Action to remove goggles?


Rules Questions


Good day everyone!
Just had a player ask what action it was to move Smoked Goggles off his eyes and onto his forehead. He believes, since it's such a small action, that it should be a free action. I disagree, as that would let him have all the benefits but completely avoid the 20% miss chance on his turn by removing them at the beginning and putting them back in place at the end. I ultimately settled on a ruling of "as a free action, but only once per turn and only 'on' or 'off', not both", but I'd like to know if there is anything official or if anyone has had to make a similar ruling. Thanks for your assistance!

Paizo Employee Community & Social Media Specialist

When I've run into this before, my GM treated removal as a Move Action, and it made sense to me? I agree that free action doesn't make sense because it would make the disadvantages completely moot.

The Exchange

Generally any kind of "equipment change" is a move action.

CRB page 187 wrote:

Manipulate an Item

Moving or manipulating an item is usually a move action.


"Unless otherwise noted, activating a magic item is a standard action."

It could be argued that Smoked Goggles need to be activated - since it makes no mention of always being on.


Many googles require adjustments to fit them for proper use. The way I see Smoked Googles they like safety googles, not sunglasses. If you just pull them down they are likely to impair your vision even more.

The way I would handle it would handle it is that it takes a free action to remove it, but a move action to properly don the googles. If he hastily dons the googles the googles, he has a 50% chance of gaining the blinded condition.

My method is based on the fact that drawing a weapon is a move action and that the dirty trick maneuver can inflicted the blinded condition.


TxSam88 wrote:

"Unless otherwise noted, activating a magic item is a standard action."

It could be argued that Smoked Goggles need to be activated - since it makes no mention of always being on.

Smoked Googles are not magic items, they are mundane equipment.


Standard rule is that manipulating an item is a move action, though for sufficiently minor actions we can make it a free action instead.

I would personally rule that it is a free action to move to the forehead but a move action to put back on. I would agree that you cannot swipe on a pair of goggles as easily as you can swipe them off, because you have to make proper adjustments so that it fits right instead of totally messing up your eyesight with a haphazard placement. Bear in mind a round is treated as only taking 6 seconds. The idea that it would take you a few seconds of adjusting to fit right (a move action to manipulate an object) is reasonable enough.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Move action.


Mysterious Stranger wrote:
TxSam88 wrote:

"Unless otherwise noted, activating a magic item is a standard action."

It could be argued that Smoked Goggles need to be activated - since it makes no mention of always being on.

Smoked Googles are not magic items, they are mundane equipment.

my bad, I saw that they protected from a gaze attack and assumed the must of been a magic item.


Actions in Combat is the chart to sort things along with the Action descriptions.
Manipulate an Item Moving or manipulating an item is usually a move action. This includes retrieving or putting away a stored item, picking up an item, moving a heavy object, and opening a door. Examples of this kind of action, along with whether they incur an attack of opportunity, are given in Table 8–2.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The description says they are spectacles. Mundane ones made of smoked glass.
Safely removing them while fighting or doing any strenuous activity would require more than a free action.
You could remove them with a free action, but then they would be in your hand (occupying it) or on the floor, not in a safe position on your forehead.

Paizo Employee Community & Social Media Specialist

Pizza Lord wrote:
Move action.

Here, here!


Diego Rossi wrote:

The description says they are spectacles. Mundane ones made of smoked glass.

Safely removing them while fighting or doing any strenuous activity would require more than a free action.
You could remove them with a free action, but then they would be in your hand (occupying it) or on the floor, not in a safe position on your forehead.

I was intending to make this point.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Regardless of how you adjudicate it, it's definitely not a free action.

Your player is wanting to have their cake and eat it too!

Paizo Employee Community & Social Media Specialist

Claxon wrote:

Regardless of how you adjudicate it, it's definitely not a free action.

Your player is wanting to have their cake and eat it too!

I strongly agree, and I'm thinking the flow of the thread does too! The player should not be allowed both the cake and to eat it. I think anything you end up deciding that prevents this within reason is ok.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

can I put in an order of gâteau en cage and some good baguettes with cultured butter?

“You can be miserable before you have a cookie and you can be miserable after you eat a cookie but you can't be miserable while you are eating a cookie.” ― Ina Garten


Pathfinder Maps, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I would rule it a move action, as well. But, if they want a free action option, I would rule they could remove it as a free action that only results in it dropping to the ground - as in, they accidentally nudged it off of their head completely.

My justification for this, beyond the already mentioned repositioning of equipment in Pathfinder is a move action already, is that I have accidentally nudged goggles off my head in real life with my wrist or cold-numbed hands and/or mitts multiple times and they always end up where I did not intend for them to end up (i.e. around my neck, falling to the ground/in the water, or repositioned in a very inconvenient way, like tilted across my face or the bridge of my nose in such a way as to impede my vision). Accurately repositioning goggles on my forehead IRL is a much more deliberate action requiring fine motor manipulation of my dexterous digits with the best results always yielded by my dominant hand and/or appendage of choice. :)


Just a question, but arent smoked googles only work if you wear them the whole round?

I always thought that protection from over time DMG/attacks only work if you have the protection for the whole round, not just a part of it.

If you close your eyes the whole time and open it just for your one vital strike attack, you have to make the same save that you would have to make it you never closed your eyes at all.

As I see it, its the same with a ring of fire resistance 30.
If the whole party is in a burning house (4W6 fire DMG each round for this scenario). You are immung to the DMG (max 24 fire DMG) as long as you wear the ring.
If you take it of you take the DMG, even if you just take it off walk around and take it on again.

The moment you take the Smoked Googles off and you look at the enemy that has a gaze attack (means you arent closing your eyes or looking at his feet) you have to make the Save.

I just realized that if would be a problem if you already rolled with the +8 bonus, but I always tell my players that to be protected from such attacks they have to be protected for a whole round for it to work.
So that was never the case.

Am I wrong with telling them that they have to be protected for the whole round to earn the benefits of the protection from over-time effects?

Liberty's Edge

Ju-Mo. wrote:

Just a question, but arent smoked googles only work if you wear them the whole round?

I always thought that protection from over time DMG/attacks only work if you have the protection for the whole round, not just a part of it.

If you close your eyes the whole time and open it just for your one vital strike attack, you have to make the same save that you would have to make it you never closed your eyes at all.

As I see it, its the same with a ring of fire resistance 30.
If the whole party is in a burning house (4W6 fire DMG each round for this scenario). You are immung to the DMG (max 24 fire DMG) as long as you wear the ring.
If you take it of you take the DMG, even if you just take it off walk around and take it on again.

The moment you take the Smoked Googles off and you look at the enemy that has a gaze attack (means you arent closing your eyes or looking at his feet) you have to make the Save.

I just realized that if would be a problem if you already rolled with the +8 bonus, but I always tell my players that to be protected from such attacks they have to be protected for a whole round for it to work.
So that was never the case.

Am I wrong with telling them that they have to be protected for the whole round to earn the benefits of the protection from over-time effects?

As a general rule, you are correct.

Some (but few) monsters can only use their gaze actively, i.e. taking an action to aim it, but most gaze attacks have ave a passive state too that force people to take a save as soon as they see the monster eyes.

AoN wrote:

Gaze (Su)

Source Bestiary 6 pg. 293, Pathfinder RPG Bestiary pg. 300, Bestiary 2 pg. 297, Bestiary 3 pg. 295, Bestiary 4 pg. 294, Bestiary 5 pg. 293

This attack takes effect when foes look at the attacking creature’s eyes. The attack can have any sort of effect; charm, death, and petrification are common. The typical range is 30 feet, but check the creature’s entry for details. The type of saving throw for a gaze attack varies, but it is usually a Will or Fortitude save (DC = 10 + 1/2 the gazing creature’s racial HD + that creature’s Charisma modifier; the exact DC is given in the creature’s text). A successful saving throw negates the effect. A monster’s gaze attack is described in abbreviated form in its description. Each opponent within range of a gaze attack must attempt a saving throw each round at the beginning of her turn in the initiative order. Only looking directly at a creature with a gaze attack leaves an opponent vulnerable. Opponents can avoid the need to attempt the save by not looking at the creature, in one of two ways.

Averting Eyes: The opponent avoids looking at the creature’s face, instead looking at its body, watching its shadow, tracking it in a reflective surface, etc. Each round, the opponent has a 50% chance to avoid having to attempt a saving throw against the gaze attack. The creature with the gaze attack, however, gains concealment against that opponent.

Wearing a Blindfold: The foe cannot see the creature at all (also possible to achieve by turning one’s back on the creature or shutting one’s eyes). The creature with the gaze attack gains total concealment against the opponent.

A creature with a gaze attack can actively gaze as an attack action by choosing a target within range. That opponent must attempt a saving throw but can try to avoid this as described above. Thus, it is possible for an opponent to save against a creature’s gaze twice during the same round, once before the opponent’s action and once during the creature’s turn.

Gaze attacks can affect ethereal opponents. A creature is immune to gaze attacks of others of its kind unless otherwise noted. Allies with a gaze attack might be affected. The creature’s allies are considered to be averting their eyes from the creature with the gaze attack, and have a 50% chance to not need to attempt a saving throw against the gaze attack each round. The creature can also veil its eyes, thus negating its gaze ability.

Format: gaze
Location: Special Attacks.

It says " Each opponent within range of a gaze attack must attempt a saving throw each round at the beginning of her turn in the initiative order.", so a player can attempt to argue that his character was protected at the start of the round, made his save with the +8, and so invulnerable for the whole turn even if he removes the goggles.

The "at the beginning of her turn" is a needed mechanic, as we play in rounds and turns, not in a real time seamless sequence of acts, but the player is trying to take advantage of it by claiming that his action to remove and place the googles should be a free action.


Another thing to consider is what happens when the character quickly removes the googles. The googles obviously restrict the amount of light reaching the character. That means his eyes have adjusted to a dimmer light. In real life when that happens, it takes a few seconds for your eyes to adjust to a brighter light. I could see imposing the dazzled or even blinded condition when quickly removing the googles. When you take a move action to remove them you are shielding your eyes and allowing them time to adjust.


So I have another question, purely theoretical to be honest.
It would never happen at my table because I´m very clear about:" Pls dont abuse rules" and my player respect that.
And for over-time effects I tell them that they need to make the decision for the round (who has the ring of fire resistance, closing the eyes, averting the eyes etc) so that it has any effect.

What if at the start of his turn a charakter has the Smoked Googles on, he does make his save (DC 20, he roleld a 24 (Fort +10, Rolled a 6 and +8 from soogles) and than takes them off?
Another roll?
Remembering the roll and substracting the bonus to see what happens?

I know there is no RAW answear for that (or their is and he made his save so he is save for the round), but I´m really interested in solutions.

It could happen, that he moves away from an enemy, the enemy gets a attack of oppertunity and sunders his goodles. Nearly same scenario as above but the PC wasnt the one responsible for the removign of the googles.

I would tell him, that if he decides that he averts his eyes (or closes them) nothing now would happen and that if he decides that he opens them fully he either takes the 20% miss chance, as if the googles are still there but he has to adjust his eyes to the new brightness (which saves him from the gaze but gives him a 20% miss Chance, what a coincidence), but that at the beginning of his next turn the new chosen eye status would account for his save/chance of save etc


the game descriptive simplistic RAW is designed for usual and common situations. Anyone with some effort can come up with unique situations where RAW becomes counter intuitive, comical, and/or unrealistic.
PF1 RAW is far worse than Newtonian physics circa 1800... just drop an ant, slingstone, humanoid sized bag of gelatin, or big sack of feathers off a cliff 100 meters tall and see the difference at impact.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Action to remove goggles? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.