Flanking question on large creature


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi there! During our game, we had a question about the flanking of a large creature!

Can you help?

00E0
0Cc0
0CC0
E000

E are enemies
0 are empty space
C is our large Companion

https://photos.app.goo.gl/HSSP4jGpEnfhNn8G8


that is not flanking as is. the enemy at the top line should be one space to the right or the one at the bottom should be one space to the right.

like this:
.
.
.
.
.
......or......
000E......00E0
0CC0......0CC0
0CC0......0CC0
E000......0E00


zza ni wrote:

that is not flanking as is. the enemy at the top line should be one space to the right or the one at the bottom should be one space to the right.

like this:
......or......
000E......00E0
0CC0......0CC0
0CC0......0CC0
E000......0E00

I have to disagree.

Let's look at the rules for flanking:

"When in doubt about whether two characters flank an opponent in the middle, trace an imaginary line between the two attackers’ centers. If the line passes through opposite borders of the opponent’s space (including corners of those borders), then the opponent is flanked."

Emphasis mine.

So let's look at OPs situation: wrote:


00E0
0Cc0
0CC0
E000

E are enemies
0 are empty space
C is our large Companion

If you would draw a line from center to center of both enemies, you would pass through the top side and the corner included in the bottom side and therefor qualify for flanking.


You are not flanking in your example.

You are flanking if you and an ally are on opposing sides of a target. Against a Large creature, that means you are flanking if you are in any of the two squares north of the creature and an ally is in either of the two squares south of the creature. Same deal with the east and west sides.

Basically, draw a line from the two allies' centers and if the line passes through two parallel/opposite sides of the target, you're flanking (or opposing corners if you're at a diagonal square to a creature).

Flanking example.


Pizza Lord wrote:
You are not flanking in your example.

According to the rules linked and referenced in my post above, the corners are included in the border.

So if a drawn line from center to center goes through one side (in the op example the top one) and through the corner of the opposite side (in the example the bottom left corner, which is included in the bottom border) the line passes through opposite borders and it is considered flanking by RAW

Edit:
Well, ignore what I said, doing those things hastily on lunch break leads to errors...

Writing one thing (center to center) and thinking of another (corner to corner), my bad.

OOEO
OCCO
OCCO
EOOO

If drawn from center to center of the enemies "E" the line wouldn't pass through the corner included in the opposite border of the large companion "C", so no to flanking in this case.


ignore anyone that said this is flanking, its not flanking. bascically corner to opposite corner or 1 of the 2 side squares to the opposite 2 side squares all 4 of these flank each other.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

basically you have flanking of a large enemy when 2 melee that threat are positioned at:

1 & 1
or
2 & 2
-opposite corners.

3(any) & 4(any)
or
5(any) & 6(any)
-opposite 'flanks'

1332
5CC6
5CC6
2441

1 to anything but the other 1 is not a flank.
same for 2 at anything but a 2.
3 for anything but a 4 (and 4 to anything other then a 3)
etc..

--------

-all of the above does not including creatures with reach!


zza ni wrote:


1332
5CC6
5CC6
2441

1 to anything but the other 1 is not a flank.
same for 2 at anything but a 2.
3 for anything but a 4 (and 4 to anything other then a 3)
etc..

--------

-all of the above does not including creatures with reach!

he has it backwards on 3 and 4. the 3's flank with only the 4's and the 5's flank with only the 6's not what he said.


yes. that is what i said.

any of the 3 can flank with any of the 4. OR any of the 5 can flank with any of the 6.
a 3 can't flank with anyone beside a 4 (that include not flanking with 5 or 6)


zza ni wrote:

yes. that is what i said.

any of the 3 can flank with any of the 4. OR any of the 5 can flank with any of the 6.
a 3 can't flank with anyone beside a 4 (that include not flanking with 5 or 6)

misread that the last part was a NOT because you only said not with the first sentence.

3 for anything but a 4 (and 4 to anything other then a 3)


yes, i was listing all the things that are not flanking. should have used a "," instead of a "." to point it out that all of them were under "is not a flank"

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flanking question on large creature All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions