right.
I think Warrior Priest feat is a good choice so plan on picking it up if you don't have it. The initiative and concentration buffs are gravy as doing more dice with your channel is the real power (and good effect for one feat).
I think you're stuck in Clr 10 / Hk Signifier 10 as other options don't look good. Signifier 9&10 are good and cutting your base class(Cleric) can be painful.
The only other option is racial feats/traits. Had you been Samsaran the Mythic Past Lives would have let you poach a spell list (like Druid). Tieflings have Wing options but it is pricey.
Oh yea it wasn’t relevant to the question above but I do already have the warrior priest feat, since it’s one of the requirements to level into signifer. It’s been really helpful.
And yea I am a tiefling, so going into wings could be good. I’m just kinda stuck on what to focus on for my next feat.
Alright so the so consensus is that it it can’t be done, thanks everyone.
After having gotten sleep and reading everyone’s replies I realize I shouldn’t be trying to plan my character on 4 hours of sleep and a 28 hour day lol.
Your argument is that it helps divine casters cast arcane spells, but strictly divine casters can't even take the feat. It is only useful for Arcane casters.
Actually, my argument was that one should not use False Focus and Fabricate as an endless source of income that can unbalance WBL. Diego is a charlatan who tries to nitpick everything people say on this forum as some form of alpha nerd cyber bullying campaign, so when he tried to correct me I wasn't having any of it. And that's because Mystic Theurges are divine casters and arcane casters who can use False Focus to use their Divine Focus to cast arcane spells cheaper, and Razmiran Priests are "false divine casters" in their lore, so technically I'm not wrong even when I said the words "divine caster". And for whatever reason, you've decided to hop on this wagon as well.
I apologize, It wasn't my intent to upset or pile on. I come to these forums to ask questions, debate and be told I'm wrong, or provide evidence to prove my point of view because that is what I find fun. However it is clear that I need to take a step back and re-establish that not everyone on here is looking for the same interaction that I am.
Again sorry if I came off hostile in any way. I hope you have a wonderful day.
Yep, I know how it works. Are you in any way suggesting that a Mystic Theurge cannot use False Focus to use their Divine Focus when casting their arcane spells?
Your argument is that it helps divine casters cast arcane spells, but strictly divine casters can't even take the feat. It is only useful for Arcane casters.
What arcane spells does a divine caster get access to?
Mystic Theurges and Razmiran Priests (sorcerer archetype that uses a Divine Focus for arcane spells) immediately come to mind. 3pp False Arcanists also use Divine Focus for arcane spells.
Razmiran priests are still arcane casters, whose spells register as arcane. Otherwise the benefits they get to try and use Divine spells from magic items would be useless. Their entire gimic is that they are PRETENDING to be divine casters.
When a Mystic Theurge casts spells gained from their original class those spells are treated as arcane or divine depending on which class the spell is prepared from.
Whether a spell is arcane or divine is determined by the class that you got the spell from, not the spell.
Example:
20th level character with 10 levels in cleric and 10 levels in Wizard. I chose the Magic domain for my cleric which gives me Arcane Eye, a spell not normally on my cleric spell list. I also have Arcane Eye in my wizard spell book.I can cast arcane spells as a wizard so I qualify for the feat False Focus.
for the sake of argument lets say arcane eye has a component cost of 20gp and I have a silver divine focus worth 25 silver.
I prepare Arcane Eye in one of my Wizard spell slots and also in one of my Cleric spell slots.
If I use the Wizard spell, I can ignore the 25 gp cost because the feat works on arcane spells.
If I use the Cleric spell, I have to pay the 25 gp cost because the feat does not work on divine spells.
Example:
I'm a 10th level cleric with the Magic Domain. Dispite Arcane Eye being on my spell list it is still considered a divine spell and as such I can't even take the feat False Focus.
Under the feat it states: "Normal: A divine focus has no effect when used as a component in arcane spells."
This tells me that the feat is exclusive to arcane spells and has no effect on divine spells as they already have divine focus, you know, the not false focus.
Edit: Forgot to make my point lol
Since Divine casters don't get access to Arcane spells the feat would be impossible if pointless to take as a cleric.
False Focus wrote:
You can use a divine focus to cast arcane spells.
Ryze Kuja wrote:
False Focus is meant to be a divine version of "Eschew Materials" allowing Divine Casters to use their Divine Focus as their material component while attempting to cast Arcane spells
What arcane spells does a divine caster get access to?
False Focus is meant to be a divine version of "Eschew Materials" allowing Divine Casters to use their Divine Focus as their material component while attempting to cast Arcane spells, and Fabricate is meant to create/craft finished products/items from raw materials, and the required raw materials have a gold cost for game balance.
While I agree with your overall argument, I think you meant arcane and not divine. False focus works on arcane spells.
Razmirian "priests" (a sorcerer archetype) get it at level 1 with the False Piety ability. It is meant to be a way for an arcane spellcaster to simulate being a priest.
The question is if a Razmiran holy symbol counts as a divine implement. After all, Razmir isn't a god.
No, I meant divine. Maybe you should read it twice. Maybe even a third time if you need to.
Under the feat it states: "Normal: A divine focus has no effect when used as a component in arcane spells."
This tells me that the feat is exclusive to arcane spells and has no effect on divine spells as they already have divine focus, you know, the not false focus.
Edit: Forgot to make my point lol
Since Divine casters don't get access to Arcane spells the feat would be impossible if not pointless to take as a cleric for example.
At that time, the cloak of the manta ray adheres to the individual, and he appears nearly identical to a manta ray (as the beast shape II spell, except that it allows only manta ray form).
It all depends on how "adheres" work and how much you think that therm has a game mechanics effect. Coming from earlier versions of the game, I read it as "the cloak disguises you as a manta ray and gives the listed powers", not as "the cloak polymorph you into a manta ray".
But I read it that way because I have played the earlier versions of the game. With Pathfinder rules about polymorphing the water are muddier. The only valid reply is "ask your GM and use his interpretation." If you are the GM, decide what you think do work better.
I believe the important text is: "(as the beast shape II spell, except that it allows only manta ray form)."
It then lists the benefits you gain from that form as any beast shape ability would. The fact that it limits what form you can take, only manta ray, implies to me that it is just beast shape II but with caveats.
You can't polymorph into a Tieflin or Asimar with the Pass for Human ability. They are outsiders that need an alternate racial trait to count as a humanoid, but none of the Polymorph abilities allows you to take the Pass for Human racial trait.
Yup, realized my mistake when Derklord mentioned the spell infuse self. Thanks for clarifying though.
I want to correct my previous statement that Vimanda is a kitsune. She is not. For some reason when looking her up the first link uses a kitsune to portray her. She is a Rakshasa. A creature that also has Change Shape (alter self any humanoid). My point still stands but I wanted to make sure it was clear.
Note the relevant point of not needing a material component means you can invent the humanoid ("human with some leaves for hair") creature and then become them, even if you're "generic" for said invented race.
Except it doesn't. Not needing to use the material components means that you can select any creature that exists and has the Humanoid type.
AwesomenessDog said wrote:
Even better, there's a race builder, for again, this infinite, barely explored universe, where it comes back to the GM to agree or decline the specific race that lets you doll up your character in an entirely unmechanical way.
Agreed, your DM can create any Humanoid race they want using the race builder. But that is a tool exclusive to the DM and is not meant for players. If your DM allows this then more power to you!
AwesomenessDog said wrote:
Also Paizo doesn't even follow that "generic member" rule for creating their own shape changing characters.
Oh great, show me a few examples if you wouldn't mind.
AwesomenessDog said wrote:
What even is a generic "human" when there's a but load of different ethnicities, heights, etc.
A generic human with human traits, features and such. I mentioned this in the above post.
AwesomenessDog said wrote:
The first use of a shape changing monster changing into a specific existing character (as opposed to someone who could be entirely the shapechanger's own invention) is literally Vimanda becoming Vencarlo Orisini in book 3 of Crimson Throne
Vimanda is a Kitsune, using her Change Shape (Alter self Medium or small humanoid) ability to look like a generic human male.
AwesomenessDog said wrote:
The sentences of the rule even conflict: "cannot look like a specific individual... can control finer details" such as the exact facial shape and height, build, etc. of a specific individual.
But they don't contradict. I am a Kitsune and my friend is a dwarf named Allen. If I use my change shape ability to look like a dwarf, I CAN NEVER look just like Allen. I can use Disguise to try and look like Allen and not take any penalty though since I am now in the shape of a male dwarf.
I stand corrected on the preservation then, thanks for clarifying!
AwesomenessDog said wrote:
And this isn't an optional rule more than anything else in Ultimate Wilderness is, so the same idea applies for "if you can ban part or all of the book" then so too can the far weaker harvest parts feat be ignored.
Yup, I said that in my previous statement, but DM's are a lot more lenient with adding feats than introducing whole new rule sets that ANYONE can do.
AwesomenessDog said wrote:
The only upside I can see for the feat version is that you only have to make one check, but its not like most people won't have access to the rest of the party where they can better cover the skills needed in the nonfeat version.
The upside of the feat is that it doesn't have the same restrictions as the base rules and doesn't require you to kill a CR 20 specific creature to save 12kgp on an item that requires a specific requirement to be used.
AwesomenessDog said wrote:
Also, the listed affinities are explicitly nonexhaustive, and I am certain every gm that uses the rule (all 10 of them) will have different gripes about just the given list for its limitations. (IMO) There is also plenty of items or monster types that should be able to used with more or less any item such as dragons, as well as plenty of other things besides "just evil descriptor spell requirements" that any or specific devils should be able to count towards. But again, this is already a very high ymmv area.
If you ignore the rules and just allow whatever to work with whatever, the way the feat already does, then yes the feat becomes useless in comparison just as you think. Thankfully, the rules don't allow that so the feat can shine.
I would allow the tiefling and Aasimar humanoid but at that point they have no noticeable physical details that differentiate them from a human/their base race.
There actually is a polymorph spell for the playable native outsider races, Infuse Self.
Oh, was not aware of that spell, thanks for the heads up!
I don't understand the purpose of this feat, it gives you the ability to do something you can already do as part of the normal trophy rules but now it adds the limitation that you can't use it for all of the material costs.
It saves you 25% of the cost in raw materials. In OP's example the cost is 500gp.
Without the feat you pay 500gp then begin crafting.
With the feat you can use 125GP in harvested parts and only pay 375gp.
The amount saved becomes much more noticeable the higher the cost of the item obviously but that's how it works.
You can already make trophies that are useful for (magic) item crafting. In fact, the normal rules allow you to use a trophy for a 20% bonus value if you use it for its affinity for making a magic item.
Ultimate Wilderness 163: Trophies and Treasures wrote:
Magical Affinities of Trophies
Certain creatures provide trophy components that, once processed into actual trophies, are exceptionally useful for the construction of alchemical or magic items. When used as raw materials for the crafting of alchemical or magic items, these trophies are worth more than their normal values for the purposes of calculating the total gp needed to craft the item.
The following section details trophy uses for a wide range of creature categories. This list is not intended to be exhaustive, and GMs should feel free to add specific affinities to a creature as their campaigns demand.
Recovery: In order to preserve trophy components into a trophy usable for its magical affinities, a character must use a different skill than Craft to create the trophy. The specific skill required varies according to the creature, as detailed below. Creating a trophy to be used in this way is more difficult than creating one to simply be an art object: the DC to create a magical affinity trophy is equal to 20 + the creature’s CR. If a creature’s trophy components fall into multiple categories (such as an erinyes), the
...
A few notes:
That rule is optional and is not guaranteed to be included without DM permission.
The feat can be taken so long as the book is not disallowed, or DM just doesn't think it will fit the campaign, just like any other feat.
The feat allows you to pull out an amount of generic material that can be freely applied to nearly any crafting check covering up to 25% of the cost to craft the item.
The rule limits what trophy can be used for which magic items by stating exactly what the trophy can be used for. Trophys also have a set amount that they cost based the CR of the creature it was pulled from. It is this amount +20% that can supplement craft cost.
The cost reduction for the feat automatically scales and requires almost no book keeping.
The trophy rules require you to keep note of the trophy CR to determine price, and the type of trophy to even use it properly.
Using Op's example 500gp item;
Feat saves 125gp with no restrictions.
The optional rule gets close by using the trophy of a CR 2 creature at 120gp saved from cost. However, the item MUST have a requirement that meets the trophy's description. So the item has to have the evil descriptor to be applied from the heart of a CR 2 devil for example.
I'm not saying that the optional rules are bad. In fact when used in conjunction with the feat you can save a TON of gold (245gp in Op's example). but the feat has little to no restrictions compared to the rule, and the rule is optional and not guaranteed to be part of the campaign.
Edit: It should be noted that trophy's do not need to be preserved per the rules which is a neat benefit when compared to the feat.
There are tieflings that get the humanoid type, same with Aasimar. You can also of course become a human with plant or fey-looking features. All assuming you can ignore needing to first find a existing creature that matches you intended appearance and then acquiring one or multiple parts of them.
Under the Polymorph rules:
Polymorph wrote:
Unless otherwise noted, polymorph spells cannot be used to change into specific individuals. Although many of the fine details can be controlled, your appearance is always that of a generic member of that creature's type. Polymorph spells cannot be used to assume the form of a creature with a template or an advanced version of a creature.
Bolded the relevant part. A generic Human has no fey or plant-based features. You don't get to look like anything other than a basic version of a creature with the Humanoid type as described in the book. I would argue you can decide the hair, skin, eye color and some subtle facial features to match the ethnicity of the area, but even then they MUST be within the generic aspects of a human.
Though,
I would allow the tiefling and Aasimar humanoid but at that point they have no noticeable physical details that differentiate them from a human/their base race.
Tiefling Pass for Human wrote:
These tieflings have otherworldly features that are so subtle, they aren’t often noticed unless the tiefling points them out (for example, eyes that flash red in the throes of passion, or fingernails that are naturally hard and pointed).
Regardless, the main point is that nearly all polymorph spells and abilities limit you to only looking like a "normal" "generic" version of that creature. And regardless of eschew materials or the like, you can still only choose options that share the listed type, Humanoid in the case of Alter Self. You unfortunately don't get to "build a Humanoid" and look like some exotic alien pretending to be that Humanoid.
Price is the total amount of currency needed to purchase a complete item. Cost is half the price of a complete item and is only spent when crafting. Given that the feat mentions that you can only use it for a quarter of the cost when crafting then it seems pretty self explanatory to me.
That makes a lot of sense, thank you!
Are those two things formally defined anywhere, or is that mostly coming from context in the way Paizo material uses those two words?
I don't understand the purpose of this feat, it gives you the ability to do something you can already do as part of the normal trophy rules but now it adds the limitation that you can't use it for all of the material costs.
It saves you 25% of the cost in raw materials. In OP's example the cost is 500gp.
Without the feat you pay 500gp then begin crafting.
With the feat you can use 125GP in harvested parts and only pay 375gp.
The amount saved becomes much more noticeable the higher the cost of the item obviously but that's how it works.
When you cast this spell, you can assume the form of any Small or Medium creature of the humanoid type. If the form you assume has any of the following abilities, you gain the listed ability: darkvision 60 feet, low-light vision, scent, and swim 30 feet.
You can become anything that has the Humanoid type. So you can become an Elf or a Gnome, but not a Tiefling, a faye or an Aasimar.
Price is the total amount of currency needed to purchase a complete item. Cost is half the price of a complete item and is only spent when crafting. Given that the feat mentions that you can only use it for a quarter of the cost when crafting then it seems pretty self explanatory to me.
Infinite universe, infinite possibilities. Who is to say that said invented creature doesn't happen to actually exist or doesn't meet the qualifications of "humanoid creature"? Plus there's things with mixed types like human-looking outsider races which are even more wildly varying than just all the normal humanoids. Also as the only abilities you can even acquire are low-light vision, scent, darkvision 60ft, and swim 30ft, I doubt you will be able to invent things that really break the spell, especially as plenty of humanoid types have all four of them and you can just become that.
Again, it's a mostly fluff mechanical feature.
If that is how you and your table want to play your game that's fine. But suggesting something that is not rules legal in the rules discussion thread isn't very helpful.
A bit of thread necromancy because I have questions about the utility of the Cloak of the Manta Ray... It specifically tells you what bonuses you get (which don't match BS II) and doesn't mention a bunch of limitations which you perhaps inherit as a polymorph effect
1) Can you speak when transformed? I think this is a no because of Beast Shape II... (This would be a major negative as it negates much spellcasting ability and skills, even if you can free your hands.)
2) What happens with your gear (BS II has it absorbed and non-functional)? You can free your hands, does your gear come with them? Assume a sword and board fighter type with a breastplate for armor, when he frees his hands does he have a) his sword, b) his shield, c) neither?
My closest interpretation:
1) No, unfortunately, as the manta ray does not naturally have the ability to speak.
2) I would rule that anything you were holding at the time of transformation would still be held after releasing them. Though it should be noted that attacks underwater would have to follow the rules of underwater combat.
I did it wrong then; I allowed the rogue to take a full attack action on her readied action, so 2 attacks instead of just one as it should've been by RAW. The reason she readied on the Pin instead of setting up a Flank is because the AC penalty to the undead was pretty high when pinned (-4 AC vs a +2 flanking bonus) so she wanted the maximum chance to hit.
Otherwise though it sounds like the grapple part was right. The monk can grapple adjacent, pin with greater grapple, then after the readied action can release the grapple as a free action and 5' step into that flank.
I only started questioning myself in all this when my monk player emailed, said he was looking for a feat to keep his AC while pinning foes so he didn't have to always do the free action thing. I told him Grabbing Style was the way to go next level, but then I started rethinking this whole combat round. Thanks for the clarifications!
The only other issue I see is what bbangerter stated that Grappling does not cause creatures to share a space, but causes them to become adjacent to each other. You can move a creature into a valid space after a successful maintained grapple, but the only creatures you can move into your space as part of a grapple would be those that are 2 sizes or more smaller than you, or if you are both at least small. So the Rogue would have had to move into range before the pinned condition occurred.
On to the monk and not gaining the Grappled condition, the best way I know is a single level dip into White Haired Witch. They have to use Int instead of strength to perform the grapple, but they will gain all other bonuses from feats.
Functionally, both the Dwarven War-Shield and the Klar are very similar... both have entries in the Shields and the Weapons sections on AoN. For ease of use and in an effort to reduce table variation... I would rule both the same.
I understand that the Klar includes the descriptive lines that say it counts as a light shield with shield spikes... and the Dwarven War-Shields lack this rather important piece in their description. But if it walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck...
light and heavy shields also have a weapon section. (they are martial weapons). some classes that spec in shield fighting have them as both the shield proficiency and the weapon proficiency.
there are more birds in the pound then only ducks, just saying..
Light and heavy shields have different damage values and are counted as different categories of weapons… light shields are light martial weapons that deal 1d3 (1d4 with spikes) damage, heavy shields are one-handed martial weapons that deal 1d4 (1d6 with spikes) damage…
That said… a klar has the weapon stats of a spiked heavy shield with the shield stats of a light shield… one-handed martial deals 1d6 damage… but it explicitly counts as a light shield…
Dwarven war shields are in an odd spot for their weapon block… light exotic weapon deals 1d6 damage with light shield defensive stats.
The Klar actually raises some questions...
It states that it counts a as a light shield with "Armor Spikes". Do they mean shield spikes?
The Dwarven War-Shield also says it can't benefit from shield spikes, but what if the intent was that its just a light shield that behaves as though it already has shield spikes by default?
Regardless, I still classify it as a light shield since it is in the light weapons category and I see not reason a light weapon that can be used as a shield isn't also a light shield.
Edit: looked around on the forums and found this page where the creator of the item commented on it. I guess it just isn't a heavy or light shield and just is a shield...
I'd rule they operate like light shields as they are labeled light weapons. There isn't anything explicitly saying so, but given that the light steel shield is treated like a light weapon for shield bash, I have no reason to believe it doesn't work the other way around.
The FAQ states that a 'Mounted Charge' is when both mount and rider takes the charge action. But it also brings up the example of when only the mount charges, which means it is possible.
"Note that a "mounted charge" is synonymous with a "charge while mounted," and that when a lance is "when used from the back of a charging mount" it is during a mounted charge not when only the mount charges."
So we could potentially have three different charges going on.
Both charge: Counts as a 'Mounted Charge' for effects such as Spirited Charge and the Lance's special ability.
Only rider charges: Not very intuitive, but Ride-By Attack is such an example. It doesn't actually allow the mount to attack and has been clarified as such from designer input.
Only mount charges: Mount benefits from charging just as if the rider wasn't there. Pounce triggers, the AC penalty is applied. The rider does not take any penalties or benefits from charging (note that this is a direct change to the original rules).
===
So if you had Mounted Skirmisher, and your mount pounces but doesn't move more than its speed, you are (both) allowed to take a full-attack.
A mounted charge is a charge that both you and your mount make. The rules for pounce are that they can make all attacks as part of a charge. The rules for charge are that without pounce or some other similar ability you can only make a single attack, though mounted charge doubles the damage you deal on a successful hit.
Given the information above, since you are also charging when a mount charges, and charge is a specific full round action, then unfortunately no you cannot make a full attack using Mounted Skirmisher as part of a charge.
At least that's how I interpret it. Anyone else have two cents to give?
It says use once per day and that you can't use it if the plan fund is empty. You can use is once again after you have replenished it.
Therefore, I posit that my first statement is correct. :)
The feat says that if you run out of funds OR weight then you need to replenish the fund to use it again. That implies to me at least that if one is emptied then both are gone.
Edit: unless you're arguing that you can use it multiple times? That isn't in contention, you can use it once per day until you run out of weight or funds. The question is what happens to any leftover weight and money if you use all of one or the other.
Ohh doh. I was arguing that.
I guess that way then the left over weight or gold is lost. I think that's fair. :)
Not being able to touch you is revoked if you make attack against such a creature so if you attacked it at any point that bit doesn't apply anymore. Regardless it only protects you from getting attacked with natural attacks by such creatures.
Dragon kick states that this movement provokes AoO as normal but that isn't important in your scenario. Moving through an opponents space also prevents AoO by that creature. DC = 5+opponents CMD. Moving through an opponents space allows you to only move at half your speed and Dragon kick requires that you make an attack at the end of your movement so you need to keep that in mind as well, or increase the DC by 10 to move at full speed and reach someone else you can attack.
In fact, in order to move straight though a large creature using this method you NEED to make that DC(5+CMD+10) as you don't have the movement to finish outside its space. Unless you move into one corner and then immediately out, then you must attack that large creature, breaking your protection from its attacks.
If you fail the check your movement ends, the opponent gets a free AoO on you, and then you must attack an adjacent creature. If you havent attacked that creature and it isn't using a weapon then it's AoO means nothing, but you are forced to break your protection from it after because of Dragon Kicks effects.
It says use once per day and that you can't use it if the plan fund is empty. You can use is once again after you have replenished it.
Therefore, I posit that my first statement is correct. :)
The feat says that if you run out of funds OR weight then you need to replenish the fund to use it again. That implies to me at least that if one is emptied then both are gone.
Edit: unless you're arguing that you can use it multiple times? That isn't in contention, you can use it once per day until you run out of weight or funds. The question is what happens to any leftover weight and money if you use all of one or the other.
Rather than losing all of the leftover gold it sounds reasonable to just spend it at something valuable but lightweight.
So you've managed to procure 19 lbs of items over a couple of days, leaving 185 gp in your brilliant plan fun. Luckily you knew you needed an I.O.U. note for 185 gp from Bob the trader. Or for some reason exactly 0,37 lbs of Mithral which as a Trade Good is sold at full price.
I know that my interpretation isn't that detrimental, I just need to convince my friend of that. An alternative is also to just put in the amount you think you realistically need instead of the max you are allowed to.
Not sure that spell casting services are legal. It specifies a mundane service, and spell casting including alchemists' extracts are magic, not mundane.
Could it be argued that since Alchemsits are not spell casters could we even use the spell casting services for this calculation to begin with?
Ah, well regardless using the leftover gold for potions that are needed is still valuable in and of itself, if not just a bit more expensive.
I read "replenish your brilliant plan fund." as completing resetting both values from zero, regardless of what was left over from the previous plan.
Surely you don't carry over weight allowance, as the weight allowance for your brilliant plan uses part of your carrying capacity.
Gold spent on setting it up is possibly spent on potential services, material that can spoil, and other stuff that would not be available or usable the next day.
Probably, one of the most useful things would be alchemist spellcasting services. An infusion would cost 10 gp x SL x CL and have weight very little.
If at the end of the day you have leftover money value and a bit of weight allowance, a CLW infusion will cost 10 gp. Endure elements the same, and the effect will last 24 hours. So you could pull out a few infusions to use up all the money and avoid the bitter taste of wasted money.
Sorry for the delayed response. Thanks for the input, This is how I view it as well. Didn't even consider the Alchemist angle, which is actually pretty useful.
A friend and I are in a disagreement on how the leftover aspects of the Brilliant Planner feat works after meeting its gold/weight quota. Specifically the end of the feat.
"Once you have spent all the money in your brilliant plan fund or procured 20 pounds of objects with this feat, you cannot use the feat again until you replenish your brilliant plan fund."
What happens to the leftover gold if you use all the weight? What happens to the weight after you use all the gold? Does it just disappear into the ether, or does the left over stay as part of the next fund?
There's nothing that prevents them from stacking, nor is there a global cap*. Thus, answer C is correct. Of course, enhancement bonuses don't stack, and going by this FAQ, you can't profit from the same enchantment twice on any given attack. So, if for example you have a +4 flaming SoMF, and a +1 flaming shocking weapon, with GWS, you end up with +4 flaming shocking on any natural attack.
This isn't the only instance where you can get two sets of weapon enchantments - projectile weapons with magic ammunition did that since the dawn of time Pathfinder.
*) "A single weapon cannot have a modified bonus (enhancement bonus plus special ability bonus equivalents, including from character abilities and spells) higher than +10." CRB pg. 468, emphasis mine.
Alright thanks for the clarity! I didn't want to just make assumptions without any clear answer and I didn't think to compare the example to how bows and arrows work.
I'm just wondering how to parse out the interactions between the feat Improved Weapon Shift, and the item Amulet of Mighty Fists (Linked below). I searched the internet but came up with only one other question on Reddit that didn't really get an answer.
Assuming a Wild shaped Druid with AoMF+5, and a Scythe* +1/+9 abilities, how would this work given that weapons cannot have more than a total of +10 enhancement bonus equivalence?
Would they:
A) only get one of the benefits and have to choose between the +5 Amulet and the +10* weapon?
B) just choose which weapon properties they gain between the +5 Amulet and the +9 weapon benefits until they get to a max of +10?
C) Gain the +5 and all +9 benefits circumventing the cap with the Feat as a result of specific trumping general?
For clarity, I'm fairly certain that even if both the Amulet and the Weapon have the Flaming property, you would only get the property once. And with the feat Greater Weapon Shift the +5 and +1 don't stack and you just gain the +5, as that just makes sense to me. Though I suppose I could be wrong?
If anything doesn't make sense please let me know and I'll try to clarify,
unless the item produces an actual spell effect (like a wand), then there is no spell resistance, if it did, it would be in the description of the item or the items effect.
So does that apply to items like the kimono listed above? It creates something similar to the spell effect, but is it the spell?
This came up in a session the other night and I'd like to get a clear answer. What determines whether a Magic items abilities are subject to Spell Resistance?
Primarily, I have been under the assumption that all effects created my magic items are Spell or Spell-Like effects which would be subject to Spell Resistance (Unless otherwise noted). This has since been brought into question and now I would like to know if there is a strict answer or guideline to determine this. OR if I will have to just come to my own conclusion.
Was looking for demoralize actually not intimidate...
You Demoralize by using Intimidate. Unless you mean the spell Demoralize? Regardless, the feat Cornugan Smash let's you Intimidate as a free action when you hit with a Power Attack, and taking all four of the Damnation feats lets you do so as a swift and can actually increase the fear affects to higher levels.
From what I can tell, not really. The Oozemorph, while an interesting idea is usually met with a lot of backlash because of how weak it's considered to be which turns a lot of people away from it. As a result, not a lot has been done with it.
The same thing can be seen with any of the Drake Archetypes. Anyone requesting help with a build is almost always told to play something else without any constructive process.
As for what you want to do with Create Ooze, this is what I came up with for determining cost, but it could be wrong so feel free to share your conclusions.
For cost, I came to the conclusion that it should be calculated as half CR rounded down, multiplied by 100, multiplied by Craft DC.
So Gelatinous Cube with CR 3 is 1 x 100 x 16.
This is how it works for the first three examples. Then for some reason they follow the same equation, but add an arbitrary 900 gold on top of it.
Ochre Jelly has a CR of 5 so the math is (2 x 100 x 20) + 900.
Deathtrap Ooze (CR 8) has a the same cost as magma Ooze and Black Pudding (CR 7), despite having a higher DC and CR so I don't even know what they were thinking with that. But it goes immediately back to the normal equation + 900 for the next example.
If anyone can tell me where the extra 900 gold comes in I'd appreciate it but that's what I came up with.
Edit: Edited because I listed the some wrong info.
For Asmodeus, you get the Hell Hound a spell level early, possibly two levels, but I think that's a typo. The bearded devil is the only redundant one. Not sure if that was a mistake. It was probably supposed to be a spell level earlier.
In the Player Companion Monster Summoner's handbook Hell Hound is marked at SM 3rd, Bearded Devil and Cerberi are both marked at SM 5th.
Just wondering cause I can't find anything on it. Some creatures on a Unique Summon list for deities also appear on the Summon Monster list normally. As an example, Asmodeus allows Hell hound and Bearded Devil, but both are already on the list on Archives of Nethys.
Does this mean:
1. you can summon them regardless.
2. You still have to worship Asmodeus and they are on the list in error.
3. It lists them but it behaves like spells granted by deities, where they still appear on
the list but don't give access without the proper deity.
I agree with Firebug (for the most part): Cherry Blossom is not a proper bonus and therefore it is not doubled.
However, I think the "other feat sentence" is not a reference to a feat other than the applied metamagic feat, but to a feat other than the feat Spell Perfection itself.
Ok yea that's what i thought but I wanted to make sure I was understanding what qualifies as a "Bonus" in Pathfinder rather than just come to my own conclusion.
Is the Ability Damage from Cherry Blossom doubled by the affect of Spell Perfection?
I don't know if the extra damage is considered a Bonus or not.
Thanks in advance!
I have a player that has received an intelligent item tied to their character story whom they have taken as a cohort. I already have everything figured out based on the items abilities except I can't find an answer for a few questions involving the Cohort abilities the item can receive, all of which will determine the price of the item and its ego.
The first question is the cohorts Called ability. I'm assuming that it boosts the items enhancement bonus by +1 increasing its price, ego, and the cost to enhance the weapon as the Called weapon ability is strictly "called" out, but I'm uncertain.
Second, similar to Called, the Empathic cohort ability's third investment is treated as the spell Telepathic Bond, but does it increase ego as per the weapons communication table?
Lastly I suppose I should just ask if Perfection increases it's ego as well. As I read it yes it should but perhaps I've missed something?
Intelligent Item Cohort Abilities:
Called: The item gains the called magical weapon special ability. This functions identically for an item of any kind, not just weapons. Each time the character selects this advancement after the first, the range of the ability increases by 1 step on the following progression: 1 mile, 100 miles, anywhere on the same plane, anywhere on any plane.
Empathic: The item establishes a permanent empathic link with its owner as the familiar ability of the same name. If the character selects this advancement a second time, the bond strengthens to provide the benefits of a permanent status spell between item and master. If selected a third time, the advancement provides the character and item the benefit of a permanent telepathic bond. It selected four times, this advancement grants the character the ability to scry on his companion, as per the scry on familiar ability. If the character selects this advancement a fifth time, both the character and item gain the ability to cast discern location as a spell-like ability once per day, only to find each other.
Indestructible: The item’s hardness increases by 1, its hit points increase by 3, and it gains a permanent +1 bonus on its saving throws. If the character selects this advancement multiple times, these effects stack.
Perfection: The item gains a +1 inherent bonus to one ability score. If the character selects this advancement multiple times and selects the same ability score, the inherent bonuses from this advancement stack.
Any advice or FAQ would be appreciated, and I am open to alternative solutions/rulings though I would prefer to stay as in rules as possible.
I have moved the one item that was holding up the order to its own order. I have waived the shipping on that other item so that your shipping costs will be the same despite the delay. The rest of the order can ship right away. If you have any questions or concerns, please let us know. Thank you!
I have a large order being held up by "Back Ordered Products". Is there any way I can figure out which items those are and have them moved to a separate order? Or, in the worst case, can I remove them from the order?