Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game

Starfinder


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Mummy's Mask FAQ

Last updated: April 21, 2017. Items updated in the past month are displayed in red.

Rules Questions

The Quick-Start Guide tells you to deal 3 boons to each location, but the boon stack only has enough to deal 2 cards to each.

It should tell you to deal 2 boons to each location.

Resolution: On page 1 of the Quick-Start Guide, in the first full paragraph of the second column, change "deal 3 boons to each location" to "deal 2 boons to each location."

posted | back to top


The rules for promo cards tell you not to add promo cards (other than ones that have the Owner trait and characters) until you begin the first chapter of the Adventure Path, but in Mummy's Mask, the B adventure is part of the Adventure Path. Does that mean we can use all promos starting with the B adventure?

As always, don't use them until adventure 1.

Resolution: On page 4 of the rulebook, change "Don’t add other promo cards to the game until you begin the first chapter of the Adventure Path" to "Don’t add other promo cards to the game until you begin adventure 1 of the Adventure Path."

posted | back to top


On page 7 of the rulebook, the example about multiple explorations describes a power that Drelm doesn't actually have, and seems to have a few other mistakes.

There are a few problems there.

Resolution: On page 7 of the rulebook, replace the next-to-last paragraph with the following text.

However, during a single exploration, no matter how many different effects allow you to explore again, treat them as granting one additional exploration, not a series of additional explorations. For example, Drelm has taken the Keymaster role, and has gained the power feat that lets him explore his location after he defeats a barrier that has the Obstacle trait on his exploration. During his exploration, Drelm encounters Falling Rubble, a barrier that has the Obstacle trait and a power that says “If defeated, you may explore your location.” Drelm defeats the barrier, but he gains only one additional exploration, not two.

posted | back to top


The rules for immunity say that if the card you’re encountering is immune to a particular trait, you can't use powers that would add that trait to the check. Is that just for the check to defeat or acquire the card?

It applies for any check against that card.

Resolution: On page 9 of the rulebook, under Encountering a Card, change "If the card you’re encountering states that it is immune to a particular trait, during the encounter, characters may not play cards that have the specified trait or use powers that would add that trait to the check" to end "...or use powers that would add that trait to any check against that card."

posted | back to top


The Affecting the Situation sidebar has a character with a power to give a card to another character. The sidebar says he can't give her a card that allows her to draw a blessing from the box, and then suggests she uses it to draw the blessing. Can she do that?

No, because she doesn't have the card to do so.

Resolution: On page 9 of the rulebook, in the sidebar Rules: Affecting the Situation, change "play the card she just drew" to "in this case, play the card he gave her".

posted | back to top


If I'm examining a location deck that has faceup cards on top, do I examine those cards?

No—skip to the facedown cards.

Resolution: On page 14 of the rulebook, in Examining and Searching, add the following as the second sentence: "If you are examining a location deck, when determining which cards you are examining, consider only facedown cards." (In the first PDF edition of the rulebook, this sentence replaces the sentence "If there are any faceup cards on the deck, ignore them when determining which cards you are examining.")

Note that this resolution creates a new problem: we do want you to be able to examine token cards, so we need to make sure they count as facedown no matter which side was up when they were put into the deck. So on page 4 of the rulebook, amend the last sentence of the second paragraph with the italicized text: "Very rarely, a card can have two faces, as token cards do."

posted | back to top


What happens if you're examining cards in a deck and something causes you to shuffle the deck?

Finish dealing with the cards you're examine first, then shuffle.

Resolution: On page 14 of the rulebook, under Examining and Searching, insert the following text before the parenthetical at the end of the first paragraph: "If anything would cause you to shuffle the deck while you are examining cards, shuffle the deck only after you put the cards back."

posted | back to top


Warehouse in the Base Set says "On closing, summon and acquire a weapon, an armor, or an item from the box." Canny Jackal in Adventure Deck 2 says "On closing, summon and encounter an ally; if you acquire it, draw it." These seem like they're doing the same thing, so why are they worded differently?

The wording on Warehouse is problematic because the rules say after you resolve an encounter with a summoned card, "never put it anywhere other than back in the box unless the card that caused you to summon it instructs you otherwise." The wording on Canny Jackal was meant to rectify that problem. But the fact is, whenever we have you summon and encounter a boon, we always want you to keep it if you manage to acquire it, so we might as well tell you that in the rules so that we don't have to tell you on every card that can summon a boon. Also, summoned cards always come from the box (unless they're already in play), so we don't need to specify that.

Resolution: On page 14 of the rulebook, under Summoning and Adding Cards, replace the sentence "After evading a summoned card or resolving the encounter with it, never put it anywhere other than back in the box unless the card that caused you to summon it instructs you otherwise" with these two sentences: "If you're told to summon and encounter a boon, and you acquire it, draw it. Otherwise, after evading a summoned card or resolving the encounter with it, never put it anywhere other than back in the box unless the card that caused you to summon it instructs you otherwise." Then, the B location Warehouse should say "On closing, summon and encounter a weapon, an armor, or an item" and the AD2 location Canny Jackal can say "On closing, summon and encounter an ally."

posted | back to top


The rules say that while my token is in a location deck, I cannot move. That sounds like a movement restriction. So if I have a card that lets me move and ignore movement restrictions, I can move?

Sorry, no.

Resolution: On page 15 of the Rulebook, in Tokens in Location Decks, change "you cannot move" to "you can never move".

posted | back to top


Can you attempt to close a location that is already closed?

No.

Resolution: On page 15 of the rulebook, in the first paragraph of Closing a Location, change the last sentence to "You can never attempt to close a location that is temporarily or permanently closed, or that your character isn’t at."

posted | back to top


In the example of encountering a villain, Estra uses a spell on a villain that's immune to it, and fails to use her power that adds 1d8 to her checks against cards that have Undead trait. And the villain's "Before you act" power doesn't go off. Finally, the location Towering Obelisk is named, but that location isn't used in the scenario they're playing. Those things are wrong, right?

Right—those are wrong. Let's swap in Ezren for Estra, as he can ignore the immunity, and replace the Towering Obelisk with Hot Springs.

Resolution: On page 16 of the rulebook, replace the example with the following.

Example: Damiel and Ezren are playing A Sandstorm of Malevolent Will. Damiel is at the Howling Sands; Ezren is at the Glass Pavilion. The Windswept Chasm and the Hot Springs are also open. On Ezren’s turn, he encounters the villain Tukanem-Hanam. Damiel gets a chance to temporarily close the Howling Sands, using his Dexterity skill of d10. He gets a result of 6, succeeding at the check. Before Ezren acts, the villain makes Ezren attempt a Wisdom or Perception check; he succeeds, avoiding a point of Electricity damage. It takes two Combat 10 checks to defeat the villain. If Damiel were at the location, they could each attempt one check, but Ezren is alone, so he must attempt them both. Ezren wants to play the spell Clinging Venom, but the villain is immune to the Poison trait. Fortunately, the villain has the Electricity trait, so Ezren can use a character power to ignore that immunity. Ezren rolls 1d12+2 plus 1d8 and gets a result of 12, enough to beat the first Combat 10 check. Clinging Venom lets him use the result for the second check, so Tukanem-Hanam is defeated and the Glass Pavilion is closed. The Hot Springs and the Windswept Chasm are open, so the villain escapes. Ezren’s player shuffles together Tukanem-Hanam and a random blessing from the box and deals one into each of the open locations—but not the Howling Sands, since it’s temporarily closed. The game continues!

posted | back to top


If a villain that I failed to defeat escapes, and the cards I retrieve from the blessings deck include cards that aren't blessings, do I use them?

No. Instead, search the blessings deck until you find enough blessings.

Resolution: On page 17 of the rulebook, under Check to See Whether the Villain Escapes, change "If the villain is undefeated, do the same thing, but retrieve the blessings from the blessings deck instead of from the box" to "If the villain is undefeated, do the same thing, but instead of taking the blessings from the box, search the blessings deck until you have taken as many blessings as you need".

posted | back to top


If I'm playing a scenario that has a victory condition other than defeating and corning the villain, and I defeat and corner the villain, but the scenario isn't over yet, what happens?

Banish the villain and keep going!

Resolution: On page 17 of the rulebook, under "If the Villain Has Nowhere to Escape to, You Win!," replace the sentence "Some scenarios may have other conditions for winning" with "Some scenarios may have other conditions for winning; if a villain can't escape but you haven't met these conditions, banish the villain and continue play".

posted | back to top


The rules for using traders say that the adventure deck number restrictions on the boon you're trading in are dependent on the scenario you just completed, but the example indicates that it's dependent on the card you're trading for. Which is correct?

The example.

Resolution: On page 18 of the rulebook, change:

To trade with the trader, the character must pay the trade cost by putting the appropriate number and type of cards from her cards into the box; these cards must have an adventure deck number no less than 1 less than the scenario’s adventure deck number.

to:

To trade with the trader, the character must pay the trade cost by putting the appropriate number and type of cards from her cards into the box; these cards must have an adventure deck number no less than 1 less than the desired card's adventure deck number.

posted | back to top


Some characters now have favored card types such as "card that has the Attack trait" and "card that has the Staff trait." But I can build a legal deck that doesn't contain those cards, so I can never draw a valid starting hand. What do I do then?

If you want to build a legal deck that you can't draw a legal starting hand from, that's your own problem. (When your friends disown you after you begin an infinite loop of reshuffling your starting hand, perhaps you might question your choices.) We're therefore not changing the rules on building your starting deck to account for this.

However, there is a hole to patch here. In the unlikely circumstance that all of your cards with the appropriate trait are banished, we want you to be able to replace them as you would any other required card. (But really, you should be putting a lot of these cards in your deck so this doesn't happen.)

Resolution: On page 19 of the rulebook, under Favored Card Type, change "If you can’t construct a valid deck from the cards your group has available because you don’t have enough of certain card types, choose the extra cards you need from the box" to "If you can’t construct a valid deck from the cards your group has available because you don’t have enough of certain cards, choose the extra cards you need from the box".

posted | back to top


In the example of play, Ezren banishes Armor of the Sands to reduce damage from the Fire Hydra, but Armor of the Sands doesn't work against Fire damage.

Let's change that to a Crocodile Skin Madu.

Resolution: On page 26 of the rulebook, in the first paragraph of the second column, replace the last sentence with the following:

Ezren has only a d4 in Dexterity and so cannot succeed at the check. He rolls for damage and gets a result of 1. He recharges his Crocodile Skin Madu to reduce the damage by 2, so he doesn’t have to discard any cards.

posted | back to top


Card Questions: Mummy's Mask Base Set

Estra has a power than lets her examine 2 cards and, if 1 of them has the Undead trait, she can encounter it, and she can ignore any power on it that happens when examined. What if both of them have the Undead trait?

She can ignore the power on either, neither, or both, but she may encounter no more than 1 of them.

Resolution: On Estra's character card and the Ectoplasmatist side of her role card, change "If one of the examined cards has the Undead trait, you may encounter it (□ and you may ignore any power on that card that happens when examined)" to "If any examined card has the Undead trait, (□ you may ignore any power on that card that happens when examined and) you may encounter 1 of them". On the Speaker to the Dead side of her role card, change "If one of the examined cards has the Undead trait, you may encounter it (□ and you may ignore any power on that card that happens when examined) (□ then you may shuffle that location deck)" to "If any examined card has the Undead trait, (□ you may ignore any power on that card that happens when examined and) you may encounter 1 of them (□ then you may shuffle that location deck)".

posted | back to top


Curse of Vulnerability says I can't reduce certain type of damage to myself. Does that mean other people can reduce it for me?

Sorry—no.

Resolution: On the scourge Curse of Vulnerability, replace "While displayed, you may not reduce Acid, Cold, Electricity, or Fire damage dealt to you" with "While displayed, Acid, Cold, Electricity, or Fire damage dealt to you may not be reduced".

posted | back to top


The Shotel has the Scythe trait, but the Pathfinder RPG considers it a sword. Should it maybe have the Sword trait instead?

Yep.

Resolution: On the weapon Shotel, replace the Scythe trait with the Sword trait. This resolution also applies to the weapon Shattertouch Shotel +2 in Adventure Deck 4.

posted | back to top


Should the Staff of Focus let me use my Melee skill?

Yes.

Resolution: On the weapon Staff of Focus, change "For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Strength skill + 1d6+1" to "For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Strength or Melee skill + 1d6+1".

posted | back to top


Card Questions: Mummy's Mask Character Add-On Deck

Mavaro has a power that lets him gain skills equal to his Intelligence. Is that his Intelligence skill or his Intelligence die?

His Intelligence skill.

Resolution: On the front of Mavaro's character card and both sides of his role card, add the italicized word to the following text: "You may display a card to gain all skills listed on the check to acquire for that card equal to your Intelligence skill until the end of the turn."

posted | back to top


What are the checks to defeat Conflagration in the Character Add-On Deck?

The same as they are in the Base Set.

Resolution: On the henchman Conflagration in the Character Add-On Deck, change the check to defeat's skills from NONE to DEXTERITY DISABLE CONSTITUTION CRAFT SURVIVAL.

posted | back to top


Should the Twin Serpent Quarterstaff let me use my Strength skill?

Yes.

Resolution: On the weapon Twin Serpent Quarterstaff, change "For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Melee skill + 1d6+1" to "For your combat check, reveal this card to use your Strength or Melee skill + 1d6+1".

posted | back to top


Card Questions: The Half-Dead City (Mummy's Mask Adventure Deck 1)

If you defeat the Scorched Hand by less than 5, you get to draw boons out of her location deck. Are you examining that deck (meaning Triggers go off and you don't shuffle afterwards) or searching it (meaning Triggers don't go off and you do shuffle it)?

You're searching it.

Resolution: On the henchman Scorched Hand, replace the last power with "If defeated by less than 5, search the location deck this henchman came from; you may draw any number of its boons."

posted | back to top


The First Law has the Trigger trait. Should The Second Law and The Third Law also have the Trigger trait?

Yes.

Resolution: On the barriers The Second Law and The Third Law, add the Trigger trait.

posted | back to top


Card Questions: Empty Graves (Mummy's Mask Adventure Deck 2)

That Widow sure has pointy ears for a human.

She's only half human.

Resolution: On the henchman Widow and Dearly Departed, replace the Human trait with the Half-Elf trait.

posted | back to top


Card Questions: Shifting Sands (Mummy's Mask Adventure Deck 3)

The back of Muminofrah's Amusement lists Camel Race as the location for 1 player. Shouldn't that be "1–6"?

Yes—yes, it should.

Resolution: On the back of the scenario Muminofrah's Amusement, change "1" to "1–6".

posted | back to top


In the scenario Sting Operation, if something buries or banishes a Stolen Larvae, does that mean you can't win the scenario anymore?

We're not that mean! In cases like that, we want the Stolen Larvae to get shuffled into a random open location deck instead. (See? We're only slightly mean.)

Resolution: On the scenario Sting Operation, change "When you discard cards as damage, first choose Stolen Larvae if you have any; shuffle the Larvae into random open location decks instead of discarding them" to "When you discard cards as damage, first choose Stolen Larvae if you have any. When you would banish Stolen Larvae or put it into a deck or pile, shuffle it into a random open location deck instead".

posted | back to top


In In Search of Chisisek, you're supposed to replace 6 blessings in the blessing deck with Forgotten Pharaoh Cultists, but there are only 5 Forgotten Pharaoh Cultists in the Base Set Box. What should I do?

There's a sixth Cultist in the Character Add-On Deck, but we're not going to make you buy that (even though it's awesome). Replace 5 of them instead.

Resolution: On the scenario In Search of Chisisek, change "replace 6 blessings with the henchmen Forgotten Pharaoh Cultists" to "replace 5 blessings with the henchmen Forgotten Pharaoh Cultists".

posted | back to top


The first power of Elemental Mastery helps defeat monsters that have any of six elemental traits. The second power helps acquire allies that have any of five elemental traits, leaving out Fire. Is that intentional?

No—Fire should be in the list.

Resolution: On the spell Elemental Mastery, add Fire to the list of traits in the second power.

posted | back to top


In the Alchemist Class Deck, the first power of Deliquescent Gloves adds the Acid trait to your Melee check, but in Mummy's Mask, it adds it to your Melee combat check. Which is it?

The Alchemist Class Deck version is correct—it adds to your Melee check, whether combat or not.

Resolution: On the item Deliquescent Gloves, in the first power, change "Melee combat check" to "Melee check".

posted | back to top


Should not Knot of Isis have the Isis trait?

It should... even though adding that trait isn't mechanically useful.

Resolution: On the item Knot of Isis, add the Isis trait.

posted | back to top


Card Questions: Secrets of the Sphinx (Mummy's Mask Adventure Deck 4)

The trader Naheeba doesn't seem to be given out anywhere. Is that an error?

Yes. She should be part of the reward for Cult of the Sightless Sphinx.

Resolution: On the scenario Cult of the Sightless Sphinx, the reward should be "Each character gains a skill feat. Trader: Naheeba".

posted | back to top


On the Half-Fiend Sphinx, how does the examine power interact with the combat check power in the first paragraph?

They don't interact. The two sentences should be separate paragraphs.

Resolution: On the villain Half-Fiend Sphinx, split "When you examine this card, you are dealt 1d4 Poison damage, then recharge your hand, then reset your hand" and "If your combat check to defeat does not have the Attack or Ranged trait, the difficulty is increased by 3" into separate paragraphs.

posted | back to top


Safety Bubble's check to acquire says "Intelligence Arcane Wisdom Arcane". Shouldn't that last Arcane be Divine?

Yes.

Resolution: On the spell Safety Bubble, change the check to acquire to "Intelligence Arcane Wisdom Divine 11".

posted | back to top


The Hearth Elemental is an outsider, isn't it?

Yes.

Resolution: On the ally Hearth Elemental, add the Outsider trait.

posted | back to top


The Mythopoeic Sphinx's first power, which happens at the end of your turn, tells you to reset your hand. According to the rules, you do things that happen at the end of your turn, then you reset your hand. So am I supposed to reset my hand twice?

No—just once.

Resolution: On the loot Mythopoeic Sphinx, change the first power to "At the end of your turn, recharge this card to recharge any number of cards; after you reset your hand, you may search your deck for a spell and draw it."

posted | back to top


The loot Mythopoeic Sphinx doesn’t seem to be given out anywhere. Is that an error?

No—it’s part of a puzzle hidden throughout Mummy's Mask. As mentioned in Pathfinder Adventure Society Card Guild Adventure 3-4: Tomb of the Godless Host, the riddle allowed a player to include it in her character's deck if she invoked the mysterious "Mythopoeic Curse." Now that the community has solved the puzzle, we've issued an optional errata that allows you to get the Mythopoeic Sphinx after completing adventure 4. (If you’ve already played past that point, any character in your party may rebuild her deck with it before starting your next scenario.)

Resolution: On the adventure card Secrets of the Sphinx, you may change the reward to “Each character gains a power feat. 1 character may recite the Mythopoeic Curse to draw the loot Mythopoeic Sphinx from the box.”

posted | back to top


Card Questions: The Slave Trenches of Hakotep (Mummy's Mask Adventure Deck 5)

Activating the Sekrepheres cares about the traits on the top card of the blessings deck, but that card is usually facedown. Am I supposed to examine it?

No—the card the scenario really cares about is the top card of the blessings discard pile.

Resolution: On the scenario Activating the Sekrepheres, change "top card of the blessings deck" to "top card of the blessings discard pile".

posted | back to top


Since the location Five-Pointed Sun can't be permanently closed, to win a scenario that uses it, you need to have one character temporarily close that location while another character battles the villain elsewhere. So how do you win when you have only one character playing?

You need to be able to close that location if it's the only one still open—then you can win by closing everything else and beating the villain there.

Resolution: On the location Five-Pointed Sun, change the When Permanently closed text to "This location cannot be permanently closed unless all other locations are closed."

posted | back to top


The recharge powers for Jolting Portent and Spite Cloud don't include the phrase "you may." Is recharging those mandatory?

No. They should include "you may."

Resolution: On the spells Jolting Portent and Spite Cloud, change "otherwise, succeed at" to "otherwise, you may succeed at".

posted | back to top


If I have a Cloud Elemental displayed at the end of the scenario, do I have to banish it, or do I get to keep it? Or do I roll 1d6 and banish it on a 1?

If it makes it to the end of the scenario, you get to keep it.

Resolution: On the ally Cloud Elemental, add the following as a new paragraph: "When the scenario ends, if this card is displayed, discard it."

posted | back to top


Card Questions: Pyramid of the Sky Pharaoh (Mummy's Mask Adventure Deck 6)

Ride the Lightning has the Arcane trait, lets you use your Arcane skill for a combat check, and is acquired with Intelligence or Arcane only, but characters with either the Arcane or Divine skill don't have to banish it after use. Is that right?

No.

Resolution: On the spell Ride the Lightning, replace "if you do not have either the Arcane or Divine skill, banish this card" with "if you do not have the Arcane skill, banish this card".

posted | back to top


Is rolling at the end of your turn for Hand of Glory really optional?

Sure isn't.

Resolution: On the item Hand of Glory, in the second power, delete "you may".

posted | back to top


Card Questions: Promo Cards

Sistrum of Bastet says you can discard it to use your Strength or Melee skill, and additionally discard it to add your Charisma or Dexterity skill. How can you discard it if you already discarded it?

That first part should require revealing rather than discarding.

Resolution: On the weapon Sistrum of Bastet, change "discard this card to use your Strength or Melee skill" to "reveal this card to use your Strength or Melee skill".

posted | back to top



©2002-2017 Paizo Inc.® | Privacy Policy | Contact Us
Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours, Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific time.

Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.