its suppressed for 1 round. Then, we proceed, and look into additional effects based on degree of success; if we are in the beat by 5-9 range, its 2 rounds instead. If its 10 or better, its dispelled (note, this is not a replacement or 'instead' effect... it just generally makes the 1 round suppression irrelevant).

That is all I'm saying.

Spell sunder gives a general ability to dispel a spell effect. Create Demiplane has a specific rule stating it cannot be dispelled. I think you'd have to deliberately misinterpret the rules to allow a sunder check against Create Demiplane.

Yes, you can argue that spell sunder is a specific ability, and you can argue that it overrides the specific rule of a particular spell...but I don't agree with that interpretation. Specific overrides general, and in this case, the spell wins.


TOZ wrote:
Alienfreak wrote:


If you take a move action from point A to B and you do it (DO IT SO!) you will move from point A to point B.
No rules say that you can interrupt this action. And unless there is a rule that says you can.
When do you declare this? Before making the move? During the move? What if you encounter a pit trap halfway to point B and make the Reflex save to avoid? Are you required to stop at the edge and cannot use the rest of your movement? Or can you change direction and continue to move until you have moved equal to your movement speed?

In D&D you declare your actions and then they get resolved.

If the Pittrap stops your movement and you can't move on you will stand there. What else should happen?

Shadow Lodge

Alienfreak wrote:


If the Pittrap stops your movement and you can't move on you will stand there. What else should happen?

You juke left or right as far as you can go?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
DeathSpot wrote:


Spell sunder gives a general ability to dispel a spell effect. Create Demiplane has a specific rule stating it cannot be dispelled. I think you'd have to deliberately misinterpret the rules to allow a sunder check against Create Demiplane.

I'm not deliberately misunderstanding anything. Create Demiplane has no wording (that I've seen) that makes it untargetable by Sunder attempts, beyond that sunder attempts normally can't target spells.

So you sunder it! Now you refer to spell sunder... Ok, so if I succeed, its suppressed for 1 round. If I succeed by a bunch, its dispelled! Oh noes, its immune to dispel. Is it immune to suppression? Nope. So then its still supressed for a round.

Spell Sunder's primary effect is not to dispel effects; its a consequence of a particularly successful roll on a Spell Sunder.


Aelryinth wrote:

Contingency cannot sense AM Barbarian. Divination is not part of the spell. Nor can it sense 'an attack.' It is NOT a readied action. It can sense when YOU GET HIT or MISSED.

2) Max range on teleport at L20 is what, 2000 miles? And can you even teleport to an open area of space you cannot see? Teleport is all ground to ground if beyond line of sight. You might mean Dimension Door, but that ends your actions for the round.

3) You cast the Maze spell, it gets spell turned, and you are now Mazed. Congrats. He knows just where to find you when you pop back out.

4) You always get the save to avoid the Sphere, which, being a magic item, he'll basically auto-save.

5) He's 1/day immune to exhaustion. You need at least 2, hence why people are talking about QUickened to get them on him before he reaches them. By round 2, it's too late.

In short, Fail all the way around. DO try again.

==Aelryinth

We've been over this before. RAW for Contingency is poorly written, but it does state:
Quote:
"The conditions needed to bring the spell into effect must be clear, although they can be general. In all cases, the contingency immediately brings into effect the companion spell, the latter being "cast" instantaneously when the prescribed circumstances occur. If complicated or convoluted conditions are prescribed, the whole spell combination (contingency and the companion magic) may fail when triggered. The companion spell occurs based solely on the stated conditions, regardless of whether you want it to."
now, you as a GM are certainly able to rule that contingency won't trigger except for on being hit, or on being missed, but no where does it state that this is the case. You COULD argue that they follow the rules similar to SYMBOL spells
Quote:
As a default, a symbol of death is triggered whenever a creature does one or more of the following, as you select: looks at the rune; reads the rune; touches the rune; passes over the rune; or passes through a portal bearing the rune. Regardless of the trigger method or methods chosen, a creature more than 60 feet from a symbol of death can't trigger it (even if it meets one or more of the triggering conditions, such as reading the rune). Once the spell is cast, a symbol of death's triggering conditions cannot be changed.

but that still has the option of 'looking' which makes it even weirder.

Second, you missread his post. He said teleport (though you're right he did mean Dim Door, though that's still covered by his Contingency) to the max range of his long range spells. Re: 400+40/lvl or 1200 ft above his original position.

Third, any mage worth his salt can get out of a Maze spell, or simply wait 1 or more rounds before leaving and AM BARB can't affect you with RAGELANCEPOUNCE for one round, because readied actions can't be charges.
If you're arguing that AM BARB has a Ring of Spell Turning the ring has a COMMAND activation

Quote:
Up to three times per day on command, this simple platinum band automatically reflects the next nine levels of spells cast at the wearer, exactly as if spell turning had been cast upon him.

and thus can't be activated in response. If AM BARB activated it before he charged, you could argue that CASTY simply uses an area Greater Dispel, and suddenly no more ring of spell turning. Or teleports away and activates his own ring, etc etc.

Forth, no where in the RAW for Sphere of Annihilation does it say that you get a save. Logic dictates that you should, but the RAW does not.

Fifth, poor horse is just a pile of mush at this point.

Sixth, stop being so rude. Every post I've seen from you has been laden with ego and asinine remarks. You're not doing the community any favors by belittling people.

Liberty's Edge

KrispyXIV wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:


Spell sunder gives a general ability to dispel a spell effect. Create Demiplane has a specific rule stating it cannot be dispelled. I think you'd have to deliberately misinterpret the rules to allow a sunder check against Create Demiplane.

I'm not deliberately misunderstanding anything. Create Demiplane has no wording (that I've seen) that makes it untargetable by Sunder attempts, beyond that sunder attempts normally can't target spells.

So you sunder it! Now you refer to spell sunder... Ok, so if I succeed, its suppressed for 1 round. If I succeed by a bunch, its dispelled! Oh noes, its immune to dispel. Is it immune to suppression? Nope. So then its still supressed for a round.

Spell Sunder's primary effect is not to dispel effects; its a consequence of a particularly successful roll on a Spell Sunder.

'Cannot be dispelled' is pretty clear, I'd think.

In any case, I think we're at GM fiat as to whether AM can sunder a demiplane.

EDIT: Well, pending a dev ruling on Spell Sunder, which I think will be coming one of these days.


WAIT, AM ALLOWED TO HAVE ARTIFACTS NOW? WHEN AM THIS HAPPENING? BARBARIAN CALL OCCULUS OF CASTY FACE LICH, ONLY PUNCHED BY BARBARIAN UNTIL AM ONLY WORKING FOR CN. AM MILDLY UNTELLIGENT, THIS AM TOTALLY WITHIN RULES.

BARBARIAN ALSO WANT DECK OF MANY THINGS. BARBARIAN PRESUNDERED ALL BLACK CARDS.

Liberty's Edge

TOZ wrote:
Alienfreak wrote:


If the Pittrap stops your movement and you can't move on you will stand there. What else should happen?
You juke left or right as far as you can go?

New feat: Jukebox hero.

You may juke left, right, up, or down as part of a standard (dance) move.

Normal: You must Safety Dance.

:D

Liberty's Edge

AM BARBARIAN wrote:

WAIT, AM ALLOWED TO HAVE ARTIFACTS NOW? WHEN AM THIS HAPPENING? BARBARIAN CALL OCCULUS OF CASTY FACE LICH, ONLY PUNCHED BY BARBARIAN UNTIL AM ONLY WORKING FOR CN. AM MILDLY UNTELLIGENT, THIS AM TOTALLY WITHIN RULES.

BARBARIAN ALSO WANT DECK OF MANY THINGS. BARBARIAN PRESUNDERED ALL BLACK CARDS.

Pre-sundered, did you say? Ooh, that's not good. You do know that pre-sundering renders the warranty on the Deck null and void, right?


Demiplane says "The plane cannot be dispelled, but a creature on the plane can destroy it by using limited wish, mages disjunction, miracle, or wish."

spell sunder (SU) specifically says "If she exceeds the CMD by 10 or more, the effect is dispelled."

The language seems pretty clear that spell sunder cannot dispel a demiplane as it is not limited wish, mages disjunction, miracle, or wish.

Of course if it's a supernatural effect, so if the plane is anti magic you can't use supernatural abilities anyway.

Scarab Sages Contributor, RPG Superstar 2008 Top 4, Legendary Games

KrispyXIV wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
Of course he is. He's simply encased in 20 feet of normal rock, which keeps him from being able to reach the spell effect of the demiplane. Think of being in the center of a spherical wall of force with a 50-foot radius. If you can't reach the wall, you can't sunder it.
The demi-plane doesn't start at the floor/ground though; its the whole darned place. If you're in it, you're swimming in it, encased by it, breathing it, etc. By definition, if someone is on your plane, they can touch and interact with it; they're doing so just by being there.

Yep. If you're ON the plane, you're in contact with the plane.

Also, even if the Wall of Stone idea were valid, AM is not obligated to attack the walls via the break DC. He can just attack each wall for damage vs. hardness 8 in succession, busting through them one at a time until he's blasted holes in 20 solid feed of stone.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
DeathSpot wrote:
AM BARBARIAN wrote:

WAIT, AM ALLOWED TO HAVE ARTIFACTS NOW? WHEN AM THIS HAPPENING? BARBARIAN CALL OCCULUS OF CASTY FACE LICH, ONLY PUNCHED BY BARBARIAN UNTIL AM ONLY WORKING FOR CN. AM MILDLY UNTELLIGENT, THIS AM TOTALLY WITHIN RULES.

BARBARIAN ALSO WANT DECK OF MANY THINGS. BARBARIAN PRESUNDERED ALL BLACK CARDS.

Pre-sundered, did you say? Ooh, that's not good. You do know that pre-sundering renders the warranty on the Deck null and void, right?

THAT OK. BARBARIAN SUNDERED NULL AND VOID CARDS. BOTH AM BLACK.


Well, maybe it's just a disturbing idea, but, when you sunder this damned demiplane, where would you go? there's no magic directly on you,holding you in-place but the gate opening magic it's been suppressed. Why should anyone rule that you're logically expelled into your own plane? and how do you supress a plane and all its contents? Turning it into a non-dimensional space, with all the stuff inside it ( i.e turning everything into a point into a larger plane), like trees, air or dust? Then our beloved barbarian would be still trapped inside when the effect passes


leandro redondo wrote:
Well, maybe it's just a disturbing idea, but, when you sunder this damned demiplane, where would you go? there's no magic directly on you,holding you in-place but the gate opening magic it's been suppressed. Why should anyone rule that you're logically expelled into your own plane? and how do you supress a plane and all its contents? Turning it into a non-dimensional space, with all the stuff inside it ( i.e turning everything into a point into a larger plane), like trees, air or dust? Then our beloved barbarian would be still trapped inside when the effect passes

You're expelled to the location where the spell was originally cast as it is the "Closest plane coterminous to the demiplane."


TOZ wrote:
Alienfreak wrote:


If the Pittrap stops your movement and you can't move on you will stand there. What else should happen?
You juke left or right as far as you can go?

Hm? A Pit is difficult terrain or would require you to jump to get over it. So you can't get over it. Thus your movement stops...


Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
leandro redondo wrote:
Well, maybe it's just a disturbing idea, but, when you sunder this damned demiplane, where would you go? there's no magic directly on you,holding you in-place but the gate opening magic it's been suppressed. Why should anyone rule that you're logically expelled into your own plane? and how do you supress a plane and all its contents? Turning it into a non-dimensional space, with all the stuff inside it ( i.e turning everything into a point into a larger plane), like trees, air or dust? Then our beloved barbarian would be still trapped inside when the effect passes
You're expelled to the location where the spell was originally cast as it is the "Closest plane coterminous to the demiplane."

Are demiplanes not embedded into the Astral Plane?


The plane hasn't been destroyed, it still exist, so why you should be ejected from it? you are not different from any of the plane features ( rocks, falls, bushes...), unless you especifically rule otherwise.

RPG Superstar 2012 Top 16

Akeaka wrote:
STuff

I didn't up and call anybody names...like you did.

I was irked that the poster went ahead and posted stuff that has been debunked multiple times on this and the other thread, as if it would automatically work. That is extremely rude and/or stupid in a thread this long. Simple tactics aren't going to work. The simple solution that works is 'run away' or 'build a mage totally optimized to kill AM BARBARIAN' at this point. The easy way to kill him does not exist. Such 'he dies' posts insult everyone who has posted trying to kill him before, and failed. This thread wouldn't be anywhere near so long if it was so easy.

Your arguments don't offer any solutions or debunk anything I said. Contingency is not a symbol spell. COntingency is not a divination spell, and it is not a readied action. This is a dead horse...Contingency is not as powerful as some mages seem to think.

Fleeing the Maze is a run away. Barb wins. Not a problem, another dead horse.

Barb might not be able to ready a charge, but he can ready an action to whop the mage as soon as he gets out of the maze. With spell sunder, if need be. And/or Grapple. Another Dead Horse.

Your Greater Dispel Magic the Spell Turning is not a solution. It uses an action, and then the mage dies...not particularly effective, another dead horse. You are retreading territory covered. He rides around with Spell Turning.

There is no such thing as auto hit or auto-trap with the sphere of Annihilation. Especially if it's parked in place. Poster seemed to think Sphere = Auto-kill. Not true. Dirty Fiat = Another Dead Horse.

So, you can keep your insults to yourself, mmm? After all the thread been all over this in the past, and repeating the facts to new posters gets tiresome.

==Aelryinth


DeathSpot wrote:
AM BARBARIAN wrote:
MAY WANT SKIP TO PLAN B. BARBARIAN AM OK WITH SPELL SUNDERING DEMIPLANE MADE BY CASTY.
So, AM is willing to travel to my personal demiplane? Foolish.

Why bother with a demi-plane? If you find a way to reliable plane shift him, just send him to the positive material plane, and watch him explode.

Shadow Lodge

Alienfreak wrote:


Hm? A Pit is difficult terrain or would require you to jump to get over it. So you can't get over it. Thus your movement stops...

So you're not allowed to turn and move around it to the limit of your move action?


EvilMinion wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
AM BARBARIAN wrote:
MAY WANT SKIP TO PLAN B. BARBARIAN AM OK WITH SPELL SUNDERING DEMIPLANE MADE BY CASTY.
So, AM is willing to travel to my personal demiplane? Foolish.

Why bother with a demi-plane? If you find a way to reliable plane shift him, just send him to the positive material plane, and watch him explode.

He could cut himself. EMO BARBARIAN.


TOZ wrote:
Alienfreak wrote:


Hm? A Pit is difficult terrain or would require you to jump to get over it. So you can't get over it. Thus your movement stops...
So you're not allowed to turn and move around it to the limit of your move action?

RAW? No.

RAI? Sure.


Alienfreak wrote:
Tiny Coffee Golem wrote:
leandro redondo wrote:
Well, maybe it's just a disturbing idea, but, when you sunder this damned demiplane, where would you go? there's no magic directly on you,holding you in-place but the gate opening magic it's been suppressed. Why should anyone rule that you're logically expelled into your own plane? and how do you supress a plane and all its contents? Turning it into a non-dimensional space, with all the stuff inside it ( i.e turning everything into a point into a larger plane), like trees, air or dust? Then our beloved barbarian would be still trapped inside when the effect passes
You're expelled to the location where the spell was originally cast as it is the "Closest plane coterminous to the demiplane."
Are demiplanes not embedded into the Astral Plane?

Not unless that's where you create it.

The Pathfinder version isn't necessarily on the astral, but the 3.5 was.


Trinam wrote:
EvilMinion wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
AM BARBARIAN wrote:
MAY WANT SKIP TO PLAN B. BARBARIAN AM OK WITH SPELL SUNDERING DEMIPLANE MADE BY CASTY.
So, AM is willing to travel to my personal demiplane? Foolish.

Why bother with a demi-plane? If you find a way to reliable plane shift him, just send him to the positive material plane, and watch him explode.

He could cut himself. EMO BARBARIAN.

Don't barbarians get damage reduction? lol


What about a cleric casting Dictum?

It's only a 7th level spell, so it's not like you are in that bad of shape if it's wasted.

It's an area spell so it should get past the Ring of spell turning.

It's a "less-then-lethal" spell so I don't have to worry too much about killing the wrong person (sorta, you chaotic heathens don't count).

And as long as I can get a +1 to caster level, AmBarb will staggered no mater what. He's not gonna fail the save, so no eater of magic. If you could get a walking around caster level of 25 you could paralyze him for one round.

You'd still need something to walk over and beat him to death while you spammed Dictum, but high level cleric's can get buddies fairly easy (and they might stand a chance against a paralyzed AmBarb).

You still need to beat AmBarb on init, and get him within 40ft of you, but it's a start.

A ring of delayed doom would totally destroy this idea, so if you switch that for the ring of spell turning ....

The Exchange

Trinam wrote:
EvilMinion wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
AM BARBARIAN wrote:
MAY WANT SKIP TO PLAN B. BARBARIAN AM OK WITH SPELL SUNDERING DEMIPLANE MADE BY CASTY.
So, AM is willing to travel to my personal demiplane? Foolish.

Why bother with a demi-plane? If you find a way to reliable plane shift him, just send him to the positive material plane, and watch him explode.

He could cut himself. EMO BARBARIAN.

But does he know to do so?


GeneticDrift wrote:
Trinam wrote:
EvilMinion wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
AM BARBARIAN wrote:
MAY WANT SKIP TO PLAN B. BARBARIAN AM OK WITH SPELL SUNDERING DEMIPLANE MADE BY CASTY.
So, AM is willing to travel to my personal demiplane? Foolish.

Why bother with a demi-plane? If you find a way to reliable plane shift him, just send him to the positive material plane, and watch him explode.

He could cut himself. EMO BARBARIAN.

But does he know to do so?

Everyone could take Knowledge "The Planes".

Remember the Schroedinger :P

But the negative Energy Plane is a much better bet... he can know all he wants about it... yet it will kill him...


DeathSpot wrote:
'Cannot be dispelled' is pretty clear, I'd think.

Yes. Lack of "cannot be supressed" is equally clear. Look at what spell sunder does. It has three options:

1. If you succeed, the target is supressed for one round.
2. If you succeed by exactly between 5 and 9, it's supressed for two rounds.
3. If you succeed by 10 or more, it's dispelled.

Note the wording of the ability - it doesn't say "dispelled instead", and effect 1 has no upper limit on success like 2 has. Thus, regardless of how much you succeed with, it's always supressed at least 1 round. Now, if you dispel it this usually doesn't matter - but against something immune to dispel, it DOES matter as the dispel fails but the supression still works.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
stringburka wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
'Cannot be dispelled' is pretty clear, I'd think.

Yes. Lack of "cannot be supressed" is equally clear. Look at what spell sunder does. It has three options:

1. If you succeed, the target is supressed for one round.
2. If you succeed by exactly between 5 and 9, it's supressed for two rounds.
3. If you succeed by 10 or more, it's dispelled.

Note the wording of the ability - it doesn't say "dispelled instead", and effect 1 has no upper limit on success like 2 has. Thus, regardless of how much you succeed with, it's always supressed at least 1 round. Now, if you dispel it this usually doesn't matter - but against something immune to dispel, it DOES matter as the dispel fails but the supression still works.

Phew. I'm glad someone thinks I'm not spouting non-sense :)

Regardless, anyone got a way to beat Spell DC's in the low 40s or low 50's as a Rage Prophet? Thats relevant to dealing spell damage, and seemed like we had something going there for a minute a while ago :)


Trinam wrote:
EvilMinion wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
AM BARBARIAN wrote:
MAY WANT SKIP TO PLAN B. BARBARIAN AM OK WITH SPELL SUNDERING DEMIPLANE MADE BY CASTY.
So, AM is willing to travel to my personal demiplane? Foolish.

Why bother with a demi-plane? If you find a way to reliable plane shift him, just send him to the positive material plane, and watch him explode.

He could cut himself. EMO BARBARIAN.

Unfortunately, you have to sleep, my dear EMO BARBARIAN. Otherwise, negative energy plane also its also a nice place anytime of the year


GeneticDrift wrote:
Trinam wrote:
EvilMinion wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
AM BARBARIAN wrote:
MAY WANT SKIP TO PLAN B. BARBARIAN AM OK WITH SPELL SUNDERING DEMIPLANE MADE BY CASTY.
So, AM is willing to travel to my personal demiplane? Foolish.

Why bother with a demi-plane? If you find a way to reliable plane shift him, just send him to the positive material plane, and watch him explode.

He could cut himself. EMO BARBARIAN.

But does he know to do so?

He's an engineer. Give him a crowbar, he'll figure it out.


Alienfreak wrote:
GeneticDrift wrote:
Trinam wrote:
EvilMinion wrote:
DeathSpot wrote:
AM BARBARIAN wrote:
MAY WANT SKIP TO PLAN B. BARBARIAN AM OK WITH SPELL SUNDERING DEMIPLANE MADE BY CASTY.
So, AM is willing to travel to my personal demiplane? Foolish.

Why bother with a demi-plane? If you find a way to reliable plane shift him, just send him to the positive material plane, and watch him explode.

He could cut himself. EMO BARBARIAN.

But does he know to do so?

Everyone could take Knowledge "The Planes".

Remember the Schroedinger :P

But the negative Energy Plane is a much better bet... he can know all he wants about it... yet it will kill him...

Nah, Negative Energy Plane is worse, to many options to protect yourself, most of which many high level pc's have available for other reasons.

From the prd Planar Adventures section:
Quote:
Only creatures immune to its life-draining energies can survive there.

On the other hand, no pc protects themselves from positive energy!

Quote:
An unprotected character on this plane swells with power as positive energy is forced upon her. Then, because her mortal frame is unable to contain that power, she is immolated, like a mote of dust caught at the edge of a supernova.

Definitely go with the +'ve... its more humane!


2 people marked this as a favorite.

AM MYSTIC THEURGE HAVE IDEA,

AM MYSTIC THEURGE HAVE LEADERSHIP FEAT, HALF OF AM THEURGE'S FOLLOWERS ARE MOSTLY MENFOLK WHO HAVE CRAFTY TYPE SKILLS OTHER HALF ARE MOSTLY WOMENFOLK WITH GATHERY TYPE SKILLS. AM THEURGE NOT FIXATED ON HETERO NORMS OR GENDER ROLES AND AM THEURGE CLERIC OF SHEYLN SO AM HAVING SAME SOME SEX COUPLES AS WELL. POINT IS AM MYSTIC THEURGE'S FOLLOWERS IS A WANDERING VILLAGE OF CRAFTYS WHO BUILD BUILDINGS WITH AM THEURGE WHO IS A MASTER ARCHITECT WHO GOES AROUND DESIGNING GREAT STRUCTURES AND THEN BUILDING THEM WITH HIS FOLLOWERS. AM THEURGE MAKE SURE THEY ALL HAVE YURTS, HORSES, LIVESTOCK, MASTERWORK TOOLS, MAGICAL HEALING AND SOME MAGIC ITEMS BECAUSE AM MYSTIC THEURGE IS GENEROUS, NOT CAUSE HE HAS TO BUT CAUSE HE WANTS TO.

AM MYSTIC THEURGE IS WORKING ON PARTICULARLY DIFFICULT BUILDING AND NEED ENGINEERING CONSULTATION, SO HE SEND SENDING TO GOOD FRIEND AM BARBARIAN AND AM BATTY BAT (AM MYSTIC THEURGE NOT LIKE ELITISM SO HE ALLWAYS KEEPS BATTY BAT IN LOOP, MANY WOULD TREAT HIM LIKE CLASS ABILITY BUT AM MYSTIC THEURGE KNOW BATTY BAT IS PERSON) AND ASKS HIM FOR ENGINEERING CONSULT. AM BARBARIAN AGREES CAUSE AM MYSTIC THEURGE IS CONSIDERATE FRIEND WHO SEES MORE THAN A RAGE LANCE POUNCY BARBARIAN, AM MYSTIC THEURGE SEES BEAUTIFUL GARDEN IN AM BARBARIAN AND IS TRUE FRIEND EVEN IF AM DWARF CLERIC SAY AM THEURGE NOT REAL AM CHARACTER.

WHILE AM BARBARIAN IS SKETCHING OUT SCAFFOLDING DESIGN TO AM THEURGE'S FOLLOWERS CAN CONSTRUCT TOWER SAFELY AND EFFICIENTLY AM MYSTIC THEURGE CASTS HERO'S FEAST, AND PRESTIDIGITATION TO CLEAN DEAD BUGS OFF OF AM BARBARIAN AND BATTY BAT, TWO OF AM THEURGE'S FOLLOWERS RUB WARM OIL INTO BATTY BAT'S SORE MUSCLES. THEY EAT, TALK ABOUT THE PROJECT, REMINISCE ABOUT OLD TIMES AND THAT TIME SCHRODINGER'S CASTY CHANGED HIS BUILD FOUR TIMES IN A SINGLE FIGHT.

ABOUT THIS TIME SCHRODINGER'S CASTY APPEARS OVER THE HORIZON AND CASTS HIS SPELL "DELIVER SINISTER MONOLOGUE" (IS LIKE MESSAGE, ONLY MORE ANNOYING), AM MYSTIC THEURGE SAYS "I'M THE HOST, I'LL TAKE CARE OF IT." BUT AM BARBARIAN SAYS "YOU KNOW THE RULES, HE'S MY NEMESIS, I'LL TAKE CARE OF HIM", AM MYSTIC THEURGE SAYS "AT LEAST LET ME BUFF YOU" AND AM BARBARIAN SAYS "OKEY DOKEY". AM MYSTIC THEURGE USES SPELL SYNTHESIS TO CAST WEAPON OF AWE AND ENLARGE PERSON ON AM BARBARIAN, THIS GIVES AM BARBARIAN. AM MYSTIC THEURGE'S FOLLOWERS RUN INTO A GROUP OF EXPEDITION PAVILIONS THAT ARE THE EMERGENCY LOCATION AND AM MYSTIC THEURGE COVERS THEM WITH A ECTOPLASMIC WALL OF STONE, AM THEURGE'S FOLLOWERS BEGINS PLAYING THE EMERGENCY LYRE OF BUILDING WHICH IS USED TO PRESERVE STRUCTURES AND QUICKLY PLANT CROPS AND CLEAN UP SITES BUT NOT TO BUILD BECAUSE OF THE UNION CONTRACT.

AM BARBARIAN IS NOW DOING RAGELANCEPOUNCE WITH A LARGE LANCE WHICH DOES 2D6 INSTEAD OF 1D8, HE IS +2 STRONGER FROM A SIZE BONUS AND HIS WEAPON DEALS ANOTHER +2 DAMAGE BRINGING HIS RAGELANCEPOUNCE TO +48/48/43/38/33 for 6d6+159, +177 VS CASTYS. IF AM BARBARIAN SMASH PUNY CAST IN SIGHT OF MY TENT THEN HE CAN SEE THE FLAG ON TOP, WHICH GIVE HIM A +2 TO SKILLS, ATTACK ROLLS AND SAVING THROWS (BATTY BAT TOO), FLAG AM VERY PROMINENT CAUSE I HAVE MANY FOLLOWERS MAKING SKILL CHECKS IN SIGHT OF IT ALL DAY LONG. FLAG AM PROTECTED BY HARDNESS, FORTIFYING STONE AND RUNE THAT CAST WALL OF FORCE AROUND IT WHEN IT TOUCHED, NOBODY AM CAPTURING FLAG OF EVERYONE DO GOOD.

I NOW CAUSE MORE DAMAGE THAN RAGELANCEPOUNCE BY MAKING RAGELANCEPOUNCE BETTER, AM DOING DAMAGE WITH POWER OF FRIENDSHIP AND TEAMWORK, NOT CARE IF AM BARBARIAN DO MORE DAMAGE BECAUSE AM MYSTIC THEURGE HAVE BEST ABILITY OF ALL, GOOD FRIENDS.


TOZ wrote:
Alienfreak wrote:


Hm? A Pit is difficult terrain or would require you to jump to get over it. So you can't get over it. Thus your movement stops...
So you're not allowed to turn and move around it to the limit of your move action?
Charge wrote:


Charging is a special full-round action that allows you to
move up to twice your speed and attack during the action.
Charging, however, carries tight restrictions on how you
can move
.
Movement During a Charge: You must move before your
attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares)
and may move up to double your speed directly toward the
designated opponent
. If you move a distance equal to your
speed or less, you can also draw a weapon during a charge
attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1.
You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and
nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult
terrain or obstacles)
. You must move to the closest space
from which you can attack the opponent. If this space is
occupied or otherwise blocked, you can’t charge. If any
line from your starting space to the ending space passes
through a square that blocks movement, slows movement,
or contains a creature (even an ally), you can’t charge.

If you don’t have line of sight to the opponent at the start
of your turn, you can’t charge that opponent.

...so no, as well as stated before you must declare your attacks and use of special actions in Pathfinder(power attack, combat expertise, casting a spell).

Full-Round Actions wrote:


A full-round action requires an entire round to complete.

Nowhere in the statement does it say you can abandon your current action in effort to perform a lesser or separate action such as a move or attack.In this the move and the attack are one. I understand that charge can be viewed as a move and standard action, however the attack attributed to charge is considered a normal melee attack(the same kind that causes all the fuss on spring attack + vital strike). Imagine if a caster got part way through a summoning spell and decided to change his action after declaring it, just because battlefield conditions changed.

How would you quantify such a thing, in terms of how much of an action was spent.

Readying an Action wrote:

Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action,

a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so,
specify the action you will take and the conditions under
which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next
action, you may take the readied action in response to
that condition. The action occurs just before the action
that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another
character’s activities, you interrupt the other character.
Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues
his actions once you complete your readied action.
Your
initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your
initiative result is the count on which you took the readied
action, and you act immediately ahead of the character
whose action triggered your readied action.

Thus, interrupting an action and creating an environment / obstacle that no longer allows for their original intended, and declared action, negates the ability of the person to perform their original full-round action.


Ready a Maze spell.
He charges, triggers my action.
MAZE.

Next round, He full round attempts to leave maze while I Summon.
If he breaks out REPEAT... if he doesn't KEEP Summoning.
just one tactic.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Matthias_DM wrote:

Ready a Maze spell.

He charges, triggers my action.
MAZE.

Next round, He full round attempts to leave maze while I Summon.
If he breaks out REPEAT... if he doesn't KEEP Summoning.
just one tactic.

Ok, this has come up before (a lot). You've just mazed yourself due to a ring of spell turning. Congrats, you've escaped!

But it certainly doesn't win. Or last more than the round it would take for it to be spell sundered if it did work.


KrispyXIV wrote:
Matthias_DM wrote:

Ready a Maze spell.

He charges, triggers my action.
MAZE.

Next round, He full round attempts to leave maze while I Summon.
If he breaks out REPEAT... if he doesn't KEEP Summoning.
just one tactic.

Ok, this has come up before (a lot). You've just mazed yourself due to a ring of spell turning. Congrats, you've escaped!

But it certainly doesn't win. Or last more than the round it would take for it to be spell sundered if it did work.

Gating 2 Solars still wins the day. Even if they only cast Waves of Exhaustion (both of them) you win the day. AM has no means of killing a Solar. And they can heal each other 4x (once the caster and the other for 200 and 3 times for 150).

Not to mention they have DR 15 against him and the regeneration alone is 15.
Plus they can let loose a slaying storm upon the Bat and it will fail after 20 saves (3 rounds).

AND of course you can still cast whatever you want on him.

So a good tactic would be:

Ready for him to come.
Gate both Solars in front of him. They instantly cast their waves of exhaustion.

Barbarian gets his charge interrupted by being exhausted (and his steed). Now he can neither run away ( no running) nor charge anything anymore. His round is wasted.

Its your turn again! 8 Arrows of Slaying hit the Bat.
Cast another quickened (rod) Gate for another 2 Solars (it was fun to have two, so why not 4?). Drop the Rod, draw an extend one and cast Time Stop.
Drop 6 Delayed Fireballs on the Barbarian, cast extended Time Stop again, drop 6 delayed Fireballs on the Barbarian again.
Batsy should be dead now. Barbarian is falling while 4 Solars are firing on him and the wizard casts whatever he wants... you win.

EDIT: I can rarely think of situations in which you could something more useful than gating in 2 Solars you control (you pump your CL up to 22 ofc). They are just so overpowered and maybe I understand Gate wrong... but if I control it I don't have to pay anything PLUS it has no duration??????
So I can gate in 1 Solar at a time and he will stay under my direct control... forever?

301 to 350 of 562 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Tired of the ridiculessness of rage-lance-pounce, casters let's show them how it's really done! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.