Readied Action with "until the end of your turn" effect


Rules Discussion


Hi,

Recently a Rogue in a party I DM for decided to Ready the Analyze Weakness action. Analyze Weakness reads as follows:

"Your knowledge of a creature's physiology helps you attack with pinpoint accuracy. You carefully study a creature that you've identified to scope out particularly weak points in its positioning or physical form. The next time you deal sneak attack damage to the chosen creature with a Strike before the end of your turn, add an additional 2d6 precision damage. At 11th level, the additional damage becomes 3d6, and at 17th level it becomes 4d6."

A rather simple action, until you combine it with the Ready action - it's performed outside of your turn, so what is "the end of your turn"?

On one hand, I can see this being the end of your next turn, because logically speaking, that is the closest "end of your turn" in a chronological order. The issue I see here is that it may open a door to some abuse - players are extremely creative when it comes to empowering their characters.

You can also say that this refers to the turn in which the action was Readied, which I guess makes logical sense, as well, but imo it introduces some weird time flow where, from our PC's perspective, the results of their actions end before the action was even taken, and is quite immersion breaking.

Lastly, you can say that you're out of turn so it's wasted, which is the simplest way of ruling this, but I also think it's bad for immersion and may ignore the intention behind "end of your turn", as something that has to happen as soon as possible, or a direct follow-up.

Thoughts?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

End of your turn is the end of your turn so RAW it should be the next time your turn ends.(or end of your next turn in this case).

I really do not see any issues with this as you are effectively spending two actions and your Reaction (so no Nimble dodge), Effectively forsaking most of your turn. To be able to start your next turn with Analyze Weakness already in effect. And it only applies to your next instance of Sneak Attack either way.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
NorrKnekten wrote:
I really do not see any issues with this as ...

For this specific case, I agree with your assessment of the ability.

I am a bit more hesitant to give a blanket approval for the ruling though. There may be some other scenario where using Ready on an ability that is supposed to end at the end of your current turn could cause problems if it is instead allowed to work for the entirety of the next turn.

Ready is a fairly expensive ability to use, so I don't think it would be easy to come up with something that would be seen as an exploit. But that it a matter of the game balance having a lot of redundant safeguards rather than something inherent to Ready itself.

So I might allow Readied Analyze Weakness, but still reserve the right to not allow other Readied 'until the end of this turn' abilities.


I think there is an equally valid reading of "end of your turn" to be the end of the current turn. This is intentionally designed so that you can't carry over the effect into the next round. This is an attempt to cheese around that restriction.

I think that if you look at the full wording for ready, this is certainly not RAI. Ready has a sentence that states your MAP carries over to your readied Attack action. So it is clear that the designers did not want you to use Ready to avoid penalties from the current turn.

I think the more we dissect this decision by the player, the more it feels like an attempt to manipulate the rules for a benefit you couldn't normally carry over to the next round.

My question is: what is the trigger of the readied action? The PC already IDed the creature or Analyze Weakness wouldn't work. So what trigger do you set that doesn't immediately trigger? Why did he need to use two actions this turn to ready instead of using those two actions to analyze weakness and then strike? Or stride up and strike, and use analyze weakness next round? Per the wording of Ready, once you ready and set the trigger, your turn immediately ends, then the ready triggers and you can now get the benefit of Analyze Weakness on the next turn and still have all three of your actions.

Ready to me is more for something where you can't control the trigger. I ready to strike a flyer that comes into range or when the guard steps around the corner. Ready to catch my friend attempting to jump across the chasm.


I agree with most of you here.

I don't immediately see a big problem in allowing Analyze Weakness to be used with Ready so that it can be used at the end of the next turn, mainly because the action cost of this is very high.

But I would reserve the right to veto it if I see that the player is somehow using it to gain an unfair advantage. As they said, it depends a lot on the trigger chosen, especially since Analyze Weakness needs an RK to work.

Even if you use a trigger like "an enemy I recognize (I have successful RKed against it) enters my range" or "an enemy I recognize (I have successful RKed against it) attacks me" it's still hard to see this being better than most attack reactions. It's basically your player sacrificing 2-actions and 1 reaction to do a Power Attack Vicious Swing with another action that only works against targets that he/she has successfully RKed.

Even with Kelseus' concerns, it's such an expensive maneuver that at level 8 it will be outdated due to competing Opportune Backstab due reaction cost, so it's hard to say that it will be worth it or be explored. At worst, it's a player thinking he/she's doing some kind of incredible maneuver with the rules, but in reality he/she's having a huge scheme to have a lousy result in practice.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Kelseus wrote:
I think the more we dissect this decision by the player, the more it feels like an attempt to manipulate the rules for a benefit you couldn't normally carry over to the next round.

Yeah, it is pretty clearly an attempt to get more benefit than normal. In most cases, it won't work because of the action cost of Ready.

In a scenario where an enemy isn't currently a valid target for this turn (hiding around a corner or something), but it is expected that they will be available before your next turn, then spending the actions from this turn to get the benefit to be used for the entirety of next turn would be nice.

For Analyze Weakness it also has the limit of only one attack during that time. I think that is the more limiting factor that is encouraging me to allow it to work.

If someone instead figured out some way of getting Bespell Strikes to trigger between turns so that it will be active for all three actions of their next turn, that is a bit more questionable.

Yes, Bespell Strikes has other safeguards that would prevent it from being used between turns. It also would be limited by MAP and probably spellcaster proficiency when used for multiple Strike actions. That is beside the point.


5 people marked this as a favorite.

"until the end of your turn" is pretty self descriptive. I can appreciate why someone might want to change it, but it's clearly not an 'equally valid reading' to just pretend it says something completely different.

As for the effect itself... Yeah, if you use it in this scenario it lasts longer than normal, but that's not really materially different to the way, say, frightened can last much longer or much shorter based on the relative position to the player I'm not sure how much of a problem it is. Abilities with turn based timing having inconsistent durations is an intentional part of the game's design.

Envoy's Alliance

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

I'm not very familiar with this action, but unless it is doing something for other players outside of your turn, you traded two actions and your reaction for a single action on your turn. Case by case basis, but yeah, I'd allow that to function as "Until the end of your next turn" in that situation (again, assuming it is not doing something for other players before your turn comes up).

If it was providing some benefit off your turn the ability was explicitly not supposed to do, then I either wouldn't allow it to function like that, or I would, but I would explicitly state that the player doing this is the only one who can benefit from it, and they just used their only reaction.


Squiggit wrote:
"until the end of your turn" is pretty self descriptive.

It becomes a lot less defined when the ability is used when it isn't your turn. When is 'the end of your turn' in that case? Define by self descriptive RAW, of course.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Ready uses actions as part of your turn. Using the action you readied is a reaction, and is almost always happening during someone else's turn.

This seems clear cut to me. You used your actions, your turn is over, so the "end of your turn" happens. The fact that two of your actions gave you the ability to use a reaction later is irrelevant to how turns work.

Player Core makes this pretty explicit:

Quote:
When it’s your turn to act, you can use single actions ( [one-action] ), short activities ( [two-actions] and [three-actions] ), reactions ( [reaction] ), and free actions ( [free-action] ). When you’re finished, your turn ends and the character next in the initiative order begins their turn.

I can understand it wanting to carry over to the next turn and if someone wants to house rule that, then cool. But it's very clearly a house rule.


Finoan wrote:
Squiggit wrote:
"until the end of your turn" is pretty self descriptive.
It becomes a lot less defined when the ability is used when it isn't your turn. When is 'the end of your turn' in that case? Define by self descriptive RAW, of course.

It's when your turn ends.


Finoan wrote:
In a scenario where an enemy isn't currently a valid target for this turn (hiding around a corner or something), but it is expected that they will be available before your next turn, then spending the actions from this turn to get the benefit to be used for the entirety of next turn would be nice.

That's the thing, I can't really think of a scenario where you know the target exists (so you can use AW) but it is otherwise not a valid target. The feat does not require that you can see the target to use AW, just that you succeeded on RK previously. RAW I can use AW against a hidden or invisible target.

I just don't know what circumstances require the readying of this action, which really gets by spidey (GM) sense tingling.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Squiggit wrote:
Finoan wrote:
Squiggit wrote:
"until the end of your turn" is pretty self descriptive.
It becomes a lot less defined when the ability is used when it isn't your turn. When is 'the end of your turn' in that case? Define by self descriptive RAW, of course.
It's when your turn ends.

What turn? It isn't your turn. The ability is being used during a reaction.

Maybe a diagram will help.

Your turn 1:
◆Something
◆◆ Ready action with duration of 'end of current turn'
-- end of your turn 1

Enemy turn 1:
◆ Something
◆ Something
◆ something that triggers Readied action

You (out of turn):
↺ Action that lasts until 'end of your turn'
-- end of enemy turn 1

-- Start of your turn 2
◆ Something
◆ Something
◆ something
-- end of your turn 2

-----

Do you mean the end of the enemy's turn? That doesn't make any sense at all.

If you instead mean the end of your last turn when you used the Ready action, then the ability is now ending before it starts.

And if you instead mean the next time 'the end of your turn' happens, that is the very extension of ability duration that we are talking about.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Quote:
What turn? It isn't your turn.

I'm not sure why that's important for answering the core question here. There are lots of "end of your turn" effects that can get applied during someone else's turn, and depending on the specific timing that can radically change how long that ability lasts. When has that ever been a problem?


Squiggit wrote:
There are lots of "end of your turn" effects that can get applied during someone else's turn, and depending on the specific timing that can radically change how long that ability lasts. When has that ever been a problem?

The other effects mentioned, such as Frightened, have varying amounts of other characters turns that it applies during.

This is a case where we instead have a varying amount of your own character's actions that it applies to. That is a different scenario.

I'll use Bespell Strikes to illustrate. Taken on a Fighter (Flurry Ranger would also be a good choice) with Oracle archetype.

Normal scenario: Using it in basic manner.

◆ Focusing Hum
◇ Bespell Strikes
◆ Strike
◆ Strike

I get two actions with the effect from Bespell Strikes. And if using a 2-action spell like Command, then I would only get one.

-----

Reaction scenario:

↺ Blood Vendetta
◇ Bespell Strikes (assuming that the GM doesn't shoot this down for shenanigans)

◆ Strike
◆ Strike
◆ Strike

Now I get three actions on my turn with the effect of Bespell Strikes.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Finoan wrote:

Reaction scenario:

↺ Blood Vendetta
◇ Bespell Strikes (assuming that the GM doesn't shoot this down for shenanigans)

Unlike Analyze Weakness, this can't work even without GM banning this: Bespell Strikes doesn't have a trigger. And: "A free action with no trigger follows the same rules as a single action (except the action cost). It must be used on your turn and can't be used during another action."

So you need some other example.


Finoan wrote:


The other effects mentioned, such as Frightened, have varying amounts of other characters turns that it applies during.

This is a case where we instead have a varying amount of your own character's actions that it applies to. That is a different scenario.

It's not really different though. In both cases we just have "end of your turn" being a variable amount of time because it's not fixed relative to when you gain it.

"Varying amounts of your own actions" can even happen if you gain Frightened during your own turn, rendering the debuff not working properly because it decreases before it does anything.

Treating them differently also means you could have multiple effects that all change at the end of your turn but end at different times because you're defining end of turn arbitrarily from ability to ability. That's clearly not right.

There's nothing new or strange about the issue of timing here, except that people are getting anxious about it because it might provide some minor benefit to the player character maybe.


Errenor wrote:
So you need some other example.

I'm aware that the example has problems. The point isn't that it is perfect, the point is that it illustrates the problem with the ruling.

If you could trigger an action that is intended to be used during your turn and only lasts until the end of your turn, should you be allowed to somehow manage to get it active before your turn starts and have it last for the entire duration of your next turn?

There might not currently be a working example that would be a problem. That's not the point. A hypothetical problem only needs a new ability written in order for it to become a real problem. It becomes a land-mine for future content.


Finoan wrote:
Errenor wrote:
So you need some other example.

I'm aware that the example has problems. The point isn't that it is perfect, the point is that it illustrates the problem with the ruling.

If you could trigger an action that is intended to be used during your turn and only lasts until the end of your turn, should you be allowed to somehow manage to get it active before your turn starts and have it last for the entire duration of your next turn?

There might not currently be a working example that would be a problem. That's not the point. A hypothetical problem only needs a new ability written in order for it to become a real problem. It becomes a land-mine for future content.

An impossible situation does not illustrate a problem with the ruling. For all we know Paizo explicitly wrote the rules so there's no instance of this exploit working anywhere in PF2. For example, one cannot Ready a Press attack, maybe because some apply this "until end of turn" effects. Or maybe Paizo has considered such a use of Ready and finds it fine, mechanically balanced for the action cost.

As for hypothetical future content, ALL rules could throw a wrench in the system if Paizo's negligent. There's no reason, yet, to single this one out. I'm shenanigan wary (notoriously so among some players), and I see zero issues running this as is, at least until some imbalancing exploit surfaces. One is not locked into a ruling after new evidence presents itself.


Finoan wrote:

I'm aware that the example has problems. The point isn't that it is perfect, the point is that it illustrates the problem with the ruling.

If you could trigger an action that is intended to be used during your turn and only lasts until the end of your turn, should you be allowed to somehow manage to get it active before your turn starts and have it last for the entire duration of your next turn?

Yeah, sorry, but I'm with Squiggit and Castilliano here and don't really see a problem yet.

Just now it's maybe one whole action more with the hypothetical effect working for the cost of two actions and a reaction. Doesn't look game-breaking.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'd rule them case by case.

Ready actions are super rare, from my experience. So a Ready action that bumps into such ruling has great chances to be an attempt at exploiting an edge case.

So I'll rule them on a case by case basis as I don't think there's a need for a general rule.


Technically, Bespell Strikes is a free action with no trigger, so it can be Readied. But doing so is useless.

Ready wrote:
If the trigger you designated occurs before the start of your next turn, you can use the chosen action as a reaction (provided you still meet the requirements to use it). You can't Ready a free action that already has a trigger.

So you need to meet the requirements of the action to Ready it AND to unleash the reaction. Bespell Strikes requires your most recent action to be casting a non-cantrip spell, but you can't do it if your last action was the Ready activity.

But if we are going to consider actions taken outside the current turn when determining "your most recent action," that does open up other shenanigans, like casting a spell on your turn (or a reaction spell on someone else's rurn) then using Bespell Strikes at the start of your next turn.

I think for this reason, it is generally accepted that actions on other turns don't work as "your most recent action", as described in the spellshape sidebar.


SuperParkourio wrote:

But if we are going to consider actions taken outside the current turn when determining "your most recent action," that does open up other shenanigans, like casting a spell on your turn (or a reaction spell on someone else's rurn) then using Bespell Strikes at the start of your next turn.

I think for this reason, it is generally accepted that actions on other turns don't work as "your most recent action", as described in the spellshape sidebar.

This one used to come up with Magus: if you end your turn with a spell, can your first action on the next turn be Arcane Cascade? Back then, the requirement was "You used your most recent action to Cast a Spell or make a Spellstrike."

If you haven't done anything since (no reactions or free actions), you meet the literal requirement there at the start of your next turn.

This one is no longer a question because in the errata they added "this turn", so now it's explicitly not allowed.

Now have fun with the question of "does this one being changed to explicitly disallow it mean that it's normally allowed?" ;)

According to Logan Bonner, the answer is No, "your last action was X" never counts actions from a previous turn.


Dire Wolf attacks PC.
PC walks away and comes back.
Dire Wolf neatly puts its teeth back in the same wound to Grab PC.

Yeah, that would be pretty dumb. They should really update the written rule so it isn't limited to Spellshape.


Yeah, Most people seem to agree with it and I do agree that its a case by case basis. Anything that says "end of your current turn" makes me instantly skeptical having GMd for a Spellshot Gunslinger.

Obviously "your most recent action" does not extend outside of your turn. except in very circumstantial exceptions.

I get wanting to reload and ready to activate explosive ammunition, Especially in a case where you are extremely unlikely to hit to begin with(invisible,Incorporeal in a wall,Blinded,etc)

Delaying might not improve your situation, and you might still need that first action and this way you are actually preparing something instead of feeling like you missed out on a turn.

So as long as you arent really extending the duration something would last (or atleast not any longer than a simple delay would be able to achieve) Like a defensive ability used to target a creature who just ended their turn in order to make it last trough 1 additional round. Or targeting yourself with Shield at the start of your turn so you can enjoy 3 actions + reaction while also being shielded next turn (remember, You can use "your turn begins" reactions after reducing durations and before regaining actions).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Readied Action with "until the end of your turn" effect All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.