Captain Josper Creesy

Ferka's page

Goblin Squad Member. Organized Play Member. 51 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 9 Organized Play characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 51 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Shadow Lodge

Yeah, rules seem pretty clear on this one. Most people trying to pull shenanigans with this want to add bonuses for the substituted skill on top of the perform bonus. The DM would be right to shut that down. But the RAW is “When you make a skill check, you roll 1d20 and then add your ranks and the appropriate ability score modifier to the result of this check. If the skill you're using is a class skill (and you have invested ranks into that skill), you gain a +3 bonus on the check... Skills can be further modified by a wide variety of sources—by your race, by a class ability, by equipment, by spell effects or magic items, and so on." A DM can of course make house rules, but there ought to be a reason, and it shouldn’t be a surprise to a player on a major class ability.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think your original inclination is right. The homunculus probably is not living, therefore is not a valid target for the spell. This is not clearly stated in the description, nor in the Construct creature type rules, but is strongly implied in the latter. Constructs share many key traits solely with the only other non-living creature type, undead. No healing, resurrection, CON score, etc. They are destroyed, not killed.

That said, if you are playing in a home game, it sounds fun, and isn’t a gateway to some game-breaking power move, why not?

Shadow Lodge

There is also this rule. Double Movement Cost
When your movement is hampered in some way, your movement usually costs double.

Still in GM interpretation-land, but it does seem to me that the RAI is that you couldn’t take a 5’ step if entangled.

Shadow Lodge

It’s unclear to me what the RAW Is in this case, but allowing a character to save tens of thousands of gp by combining the two items doesn’t seem quite right to me. That’s the rough price difference between adding the extra abilities to the Amulet and having them on the Body Wrap.

Shadow Lodge

Thanks, gnoams, I agree that different methods can work better for different cases. Some folks are math challenged, so that auto tool comes in handy for them. Saved a DM buddy of mine last night :) I was doing the math for him when I noticed the auto tool. Both gave good results, although the map I was doing for him was one of those annoying cave maps that didn’t have the grid across the whole map sheet. Thanks for all your advice!

Shadow Lodge

The above was great, but led me to accidentally find a tool that takes away the need to do math at all:

--Drop your map onto the map layer
--Zoom in on a 3x3 square area of your map so you can be precise in the next steps  
--Right click on your map.
--Click on 'advanced'.
--Click on 'align to grid'.
--A text box will open up.  Leave this text box open for now.
--Follow the instructions to highlight the 3x3 square of your map.
--A dialogue box will pop up with info re your square size.  Probably worth making sure that your squares' dimensions are equal (eq X by X, not X by Y), assuming your map is reasonably well drawn.
--Click on "align to grid!" Your map squares should now be the same size as the Roll20 grid.
--Alt click and drag your map to line it up on the grid, as necessary.

Voila!

Shadow Lodge

The Gamers Live folks (Zombie Orpheus Entertainment) do a twisted, audience participation version of Pathfinder. Pretty funny stuff.

Shadow Lodge

YouR build is interesting and different from the dorn dergar characters I’ve seen! A couple of additional thoughts:

I think Power attack is required for the Cut from Air chain too, unless you have some way to bypass that requirement.

What is your stat array like? You’re going to need Str, Dex, Con, and maybe Wis. The last especially if you don’t do the usual Steel Soul. your other magic counters don’t kick in until mid-game.

Good luck!

Shadow Lodge

Senko wrote:
MrCharisma wrote:

Yup, but assuming the average bar there wouldn't be many (and I thought we weren't giving the PCs IUS).

Also this might be a good reason to pick up a chair and use it as an improvised weapon. -4 to hit, but you can take AoOs.

Yep anything like that was excluded because if you build for unarmed combat of course you'll be good at unarmed combat. I'm interested in looking at the ones who are skilled adventurers but not built for unarmed combat. How well do they do if put into a general brawl like the ones you see on movies where everyones fighting everyone else but not seriously trying to kill anyone.

Ah, I see it now. I misread this sentence: "For the purposes of this discussion consider a non-monk specced to fight unarmed (e.g. improved unarmed feat) to be included in the class along with hybrid classes like Brawlers."

I didn’t catch that "include in the class" meant "equate to monk". And then glossed over the next sentence too :) I’ll read more carefully next time.

Shadow Lodge

MrCharisma wrote:
Mark Hoover 330 wrote:
Without Improved Unarmed all of these attacks provoke AoO's as well.
True, but if nobody is armed then nobody can take AoOs, so it's a moot point.

Except those who have Improved Unarmed Strike are considered armed. Doesn’t that mean they would get those AoOs? Paired with combat reflexes, that would be a huge advantage.

Shadow Lodge

AVR is 100% correct. Perhaps ask the DM if other spells can be disrupted after casting is complete, but before discharge. Such as every Symbol or Glyph spell in his dungeons...

Shadow Lodge

Garzag wrote:

Heyho,

i am struggeling with the wording of wall of force, maybe since im not a native speaker, but what does "Effect wall whose area is up to one 10-ft. square/level" mean exactly?

Can i create a rectancle around me of 10*90, or 20*40, 30*30?
Or is the Wall 10ft high and 10ft wide, so i could create a wall, which is 10high and 90ft long or 20ft high and 40ft long?

Your second answer is correct. From the text in the description:

’The caster can form the wall into a flat, vertical plane whose area is up to one 10-foot square per level.‘

So it is one single plane (a flat surface) that is vertical with surface area of dimensions up to the limits described.

Shadow Lodge

Blasphemy has the [sonic] descriptor, which means that it even affects deafened creatures, per the magic section of the PRD. That suggests that plugging your ears with your fingers or earplugs isn’t going to help. The way this is explained in the rules is that sonic spells cover a wide range of frequencies, and so aren’t generally blocked by such measures.

Shadow Lodge

Potions are inexpensive and you can use them by yourself. Is there any pattern to how you die, that you could counter by using different tactics or by getting magic items to protect against specific kinds of threats that kill you most often? Can you get a henchman or hire an NPC to help protect you while you shoot at the enemy?

Shadow Lodge

Egeslean05 wrote:

Huh, neither my GM or I ever considered that possibility. We both thought of it as separate from the weapon damage rolls. It would simplify it though.

Thanks Blahpers.

I agree, it’s bonus damage to the strike, similar to applying STR or enchantment bonuses. Add it all up (base damage plus bonuses) and apply the DR once to the total.

Shadow Lodge

Per the PRD, Total Concealment prevents the AoO. Same is true for cover.

"You can't execute an attack of opportunity against an opponent with total concealment, even if you know what square or squares the opponent occupies."

Shadow Lodge

I generally call for initiative once at least one party is aware of the other. Otherwise, how do you know which side opens the door? There ought to be times where the baddies don’t just sit there and wait to be victimized by PC murder hobos. This also allows for things like the readied attacks that you mentioned. If they haven’t yet gone in the initiative turn, then they can’t have readied attacks, after all.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You are probably remembering the ability to take a 5’ Step as part of a readied attack. That is explicitly allowed in the rule (look in the combat section of the CRB.) I’m not aware of any such provision for AoOs. Btw, AoOs aren’t an immediate action, but rather are their own thing.

Shadow Lodge

The full round action is on your turn, but the immediate actions from Saving Shield and the like typically will occur on someone else’s turn. So that is totally legit. Note that you can use free and swift actions even on your turn when you use a full round action too.

Shadow Lodge

You have to choose, and the weapon needs at least a +1 enchantment bonus to add any special abilities on top of. So to add Igniting, you’ll need to pay for a +3 equivalent in total. Here’s the relevant text from the prd:

Some magic weapons have special abilities. Special abilities count as additional bonuses for determining the market value of the item, but do not modify attack or damage bonuses (except where specifically noted). A single weapon cannot have a modified bonus (enhancement bonus plus special ability bonus equivalents, including those from character abilities and spells) higher than +10. A weapon with a special ability must also have at least a +1 enhancement bonus. Weapons cannot possess the same special ability more than once.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Gotta have water walking. Condition removal spells, cure disease, remove curse, create food and water (fishes and loaves). Is there a water to wine spell?

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If you are already part of the hunt, there are a million ways to slow them down and derail the hunt. Bad mushrooms in the cook pot; you eat them too, to avoid suspicion. Everyone gets sick and either goes home or delays the hunt. Be clumsy and make a racket as you approach the lair. Volunteer to scout ahead, and cruelly warn the dragon. That sort of thing. Not as extreme as killing the nobles, so less likely to result in you being banished or worse. Just don’t get caught...

Shadow Lodge

Hrothgar Rannúlfr wrote:

Hi, everyone.

1. I just want to confirm that a Monk's AC Bonus would stack with the Draconic Bloodline Sorcerer's Draconic Resilience natural armor bonus?

I'm thinking yes, because they are different types of bonuses.

2. If such a character were to somehow gain the ability to apply a different ability modifier to armor class, would that stack with the Monk's Wisdom bonus to armor class, too?

You are right re the bonuses to AC stacking, because they are different types. I think that the answer to your second question is yes too, but don't have a rules cite to prove it.

Also, just because I'm guessing you are combining these two classes to make a powerful melee guy, remember that per the PRD: "A monk with natural weapons cannot use such weapons as part of a flurry of blows, nor can he make natural attacks in addition to his flurry of blows attacks."

Shadow Lodge

Morag the Gatherer wrote:

I'm working on a home brew in which the PCs work for various patrons in Absalom as grunts in the "Shadow War" that the powerful wage in that city.

I want to play a drow who knows she'll be a target if anyone realizes what she is so she disguises herself as the normal elf version of herself.
When she arrives at 1st level in addition to putting points into disguise, she has the trait "Keeper of the Veil" trait set to disguise and a disguise kit. This gives her 13 for her disguise skill.
As soon as she can afford it (1600 gold)she'll buy a "False Face mask" and set it to a fair skinned blonde version of herself giving her over 20 for disguise.
I don't intend for her to be a magic class so what are some other ways for her to keep her identity a secret.

Morag

For 1800gp you can get a hat of disguise and do the same thing with no roll. http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/wondrous-items/wondrous-items/h-l/hat-o f-disguise/

Shadow Lodge

IfritSlasher wrote:
Gisher wrote:
CRB wrote:

Immediate Actions

Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time—even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.

Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.

So you can't use both during your turn. You can use a Swift Action during your turn, then an Immediate Action after your turn, but then you can't use either type until after your next turn.
Question is though, does Deadly Critical count as being on your turn or after it?

Per the quoted text above, it depends on when you make the hit that is a critical. If that critical hit occurs during your turn, then the immediate action is on your turn and counts as a swift action. If the critical hit occurred when it wasn't your turn, such as on an attack of opportunity, then it would be an immediate action. Either way, you wouldn't be able to use it again until your next turn.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You would have to apply the oil to the target creature(s), which would be inefficient at best. It takes a full round to use an oil on a single unconscious target. How would you get it on an unwilling, conscious target?

Shadow Lodge

Each box of pawns has a logo and numbering system with the critters in alphabetical order. I put them into bags in groups of 10, based on the numbering system, with the numbers marked on each baggie in sharpie. Then you just look them up on the back of the box, find the baggie you need, and pull out the critter. You can store them in the original boxes that way. Not perfect, but simple and cheap.

Shadow Lodge

Zarius wrote:
So, I'm planning to make a weapon out of a high hardness, but low-as-heck HP (20 hardness, 5 hp), and I'm looking for ways to protect it. I know about the Impervious enchantment that can be put on it, and I fully intend to slap that on as soon as I can. But there's gotta be other things I can do that I'm just not finding. Any ideas?

Bladeguard is 40gp and protects against some nasty effects. Lasts for 24 hours, so it is easy to apply ahead of time. Saved my magic adamantine dorn dergar at least twice.

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/ultimateEquipment/gear/alchemicalRemedie s.html

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
VisionTron wrote:

I apologize if this question has been answered already, but I couldn't find it if it was. I am surprised it isn't, given the plethora of discussion regarding whether or not Bane stacks with itself.

Both the Furious and Bane abilities increase the weapon's enhancement bonus under different circumstances - do these increases stack if both circumstances are met? Such as a raging Barbarian with a +1 Furious Bane(Monstrous Humanoids) Greatsword fighting a Minotaur - would that Greatsword have an effective enhancement bonus of +3 or +5?

Bonuses of the same kind (in this case enhancement bonuses) do not stack. There are a few exceptions, but this isn't one of the them. From the PRD:

Stacking: Stacking refers to the act of adding together bonuses or penalties that apply to one particular check or statistic. Generally speaking, most bonuses of the same type do not stack. Instead, only the highest bonus applies. Most penalties do stack, meaning that their values are added together. Penalties and bonuses generally stack with one another, meaning that the penalties might negate or exceed part or all of the bonuses, and vice versa.

Shadow Lodge

Talcrion wrote:

I gotta disagree Eleclipse, while I like what you are going for, you can't expect your players to have the kind of stats your characters are going to have, sure the PLAYER worded it badly, but his CHARACTER would have said it in a much more tactful and elegant manner.

Let's face it your players are average goons who probally have a 10 or 11 in charisma, expecting them to be able to sweet talk folks as if they had a 35 charisma is no more likely than the 10-11 int players being able to solve puzzles like a 35 int mage.

It's not a reasonable expectation of the player. In your example I'd suggest taking the basic jist of the message "you can trust us to safeguard it" and the natural 20 would be a reflection of how well the character actually sells the idea.

Yeah, not everyone is a master storyteller. You're the GM and presumably a pretty good storyteller if you are running this kind of campaign. So when your PC (whose player can't on the fly conjure up the Gettyburg address) says "you can trust us to safeguard it", have your NPC repeat it back to the character in a more engaging way that fits with the storyline you have in mind. "Oh yeah, that way I wouldn't end up like Zargon the Nearly Magnificent, who tried to keep everything of value hidden under his mattress but lost it all to the malign agents of the Nightstalkers Guild."

Shadow Lodge

jquest716 wrote:
So in my campaign my barbarian has gotten a large broadcasted from a recently dead hill giant. Now he wants to use it as his main weapon, he completely understand the negatives he takes but wants to know would he have reach when using the weapon because it is larger then normal. So does he gain reach when using it?

I don't think so. There are rules for creature size extending reach and reach weapons extending reach, but I couldn't find anything that suggested that weapon size itself affects reach. So assuming "broadcasted" from your original post was supposed to be "broadsword", then as a non-reach weapon, the outsized broadsword wouldn't extend your reach. It would be worth searching the rules forum and FAQ to see if others have asked similar questions and gotten different answers.

Shadow Lodge

cub149 wrote:
I want to make a character in Pathfinder but I can't afford the beginner box/materials. Anyone know of a guide or something on getting started? I've played a little bit of D&D 3.5, so I'm not totally blind, I just need something to explain how to make a character in Pathfinder.

You can get the PDF of the rules for just $10 here (along with free mini-adventures, etc.): http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/products/beginnerbox

All the basic rules are also available for free online as part of the Pathfinder reference document: http://paizo.com/prd/

And another version can be found here: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/

Enjoy!

Shadow Lodge

Remy Balster wrote:

Amulet of Natural Armor

"This amulet, usually containing some type of magically preserved monster hide or other natural armor—such as bone, horn, carapace, or beast scales—toughens the wearer’s body and flesh, giving him an enhancement bonus to his natural armor from +1 to +5, depending on the kind of amulet."

Sweet! And enchancement to a bonus my character doesn't have! I guess these things don't work for most characters.

See how it says "his natural armor"? Standard races don't have natural armor. So how... pray tel... does a character get any benefit from wearing one of these amulets?

Do you think, maybe, that we just consider his 'effective' natural armor bonus to be +0?

Wouldn't the 'effective' flanking bonus of all noneligible attacks be +0? Of course it is.

Default rules for flanking gives a +2 to melee attacks when you flank. All other attack rolls have an 'effective' +0 flanking bonus. because they don't get the +2...

Insert specific Feat text which always trumps general: "your flanking bonus on attack rolls increases to +4."

And BAM, just like that, your attack rolls get a flanking bonus of +4.

This is RAW. If this isn't RAW... then Amulets of natural Armor provide no benefit if you didn't 'already' have a natural armor bonus. But that is rediculous, because we all know that they in fact do work, even if you don't have a natural armor bonus.

RAW for natural armor is this (from the Barkskin spell description): "A creature without natural armor has an effective natural armor bonus of +0."

Whereas there is no such text for an effective "flanking bonus on attack rolls" that I am aware of. I suppose you could make a logical case for it, but apparently not a RAW one.

Shadow Lodge

I know the original rules on favored class say the following:

Favored Class
Each character begins play with a single favored class of his choosing—typically, this is the same class as the one he chooses at 1st level. Whenever a character gains a level in his favored class, he receives either + 1 hit point or + 1 skill rank. The choice of favored class cannot be changed once the character is created, and the choice of gaining a hit point or a skill rank each time a character gains a level (including his first level) cannot be changed once made for a particular level. Prestige classes (see Prestige Classes) can never be a favored class.

However, this predates the retraining rules. Has anything changed the above to allow you to retrain your favored class and/or the bonus choices you make at each level?

Thanks!

Shadow Lodge

Thanks for the good ideas, all. I just found the Shrink Item spell too (3rd level Sorc/Wiz), which seems pretty cool.

Thanks!

Shadow Lodge

Hey is there a spell that lets you absorb a weapon into your body and then bring it out when you need it? My PC needs to infiltrate into a place where he can't wade in with heavy armor and weapons.

Shadow Lodge

DeathQuaker wrote:
Ferka wrote:

Not sure if this has been raised before, but from the RAW on Blindsense:

A creature with blindsense is STILL [emphasis added] denied its Dexterity bonus to Armor Class against attacks from creatures it cannot see.

To me, the use of "still" means that the ordinary condition is that you lose your Dex bonus against attacks from creatures you can't see (not just when they are "invisible".) So Total Concealment (officially, no line of sight) ought to qualify.

The wording of blindsense refers to the fact that normally, a creature with the blind condition loses Dex bonus to AC, as if everyone around it were invisible.

Actually, it isn't because it is "as if everyone around it were invisible", it explicitly says that it is because it can't see them. It's referring to the common sense explanation about how this is supposed to work, which unfortunately isn't clearly stated elsewhere. But at least here, it is RAW, which might help some folks who need things spelled out for them.

Shadow Lodge

Not sure if this has been raised before, but from the RAW on Blindsense:

A creature with blindsense is STILL [emphasis added] denied its Dexterity bonus to Armor Class against attacks from creatures it cannot see.

To me, the use of "still" means that the ordinary condition is that you lose your Dex bonus against attacks from creatures you can't see (not just when they are "invisible".) So Total Concealment (officially, no line of sight) ought to qualify.

Shadow Lodge

Re your second question, the answer is yes, since the Bloody Assault applies to all your melee weapon attacks until your next turn, and the Cleave attack qualifies. You take the -5 on the attack roll on the Cleave attack roll too, though.

Shadow Lodge

Victor Zajic wrote:

I needs some idea for what to call my Order of the Star(Cayden Cailean)'s horse companion.

So far I've only come up with the following
Hops
Sudds Mckenzie

And of course Draught or Draft

Shadow Lodge

Victor Zajic wrote:

I needs some idea for what to call my Order of the Star(Cayden Cailean)'s horse companion.

So far I've only come up with the following
Hops
Sudds Mckenzie

Ehk-Wine

Old Paint-Thinner
Palovino
Pint-O'
Pale Ale (with you as Pale Ale Rider)
Keg (but only if it is a pony)
Drinky (a play on Death's horse Binky from Terry Pratchett)
Silver Label (hi-ho)
Trojan
Sleipbeir (play on Odin's 8-legged steed)
Jigger (Trigger)
Rye-bald (Pie-bald)
Quick Straw MacGraw

Enjoy :)

Shadow Lodge

Diego Rossi wrote:


A will not attack as he has the wrong trigger.
The ready action trigger are specific and "when X in range" is very different from "when I get in range of X".

You can ready an action to attack "when B DD me in range of X", but at that point a delay action generally is better.

About the AOO thing I are even less convinced.
You aren't there when X start the action that trigger the AoO. What happen when X start the action is that B DD you, but at that point the action has already started and triggered the AoO.

The "readied action happen before the other action" happen up to a point, it is not a Magic the Gathering chain of interrupts (and those have been removed from the game in the later editions from what I hear).

I read the rules differently. The readied action is not triggered by an action, but by condition(s), per the CRB p203. The condition that was set above was "A is within reach", which is met after the DD so A gets his readied attack.

Similarly, the AoO is triggered by the casting of a spell, not by starting to cast (table 8-2 on p 183 of the CRB). So by my reading of RAW, A would get his AoO because X is casting when A arrives.

Also note that AoOs interrupt the normal sequence of events, and are resolved immediately after they are provoked (CRB p180). So in the above case, my reading of the RAW is that A would take his AoO before he took his readied attack.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Peter Kies wrote:
The rules for "flanking" say you only get it when making a "melee attack", not a "full attack"

Peter, in the flanking rules, the "melee attack" is used in the generic "hitting the guy with something you are holding in your hand" sense to make the distinction with ranged weapons (which you can't flank with without some special ability that makes an exception.) Otherwise it would say "attack action" to make clear that it is referring to the standard action. Granted, the language in the rulebooks is regrettably inconsistent, but that it the dominant usage.

For example, an attack of opportunity is not a standard action (attack). Yet it is described this way: "An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack..."

Similarly, consider the Power Attack rules: You can choose to take a –1 penalty on all melee attack rolls and combat maneuver checks to gain a +2 bonus on all melee damage rolls...and its effects last until your next turn. If "melee attack" meant standard action, there would be no need to specify "all rolls" or point out that its effects last beyond the end of the current turn.

Hope that helps!

Shadow Lodge

Garde Manger Guy wrote:

So my party is currently investigating the moathouse in Return to the Temple of Elemental Evil. (Retooled for PF) I'm playing a battle cleric of Gorum, although I am CG instead of CN.

The fighter of the party decided that he wanted to enter a room guarded by an Ogre skeleton, even though it didn't aggro when we opened the door.
The rest of the party did not. We're currently looking for the Cleric or Clerics in charge, not random monsters that aren't actively attacking us. We voted up or down to go in the room and he was the only one who wanted to go in.

The fighter ended up being grappled by our Monk (aided by our Gunslinger)when he attempted to go in and was told in no uncertain terms that if he went into the room that he was on his own. The rest of the party went out into the hallway before the fighter was released from the grapple.

He promptly entered the room with the Ogre. By the time the party retreated to the courtyard upstairs (to give us more room to fight the Skeleton) he was at one hp. Other members of the party were attacked by the Ogre and saved only by a combination of poor dice rolls by the DM and good buffs. The skeleton was defeated.

But the party was forced to retreat from the moathouse in part because of the increased spell consumption due to this fight and the fighter still being bloody after downing his two cure light potions. I told him "I refuse to heal your stupidity and lack of common sense." even though I had cures available before we rested for the night. I did offer long term care overnight, which was accepted. He is still bloody now as we are poised to head deeper into the moathouse.

In short the fighter acted against the wishes of the entire group. He displayed a complete lack of common sense, proper tactics (by going in alone and aggroing it back to us, and failure to listen to the will of the party.

Everyone seems to be fine with what happened (DM included), but I thought I would check with those of you who have experience with Gorum to see if this is...

Does the fighter have some special RP reason why he had to go into the room right then (eg sworn to kill all undead on sight)? If not, it was pretty stupid to endanger the mission by fighting it at that moment. Still, as was pointed out by others, you need him at least until you get back to town and find a new tank. Rather than withholding healing, you could take the cost of all resources expended (at going rates for spellcasting, for instance) out of his share of the loot. IMO, you guys didn't issue an ultimatum, the fighter did by forcing you to accept a fight that you didn't want to. He's lucky you didn't close and lock the door behind him and leave him like you said you would. Anyway, good luck sorting this in or out of character.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Kobold Cleaver wrote:
Finally, a kitten clawing 'cause it's scared is not going to go for blood, it's going to run away.

Unless it is a chaotic good cat, in which case it will claw you to ribbons, then go "oops, I did it again" ;)

Shadow Lodge

genesisknight wrote:

Ok.... Rays ARE weapons. Period. As are touches and manifested spell effects and unarmmed strikes and teeth and claws etc. and anything needing an attack roll. They are just not necessarily MANUFACTURED weapons which can be sundered and disarmmed etc.

Any spell that can be cast on ones natural weapons can be cast on a ray.
Funky but its more work to undo or make exceptions on the rule than it is to just allow wierd cases.

I agree. But how does this interact with damage resistance? If it is a weapon, DR should apply. Even worse for the ray shooter, by my reading of RAW, DR/magic would not be ignored by a magic ray because the weapon must specifically have an enhancement bonus to ignore the DR.

"Overcoming DR: Damage reduction may be overcome by ... magic weapons (any weapon with a +1 or higher enhancement bonus, not counting the enhancement from masterwork quality), ..."

Thoughts?

Shadow Lodge

hotsauceman wrote:

Ok, So +1 magic weapons give you a plus 1 roll on damage and attack rolls.

But Magic are Listed as better versions of masterwork weapons.
does this mean you actually get a +2 on the attack roll from the magic weapon and the masterwork part of it?

To answer your specific question with actual RAW, here's what the PRD says:

Masterwork Weapons

A masterwork weapon is a finely crafted version of a normal weapon. Wielding it provides a +1 enhancement bonus on attack rolls...All magic weapons are automatically considered to be of masterwork quality. The enhancement bonus granted by the masterwork quality doesn't stack with the enhancement bonus provided by the weapon's magic.

So the answer is no; you only get +1 on the attack roll because the two enhancement bonuses don't stack (as someone else previously said, but without providing the rule cite.)

Shadow Lodge

Mischief Mondragon wrote:
John Mark Batarseh wrote:


Also, don't you have to be 5th and 7th level to take those advanced Crane Style feats? That may be it, although I'm no monk expert.
As a Monk of Many Styles you can use your monk bonus feats to take any style feat you have the base style feat for, ignoring all other prereqs. So I used my first level human feat to take dodge, then my first level normal feat for Crane Style, monk bonus at 1st to take Crane Wing and 2nd level bonus to take Crane Riposte.

Sorry, I missed that in my quick skim of the rulebook. That is really cool, but still not broken to me. Of course, you have to play with your GM so his view is the one that counts :)

Shadow Lodge

Mischief Mondragon wrote:
AC is 18 when in crane style, no incorrectly stacked bonuses. Again it is likely the PFS constraints driving the tactics to some degree rather than a GM flaw on how the NPCs are behaving. I also tend to use the terrain pretty well to bottle neck the baddies so they have to get past me. However, there was a paladin that had 25 AC and was hitting like a truck that didn't cause the stir that my monk who hit much less like a truck made.

Yeah, AC 18 isn't out of line at all, even with the option to fight defensively at reduced penalties.

Shadow Lodge

John Mark Batarseh wrote:
What is your AC? Are you sure you aren't stacking bonuses that don't stack? Is the DM playing all monsters as stupid? If they can't hit you, intelligent bad guys should be killing your friends and against you be casting spells, using touch attacks, using ranged attacks from perches you can't reach, turning you against the party, etc., not continuing to swing at the guy they can't hit.

Also, don't you have to be 5th and 7th level to take those advanced Crane Style feats? That may be it, although I'm no monk expert.

1 to 50 of 51 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>