Jal Dorak wrote:Free actions can only be taken when you can normally act, which means not during another's turn.
Where do you find this rule? It might well be the intent, but it should be clarified. "Speak," at least, is a free action that can be used even when it's not your turn.
By definition an "action" is something you do on your normal turn. Things like immediate actions contain exceptions to this rule and non-normal rounds like surprise rounds specifically state what actions can be available as an exception to the action definition as well. In the case of "Speak" it also contains the exception:
Speak: In general, speaking is a free action that you can perform even when it isn’t your turn. Speaking more than few sentences is generally beyond the limit of a free action.
The SRD makes specific note of the exception that speaking can be performed when it isn't your turn.