Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Core Set FAQ

Last updated: October 09, 2019. Items updated in the past month are displayed in red.

Rulebook

The "banish" rules say that recovery happens at the end of any turn, but a few other things suggest that you only get to do recovery on your turn. Which is correct?

Recovery happens at the end of any turn that a recovery pile is created.

Resolution: On page 6 of the rulebook, under End Your Turn, replace the following:

"Then, if you have any cards in a recovery pile, do whatever they say to do during recovery. While you do this, you may play cards or use powers only if they affect things that happen during recovery. (It’s possible to play cards during recovery that go into the recovery pile themselves.) After you’ve dealt with them all, banish any that remain."

with

"Then, if any characters have cards in a recovery pile, those characters do whatever the cards say to do during recovery. During recovery, you may play cards or use powers only if they affect things that happen during recovery. (It’s possible to play cards during recovery that go into the recovery pile themselves.) After they have all been dealt with, banish any that remain."

(This change has been made in the PDF edition of the rulebook.)

In the Glossary on pages 30–31, in During Recovery, change "At a point at the end of your turn..." to "At a point at the end of each turn..." and in Recovery, change "A part of the end of your turn..." to "A part of the end of each turn..."

posted | back to top


If an active effect says "When you play a blessing, heal a card," and you play a blessing by discarding it, does that count as "discarding a card to heal yourself," meaning you exclude that blessing from the cards you are healing?

Yes. Let's make that a bit clearer.

Resolution: On page 9 of the rulebook, in the “Rules: Healing” sidebar, replace “If you’re discarding a card to heal yourself, exclude that card from the cards you are healing” with "If you discard any cards while healing yourself, do not put them in your discards until you have finished healing”.

posted | back to top


When you fail to dealt a villain, the Resolve the Encounter rules tell you to shuffle it into the location. A few steps later, the Determine Whether the Villain Escapes rules have it escape. So I have to get it back out of the location?

No—it shouldn't be shuffled in.

Resolution: On page 10 of the rulebook, under Resolve the Encounter, replace the end of the last sentence with "...apply all effects that happen when the bane is undefeated, then if it is not a villain, shuffle it back into its location."

posted | back to top


The Character Proxies in Locations sidebar says that you must evade any banes you encounter. By the Golden Rules, though, a bane that says it cannot be evaded trumps this rule, correct?

It shouldn't.

Resolution: On page 13 of the rulebook, in the Character Proxies in Locations sidebar, replace "you must evade any banes you encounter" with "you always evade any banes you encounter."

posted | back to top


The Rebuilding rules imply that you can keep any Loot cards when you rebuild. Is that correct?

No. The Rebuilding rules direct you to the Loot sidebar, which tells you that you can keep Loot cards you have earned as part of a reward even if it's level is higher than the most recently played scenario’s #. If you did not earn the Loot card as part of a reward, that exception doesn't apply.

Resolution: On page 17 of the rulebook, under Rebuilding, replace "You may not keep cards whose level is higher than the most recently played scenario’s #, with the exception of Loot cards (see Loot on page 17)” with "You may not keep cards whose level is higher than the most recently played scenario’s #, with the exception of Loot cards you earned as part of a reward (see Loot at right)”.

posted | back to top


The Loot rules say that Loot should be organized with cards from "Future Adventures." Is that correct?

Not always. "Building the Vault" and "Upgrading the Vault" can sometimes put Loot cards into the vault.

Resolution: On page 17 of the rulebook, in the Rules: Loot sidebar, change "Its level is #+1 (so it should be with cards separated by the Future Adventures divider)" to "Its level is #+1 (so it may be with cards separated by the Future Adventures divider)". (This change has been made in the PDF edition of the rulebook.)

posted | back to top


When characters gain the Arcane or Divine skill, should they gain proficiency with the corresponding trait?

Yes. (Note that this is not true for Melee, Ranged, or any other skill.)

Resolution: On page 19 of the rulebook, at the end of Proficiencies, add the following: "If a character gains the Arcane or Divine skill, they gain proficiency with the corresponding trait."

posted | back to top


What do I do if I I'm told to randomly choose a story bane and the one that I choose is in a location deck?

Choose a different one.

Resolution: On page 21 of the rulebook, under Story Bane Roster, add the following to the end of the first paragraph: "If you randomly choose a story bane that is not available, randomly choose another." (This change has been made in the PDF edition of the rulebook.)

posted | back to top


In the Example of Play, when Lem does recovery on the Lightning Touch, it says that if he fails, he has to put it in the vault. Is that right?

No. Lem is proficient with Arcane spells, and Lightning Touch says "If proficient, discard this card; you may succeed at an Arcane 6 check to recharge instead," so if he fails the check, he discards it instead of banishing it.

Resolution: On page 25 of the rulebook, in the next-to-last paragraph of the Example of Play, replace "He needs to succeed at an Arcane 6 check to recharge the spell, or it goes into the vault" with "He needs to succeed at an Arcane 6 check to recharge the spell, or it goes into his discards".

posted | back to top


Storybook

When I'm instructed to "add" wildcards to a random scenario, how do I do it?

Same as you do with all the other scenarios: select it yourself or choose it randomly.

Resolution: On page 23 of the storybook, in random scenario 4. Chase the Quarry, change "Add 3 wildcards" to "Choose 3 wildcards". On page 24, in random scenario 6. Survive the Siege, change "Add 2 wildcards" to "Choose 2 wildcards".

posted | back to top


In Scenario 2B, the scenario rules do special things when you encounter a boon from a location. But the Plaza location allows you to encounter some boons from the box. Should the scenario rules apply to those too?

Yes.

Resolution: On page 15 of the storybook, in the second paragraph of During This Scenario, delete "from a location" in the sentence that begins "When you encounter a boon from a location".

posted | back to top


When you set up a Chase the Quarry scenario, are you supposed to put henchmen into the first location?

Yes.

Resolution: On page 23 of the rulebook, under Chase the Quarry, replace Setup with the following:

Choose 3 wildcards.

To build the locations, shuffle a number of locations equal to twice the number of characters + 1 into a chase stack; set out and build the top location from that stack.

Choose a story bane to be the danger and another to be a closing henchman—Proxy A. Choose a number of other story banes equal to the number of characters + 1 and shuffle them into a non-closing henchman stack. Shuffle a Proxy A and a random card from the henchman stack into the location.

Then replace During This Scenario with the following:

When you close your location, draw the top 2 locations of the chase stack; banish 1 and build the other, shuffling in a Proxy A and a random card from the henchman stack.

To win, empty the chase stack and close the last location.

posted | back to top


Cards: Level 0

How does Dragonhunter Harsk's last power interact with escaping villains?

It doesn't.

Resolution: On the Dragonhunter side of Harsk's role card, role, add the bolded text to the following power: "When a local character fails to defeat a story bane or an Aberration, Dragon, or Giant monster, and that bane is not a villain, you may reload it into its location instead of shuffling it…"

posted | back to top


When Merisiel Waylayer or Seelah Honor Shield let you reload a card you're evading, is that into your deck or the location it came from?

The location.

Resolution: On the the Waylayer side of Merisiel's role and the Honor Shield side of Seelah's role, change "you may reload it instead of shuffling it into its location" to "you may reload it into its location instead of shuffling it".

posted | back to top


The storybook calls for a location called Caves, but the location card says Cave. Which is correct?

The storybook.

Resolution: The location Cave should be called Caves.

posted | back to top


The spell Enchant Weapon adds 1d4+# to a check. Shouldn't it have the Veteran trait?

It should.

Resolution: On the spell Enchant Weapon, add the Veteran trait.

posted | back to top


Some spells use the wording "Arcane or Divine + X" and others use "Arcane + X or Divine + X." Are these intentionally different?

They mean the same thing.

Resolution: On the spells Fiery Glare, Frostbite, and Viper Strike, change "Arcane + X or Divine + X" to "Arcane or Divine + X".

posted | back to top


Can Lightning Touch be recovered with a Divine check?

No.

Resolution: On the spell Lightning Touch, change "you may succeed at an Arcane or Divine 6 check to recharge it instead" to "you may succeed at an Arcane 6 check to recharge it instead".

posted | back to top


If I display Elixir of Energy Resistance, and a character suffers the appropriate damage, do I have to banish it?

No.

Resolution: On the item Elixir of Energy Resistance, in the second bullet, change "banish to reduce" to "you may banish to reduce".

posted | back to top


The Troubadour has awfully pointy ears for a human.

That's because he's a halfling.

Resolution: On the ally Troubadour, replace the Human trait with the Halfling trait.

posted | back to top


Cards: Level 1

Should Symbol of Sleep be recharged into my deck?

No. Like other barriers with Symbol in their name, it should be recharged into its location.

Resolution: On the barrier Symbol of Sleep, after "recharge this barrier" add "into its location".

posted | back to top


Shouldn't Fire Bolt have the Attack and Fire traits?

Yes, it should.

Resolution: On the spell Fire Bolt, add the Attack and Fire traits.

posted | back to top


Life Drain uses the wording "Arcane + 2d4 or Divine + 2d4" where other spells would use "Arcane or Divine + 2d4." Is this intentionally different?

No.

Resolution: On the spell Life Drain, change "Arcane + 2d4 or Divine + 2d4" to "Arcane or Divine + 2d4".

posted | back to top


Is Full Plate supposed to be identical to Half-Plate?

No.

Resolution: On the armor Full Plate, the second bulleted power should begin "If proficient, when you suffer any damage, you may discard to reduce it to 0."

posted | back to top


Cards: Level 2

Do I have to activate the second bullet on Banner of the Ancient Kings as soon as I play it?

No.

Resolution: On the item Banner of the Ancient Kings, in the second bullet, change "Bury to remove" to "You may bury to remove".

posted | back to top


Cards: Level 3

The Prince of Pain lets you add half the number of cards in your discard to some checks. What if you have an odd number of cards?

Round up.

Resolution: On the blessing Prince of Pain, the last sentence should be "This exploration, on your checks to acquire or defeat, add half the number of cards in your discards (rounded up)."

posted | back to top


Cards: Promo

Embiggen says to exchange all of a character’s dice. Does that include dice added by other players? And does it work for all dice rolls?

It should only work on checks, and it should work on all dice on those checks.

Resolution: On the spell Embiggen, change "Exchange all of that character’s dice for dice of these sizes" to "On that character’s checks, replace all dice as follows".

posted | back to top