multi-attack vs lycanthropy


Rules Questions


if a ogre gets bit by a werewolf and gains lycanthropy can that orge use multi-attack even if the ogre doesn't have 3natural attacks in its base form??


They can qualify for and take the feat so long as one of their forms has three or more natural attacks, but they do not gain its benefits when in a form that has fewer than 3 natural attacks.


RAW is that you need to qualify for a feat at the time you take it (and when you want to use it), regardless of how you qualify or whether it's with permanent stuff. That means that the ogre in question needs to level up while having three natural weapons, or retrain a feat while having three natural weapons.

With ogres not having any natural weapons, and werewolves only havign a single bite in their animal or hybrid form, unless the ogre has e.g. a level in Shifter, I don't see how they qualify.
Not that I know why they would want to.


so a orge can't take multiattack if hes a werebear ??sry i meant to say werebear not werewolf


Werebear changes things. Bears have a bite and two claws, so in animal or hybrid form a werebear does qualify for Multiattack.

The problem here is that an afflicted lycanthrope loses control when in animal or hybrid form, with the book outright telling the GM to take over PCs when in such forms. The ogre would need to level up (to an odd level) while basically out of their mind. The Bestiary isn't clear about how animalistic an afflicted lycanthrope is. Multiattack does nothign for an animal form werebear, so it only makes ense for them to select the feat if they've regained enough control to use a weapon in hybrid form.

Is this for a PC or an NPC?


pc hes a ogre werebear but wants to kno if he can use multiattack bcuz the ogre doesnt hav natural attacks only when it changes form??


HE wants to kno if he qualify for the feat??


"When a PC becomes a lycanthrope, you as the GM have a choice to make. In most cases, you should take control of the PC’s actions whenever he is in hybrid or animal form—lycanthropy shouldn’t be a method to increase a PC’s power, after all, and what an afflicted lycanthrope does while in animal or hybrid form is often at odds with what the character would actually want. If a player wants to play a lycanthrope, he should play a natural lycanthrope and follow the guidelines on page 313 for playing a character of a powerful race." B1 pg. 197

RAW answer: When leveling up while in hybrid or animal form, the character does qualify, but the player can't ever use the feat, because at the time the character qualifies, the player isn't in control of the character.

Lycanthropy is literally a curse, you're supposed to try to remove it as soon as possible.


this is Lycanthropy campaign all pc's hav Lycanthropy now since hes a ogre can he qualify for the feat or not??


I answered that question in literally every single post I made in this thread.


The way I understand the requirements to access things is as long as you have a reliable means to access the required thing, then you can take the thing that requires it when level up.

For example, a human wizard cannot naturally fly, but once they gain a spell providing flight, that is considered reliable enough to allow you to put ranks into the fly skill.

In my mind, being a werebear lycanthrope means you have reliable enough access to a form that has 3 natural attacks, and as such could take multi-attack feat. You don't need to "level up while being in hybrid form", especially since leveling up isn't narratively like some specific moment of something happening. But, even though the character might have the feat that could only use it while in hybrid or animal form.


can he still take the feat even tho he has natural attacks in has form can somebody take feats even tho the dont hav requirements??


Claxon answered you already, but allow me to try a different approach:

Claxon wrote:
For example, an Ogre does not naturally have three or more natural attacks, but once he becomes a lycanthrope and gains access to a form that has three or more natural attacks, that is considered reliable enough to allow you to get the Multiattack feat.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Derklord, I did not understand your your shorthand what book is page 313 for playing a character of a powerful race." B1 pg. 197 in. Thanks in advance.


MR CRITICAL wrote:
can he still take the feat even tho he has natural attacks in has form can somebody take feats even tho the dont hav requirements??

Like I said three times already, he qualifies if he selects the feat after leveling up in hybrid form or animal form. If he levels up in regular ogre form, he does not qualify.

Claxon wrote:
The way I understand the requirements to access things is as long as you have a reliable means to access the required thing, then you can take the thing that requires it when level up.

That's not an actual rule for anything but fly skill ranks.

I have recommended a houserule like that on multiple occations, although truth be told, just using the strict RAW that lets e.g. a Potion of Enlarge Person qualify a Str 12 character to take Power Attack if they level up under the effects of the potion doesn't really make much of a difference. You need to qualify to use a feat, so not having a reliable means of qualifying doesn't really dop you any good. The sole exception is taking feats before you get the class feature that lets you qualify on a regular basis, but that's so rare it probably doesn't matter at all.

Elric200 wrote:
Derklord, I did not understand your your shorthand what book is page 313 for playing a character of a powerful race." B1 pg. 197 in. Thanks in advance.

B1 (= Bestiary 1) pg. 197 is the source for what I quoted. The reference to page 313 is part of the quote. Unlike the original quote, which is from a sidebar and because of that not on AoN, the text from page 313 can be found here.

Dark Archive

2 people marked this as a favorite.

There is no "exact moment" of level up.

"Sorry guys, the archer killed a squirrel and the group shares xp. we level up right this second" isn't a thing

If they can meet the pre req they can take the feat. They can't use it when they don't currently meet the req, but when they meet it again it will kick back in


1 person marked this as a favorite.

A character levels up after the GM assigns the XP which is usually at the end of a session. This happens outside the game so the actions of the character should have no bearing on anything to do with leveling up.

I would also say that the lycanthrope does actually have the natural attacks even if he is not currently using them. This is no different than a character with a sword that is in a sheathe. By Derklord’s method a fighter could not take weapon focus without having the weapon in hand when he level up. This would also prevent many other feats from being taken. This could also prevent taking certain prestige classes. Arcane trickster has a prerequisite of being able to cast mage hand and at least one arcane spell of 2nd level or higher. According to Derklord if a wizard did not have mage hand memorized when he gained a level or had cast all his 2nd level or higher spells, he could not take a level in Arcane Trickster.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Derklord, I think you're being overly literal in your interpretation of the rules saying you need to be in hybrid or animal form, especially as everyone else is in agreement that leveling up doesn't happen in some specific moment so there's not even a specific character state that could apply.

The rule that any feat that you possess but aren't currently meeting the requirements for is unusable is enough of a control.


Name Violation wrote:

There is no "exact moment" of level up.

"Sorry guys, the archer killed a squirrel and the group shares xp. we level up right this second" isn't a thing

I'm not sure if this was an attempt at Appeal to Ridicule (trying to distract from my argument by painting it as ridiculous), or a False Dichotomy (you think or say that the only options are "no exact moment" and "in the middle of combat"), but in either case, you're wrong. There usually is an exact moment of level up, it's when the GM says you level up. It doesn't (normally*) happen in combat, but if you level up at the end of a session, which I assume is the most common method, that is still very much an "exact moment". Unless the session ends at the end of day, and sometimes even then, you need to note down (or at least remember) active buffs, anyway, as that's relevant for the next session. Like, the Druid doesn't shift out of Wild Shape just because the session ended.

That means the information is already there.
Indeed, the only situation where there would be an exact moment is if the GM makes levelling up part of resting for the day, and even then you could determine the state of long lasting (or as in this case permanent duration) effects.

*) I could see it being done if the last session ended with the PCs just below a levelup, and the GM asks the players to prepare leveled-up char sheets for next session.

Mysterious Stranger wrote:
By Derklord’s method a fighter could not take weapon focus without having the weapon in hand when he level up.

Either your understanding of the rules is even poorer than I thought, or you, too, are deliberately misleading. Weapon Focus asks for "Proficiency with selected weapon, base attack bonus +1.", neither part requires a weapon in hand. Saying my presentation of the rules must be wrong because it would make feats like Weapon Focus not work is an argument build on an objectively faulty premise, and thus unsound.

Also, it's not "my method", it's what the rules say. "Some feats have prerequisites. Your character must have the indicated ability score, class feature, feat, skill, base attack bonus, or other quality designated in order to select or use that feat." CRB pg. 112

The rules say "must have". Not "must be able to aquire on a daily basis", or whatever. Contrast "Creatures can also take ranks in Fly if they possess a reliable means of flying every day (either through a spell or other special ability)." Do you see anything like that in the feat rules?

Don't blame me for what the rules say.

If the character levels up while in ogre form, he doesn't have three natural weapons, and thus does not fulfill the prerequisites of Multiattack. That they could transform into a creature that does have those natural weapons is irrelevant, because the rules don't care. On the flip side, if the character does level up in hybrid form (which a lycanthrope in control of their actions is probably in 24/7), he does qualify, because at that time he does have three natural weapons, and the rules don't care about how permanent or temporary they are.

I'm not saying this is how it needs to be played, indeed, I've been advocating what I call the "fly skill approach" for five years. But the written rules are what they are, whether we like it or not. Any and all houserules should be based on understanding what the actual rules are.

Mysterious Stranger wrote:
Arcane trickster has a prerequisite of being able to cast mage hand and at least one arcane spell of 2nd level or higher. According to Derklord if a wizard did not have mage hand memorized when he gained a level or had cast all his 2nd level or higher spells, he could not take a level in Arcane Trickster.

At worst, that's not "According to Derklord", but rather "according to the rules as written". And don't get me wrong, there are ruels that don't work (strictly) as written, but I think this here is not such casee, here's why: The Paladin's spells class feature says "a paladin gains the ability to cast", transferable for Ranger. Assuming that the casters all work pretty much the same, this tells us that the "ability to cast" is something you gain from the class feature, not a game state in which you have open spell slots or uncast prepared spells. Therefore, the phrase "the ability to cast" does not mean "be able to cast spells right now", but rather "has the spells class feature".

Claxon wrote:
especially as everyone else is in agreement that leveling up doesn't happen in some specific moment so there's not even a specific character state that could apply.

First, it's at most three people, second, two of them make decidedly faulty arguments, and third, if a million people insist that 2+2=5, I will still say it's 4. The truth is not determined by popular vote.


Derklord wrote:
There usually is an exact moment of level up, it's when the GM says you level up.

This makes your entire argument moot.

For example, if a fighter gets baleful polymorphed, and then a short time later the GM says, "Ok, sessions over, everyone level up for next session." No sane rational GM is going to tell the fighter player they can't pick power attack as a feat because, as a bunny, they do not currently have a str of 13.

Sure, technically you are right, by an over pedantic reading of the RAW, it is not allowed - but this is a clear case of where the GM steps in and uses the rules as a guideline, not as a contract. RAW that leads to stupid results isn't meaningful or useful RAW. It becomes pretty clear then that the rules for meeting the requirements at level up are for normal circumstances. Eg, I can't take power attack if my str is 11 but I promise to buy a belt of str +2 sometime in the future.

A GM can (and should) make allowances for unusual circumstances. I recognize that you agree with this sentiment given your advocacy of the fly skill style rules being more widespread.

Requiring the ogre to be in werebear form at the "exact moment of level up" is a similar situation.

In a normal campaign where lycanthropy is truly the curse it is, I would not allow choosing this particular feat, but that has nothing to do with the purist RAW perspective.


bbangerter wrote:
Sure, technically you are right, by an over pedantic reading of the RAW, it is not allowed - but this is a clear case of where the GM steps in and uses the rules as a guideline, not as a contract. RAW that leads to stupid results isn't meaningful or useful RAW.

It's not an overly pedantic reading, it's the only possible reading without adding something.

My posts are about what the rules say. Everyone else seems to be arguing based on what they believe a GM should rule. Those are not the same thing! I say that RAW a werebear needs to level up in hybrid or animal form to qualify for the feat. If people think that this is not how it should be done, that does not make me wrong.
If the rules as I report them have unwanted consequences, that doesn't make my report wrong, it means (or at least can also mean) that the rules are flawed.

Like you said, RAW is not a contract. Knowing what the rules are isn't a bad thing. It helps people make an informed decision, not one out of ignorance.

bbangerter wrote:
It becomes pretty clear then that the rules for meeting the requirements at level up are for normal circumstances. Eg, I can't take power attack if my str is 11 but I promise to buy a belt of str +2 sometime in the future.

If you don't use the RAW, what do you use? Because when using the "fly skill approach", the 11 strength 3rd level Magus does qualify for Power Attack, as they could cast Bull's Strength, and thus have a daily mean to qualify. Well, assuming they've learned the spell. So instead of checking the character state at the time of level up, we now have to check their spell book at the time of level up? Is that really better?

bbangerter wrote:
For example, if a fighter gets baleful polymorphed, and then a short time later the GM says, "Ok, sessions over, everyone level up for next session." No sane rational GM is going to tell the fighter player they can't pick power attack as a feat because, as a bunny, they do not currently have a str of 13.

Ignoring that Baleful Polymorph is at worst a -4 penalty to strength, I think there are worse rulings than "if you're (currently) a creature incapable of using Power Attack, you can't (currently) learn how to use Power Attack".


Derklord wrote:


My posts are about what the rules say.

I acknoledge this.

me wrote:


Sure, technically you are right...

You are being pedantic because you keep emphasizing the player could only take the feat if they were in werebear form at the exact time you level up. And like I said, technically you are correct.

Its moot, as a result of GM deciding when you level up makes it moot. If the GM wants to disqualify you from the feat, the GM can say you level up when not in werebear form. If the GM wants you to be able to take the feat, they can decide you level up while in werebear form. Or the GM can skip all the rigamorale and say you either can or cannot take the feat. So the entire emphasis on being able to take the feat only if they level up while in werebear form is a meaningless distinction.

Derklord wrote:


If you don't use the RAW, what do you use?

No objection to using RAW as the base. But I see no point in arguing for a RAW that

1) Everyone ignores
2) Doesn't pass common sense
3) Doesn't fit clear RAI (not that I think this particular scenario has a clear RAI)

Pre-metamagic FAQ, a wand of fireball and a wand of maximized fireball cost the same if we want to strictly follow what the rules say. But it fails all 3 of those above observations.

While a discussion about RAW has some value, the real value is in how it affects a game. The RAW in this particular instance has no meaningful affect in game as the GM can entirely control whether the level up would occur at a qualifying time or not - or just skip the entire mess.

Derklord wrote:


...the 11 strength 3rd level Magus does qualify for Power Attack, as they could cast Bull's Strength, and thus have a daily mean to qualify. Well, assuming they've learned the spell. So instead of checking the character state at the time of level up, we now have to check their spell book at the time of level up? Is that really better?

That is a very subjective question that each group of players will have to answer for themselves. But is checking the magus spellbook for the bull's strength spell any different than checking the wizards spellbook for the fly spell?

Derklord wrote:


Ignoring that Baleful Polymorph is at worst a -4 penalty to strength...

The -4 may be enough. Depends on the fighers starting stats. If you don't like baleful polymorph as an example, use multiple maximized rays of enfeeblement. The point remains.

Ultimately for the orginal posters question, it is going to entirely be up to their GM to decide.

I expect we agree on the following:
You have accurately quoted what the RAW is.
Others have pointed out how everyone actually plays the game in regards to leveling pu.
Given the GM is already breaking the rules of lycanthropy, this is entirely a GM call regardless.


MR CRITICAL wrote:
if a ogre gets bit by a werewolf and gains lycanthropy can that orge use multi-attack even if the ogre doesn't have 3natural attacks in its base form??

['If an ogre gets bitten by a [werebear] and contracts lycanthropy, can that character take the Multiattack feat?]' [paraphrased]

TL/DR
Yes, the afflicted ogre werebear can take Multiattack if they have a reliable way to consistently (meaning basically when they want, not just 3/day or 1 hour/day) be in a form that has three natural attacks, and they know about it (so they have to know they're a werebear and can change into that shape when they want).

Long answer

A creature must have the prerequisites to take a feat (unless something says otherwise, like a Monk choosing Stunning Fist as a bonus feat). If they meet those requirements and take the feat, but fail to meet them later, then they cannot use the feat.

In order to take a feat, the ogre would need to have access to 3 natural attacks. An ogre does not. A werebear (ie. a bear), does meet these requirements. A character that is able to reliable and consistently be a bear, can take Multiattack. Note that druid with wildshape doesn't meet these requirement, just being able to be in a form with multiple natural attacks even for a long period is not enough. It has to be a consistent and reliable method.

A lycanthrope (even an afflicted one) does have the ability to change into a bear at will and stay in that form indefinitely (barring something forcing them out of it). So a character that can control their change, and is aware of it, can take Multiattack.

That means that the afflicted Ogre character must have passed a DC 20 Will save after a night of being in bear form. Otherwise they remember nothing and don't know they are a werebear, even if someone tells them, they can't remember it. There doesn't have to be a blatantly stated ruling that a character should still only take feats that they could reasonably, in-character know about. There still should be a reasonable, in-character reason the character has practiced or otherwise studied or trained for a feat. That's Common Sense and not even needed to be stated as a rule.

Examples:
-------------------------------------------------
1. If your character is reincarnated into a creature that doesn't have a tail, you can't take feats that require having a tail (and you can't use ones that require a tail to use, even if you took them before). The fact that you can get a wish to return you to your regular form later is irrelevant.

2. If your character is a changeling and your story is that they don't know they're a changeling, you shouldn't be deciding as a character that your changeling is taking feats that only a changeling would take. That means if you haven't heeded 'the call' at puberty and discovered your true nature, you shouldn't be able to start training yourself as a Coven Caster (at least, not the way a changeling would get it, without having to be a hag or a Coven PrC class). Yes, you would know your skin is tougher than a normal creature of whatever your host race is (+1 natural armor). Yes, you would know you have sharp fingernails giving you two claw attacks. But if your character doesn't know they're a changeling they shouldn't be trying to unlock their changeling bloodline and heritage deliberately. You the player might know, but your character might suspect they're a demon-spawn, or plane-touched or whatever it is that they were told or suspected to account for their physical traits). Now, if you and your GM want to decide that your latent bloodline and heritage are 'flaring up!' or 'manifesting without your control!' then that's at least some in-game reason for it.

3. A character that is not from a far-off land or region, has never been there, and has no connection to it, shouldn't be able to take a feat that is based or is thematically centered on that race, region, or culture (even if they meet the other prerequisites, or have heard of the place, or even passed a Knowledge check about the place). They should have some actual contact or in-game reason that a character born, raised, and having never left the Inner Sea region... has training as a Mayan Jaguar Warrior. There can be reasons... like a Mayan Jaguar Warrior appeared from a time portal and trained them or the person who trained you was raised by a Mayan Jaguar Warrior who trained them and they're passing it on to you, but those are obviously in-game connections to those feats or cultures. But there should be an easily articulated reason.
-------------------------------------------------


bbangerter wrote:

For example, if a fighter gets baleful polymorphed, and then a short time later the GM says, "Ok, sessions over, everyone level up for next session." No sane rational GM is going to tell the fighter player they can't pick power attack as a feat because, as a bunny, they do not currently have a str of 13.

Incorrect. This would have no appreciable effect on the fighter's feats or their choice of them (other than if it obviously made no sense in character or realistically for them to have them). It doesn't affect the prerequisites at all.

Baleful Polymorph (otherwise Beastshape III) wrote:


Diminutive animal: If the form you take is that of a Diminutive animal, you gain a +6 size bonus to your Dexterity, a -4 penalty to your Strength, and a +1 natural armor bonus.
Ability Scores; Ability Score Penalties wrote:


Some spells and abilities cause you to take an ability penalty for a limited amount of time. While in effect, these penalties function just like ability damage, but they cannot cause you to fall unconscious or die. In essence, penalties cannot decrease your ability score to less than 1.
Ability Scores; Ability Damage wrote:
Diseases, poisons, spells, and other abilities can all deal damage directly to your ability scores. This damage does not actually reduce an ability, but it does apply a penalty to the skills and statistics that are based on that ability.

Ability damage only applies to skills and statistics based on the ability. A fighter with 16 Strength and a –4 penalty to Strength would still have 16 Strength, they would have a –2 penalty to attack and damage and their encumbrance (a statistic based on Str) would count as being 12. They wouldn't lose access to their feats.

Note that ability drain does actually reduce an ability, but ability drain is considered permanent in most cases, not temporary.

I will note, however, that as baleful polymorph is otherwise permanent, if a character was changed into a form that had three or more natural attacks, then that character would qualify to take Multiattack during that time (but in-character most GMs would require them to be in the form long enough to acclimate, it wouldn't be Common Sense to allow someone to baleful polymorph a character for 10 minutes while they 'level up' and then dispel it. That would obviously be OOC metagame wankery.


Pizza Lord wrote:


Ability damage only applies to skills and statistics based on the ability. A fighter with 16 Strength and a –4 penalty to Strength would still have 16 Strength, they would have a –2 penalty to attack and damage and their encumbrance (a statistic based on Str) would count as being 12. They wouldn't lose access to their feats.
Note that ability drain does actually reduce an ability, but ability drain is considered permanent in most cases, not temporary.

Thanks for that correction.

Baleful polymorph would still be an issue for a fighter who started at 16 str or less and thus dropped to 12 or less as that strength change is permanent till the poly is removed.

My other example of ray of enfeeblement should be discarded in favor of something has done ability drain. If drained below 13 should the GM allow the player to take power attack? Does that answer change if the cleric will be able to cast a restoration in the morning? Or if there is a city nearby the fighter will travel too?

I could see for a brutal survival mode campaign setting without a healer in the party that the player be prevented from taking it. But I would consider that a special case.


There is an exact moment when you level up, but it is in real-time not game time. Let’s say the GM gives out XP at 5:47 PM on July 4th 2023. What time is that in the game? Game time and real time do not map out exactly. Let’s say that the game ends after you finish killing the BBG in a cave and the next session the GM skips ahead to when you are in town a day later. When did your character level up in game time. Did you level up right after the combat, on your way to town, or at the tavern while having a drink?

@Derklor you are right about the sword, but what about the ability to cast spells for Arcane Trickster? Arcane Trickster lists “Ability to cast mage hand and at least one arcane spell of 2nd level or higher” as a requirement. Does that mean that a wizard would have to have mage hand memorized to take a level in Arcane Trickster? There are also feats that the prerequisite includes the ability to cast specific spells. Would a character that knows the spell, but is unable to cast it (due to not being memorized or not having an appropriate spell slot) be able to take the feat?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / multi-attack vs lycanthropy All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.