I do not know how I managed to misread the question and phrase my reply so incorrectly - now I cannot find how to delete/edit my comment away and hide under a rock
Situation A: Yes. *ALL* the dice. See Vic above.
Situation B: No. Seoni is not at the Waterfront - So the "At this location..." doesn't apply.
It's going to happen more if you are banishing a bunch of cards.
It also allow Nyctessa to use a very different playstyle. Particularly when she gets that reset from your discard pile power
Vic Wertz wrote:
Wouldn't the game be won when encountering the villain and then defeating them.
The problem was what to do when the villain wasn't defeated.
Am I missing something about Yoon? No melee, ranged, arcane, or divine skill that helps her in combat. I guess she is just adding her first power (recharge a blessing to add fortitude and fire to combat check) to strength or dexterity rolls? I feel like I'm not getting the whole story on this character
Are you people missing it adds the Fortitude skill not trait (well trait as well)?
That's d6+d10+2 at the cost of a recharged blessing, plus the extra traits, and the potential for boosting. And that's only if you're kinetic punching with strength.
She's better than Balazar and his attack chicken (forgive me), because she can be using attack spells or weapons for her base combat check too!
Or a spell card with attack trait. A spell card will not have the line "this counts as playing a spell" because it is a spell card already.
WOTR RULEBOOK wrote:
If you are activating the text on a card you are playing it
YOu can use the effects of two spells at once.
You just can't cast two spells at the same time.
You may be under the effect of two spells if:
*two different characters cast spells at the same time
Only concern would be his second power potentially allowing you to cycle through spells in the box until you get one you'd like (<3 Augury/Scrying). I suppose you'd at least want to make sure to shuffle the box supply after banishing...
Plus it only happens when he uses the first power (or something else that banishes spells not for their power). So he only does it on combat checks mostly.
How do you lose your hand twice in the same turn?
You don't reset your hand until the very end of your turn.
The beauty of having a hand wipe is that generally you are impervious to further harm that turn.
Those barriers are banished after completion.
There is no check to defeat.
Not sure how this interacts with Swallowtail Festival.
A) Run the barrier and then it is defeated.
B) It cannot be defeated. You do not close Swallowtail.
I'm leaning towards B.
Are yuo sure you calculated the final roll total correctly.
I'm noticing Seelah's dice go funny. But then so do the target numbers and the name of the check she is making (like she was doing a cure recharge 8, but it says she is doing a combat 7, but rolling the correct dice for the recharge check)
It usually seems to pass based on the original accurate test she should be doing. Or I'm not sure.
Definitely bugged. Hope it gets fixed.
The power in this case says:
"*When* a character at your location is dealt damage you may reveal an armor to reduce that damage by 1;"
As mentioned by others "When..." powers trigger every time that event happens, so yes you can protect everyone from the acid splash by revealing a single armor (even the same one) for each character.
If its more than 1 damage however, you're going to need more armors.
Was trying out the new card creator.
Made this from a 3rd level character I had in my first (and quickly abandonned) Pathfinder campaign.
Nokk was the last survivor of gnomes kidnapped by giants. He was rescued by a hermit wizard and trained in arcane arts. He had immense power but lacked most social skills.
His powers represent:
Tall Stalker role
Related to this - how do you feel about Adowyn character using teh power printed on the Leryn cohort card multiple times at the end of a turn to recharge their hand before drawing up.
Obviously you are scouting teh same card over and over - but you can recharge your hand to get a "better" one, maybe one with a weapon.
I ruled this violated the playing a card more than once during a step/phase rule. What does the community think?
Maybe these dice are actually more mathematically random than your actual physical dice (which might actually be better than you assume).
I've found its mostly going for the statistically best option (which may not be the maximally best option).
Like that 4d6 is better than 2d10+d4
4d6 avg = 14
w w 379 wrote:
AYA Damage is dealt before you defeat it. The drawn card would not need to be discarded.
This had me frustrated for a good 10 minutes too.
An easier "cheaty" way is to have any new characters come in with the same level of feats as existing characters.
This won't work for OP. But its just like running a proper RPG, having a new person join in with a character at a level greater than one.
They'll start of with a poor "basics" only deck (or current scenario -2 if you like) - and if you really want to have an additional penalty, maybe they get one less feat than the rest of the party.
Eliandra Giltessan wrote:
UPDATE: Just realized that with a power feat, she can make a knowledge check to recharge blessings, cuz divine trait.
Except its a When you would banish trigger - it's clearly there for spells.
Most blessings are "discard to" effects.
Player B has not yet acted during the Scientist encounter.
It is Before You Act damage.
(Player B could provide some sort of support action in the encounter, which would be an action)
The other questions look answered.
Most of the rules and "Can I do this?" can be answered by looking at reading the cards (and rules) carefully.
Cards do what they say, they don't do what they don't say.
Balazar is pretty neat. He has a Padrig the attack chicken who lets him ace at strength checks (and by proxy combat checks).
He can't play weapons or attack spells and use padrig, but he does get to roll his strength die as normal AND then add his arcane skill (which at base gets him d6+d10+2 - not bad at all for a squishy wizard)
The other power that sort of ties to his Summoner class is that when he defeats and then banishes monsters, they go to his hand, and then he can use them to power Padrig even more (read Padrig's card). This doesn't work on summoned monsters (yet) or cards that tell you put them somewhere else rather than banishing them (I'm looking at you, Giant Fly).
The downside is he banishes attack spells when he casts them (most arcane spellcasters can recharge them).
Balazar is very good on Base scenario 5 (the last one) - cos those Unfettered Eidolon's become his meal.
Brother Tyler wrote:
Villains work a little differently.
More on spell piggy-backing:
1. Can you cast a stat-boosting spell during the start of turn, and then combine that with an attack spell during an encounter.
2. Can you cast a stat-boosting spell during your first encounter, and then use it in combination with an attack spell in your next one.
(Essentially, as long as you aren't casting them in the same encounter, can you be under the effect of 2+ spells cast by the same player in the same encounter?)
I'm using p10 WOTR
"Each player may play no more
This in the section Encountering a Card. It says to me clearly that it is per step, not per encounter.
Was using p10.
Was getting confused by p13 which also states that can't use two spells at different steps of the same check.
Looks like I'll have to scale back my uber-spell combos.
Is it per check or step, or just step?
Last time I checked about this, the rules reference I was given only refers to step, not check.
Can you give me the rules reference where it says one card per check not step.
Play attack spell (Frigid Blast) during the "determine which skill you are using" step.
Play stat-boosting spell (Glibness) during the "play cards that affect the check" step.
Also AFAIK you can cast a spell that boosts your casting stat earlier in the turn, and then still use, say, an attack spell for your combat check later in the same turn - gaining the benefits from both spells during the same check.