vhok's page

Organized Play Member. 504 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 4 Organized Play characters.




If I have 8 str do I multiply the -1 damage on crits? I always have but lately I heard u don’t.


so the Rondelero Swashbuckler has the following ability.

Falcata Emphasis (Ex): At 1st level, a rondelero swashbuckler is proficient with falcatasUE and can treat a falcata as a one-handed piercing melee weapon for the purposes of the swashbuckler’s finesse as well as all feats and class abilities that refer to such a weapon. This ability replaces the derring-do deed.

would this allow him to use a large size falcata in 2 hands and treat it as a 1handed piercing weapon?


i have recently made an alchemist and i have a few questions about healing bomb

When the alchemist creates a bomb, he can choose to have it heal damage instead of dealing it. Creating a healing bomb requires the alchemist to expend an infused extract (APG 31) or potion containing a cure spell. A creature that takes a direct hit from a healing bomb is healed as if she had imbibed the infusion or potion used to create the bomb. Creatures in the splash radius are healed for the minimum amount of damage the cure spell is capable of healing. A healing bomb damages undead instead of healing them.

so as most people know by now all healing in the pathfinder universe is actually positive energy DAMAGE. which heals living and harms undead with this in mind my 2 questions are.

1: do i add my int to the positive energy damage my bomb deals?

2: can my positive energy damage bomb crit the main target i have to land an attack on?


greater flaming sphere says if they fail the reflex they catch on fire. it has no details about the negatives of this fire? what does it do? when does it do it?


had this come up tonight. an incorporeal creature needed to move through a living creature. we couldn't find any ruling that said they could. if someone knows if it says they can do this is somewhere in the rules or a post by a dev can you please link it.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

so the orc Tusked trait says that I gain a bite that if used as part of a full attack takes a -5 to hit. this is a very strange natural attack as it seems like a secondary but doesn't take the -5 if I only attack with the bite.

Tusked
Category Race
Requirement(s) Half-Orc, Orc
Huge, sharp tusks bulge from your mouth, and you receive a bite attack (1d4 damage for Medium characters). If used as part of a full attack action, the bite attack is made at your full base attack bonus –5.

is this a typo? did they mean to include "If used as part of a full attack action with manufactured weapons" which means its a primary attack (as all bites are). but currently its a primary attack that takes a -5 attack even if you only use other natural attacks to attack with the bite. the problem is as it is currently defined it gets no bonus from the multi attack feat because its not a secondary so you can never lower the -5.

tldr: was this meant to be a secondary or primary or some weird primary that takes all the penalties of a secondary but can't get a bonus from multi attack to lower the -5


is there an official way to remove the -2 ac from cleave? I checked every cleave feat I could but couldn't find one. does anyone know a feat or class/archetype/race/trait that removes the penalties?


I just want to know if the steelbound fighters weapon is enchantable it doesn't seem to gain any enchantment bonuses on its own so it should be enchantable but I am not sure

Steelbound Weapon (Ex) : At 1st level, a steelbound fighter selects one type of weapon (such as shortswords, longbows, or heavy flails). He gains Weapon Focus with that specific weapon. Whenever he isn’t wielding or carrying at least one weapon of this type (the weapon can be broken but not destroyed), a steelbound fighter takes a –2 penalty to his Wisdom score and can’t benefit from his fighter class abilities (excluding bonus feats gained from fighter levels). Once the steelbound fighter’s weapon awakens (see steelbound awakening below), these penalties apply whenever the fighter isn’t carrying or wielding that particular weapon.

Steelbound Awakening (Su) : At 5th level, one nonintelligent weapon carried by the steelbound fighter becomes possessed by the latent spiritual energies that cling to his soul, transforming that weapon into an intelligent weapon. The weapon must be of the type the fighter chose at 1st level as his steelbound weapon. The steelbound weapon grants its wielder Alertness as a bonus feat as long as the weapon is wielded. A steelbound fighter gains a +1 bonus on attack rolls and damage rolls with his steelbound weapon. This bonus increases to +2 at 9th level, +3 at 13th level, +4 at 17th level, and +5 at 20th level.


so can I have a weapon hilt crafted from wyrwood and the weapon head made from a special material like adamantine and get both bonuses?

The root of the wyrwood tree has a peculiar quality. When a weapon constructed of wyroot confirms a critical hit, it absorbs some of the life force of the creature hit. The creature hit is unharmed and the wyroot weapon gains 1 life point. As a swift action, a wielder with a ki pool or an arcane pool can absorb 1 life point from the wyrwood weapon and convert it into either 1 ki point or 1 arcane pool point. A wyroot weapon can gain at most 1 life point per day and hold up to 1 life point at a time. More powerful wyroot weapons can gain up to 3 life points per day and hold up to 3 life points at a time. Any unspent life points dissipate at dusk. A creature can convert life points from only one wyroot weapon per day.

Wyroot can be used to construct any melee weapon made entirely of wood or with a wooden haft. Constructing a weapon that can hold 1 life point increases the cost by 1,000 gp, constructing one that can hold up to 2 life points increases the cost by 2,000 gp, and constructing one that can hold up to 3 life points increases the cost by 4,000 gp.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

ok so the spell study seems to contradict itself a bit and I need some clarification.

Spell Study (Su): At 2nd level, the sage’s understanding of the spells of bards, clerics, and druids is so great that he can use his own magic in an inefficient, roundabout way to duplicate those classes’ spells. Once per day, a spell sage can spontaneously cast any spell on the bard, cleric, or druid spell list as if it were a wizard spell he knew and had prepared. Casting the spell requires the spell sage to spend 1 full round per spell level of the desired spell (if the spell is on multiple spell lists indicated above, using the lowest level from among those lists) and requires expending two prepared spells of that spell level or higher; if the spell’s casting time is normally 1 full round or longer, this is added to the spell sage’s casting time. For example, if a spell sage wants to use spell study to cast cure light wounds (cleric spell level 1st), he must spend 2 full rounds casting and expend two prepared wizard spells of 1st level or higher

according to the formula it lists casting cure light wounds would be 1 full round because its NOT 1 full round or longer cast time so it is not added to the 1full round per spell level. however the ability says it will take 2 full rounds?? is this a typo or am I missing part of the ability that adds more time?


does the bleeding attack feat instantly deal 1d4 bleed or does it do ongoing bleed damage?

Your unarmed strikes cause your opponent to bleed.

Prerequisites: Improved Unarmed Strike.

Benefit: When you damage an opponent with an unarmed strike, you deal an extra 1d4 bleed damage.

Special: This ability does not stack with other special abilities, attacks, or items that allow you to deal bleed damage


Siege Survivor
Source Inner Sea Races pg. 210
Dwarves who make their homes in the Sky Citadels are trained to outlast sieges and serve as vigilant guards. They gain Endurance as a bonus feat. In addition, during rounds in which they have not moved, they gain a +1 racial bonus on attack rolls against foes who also did not move since their last turn. This racial trait replaces greed, hardy, and hatred.

as this reads as long as long as I don't move I always get the +1 bonus because if its my turn they ALWAYS haven't moved SINCE their last turn. was this supposed to say, "you gain this bonus only if they didn't move DURING their last turn"


Threatened Squares

You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your turn. Generally, that means everything in all squares adjacent to your space (including diagonally). An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity from you. If you're unarmed, you don't normally threaten any squares and thus can't make attacks of opportunity.

so if a monster is invisible and 2 rogues flank him are they flanking because they threaten? do they even threaten? it seems to be as long as you can attack their square you threaten them.


do you still gain the spirit abilities from minor spirits? IE channel for life? or do you only gain them from the wandering spirits? if so aren't the wandering spirits superior in every way to the minor spirit?

Minor Spirit (Su): At 1st level, the unsworn shaman also forms a temporary bond with a minor spirit each day, granting her access to a shaman or witch hex of her choosing, but not a major hex or a grand hex. She must make this selection each day when she prepares her spells for the day. Until she changes the minor spirit, she continues to have access to the shaman or witch hex. At 2nd level, she can instead select a hex from one of her wandering spirits selected for that day. If she selects a witch hex, she treats her shaman level as her witch level, and uses her Wisdom in place of her Intelligence for the purpose of that hex.

She can make temporary bonds with two minor spirits (thus gaining two hexes) at 4th level, and with one additional minor spirit (and hex) every 4 levels thereafter. This ability replaces spirit and alters hex.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

FAQ
Sorcerer: Do the bonuses granted from Bloodline Arcana apply to all of the spells cast by the sorcerer, or just those cast from the sorcerer's spell list?

The Bloodline Arcana powers apply to all of the spells cast by characters of that bloodline, not just those cast using the sorcerer's spell slots.
General rule: If a class ability modifies your spellcasting, it applies to your spells from all classes, not just spells from the class that grants the ability. (The exception is if the class ability specifically says it only applies to spells from that class.)

sage bloodline arcana

Bloodline Arcana: Unlike most sorcerers, whose innate magic is powered by force of personality, you use your intellect to understand and master your mystic powers. You use your Intelligence, rather than your Charisma, to determine all class features and effects relating to your sorcerer class, such as bonus spells per day, the maximum spell level you can cast, the save DCs of your spells, and the number of daily uses of your bloodline powers. You gain a +2 bonus on all Knowledge (arcana) and Spellcraft checks.

multiclass into another caster and they become int for all cha things. INT oracle

yes?


with the Armored Hulk archetype at level 5 do I gain +10 or +15 total movement speed from the archetype. you get 5 at level 2 and then the level 5 ability says you gain 10 and says it stacks with anything but i'm not sure if its just an increase of the level 2 ability.

Armored Swiftness (Ex): At 2nd level, an armored hulk moves faster in medium and heavy armor. When wearing medium or heavy armor, an armored hulk can move 5 feet faster than normal, to a maximum of her speed. This ability replaces uncanny dodge.

Improved Armored Swiftness (Ex): At 5th level, an armored hulk’s land speed is faster than the norm for her race by +10 feet. This benefit applies when she is wearing any armor, including heavy armor, but not while carrying a heavy load. Apply this bonus before modifying the armored hulk’s speed because of any load carried or armor worn. This bonus stacks with any other bonuses to the barbarian’s land speed. This ability replaces improved uncanny dodge.


can unchained barbarian pick blood rage powers of the normal barbarian?


level 2 polearm master says I can shorten my grip so I can hit adjacent targets. it does not say it loses reach but my DM said it does. can anyone tell me if he is correct and if so why?

Pole Fighting (Ex): At 2nd level, as an immediate action, a polearm master can shorten the grip on his spear or polearm with reach and use it against adjacent targets. This action results in a –4 penalty on attack rolls with that weapon until he spends another immediate action to return to the normal grip. The penalty is reduced by –1 for every four levels beyond 2nd. This ability replaces bravery.


I remember reading about a bloodrager archetype that makes them follow occulist(I think) spell progression but I cannot remember the name of the book. can anyone help me please?


looking to craft a platinum holy symbol of Sehanine Moonbow how would I calculate the DC of such an item?


looking at the Feather Subdomain I saw it gives you feather fall in the level 2 slot. this is a level 1 spell normally, is this an error or is it in my level 2 domain slot? fly is still level 3, not sure why they would penalize feather fall instead of fly.


is there an easier way to gain a bonded item on a bloodrager other than heritage feat for the sorcerer bloodline?


looking to find a way to finish the fastest full night’s rest possible. I know there is a trait and magic ring that can reduce it to two hours needed. is there anything that's less?


is there a list somewhere that shows the levels each ap go till? like kingmaker levels 1-17ish


I have two questions

1. is there any way to gain domain abilities without multiclassing similar to eldritch heritage? magical items work too.

2. so I was reading over my eidolon and noticed that under the serpentine base form it says I have bite and tail slap. but under my azata subtype it only says tail slap. does anyone know if I do have a bite or just a tail slap?


today we had 2 different problems with squeezing come into play.

1: we had 2 medium size allies standing with 1 normal 5 foot spot between them. I wanted to squeeze my large size wolf into that spot. the gm said I couldn't because I would be forcing squeezing onto 1 of the allies, however my interpretation of squeezing rule was that my wolf was now only taking up a 2x1 area and not even counting as being his normal 2x2 size. they also said another thing that might stop him is that you can't squeeze for no reason and only terrain can make you squeeze unless your just squeezing to walk past an ally and not stopping to fight while squeezed beside a teammate.

When a Large creature (which normally takes up 4 squares) squeezes into a space that's 1 square wide, the creature's miniature figure occupies 2 squares, centered on the line between the 2 squares. For a bigger creature, center the creature likewise in the area it squeezes into.

2: same game different guy. paladin mounted up on his griffon mount had to squeeze into a 5foot passage. gm said because by the rules he counted as occupying all the spaces his mount is he was now squeezing also. we thought it wouldn't be a problem as he is actually only a 1x1 square normally.

A horse (not a pony) is a Large creature and thus takes up a space 10 feet (2 squares) across. For simplicity, assume that you share your mount's space during combat.

hoping for an official source someone could link so prove 1 way or the other. no one really cares how it goes we just want to know how to play it. we like to play as close to raw as possible.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

encountered this in todays game I am playing a psychic and was invisible. I cast a spell to close a door and the dm said that everyone would notice because casting a spell makes a visible magical disturbance as per this faq http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9tza

can anyone tell me if being invisible would prevent the spell from being visible as I cast it and give me a link to where it says this?


I am making a valet familiar. he will be coming into the game at level 3 and my GM said I can replace the default feat with something useful(he is very lenient with this so anything you can think of basically). he will not be doing any combat so I am looking for a feat to help with crafting or something else useful for him other than combat.


reading over the wizard arcane bonded item rules it says you can pick a wand. and later it says
"If the bonded object is a wand, it loses its wand abilities when its last charge is consumed, but it is not destroyed and it retains all of its bonded object properties and can be used to craft a new wand."

does this mean it comes in with a full charge of 50? it doesn't really say 1 way or the other and I'm hoping someone can point me towards a ruling on this.


the Spirit summoner archetype allows summoners to get channel from the life spirit. would this req the summoner to have a divine focus as an arcane caster?


Simple question. Can you choose to drop items into adjacent squares as a free action instead of at your feet in your square


having an argument with someone who is trying to tell me that base speed is a seprate thing than base land speed. I am a summoner and my eidolon's flight evolution says his fly speed is = to his base speed. I have an effect that increases his base land speed and he is saying his base speed is not changed by this because base speed is its own thing that can only be changed by effects that change base speed.

I tried to explain that base speed is just a general term and usually refers to base land speed but he is 100% sure that base speed is its own thing and base land speed increase will not make my eidolon fly faster because his flight is based on base speed. nothing except an official rule (which I'm pretty sure doesn't exist because this is just a basic part of the game) or a dev comment will help.


this archetype confuses me a little and I'm looking for some clarification.

a bunch of the eidolon evolutions require certain subtypes. do wild callers still pick a subtype? if not are these evolutions just unavailable?


I am having an argument with my DM who says if I take the emissary familiar archetype he loses all his normal familiar skills and instead gains the ones it lists he gains. my argument is, wouldn't it say this replaces the normal skills in the archetype(which it does not). can anyone point me to a rule for this?

The emissary is touched by the divine, serving as a font of wisdom and a moral compass for its master.

Class Skills: An emissary treats Heal, Knowledge (religion), and Sense Motive as class skills.

Divine Guidance (Sp): An emissary can cast guidance at will. This ability replaces alertness.

Share Will (Su): Whenever an emissary or its master fails a save against a mind-affecting effect that affects only one of them, the other can choose to attempt the save as well. If this second save succeeds, treat the original save result as a success, and the emissary and its master can’t use this ability again for 24 hours. On a failure, both the emissary and its master suffer the effects of the failed saving throw, even if one of them wouldn’t ordinarily be a valid target. This ability replaces share spells.

Domain Influence (Sp or Su): At 3rd level, the emissary gains a spark of divine power from the patron that sent it. Choose one appropriate domain that grants a 1st-level domain power usable a number of times per day equal to 3 + the user’s Wisdom modifier. The emissary can use that power once per day. This ability replaces deliver touch spells.


so my question is does a metamagic rod increase the cast time on all spells cast spontaneous or just sorcerer spells? people from my party all day it does increase it and they point me towards metamagic feats and the rules for them. however it was my understanding that rods did not follow the feat rules, they don't increase the level nor do they make it take longer to cast.

Now under the metamgic rod description it says specifically sorcerers do have to take longer and they say this is why all spontaneous casters must. however I point out that bards cast all spells spontaneously and even clerics and druids can cast some too so when the rule was written sorcerers were not the only spontaneous caster in the game and instead of saying all spontaneous casters take a full round action to cast the rod says only sorcerers take longer.

I am not looking for peoples opinions on this I am looking for a link or quote of an actual rule for metamagic ROD's and how they increase the cast time of all spontaneous spells.
unless your paizo staff then i would love to hear your opinion on this.

I am not looking for a quote or a link to a metamagic FEAT rule I know that is how the feats work but rods are seprate.

Possession of a metamagic rod does not confer the associated feat on the owner, only the ability to use the given feat a specified number of times per day. A sorcerer still must take a full-round action when using a metamagic rod, just as if using a metamagic feat he possesses (except for quicken metamagic rods, which can be used as a swift action).