Whalebone Pilk Question


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


If you succeed the constitution check against Whalebone do you still encounter Deathknell?


Whalebone Pilk wrote:
Before you act, succeed a Constitution or Fortitude 8 check or bury 1d4 cards from the top of your deck. Then summon and encounter the ship Deathknell.

The two sentences are separate. Regardless of the outcome of the Con/Fort check, you summon and encounter Deathknell.


Guess I'll piggyback off this question with my own, since it applies to ol' Pilk.

Whalebone Pilk's power wrote:
If Whalebone Pilk is not the last card in the location deck, he is undefeated.

So even if you beat him, he escapes--fine. But if you beat his checks to defeat...

1) Does he take blessings from the deck, or are they taken from the box? And

2) The scenario restricts closing to only when there are no cards in the location deck, but does he really just keep escaping to the same location, or would that be similar to the automatic close for beating a villain? By similar to, I mean:

S&S Rulebook, on closing while the villain lives, wrote:
...the location is not closed, but...the villain cannot escape to it.

(I don't have the rulebook in front of me, so I may have glossed over an 'it is temporarily closed' clause in there--that makes the quote moot.)

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

He is undefeated, so the location does not close in any way, shape, or form. You follow the same instructions as if you failed the check. Draw blessings from the blessing deck equal to (# of Open Locations minus 1), add him to them, and randomly deal them out to the locations, including where you just fought him.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

No blessings are drawn because he's undefeated and shuffled back into the same location deck.

Page 11 of the rulebook:

"if you don’t succeed [at all of the checks required to defeat a bane] it is undefeated — shuffle the card back into its location deck."


Brother Tyler wrote:

No blessings are drawn because he's undefeated and shuffled back into the same location deck.

Page 11 of the rulebook:

"if you don’t succeed [at all of the checks required to defeat a bane] it is undefeated — shuffle the card back into its location deck."

Villains work a little differently.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Tyler, if a villain is undefeated, it has its own rule that applies. If undefeated, you do as I mentioned above. If defeated, you do the same except close his location first, and the blessings come from the box.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Except in the case of Whalebone Pilk, whose special rules include:

"If Whalebone Pilk is not the only card in a location deck, he is undefeated."


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Undefeated villains still escape. The regular rule for undefeated cards is overridden by villain specific rules in the villains section

Defeated villain = escapes and uses blessings from box
Undefeated villain = escapes and uses blessings from blessings deck
Evaded villain = shuffles back into the same deck

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Like I said Tyler, undefeated villains behave differently than undefeated regular monsters. That power does only two things

1) Kepps you from closing his location on a successful check
2) Force you to draw escape blessings from the blessings deck instead of the box.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

D'oh! I see it on page 16 now. That's embarrassing (for me, not for you ;) ). Luckily for my group, we had already closed the other location before we found Pilk last night; so, while I had the rules wrong in my head, we didn't play it incorrectly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Whalebone Pilk Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion